Internet #203760842

Model # 49013

Store SKU #573037

0032247490139

Scotts

Turf Builder 13.45 lb. 5,000 sq. ft. Summerguard Lawn Fertilizer

$ 24 98
Loading Options
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

+
+

Product Overview

Apply Turfbuilder with Summerguard in summer to feed the lawn and protect against listed bugs. Regular feeding provides the nutrients your lawn needs to look its best. Late spring feeding prepares grass for summer stress by thickening the blades on top and building deep roots below.
  • Kills and protects against listed bugs
  • Your lawn will begin to wilt when water is needed, take advantage of nature's sprinkler and rely on the rain to water your lawn
  • A healthy lawn can clean the air, produce oxygen, prevent runoff and reduce soil erosion
  • Safe for all grass types
  • Won't burn lawn - guaranteed
  • What is the Best Fertilizer for my Yard?






Product Overview

Model #: 49013
Sku #: 573037
Internet #: 203760842

Apply Turfbuilder with Summerguard in summer to feed the lawn and protect against listed bugs. Regular feeding provides the nutrients your lawn needs to look its best. Late spring feeding prepares grass for summer stress by thickening the blades on top and building deep roots below.

  • Kills and protects against listed bugs
  • Your lawn will begin to wilt when water is needed, take advantage of nature's sprinkler and rely on the rain to water your lawn
  • A healthy lawn can clean the air, produce oxygen, prevent runoff and reduce soil erosion
  • Safe for all grass types
  • Won't burn lawn - guaranteed
  • What is the Best Fertilizer for my Yard?






Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Key Features

Product Overview
Key Features
Apply Turfbuilder with Summerguard in summer to feed the lawn and protect against listed bugs. Regular feeding provides the nutrients your lawn needs to look its best. Late spring feeding prepares grass for summer stress by thickening the blades on top and building deep roots below.
  • Kills and protects against listed bugs
  • Your lawn will begin to wilt when water is needed, take advantage of nature's sprinkler and rely on the rain to water your lawn
  • A healthy lawn can clean the air, produce oxygen, prevent runoff and reduce soil erosion
  • Safe for all grass types
  • Won't burn lawn - guaranteed
  • What is the Best Fertilizer for my Yard?






Product Overview

Model #: 49013
Sku #: 573037
Internet #: 203760842

Apply Turfbuilder with Summerguard in summer to feed the lawn and protect against listed bugs. Regular feeding provides the nutrients your lawn needs to look its best. Late spring feeding prepares grass for summer stress by thickening the blades on top and building deep roots below.

  • Kills and protects against listed bugs
  • Your lawn will begin to wilt when water is needed, take advantage of nature's sprinkler and rely on the rain to water your lawn
  • A healthy lawn can clean the air, produce oxygen, prevent runoff and reduce soil erosion
  • Safe for all grass types
  • Won't burn lawn - guaranteed
  • What is the Best Fertilizer for my Yard?






Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
5000
Package Size (lb.)
13.45
Product Depth (in.)
11.5
Product Height (in.)
2.5
Product Width (in.)
15.5 in

Details

Compatible Grass Type
All Purpose,Bent Grass,Bermuda,Bluegrass,Centipede,Fescue,Rye,St. Augustine (Floratam),Tall Fescue,Zoysia
Condition of lawn
Established/New
Dry Fertilizer Type
Dry Lawn Fertilizer
Features
Kills Insect & Grubs
Longevity (weeks)
6
N-P-K Ratio
20-0-8
Organic
No
Post-Emergent Weed Control
No
Pre-Emergent Weed Control
No
Season Use
Summer
Time release
Slow release

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Scotts No-Quibble Guarantee®: If for any reason you, the consumer, are not satisfied after using this product, you are entitled to get your money back. Simply send us evidence of purchase and we will mail you a refund check promptly.

Specifications

Dimensions

Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
5000
Package Size (lb.)
13.45
Product Depth (in.)
11.5
Product Height (in.)
2.5
Product Width (in.)
15.5 in

Details

Compatible Grass Type
All Purpose,Bent Grass,Bermuda,Bluegrass,Centipede,Fescue,Rye,St. Augustine (Floratam),Tall Fescue,Zoysia
Condition of lawn
Established/New
Dry Fertilizer Type
Dry Lawn Fertilizer
Features
Kills Insect & Grubs
Longevity (weeks)
6
N-P-K Ratio
20-0-8
Organic
No
Post-Emergent Weed Control
No
Pre-Emergent Weed Control
No
Season Use
Summer
Time release
Slow release

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Scotts No-Quibble Guarantee®: If for any reason you, the consumer, are not satisfied after using this product, you are entitled to get your money back. Simply send us evidence of purchase and we will mail you a refund check promptly.

Questions & Answers

Will this burn my lawn?

Asked by: Shells
Here's a basic list of suggestions to avoid fertilizer burning: Follow label directions exactly. Water it in within a couple of days (either rain or your own irrigating). Don't over apply it (either on the overall lawn or by having too large of an overlap). Be sure the spreader is working properly. Don't apply it during a drought or if the grass is dormant. Fill the spreader on the driveway so nothing spills on the lawn. Don't back up with the spreader engaged. And be sure to put a pass first on the sides you walk toward in order to get a consistent stopping point. These are all very easy to manage. Then walk at a normal pace, paying attention to how far the spreader sends it, and you should be fine. Shoot for an overlap of maybe 12" or so.
Answered by: IowaNeil
Date published: 2019-08-01

is this safe for animals and children who play on the lawn?

is this safe for animals and children who play on the lawn?
Asked by: dee1dee2
Thank you for inquiring about Scotts Turf Builder Summerguard Lawn Food. This product should be watered in and allowed to dry before allowing anyone back on the lawn. After that is will be completely safe. If you have any further questions or would like further assistance, please contact us at 877-220-3089 and one of our representatives would be glad to assist you.
Answered by: ScottsCustomerCare
Date published: 2019-05-18

Is this product safe should accidentally it gets into ornamentals.

Is this product safe should accidentally it gets into ornamentals.
Asked by: mozgheib
Yes, STRAIGHT Turf Builder is okay for ornamentals if it accidentally gets into flower beds.....HOWEVER, any Turf Builder product WITH ANY TYPE OF WEED CONTROL will damage or kill some ornamentals. Make sure there is no WEED control in the product if you are concerned about a small amount getting into flower beds.
Answered by: Hunter
Date published: 2018-07-27

Seeding the entire lawn

I want to seed my entire lawn. When should i do this- before applying the summer guard or after? How long should I wait to seed after either of the two have been put on the lawn?
Asked by: Lawnlady
I would seed firsr and fertilize after. Not sure on the wait period, but the bag instructions usually indicate that. Unfortunately I threw my bag away. You may want to look at Scotts Seed Starter fertilizer, if you are newly seeding your lawn, instead of the Summerguard. It's specially made to be applied at the time of seeding. It promotes germination and growth.
Answered by: DIYer
Date published: 2019-08-02
  • y_2019, m_8, d_19, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_37
  • loc_, sid_203760842, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 8ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Turf Builder 13.45 lb. 5,000 sq. ft. Summerguard Lawn Fertilizer is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 451.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding product Used this on my lawn, gave it a good watering and within a week I began to notice some areas greeting up. Can hardly wait to see the final results. Thank you Scott’s so far so good. Thanks again. Pete P. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brought my grass back to Green.. I have used a long care company that took over for Scotts for two years now. This year I canceled their services, and started just to buy Scott’s products and apply them myself. This product during the very hot July month, brought my grass back to green. It was brown and crunchy, crispy. It also helped with the Beatles that were eating my lilies. I love the fact that It has bug control. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful product. Scott’s turf builder summer guard is only one of the excellent products I use by Scott’s. Just as the lawn begins to look poorly in north east Pa. this turf builder gives the lawn the boost it needs. The lawn turns greener and controls the tiny insects that hover over the lawn. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turf builder is the best Scotts Turf Builder Summerguard is the best. I use on my lawn and it look great. I have very little die off of grass in the lawn. the rest of the lawn is so green and growing well. It is mid july and I still have to cut the grass twice a week. Thanks Scotts [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great Another great product from Scotts . The right mix for summer protectio. I have 4500 sq ft and this bag keeps lawn green and healthy. i do like that it has the insect control.I had grubs last year and they did not return this year.Easy to appy [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy to use! Great product for those hot, dry, humid summer days. I use the Scotts hand held spreader and done! Keeps the bugs away while keeping your lawn looking great during the dry hot humid days. My lawn looks better than it ever has before. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Brown Grass I bought 3 weeks ago and applied 2 bags and now brown grass
Date published: 2019-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Summer Feeding I have used the Scotts Summerguard product for the past few years for my summer feeding with great results. Even with high temperatures and not much rainfaill the product works as advertised. The added benefit of insect control is a plus. While it is difficult to truly assess the effectiveness of insect control, I have observed less indication of insects and the lawn looks very healthy. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeping your lawn alive during the summer heat. To me Summerguard is the most essential step in Scotts 4 step process. Everything else you do can be lost in the heat of the summer sun. Scotts Turf Builder Summerguard makes sure all your hard work does not wither up and die after a few hot days. The grass stays green with a lot less watering. The insect control is a real bonus, you get a lot more enjoyment without the pesky insects. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Lawn Ever Here in South Central Pennsylvania, we have had a good summer for growing; nice rain on-time when needed and I started tending my lawn early this year as soon as the freeze nights ended. I overseeded the thin stretches, watered occasionally then applied Scott's Turf Builder. That's been it. I took notice of a product I hadn't seen or used before: Scott's Summerguard Lawn Food. August can get dry and this product protects against heat and drought. Since I hate to see my wonderful green lawn wither and dry and leave me so soon, I filled up my Scott's spreader, quickly applied the contents and watered it in with a sprinkler. It's been a week, we have had minimal rain. My neighbors lawns are getting frizzly but we are green as before or more, and I am proud! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great!!! I used this because I had a bunch of no see-ums coming from the lawn. I usually use regular Turf Builder in the summer months, but tried this because of the bugs. It actually worked overnight to kill the gnats. Now I'm waiting for the fertilizer to kick in which will take a little longer. I'm very satisfied with Summerguard and will continue to use it. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I applied this to my lawn in the middle of July and I am extremely pleased with the results. Comparing it to our neighbors lawn ours is much greener and thicker. We have had temperatures in the 90s and it still stayed nice and green. Also I have noticed a drop in bugs around the house. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thick and green lawn I just put this down at the middle of July and the lawn had some brown spots. With in two weeks the the grass looks thicker and greener. As for bugs before applying when I cut the lawn bugs would be jumping in front of the lawnmower. Now I do not see any bugs when cutting the lawn. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great way to keep your lawn lush An important step of the Scott lawn care system. Summer often brings unwanted insects My only warning is to be careful not to spill any on the lawn because it can burn the grass. Follow directions carefully and you will keep your lawn lush and beautiful. Easy to use. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WORKS WELL I'v used this product for years and have never been disappointed with it. Greens up the lawn but requires periodic watering as does all summer fertilizers. Never use a product on hot summer days that has over 20% nitrogen as it tends to yellow very quickly. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from working well Used Summerguard in conjunction with triple action and my lawn is looking better than ever. Interesting how it has held up under the recent heat wave , I assume the root system is stronger. What's really encouraging is I haven't done any watering. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good 2 in 1 product I used this product in place of the turf builder plus insect control separately. Rather than use two separate products I was able to use this single product and achieve the same results. It saved me the time of applying two separate products. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fertilizer with bug control This is a product I have previous purchased and would highly recommend. Not only keeps the lawn looking green but it gets rid of the pests Use it and water asap after application. To get a great lawn you have to follow all of SCOTTS steps [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy application This product went down so fast and easy, it was enjoyable to use. It appears to have taken effect in strengthening the roots and producing healthy green grass in the area where applied. I would recommend additional purchase of this product. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this product seems to work very well on my yard. put it down and havent had any problems with bugs. no beetles here on my fruit trees and my yard looks so much nicer than it has in the past. i recommend this product. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use ! This has been a great product for overall control. It is great for insects and nutrients for the lawn. It feeds the lawn while controling pests.I will be purchasing this product in the future to maintain a healthy lawn. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Teriffic Product Used for the first time a week ago and the results are excellent. Easy to spread and very effective product. Turf Builder is now a staple for me. I will use it annually especially when I reseed or with new turf [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No bugs!!! I love my lawn and I see no insects! My lawn is such a pretty green. We have the greenest lawn on my street. I thank Scott's for making such great products. If you want a great .lawn use Scotts [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad Stuff This is the worst thing i could have put on my lawn. Went from a great lawn to the worst lawn in over 20 years. Do not buy this product.
Date published: 2019-08-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from WE HAVE TO DO OUR PART Early Spring in here in western PA we had a tremendous amount of rain. Following this wet wet period we had a week or so dryspell. Following directions I applied the Turf Builder Summerguard to my dry lawn and the rain followed the next day. All was Perfect !! And then we experienced again an even longer dry period. In part because of commitments and things I did not water. My lawn is now in a state of confusion with the broadleaf and crabgrass grass rising every where in my lawn. I think I did not do my part in watering my lawn but more to the flowers and things. I kept hoping the dry spell would end. Any way now the lawn is getting "better" with watering but not at the standard I like. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MOST PLEASANT SURPRISE EXCELLENT GREENING EVEN IN HOT DRY SUMMER HEAT WITYH MINIMUM WATERING. WHILE THE PRODUCT DOESN'T ALLEGE TO HANDLE UNDERGROUND PESTS SUCH AS GRUBS, ETC. i HAVE NOTICED A REDUCTION OF MOLE TUNNELS IN THE AREA WHERE THE SUMMERGUARD HAS BEEN APPLIED. SINCE IT WAS SUPPLIED INTHE VICINITY OF MY PATIO, A REDUCTION IN THE LEVEL OF ANNOYANCE FROM EARLY EVENING INSECTS HAS ALSO BEEN NOTICED.I PLAN TO REPLACE MY MIDSUMMER APPLICATION OF TURF BUILDER WITH THIS PRODUCT IN THE FUTURE SINCE THE DIVIDENDS ARE ENHANCED BY THE INSECT CONTROLS CAPABILITY. tHANKS FOR THE OPPORTUNITY TO TRY THIS NEW AND GREAT SUMMERTIME ADDITION. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best summertime fertilizer on the market Scott's Turf Builder Summerguard Lawn Food with Insect Control is my go to fertilizer when the temperatures in my area (central New Jersey) consistently reach the high 80's and low 90's (typically July and August). When Summerguard is applied according to the directions on the back of the bag, it will not burn out my lawn. In fact, it definitely helps to strengthen my lawn against extreme temperatures and drought. It also kills many of the insects which can damage or destroy my lawn; for example, ants, chinch bugs, mealybugs, crickets spiders and ticks. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stopped summer fungus This is the first year I have not experienced my grass rotting near my front door. My front door is on the west side of my house and the lawn stays moist until about 1 PM because of the sun being blocked by the house. I've always got the cotton looking fungus growing about now and it just rots the grass. I water early morning and cut hight to fend off the developement of this fungus. Since I've applied this July 1st just before the stretch of high heat we had in the northeast (NJ) all is well so far. The grass would have been toast by now! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I think this new formulation that looks like dippin dots jammed my rotory spreader. I think this new formulation that looks like dippin dots jammed my rotory spreader.
Date published: 2019-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from use every summer purchase this every year for the summer. our back yard has a mixture of grass types, mainly zoyza (spelling) and the summer guard works well on all of them. my only complaint is for our instance it seems that history shows me to need put on heavier than what recommended on the package which pushes me to purchase both the large and regular size package. we've been using all the seasonal turf builder products for about 4 or 5 years now, (maybe have had an occasional lapse of one or two applications) overall satisfied customer [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-08
  • y_2019, m_8, d_19, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_451
  • loc_, sid_203760842, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 69ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT