#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #202229602

Model #31805

Store SKU #625250

Turf Builder 5M 15.97 lb. Fertilizer with Plus 2 Weed Control

Store
0 in stock
Text to Me
How to Get It

Product Overview

Keep your lawn lush and healthy with the Scotts Turf Builder 15.97 lb. Fertilizer with Plus 2 Weed Control. The fertilizer helps build strong, deep roots and helps kill dandelions, clover chickweed and other non-grassy weeds. The small, lightweight particles ensure complete, even coverage, and the water-smart formula helps improve your lawn's ability to absorb water and nutrients.
  • Feeds and strengthens to help protect against future problems
  • Regular feedings provides your lawn the nutrients it needs to looks it best
  • Kills dandelions, clover, chickweed and other non-grassy weeds
  • Builds thick, green turf from the roots up
  • Water Smart : Improves lawn's ability to absorb water and nutrients vs. an unfed lawn
  • Covers 5,000 sq ft
  • Won't burn your lawn
  • 28-0-3 Fertilizer Analysis
  • What is the Best Fertilizer for my Yard?

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
5000
Package Size (lb.)
15.97
Product Depth (in.)
3
Product Height (in.)
16
Product Width (in.)
12 in

Details

Active Ingredients
NPK
Application Method
Spreader
Application Type
Granular
Area of Use
Lawn
Bag Weight (lb.)
15.97
Compatible Grass Type
Bermuda,Bluegrass,Centipede,Fescue,Rye,Tall Fescue,Zoysia
Concentrated or Ready to Use
Ready to use
Contact or systemic
Contact and Systemic
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
5000
Delivery Method
Granular
Dry Fertilizer Type
Dry Lawn Fertilizer
Emergent Type
Post-Emergent
Equivalent ready to use amount
15.97 lb
Extended Control
Non-Extended Control
Features
Kills Chickweed,Kills Clovers,Kills Common Weeds,Kills Dandelion,Kills Dollarweed
Fertilizer Formula
Non-Organic
Form
Granular
Indoor/Outdoor
Outdoor
Longevity (weeks)
6
N-P-K Ratio
28-0-3
Organic
Synthetic
Organic
Non-Organic
Pack Size
1
Primary Active Ingredient
2,4-D
Safe for Edibles
No
Season Use
Fall,Spring
Time release
Slow release
Weed Type
Clover,Common Chickweed,Dandelion

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Scotts No-Quibble Guarantee: If for any reason you, the consumer, are not satisfied after using this product, you are entitled to get your money back. Simply send us evidence of purchase and we will mail you a refund check promptly.

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 3.7
    out of 586 reviews
  • 73%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 586 reviews
It killed my whole new lawn within 2 days
The second day after I applied. the applied area became brown. I waited for another week hoping it will come back to green, it did. All lawn is now brown. This "wonderful" product killed all my grasses and ale the weeds are still alive! I HATE it !
by
  • DIY
1 person found this helpful
My first application, not convinced
I applied this product to my lawn which is roughly 18,000 sq ft. I used a Scott's mini spreader with edge guard. I am not sure if my lack of enthusiasm is more for the weed & feed or the spreader. The spreader was easy to handle & I like the edge guard feature, but it was WAY too easy to dump unexpected amounts when stopping & starting. This should be addressed! I know this is an issue with spreading & I tried to be cognizant of it, but I've still got a number of burned spots in my lawn due to this issue. Maybe filling spreader less full would help?? Otherwise, coverage was pretty consistent. The weeds are dying in some places, but not in others which surprises me. I have pretty much the same weeds in the various areas of my lawn, but they don't all seem to be responding to the treatment. I cannot yet tell if the "feed" has been beneficial to my lawn. The product has been down about 10 days.
by
Response from Consumer ServicesAug 15, 2016
We are sorry that you have experienced problems with your lawn following an application of Scotts Turf Builder Weed & Feed3. When using any weed control, be sure to apply the product when your daytime high temperatures are consistently between 60 to 90° F. For best results the temperatures should be between 65 and 85. Turf Builder Weed & Feed3 should be applied to a wet lawn and allowed to stay on the foliage undisturbed for at least 24 hours without rain or water. Since this product is initially absorbed through the weed's foliage, we recommend that the weeds not be mowed for two days both before and after the product application. There are a few particularly troublesome weeds that Turf Builder Weed & Feed3 does not control. If you have any questions as to what the weed is that you are battling in your yard, we recommend that you contact a local reputable nursery to see if they can help you identify the weed before you attempt retreating it with any other product. We are sorry that you did not receive the fertilizer response that you expected from Scotts Turf Builder Weed & Feed3. To get the most out of any fertilizer, we recommend that you maintain your lawn with adequate water and regular feedings. When mowing, remove no more than 1/3 of the grass blade at a time. If repeated applications of fertilizer fail to green the lawn, we recommend that you purchase a soil test kit to check the soil pH. A pH imbalance will prevent the lawn from absorbing fertilizer, even if you apply heavily. We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced with your Scotts spreader. I appreciate you letting us know, and we have alerted our Quality Control Department of the situation. Damage can occur if products are accidentally over applied or applied to drought and heat stressed turf. This type of damage can sometimes be minimized by watering 1/2 inch every 3 days if rain is not expected. We suggest that you follow this program for the next 4 weeks if you do not receive sufficient rainfall. We also recommend that you do not apply any other product for the next 4 weeks while your lawn tries to recover from this situation. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
    Product has failed me repeatedly - I'm done.
    Burns/kills grass VERY easily at each start and stop when the spreader dumps a bunch of product where you're not expecting. In the areas where the grass is not burned, I see no evidence that it was fertilized. Meanwhile, effect on weeds was nominal, if any. Weeds stayed numerous, tall and proud. Regarding the broadcast spreader by Scotts, needs improvement. Putting product on a wet lawn means the spreader will finish with the inner wheels and axle covered with the product. Wheels should not be open to the inside as it just accumulates caked fertilizer, making it ridiculous to clean in an environmentally friendly way. Only way to remove it all is to rinse it with hose. Then what? The product is on the driveway waiting to be washed off and kill the grass, plantings near the driveway. The drop spreaders have their own issues, like loss of calibration or cable sticking and not opening/closing hopper properly. Probably will switch to liquid, non-Scotts/Miracle Gro products.
    by
    Response from Consumer ServicesJul 20, 2016
    We are sorry that you have experienced problems with your lawn following an application of Scotts Turf Builder Weed & Feed. This product has proven to be a good product and has been thoroughly tested on the grass varieties listed on the label when applied according to label directions. Damage can occur if products are accidentally over applied. This type of damage can sometimes be minimized by watering 1/2 inch every 3 days if rain is not expected. We suggest that you follow this program for the next 4 weeks if you do not receive sufficient rainfall. We also recommend that you do not apply any other product for the next 4 weeks while your lawn tries to recover from this situation. We also apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced with your Scotts Broadcast Spreader and the design being unsatisfactory. Although we test the packaging very thoroughly before we introduce it to the public, we know that your experience may be different from our own. It is only through feedback that we can improve our products and packaging. We appreciate you letting us know, and we have alerted our Quality Control Department of the situation. It is through feedback from consumers such as yourself, that we can continue to maintain the high quality products that Scotts consumers have come to expect. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/mds8zo5.
      I'm A Believer!
      [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I used Scotts Turf Builder Weed & Feed for years with great results. One year I used a generic turf builder with weed and feed because it was less expensive. The protection from the cheaper brand was far inferior than that of the Scotts brand. With the generic store brand, soon after the application the weeds disappeared, but then they returned fairly quickly. With the Scotts brand, the grass was greener and the weeds did not return for the season. .....So I'm back using Scotts Turf Builder Weed & Feed on my lawn.... It may cost a little more, but IT'S WORTH IT!
      by
        • Recommended
        Did not kill any of my weeds
        [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I had no idea that this product was discontinued but I am not surprised. I use all of your products for my lawn and have found this one to be the one treatment that has not worked for me. For years my weeds have multiplied and full of clover. I did report it this year to you and you did give me my money back. You do stand by your products with the satisfaction guaranteed or money back. I do thank you for that. I hope that a new product will be available that will work better to kill weeks. I have used Scotts for over thirty years and hope to continue.
        by
        Response from Consumer ServicesFeb 4, 2016
        We're pleased to hear that we've successfully resolved your issue with the previous formula of Turf Builder Weed and Feed. Once again we are sincerely sorry that the product was not successful with controlling your weeds as expected. We certainly understand how this could cause you to lose confidence in our products. Our newly formulated Scotts® Turf Builder® Weed & Feed3 was designed to have a better grip on weeds and produce even better results! Please be sure to review labeling instructions before applying to receive optimum results. This product will only control the weeds listed on the label. If you would like further assistance or to discuss this matter further please feel free to contact us. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
          Use in spring when weeds start coming instead of halts
          This clears out weeds other than crab grass. Good to clear out once weeds are starting to come in. Follow this up weeks later with ortho weed b gone with grab grass remover if grab grab grass starts to become an issue. Use the one that hooks up to hose if there are quite a bit or use the wand if want to spot treat. I found that neighbors of mine that used halts first eliminated grab grass but we're overcome by clovers and other weeds. Ortho weed be gone is very effective against all weeds and grab grass just doesn't feed the lawn. Recommend
          by
            • Recommended
            Must have product
            [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Average price weed and feed with above average results!!
            by
              • Recommended
              Great product
              [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have been using this product for over 40 years . Highly recommend it it has never let me down . I have tried other products but nothing conpairs to Scotts .
              by
                • Recommended
                This product killed my lawn
                I used this on my front and back lawns and it killed the grass -- turned it to hay. I investigated other possibilities, and after many weeks of investigation tried the product again, and it did the same thing. I read and followed the directions. I'm sick over having to repair so much land which is marbled with hay. Used Scott's lawn seed and that didn't work. Blue pellets never took. Other brands did and I'm finally growing lovely grass. I will recommend scotts lawn soil that I used to cover the seed, but not scotts seed.
                by
                Response from Consumer ServicesOct 27, 2015
                We are troubled to hear of the damage you experienced after using Scotts Turf Builder Weed and Feed. We would like the opportunity to speak with you regarding this matter. Please give us a call at 1-800-543-8873 and reference the email you used to write this review.
                  Not the results I expected
                  I applied this product to my lawn about 2 months ago and now I have more weeds than I did before I applied it. I was certainly expecting different results from the Scotts Brand. Has something changed with the formula because I've used it before and gotten better results. Now I'm hesitant to use any Scotts Brand. Looks like it's going to cause me more effort and money now to fix my lawn.
                  by
                  Response from Consumer ServicesOct 14, 2015
                  We apologize that Scotts Turf Builder Weed & Feed did not prevent the weeds as you had expected. This product is a post-emergent herbicide, which means that it only kills weeds after they have germinated and are actively growing at the time of the application. Pre-emergent herbicides prevent the germination of weed seeds. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience please contact us to see what can be done. You may visit our contact page by clicking on the following link http://tinyurl.com/7ag7a3n
                    Showing 1-10 of 586 reviews