#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #203716573

Model #23200

Store SKU #573309

Turf Builder 21.5 lbs. 5,000 sq. ft. Starter Lawn Fertilizer for New Grass Plus Weed Preventer

  • Great for seeding, sod, and grass plugs
  • Feeds new grass and prevents weeds
  • Weeds sprout white and die quickly, won't harm new grass
  • See More Details

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:

Product Overview

Sometimes it takes time to get your lawn moving in the direction you want. But with Scotts Turf Builder Starter Food for New Grass Plus Weed Preventer, you don't have to wait. Starter Food for New Grass Plus Weed Preventer has a 2-in-1 formula that feeds new grass and gives it a quick start, while preventing crabgrass and dandelions for up to 6-weeks. New grass grows thicker and quicker versus unfed grass, which will have you on your way to the lawn you've always wanted. Faster. Not available in FL.
  • Great for sod and grass plugs
  • 2-in-1 formula feeds new grass and prevents weeds
  • Prevents crabgrass and dandelions for up to 6-weeks
  • Weeds sprout white and die quickly, won't harm new grass
  • Grows new grass quicker and thicker versus unfed lawn
  • What is the Best Fertilizer for my Yard.



Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Lawn Fertilizers

Top RatedTurf Builder 20.2 lbs. 4,000 sq. ft. UltraFeed Lawn Fertilizer
current product
Turf Builder 21.5 lbs. 5,000 sq. ft. Starter Lawn Fertilizer for New Grass Plus Weed Preventer
Top RatedTurf Builder Winterguard 43 lbs. 15,000 sq. ft. Fall Lawn Fertilizer Plus Weed ControlTurf Builder 50.2 lb. 10,000 sq. ft. Triple Action Lawn Fertilizer
BrandScottsScottsScottsScotts
NameTurf Builder 20.2 lbs. 4,000 sq. ft. UltraFeed Lawn FertilizerTurf Builder 21.5 lbs. 5,000 sq. ft. Starter Lawn Fertilizer for New Grass Plus Weed PreventerTurf Builder Winterguard 43 lbs. 15,000 sq. ft. Fall Lawn Fertilizer Plus Weed ControlTurf Builder 50.2 lb. 10,000 sq. ft. Triple Action Lawn Fertilizer
Price
Ratings
(2143)
(345)
(587)
(3463)
Season UseFall,Spring,SummerAll-SeasonFall,WinterFall,Spring
Compatible Grass TypeAll PurposeBluegrass,Centipede,Fescue,Rye,Tall FescueBermuda,Bluegrass,Centipede,Fescue,Rye,Tall Fescue,ZoysiaBluegrass,Fescue,Tall Fescue
FeaturesQuickly GreensControls Crabgrass,Kills Dandelion,Starter FertilizerKills Chickweed,Kills Clovers,Kills Common Weeds,Kills Dandelion,Kills Dollarweed,Weed & FeedKills Chickweed,Kills Clovers,Kills Common Weeds,Kills Crab Grass,Kills Dandelion,Kills Dollarweed,Weed & Feed
N-P-K Ratio40-0-521-22-428-0-616-0-1
Emergent TypeNeither Pre nor Post EmergentNeither Pre nor Post EmergentPost-EmergentPre and Post Emergent
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)4000500015000 ft²10000
Delivery MethodGranularGranularGranularGranular
Package Size (lb.)20.221.543.0750.2
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
5000
Package Size (lb.)
21.5
Product Depth (in.)
19
Product Height (in.)
3.5
Product Width (in.)
12.75 in

Details

Active Ingredients
NPK
Application Method
Spreader
Application Type
Granular
Area of Use
Lawn
Bag Weight (lb.)
21.5
Compatible Grass Type
Bluegrass,Centipede,Fescue,Rye,Tall Fescue
Concentrated or Ready to Use
Ready to use
Contact or systemic
Systemic
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
5000
Delivery Method
Granular
Dry Fertilizer Type
Dry Lawn Fertilizer
Emergent Type
Neither Pre nor Post Emergent
Equivalent ready to use amount
21.5
Extended Control
Non-Extended Control
Features
Controls Crabgrass,Kills Dandelion,Starter Fertilizer
Fertilizer Formula
Non-Organic
Form
Granular
Indoor/Outdoor
Outdoor
Longevity (weeks)
6
N-P-K Ratio
21-22-4
Organic
Non-Organic
Organic
Synthetic
Pack Size
1
Primary Active Ingredient
NPK
Returnable
90-Day
Safe for Edibles
No
Season Use
All-Season
Time release
Slow release
Weed Type
Coarse Fescue

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Scotts "No-Quibble" Guarantee. Satisfaction 100% assured, or your money back.

Questions & Answers

49Questions14Answers

Will the herbicide in this kill existing hairy bittercress?

Asked by Joe March 27, 2021
2
Answers

Thank you for your question regarding Scotts Turf Builder Starter Lawn Fertilizer for New Grass Plus Weed Preventer. This product does control hairy bittercress. We offer a guarantee that extends to all of our products. If this interests you, we ask that you contact us at 877-220-3089.

What effect does this product have on undesirable creeping bentgrass?

Asked by JARED September 15, 2020
2
Answers

We thank you for your interest in Scotts Turf Builder Starter Food for New Grass + Weed Preventer. Please note that this product isn't registered to control bentgrass or any other grass types. We ask that you contact us if you would like to discuss this further. Our phone number is 877-220-3089.

I had a new lawn put in via loam & hydroseeded. I was told to wait 4 weeks before applying this ...

Asked by Deb June 7, 2020
1
Answer

Deb, it is best to let the new grass grow and control weeds once it is established.

Will this provide good results if applied to grass seed that’s already germinated?

Asked by Brett June 7, 2020
1
Answer

Brett, Scotts Turf Builder Starter Lawn Fertilizer For New Grass Plus Weed Preventer will not control existing weeds, but it can prevent new weeds listed on the label from developing. Apply the product when temperatures are between 60 and 90 degrees.

Is there anything I can do if I spread this on my Bermuda grass by mistake?

Asked by Kat May 18, 2020
1
Answer

We appreciate your question regarding Scotts Turf Builder Starter Lawn Fertilizer for New Grass Plus Weed Preventer. We recommend a watering program of 1/2 an inch of water every 3 days for 3 weeks. Your lawn should recover over time. Please contact us at 877-220-3089 if there is anything else we can help you with.

Will this harm Zoysia grass?

Asked by Matt May 15, 2020
1
Answer

We appreciate your interest in Scotts Turf Builder Starter Lawn Fertilizer for New Grass Plus Weed Preventer. This product is not safe for Zoysia grass. Please contact us at 877-220-3089 with any other inquiries that you may have, and we will be happy to assist you.

I started up a new lawn this year. After applying this fertilizer and the new grass seed, the grass is growing in pink! Please help.

Asked by Chris May 10, 2020
1
Answer

We appreciate you for using Scotts Turf Builder Starter Food for New Grass + Weed Preventer. The active ingredient in this product can turn grass temporarily pink. Please contact us at 877-220-3089 if you would like to further discuss this.

Can I use this fertilizer with Scotts Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun and Shade Mix?

Asked by Jeremy May 10, 2020
2
Answers

Absolutely you can perfect product perfect seed mix perfect fertilizer absolutely great product

Is this safe to use after spot treating with Tenacity?

Asked by TrevorS May 7, 2020
1
Answer

We appreciate your interest in Scotts Turf Builder Starter Lawn Fertilizer for New Grass Plus Weed Preventer. We recommend contacting the company of the herbicide to see if this product is safe. You can contact us if you need further assistance. We can be reached at http://tinyurl.com/mds8zo5

I was sold Scotts® Turf Builder® Halts Crabgrass Preventer with Lawn Food instead of this fertili...

Asked by GP April 29, 2020
2
Answers

As far as I'm aware, when using Halts Crabgrass Preventer, you never want to plant seeds because it kills it. If you are seeding, please do not use the Crabgrass preventer. This is used only when there is already grass. Depending on when you used the Crabgrass preventer, make sure to wait 4 to 5 weeks before reseeding. This starter lawn fertilizer sounds like the one you should use when seeding. I just seeded a hill in my back yard only using Scotts seeds and Scotts starter for new grass.

Turf Builder 21.5 lbs. 5,000 sq. ft. Starter Lawn Fertilizer for New Grass Plus Weed Preventer - page 2

Customer Reviews

  • 4
    out of 345 reviews
  • 84% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 345 reviews
Total Disaster!
Bought 3 - 15,000 square foot - 4 step programs for our large lawns, a substantial investment. Chose Step 1 for seeding solely on the recommendation of our nursery rep. We are just sick to see we have the same problem so many others have faced with the yellow spotting after checking the problem on line. The lawn looks horrible and is getting worse 3 weeks after the yellowing started. Previous reviews indicate Scotts has known about this problem for a while and should be advising retailers of this problem. Had we known this we never would have purchased. Scott's - what can you do to make this right with your customers.
by Another Unhappy Customer
Do not buy! Huge white/ patches after application
I overseeded part of my yard this year, so I used this Step 1 product. Within days of application my lush, green yard developed ugly white and yellow patches. It’s been 16 days since application and it’s gotten worse every day. This is a picture I took today.
by Lynn21
Don't buy this - grass turns yellow
Bought this and in a week parts of my lawn are turning yellow to white. Thought I could trust the Scotts brand. Not satisfied with this product at all.
by MKamp
GREAT!
I run a landscaping company and have usually gone with specialty seed but after trying Scott’s I will never go back and I only recommend Scott’s to my clients!
by
Turned new grass pink and eventually yellow, growth stunted
I used this product 6 weeks ago (mid-May NY) for a new lawn (Kentucky blue and perennial rye mix). When the new grass sprouted, approximately 35% of it grew in pink. As the grass matured, much of the grass that was pink turned yellow/lime green and stopped growing. Some of the grass that was pink outright died. I now have a "new" lawn that needs to be redone in the fall. Weeds that grew in the new lawn did sprout white and died as expected, but only for about 3 weeks; after that, no effect. I would not use this product again.
by newlawn27
Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 28, 2020
newlawn27, we're sorry to hear you didn't get the results you expected after using Scotts Turf Builder Starter Food + Weed Prevent. We'd like to gather some additional information and assist you with our product guarantee. Please each out to us at 877-220-3089. Scotts
We bought this seed and planted it 1 week ago. This is what happened to our new seeded lawn. I’m not sure this is what’s supposed to happen— to have an infestation of weeds? Any help?
by Jkowalski
Response from Consumer ServicesJul 28, 2020
We are sorry that you are disappointed with your purchase of Scotts Turf Builder Starter Food For New Grass Plus Weed Preventer. This product is a fertilizer and weed preventer. Listed weeds should sprout white and die quickly after the application. You can contact us if you would like to continue discussing this or if you want to know about our product guarantee. You can reach us here at https://tinyurl.com/y8nvfsca.
Issues with Step 1 Seeding Causing White Spots
I bought the 4 Step program that included the Step 1 for Seeding for 15,000 sq feet. One area of my lawn showed significant spotting. I hoped it would go away with watering but has not. I put down Step 2 but it seems damage might have already been done and those area are turning brown. Has anyone found a remedy? Has Scotts helped at all?
by JeffTump
Response from Consumer Services Jul 14, 2020
We are very sorry for the issues you encountered with Scotts Step 1 For Seeding - Starter Lawn Food with Weed Preventer. This is not what we expect from this product, and we would be interested in discussing this further so that we can learn more about this issue and extend our product guarantee. At your earliest convenience, please contact us and refer to your review to see what can be done. We can be reached at http://tinyurl.com/mds8zo5.
Grass Turning White
I purchased and applied this product according to the instructions approx. 2 weeks ago, in the 38 years of maintaining my yard I have never encountered anything like this. I hope to hear from scotts to help me remedy this problem.
by Buddy1
Response from Consumer ServicesJun 30, 2020
We are sorry that you are disappointed with your purchase of Scotts Turf Builder Starter Food For New Grass Plus Weed Preventer. Narrow, light green, or yellowish streaks may be due to not properly overlapping when applying a product that contains fertilizer. Please regularly water the lawn to dilute the fertilizer. We offer a guarantee that extends to all of our products. If this interests you, we ask that you contact us at https://tinyurl.com/y8nvfsca.
Not happy - turning grass white
When I noticed the Step 1 delivered to me was for Seedling rather than the regular version I've used in the past I called and spoke with a "brand ambassador" prior to spreading. I was assured that the products were almost identical and it was fine to use on my established lawn. That was 13 days ago and I now have huge patches of grass turning pale to white. I have an email from the representative I spoke with and will be addressing this with Scotts but wish I had read these reviews before applying it seeing that there are so many negative reviews, most with this same issue. I'm hoping someone can assure me that this will reverse itself but it has gone from bad to worse in the past 3 days.
by cgsnh
Response from Consumer Services Jun 19, 2020
We apologize that Scotts STEP 1 For Seeding - Starter Lawn Food with Weed Preventer did not meet your expectations. The active ingredient, Mesotrione interferes with the Chlorophyll function which can cause grass to temporarily whiten or occasionally turn pink. The whitening may appear 3 to 7 days after application and last for 14 to 21 days. It will recover over time. You can contact us if you would like to continue discussing this or if you want to know about our product guarantee. You can reach us here: http://tinyurl.com/mds8zo5
Excellent weed and feed that encourages the germination of grass seed. I use it every year in ar...
Excellent weed and feed that encourages the germination of grass seed. I use it every year in areas that I need to seed. It is more costly, but seed is not cheap. With this fertilizer, I know that the seed can still germinate. Other weed and feeds can prevent this.
by JW
Showing 1-10 of 345 reviews