#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #203716573

Model #23200

Store SKU #573309

Turf Builder 21.5 lbs. 5,000 sq. ft. Starter Lawn Fertilizer for New Grass Plus Weed Preventer

$3898
Apply Now
Pay $13.98 after $25 OFF your total qualifying purchase upon opening a new card. info
Apply for a Home Depot Consumer Card
  • Great for seeding, sod, and grass plugs
  • Feeds new grass and prevents weeds
  • Weeds sprout white and die quickly, won't harm new grass
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me
caret

Product Details

Sometimes it takes time to get your lawn moving in the direction you want. But with Scotts Turf Builder Starter Food for New Grass Plus Weed Preventer, you don't have to wait. Starter Food for New Grass Plus Weed Preventer has a 2-in-1 formula that feeds new grass and gives it a quick start, while preventing crabgrass and dandelions for up to 6-weeks. New grass grows thicker and quicker versus unfed grass, which will have you on your way to the lawn you've always wanted. Faster. Not available in FL.
  • Great for sod and grass plugs
  • 2-in-1 formula feeds new grass and prevents weeds
  • Prevents crabgrass and dandelions for up to 6-weeks
  • Weeds sprout white and die quickly, won't harm new grass
  • Grows new grass quicker and thicker versus unfed lawn
  • What is the Best Fertilizer for my Yard.



  • Return Policy

Additional Resources

From the Manufacturer

caret

Specifications

caret

Questions & Answers

50Questions
caret
Q:I live in Maryland 21009 zip cannot locate Scotts 2in1 Starter fertilizer
by|Apr 22, 2022
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  Please check you local retailer for product availability.

by|Apr 22, 2022
    caret
    Q:Will the herbicide in this kill existing hairy bittercress?
    by|Mar 27, 2021
    2 Answers
    Answer This Question

    A:  Thank you for your question regarding Scotts Turf Builder Starter Lawn Fertilizer for New Grass Plus Weed Preventer. This product does control hairy bittercress. We offer a guarantee that extends to all of our products. If this interests you, we ask that you contact us at 877-220-3089.

    by|May 13, 2021

      A:  It will not. The herbicide is a preemergent and only prevents some weed seeds from Germinating.

      by|Mar 27, 2021
      caret
      Q:What effect does this product have on undesirable creeping bentgrass?
      by|Sep 15, 2020
      2 Answers
      Answer This Question

      A:  We thank you for your interest in Scotts Turf Builder Starter Food for New Grass + Weed Preventer. Please note that this product isn't registered to control bentgrass or any other grass types. We ask that you contact us if you would like to discuss this further. Our phone number is 877-220-3089.

      by|Sep 16, 2020

        A:  Jared, the Scotts Turf Builder Starter Lawn Food For New Grass Plus Weed Preventer is not for use on bentgrass lawns. The product does prevent bentgrass. To get the best results use a non-selective weed control to kill the bentgrass before seeding.

        by|Sep 16, 2020
          caret
          Q:I had a new lawn put in via loam & hydroseeded. I was told to wait 4 weeks before applying this ...
          by|Jun 7, 2020
          1 Answer
          Answer This Question

          A:  Deb, it is best to let the new grass grow and control weeds once it is established.

          by|Jun 10, 2020
            Showing 1-4 of 50
            caret

            Customer Reviews

            4 out of 5
            (352)
            • 4
              out of 352 reviews
            • 84%recommend this product
            Filter by:
            Showing 1-10 of 352 reviews
            Worked great.
            Renovation details: Early June seeding. After using Quikpro on about 4500-5000 sq ft of Roughstalk Bluegrass (poa trivialis), I used “Step One for Seeding” to spot seed a couple dozen areas. I used Scott’s PA seed, I think it’s the same as the NE seed. Previous lawn health: My lawn mostly consists of K-31, perennial rye, and KY bluegrass. I have some warm season grasses as well, but I hate them and I’ve wiped most of them out with Q4. I’ve been killing quack grass, nimblewill, JP stiltgrass as well. Still haven’t gotten the mousear chickweed to stop coming back in the spring. Method I didn’t disturb the soil after Quikpro. I waited, watched. Hand weeded some smaller weeds and, top coated everything with mushroom soil. I Applied Scotts Step 1 Starter after rolling/seeding/strawing - probably right after the last rolling. Results: I had no whitening of any of cool season grasses. The only whitening I saw was on the nutsedge and purslane that came up. Even with the nutsedge that came up, considering, I had pretty good suppression of purslane, smartweed, chickweed, and crabgrass. It didn’t affect the oat grass in the topsoil or the mushrooms for that matter. Pretty satisfied with result, great germination, less where I had washout which isn’t the products fault.
            by
              So disappointed
              I loamed and seeded plow damage, and over seeded my entire lawn.. my local garden center recommended step 1 for seeding. Reading the package it said for newly seeded and over seeded lawns. It also said that whitening can occur.. but this is crazy, my whole lawn looks terrible. I hope this is truly only temporary.. I can not recommend this product.
              by
              Response from Consumer ServicesJun 14, 2022
              Ryan600, we're sorry to hear you weren't satisfied with Scotts Step 1 for Seeding and we appreciate your feedback. This product can cause temporary discoloration of established grass, but this will go away on its own within a few weeks. Reach out to us here for assistance with our product guarantee: https://tinyurl.com/y8nvfsca
                Total Disaster!
                Bought 3 - 15,000 square foot - 4 step programs for our large lawns, a substantial investment. Chose Step 1 for seeding solely on the recommendation of our nursery rep. We are just sick to see we have the same problem so many others have faced with the yellow spotting after checking the problem on line. The lawn looks horrible and is getting worse 3 weeks after the yellowing started. Previous reviews indicate Scotts has known about this problem for a while and should be advising retailers of this problem. Had we known this we never would have purchased. Scott's - what can you do to make this right with your customers.
                by
                Response from Consumer ServicesSep 14, 2021
                We're sorry to hear you weren't satisfied after using Scotts Step 1 for Seeding. This product should only be used when applying grass seed. The active ingredient can cause temporary discoloration to established grass. Reach out to us here for assistance with our product guarantee: https://tinyurl.com/y8nvfsca
                  Do not buy! Huge white/ patches after application
                  I overseeded part of my yard this year, so I used this Step 1 product. Within days of application my lush, green yard developed ugly white and yellow patches. It’s been 16 days since application and it’s gotten worse every day. This is a picture I took today.
                  by
                  Response from Consumer ServicesSep 15, 2021
                  Lynn, we're sorry to hear this happened after using Scotts Step 1 for Seeding. The active ingredient in this product can cause temporary discoloration to existing grass. Reach out to us here for assistance with our product guarantee: https://tinyurl.com/y8nvfsca
                    Don't buy this - grass turns yellow
                    Bought this and in a week parts of my lawn are turning yellow to white. Thought I could trust the Scotts brand. Not satisfied with this product at all.
                    by
                    Response from Consumer ServicesJul 26, 2021
                    MKamp, we're sorry to hear this happened after using Scotts Step 1 for Seeding. The active ingredient in this product can cause temporary discoloration of existing grass. Reach out to us here for further assistance: https://tinyurl.com/y8nvfsca
                      GREAT!
                      I run a landscaping company and have usually gone with specialty seed but after trying Scott’s I will never go back and I only recommend Scott’s to my clients!
                      by
                        Turned new grass pink and eventually yellow, growth stunted
                        I used this product 6 weeks ago (mid-May NY) for a new lawn (Kentucky blue and perennial rye mix). When the new grass sprouted, approximately 35% of it grew in pink. As the grass matured, much of the grass that was pink turned yellow/lime green and stopped growing. Some of the grass that was pink outright died. I now have a "new" lawn that needs to be redone in the fall. Weeds that grew in the new lawn did sprout white and died as expected, but only for about 3 weeks; after that, no effect. I would not use this product again.
                        by
                        Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 28, 2020
                        newlawn27, we're sorry to hear you didn't get the results you expected after using Scotts Turf Builder Starter Food + Weed Prevent. We'd like to gather some additional information and assist you with our product guarantee. Please each out to us at 877-220-3089. Scotts
                          We bought this seed and planted it 1 week ago. This is what happened to our new seeded lawn. I’m not sure this is what’s supposed to happen— to have an infestation of weeds? Any help?
                          by
                          Response from Consumer ServicesJul 28, 2020
                          We are sorry that you are disappointed with your purchase of Scotts Turf Builder Starter Food For New Grass Plus Weed Preventer. This product is a fertilizer and weed preventer. Listed weeds should sprout white and die quickly after the application. You can contact us if you would like to continue discussing this or if you want to know about our product guarantee. You can reach us here at https://tinyurl.com/y8nvfsca.
                            Issues with Step 1 Seeding Causing White Spots
                            I bought the 4 Step program that included the Step 1 for Seeding for 15,000 sq feet. One area of my lawn showed significant spotting. I hoped it would go away with watering but has not. I put down Step 2 but it seems damage might have already been done and those area are turning brown. Has anyone found a remedy? Has Scotts helped at all?
                            by
                            Response from Consumer Services Jul 14, 2020
                            We are very sorry for the issues you encountered with Scotts Step 1 For Seeding - Starter Lawn Food with Weed Preventer. This is not what we expect from this product, and we would be interested in discussing this further so that we can learn more about this issue and extend our product guarantee. At your earliest convenience, please contact us and refer to your review to see what can be done. We can be reached at http://tinyurl.com/mds8zo5.
                              Grass Turning White
                              I purchased and applied this product according to the instructions approx. 2 weeks ago, in the 38 years of maintaining my yard I have never encountered anything like this. I hope to hear from scotts to help me remedy this problem.
                              by
                              Response from Consumer ServicesJun 30, 2020
                              We are sorry that you are disappointed with your purchase of Scotts Turf Builder Starter Food For New Grass Plus Weed Preventer. Narrow, light green, or yellowish streaks may be due to not properly overlapping when applying a product that contains fertilizer. Please regularly water the lawn to dilute the fertilizer. We offer a guarantee that extends to all of our products. If this interests you, we ask that you contact us at https://tinyurl.com/y8nvfsca.
                                Showing 1-10 of 352 reviews

                                Frequently Bought Together

                                +
                                +
                                Price:
                                $3898

                                Compare Similar Lawn Fertilizers

                                Turf Builder 15 lb. 5,000 sq. ft. Starter Lawn Food Fertilizer for New Grass
                                current product
                                Turf Builder 21.5 lbs. 5,000 sq. ft. Starter Lawn Fertilizer for New Grass Plus Weed Preventer
                                36 lbs. Fairway Formula Spring Fertilizer Weed and Feed and Crabgrass Preventer, Covers 10,000 sq. ft. (24-0-6)Turf Builder Bonus S 34.48 lbs. 10,000 sq. ft. Florida Weed and Feed Weed Killer Plus Lawn Fertilizer
                                BrandScottsScottsGreenViewScotts
                                NameTurf Builder 15 lb. 5,000 sq. ft. Starter Lawn Food Fertilizer for New GrassTurf Builder 21.5 lbs. 5,000 sq. ft. Starter Lawn Fertilizer for New Grass Plus Weed Preventer36 lbs. Fairway Formula Spring Fertilizer Weed and Feed and Crabgrass Preventer, Covers 10,000 sq. ft. (24-0-6)Turf Builder Bonus S 34.48 lbs. 10,000 sq. ft. Florida Weed and Feed Weed Killer Plus Lawn Fertilizer
                                Price
                                $3497
                                $3898
                                $6999
                                /bag
                                $7297
                                Ratings
                                (825)
                                (352)
                                (526)
                                (745)
                                Season UseAll-SeasonAll-SeasonFall,SpringSummer
                                N-P-K Ratio24-25-421-22-424-0-634-0-0
                                Compatible Grass TypeAll Purpose,Bent Grass,Bermuda,Bluegrass,Centipede,Fescue,Rye,St. Augustine (Floratam),Tall Fescue,ZoysiaBluegrass,Centipede,Fescue,Rye,Tall FescueBermuda,Bluegrass,Centipede,Fescue,Rye,Tall Fescue,ZoysiaAll Purpose
                                FeaturesStarter FertilizerControls Crabgrass,Kills Dandelion,Starter FertilizerControls Broad Leaf,Controls Crabgrass,Kills Chickweed,Kills Clovers,Kills Common Weeds,Kills Crab Grass,Kills Dandelion,Kills DollarweedWater Soluble,Weed & Feed
                                Package Size (lb.)16.121.53634.63
                                Delivery MethodGranularGranularGranularGranular
                                Emergent TypeNeither Pre nor Post EmergentNeither Pre nor Post EmergentPre and Post EmergentPost-Emergent
                                OrganicSyntheticNon-OrganicNon-OrganicNon-Organic
                                View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product