#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #203760905

Model #18348

Store SKU #358293

Turf Builder 3 lbs. Grass Seed Dense Shade Mix

$2197
  • Exclusive mix of shade-tolerant and self-repairing grasses
  • Ideal for seeding around or under dense trees
  • 4 in 1 WaterSmart PLUS coating keeps seed moist 2x longer
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me
How to Get It

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:
$2197

Product Overview

Scotts Turf Builder Grass Seed Dense Shade Mix is an exclusive mix of shade-tolerant and self-repairing grasses. This mix is ideal for seeding around or under areas of dense trees and it grows with as little as 3-hours of sunlight. Each seed is wrapped in a unique 4-in-1 WaterSmart PLUS Coating that absorbs 2X more water than uncoated seed, feeds with essential nutrients and helps protect seedlings from disease. Grow Quicker, Thicker, Greener Grass. Guaranteed.
  • Perfect mix of shade-tolerant and self-repairing grass varieties
  • Grows with as little as 3-hours of sunlight
  • Contains our exclusive 4-in-1 watersmart plus coating that absorbs 2X more water than uncoated seed, feeds to jumpstart growth and helps protect seedlings against disease
  • Contains an exclusive mix of shade-tolerant and self-repairing grasses
  • Contains an exclusive mix of shade-tolerant and self-repairing grasses

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Grass Seed

current product
Turf Builder 3 lbs. Grass Seed Dense Shade Mix
7 lb. Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun and Shade Mix7 lbs. Turf Builder Dense Shade Mix Grass Seed20 lbs. Central Contractors Blend Mix
BrandScottsScottsScottsPennington
NameTurf Builder 3 lbs. Grass Seed Dense Shade Mix7 lb. Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun and Shade Mix7 lbs. Turf Builder Dense Shade Mix Grass Seed20 lbs. Central Contractors Blend Mix
Price
$2197
$3299
$3473
$3898
Ratings
(488)
(2365)
(455)
(182)
Grass TypeDense ShadeSun and ShadeDense ShadeContractor's Mix
RegionAppalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest MountainAppalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest MountainAppalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest MountainMideast Central,Midwest
Traffic/Wear Tolerance LevelMedium LightMedium LightMedium LightMedium Light
Drought TolerantYesYesYesYes
Grass Seed UseNew Lawn,OverseedingNew Lawn,OverseedingNew Lawn,OverseedingNew Lawn,Overseeding
Product Size3.46 LB-Pound7.57 LB-Pound7.57 LB-Pound20 LB-Pound
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)750280017504000
Landscape Supply TypeSeedsSeedsSeedsSeeds
Product Weight (lb.)3.46 lb77.57 lb20.437
Product Width (in.)19 in9.5 in9.5 in15
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
750
Product Depth (in.)
4 in
Product Height (in.)
6 in
Product Size
3.46 LB-Pound
Product Width (in.)
19 in

Details

Drought Tolerant
Yes
Grass Seed Use
New Lawn,Overseeding
Grass Type
Dense Shade
Landscape Supply Type
Seeds
Organic
No
Product Weight (lb.)
3.46 lb
Region
Appalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain
Returnable
90-Day
Seed Type
Grass
Traffic/Wear Tolerance Level
Medium Light

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 3.7
    out of 488 reviews
  • 68%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 488 reviews
The best seed to use
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Dark area grass seed ! I tried other seeds , only to waste time and money. I have a large tree that has a 10x10 area of yard in the shade. I would say it’s almost 3/4 of the day in the shade. I raked to ruff up the soil. Threw the seed down. Then I watered. And watered. Within a few days I seen sprouts. Then I had grass. It coved the bare area nicely.
by
    Improving the grass in shady areas.
    [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I seeded around a large maple tree and will over seed in the spring. I got good germination and looking to thicken the grass some more in the spring. The tree does provide a lot of shade so hope to see nice results, especially around the edges of the tree.
    by
      Grass can grow in shade
      [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have many trees on the property. They create quite a bit of shade which makes growing grass difficult to impossible. I was ready to give up when I saw this grass seed for shade, so I gave it one last try. It seems to be doing pretty well for a start; I'm hoping it will improve over time.
      by
        Deep woods grass possible?
        [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Well I have this section of lawn or rather dirt that borders the neighbors woods that is always bare of living things. The trees are fairly dense in their forest and thus shade the area most of the day. Trying out Scott’s dense shade mix grass seed to see if this can survive. It only requires 3 hours of sunlight which I think I have, we'll see. I ruffed up the soil and spread the seed using a Scott’s hand held spreader, then put down some Scott’s starter fertilizer. It took while for the sprouts to appear ~ 2/3 weeks and it’s a bit spotty, I’ll put some more down in the spring. So right now it’s a wait and see how it does in the spring as I have plenty of sun now that the leaves are down. I’ll update accordingly.
        by
          it works
          [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] The yard had some bare spots that really needed some help and was not surprised that Scotts has a good product like this seed. I did aerate and put down starter fertilizer and already have a whole bunch of new grass coming thru. It is filling in really nice. The dark green blades are blending in with the rest of the grass. You wont be disappointed. Don't forget to water every day until germinated.
          by
            Worst grass seed for Georgia lawn!
            Planted the Southern Gold grass seed last fall after extensive ground prep, fertilizer, watering etc. Came up lush and green, absolutely beautiful.....until June. In spite of perfect natural rains and mild temperatures for Georgia the lawn turned ugly brown! Every other yard looks great due to the adequate rainfall but our lawn is hideous!! Southern Gold this is not!!! Advertised as resistant to heat and drought...NOT. Looked at the package and its grown in Oregon....what??? I guess its Southern Oregon Gold. Now I have to spend money, labor, time all over again! NEVER buy SCOTTS anything again!
            by
            Response from ScottsCustomerCareSep 25, 2020
            We are sorry that you are unhappy with Scotts Turf Builder Dense Shade Mix Grass Seed. Both excessive moisture and not enough moisture can inhibit seed germination. Cool nighttime temperatures and fluctuating temperatures will slow germination. We offer a guarantee that extends to all of our products. If this interests you, we ask that you contact us at https://tinyurl.com/y8nvfsca. Scotts
              This seed is awesome for always to mostly shady areas. Used burlap to cover and keep wet as this ...
              This seed is awesome for always to mostly shady areas. Used burlap to cover and keep wet as this was on a slope as well. Germinated in 7 days.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              Direct sun area for morning, partial shade in the afternoon,...
              Direct sun area for morning, partial shade in the afternoon, graded and watered daily. Grass grew in about 16 days when combined with Scott’s turf builder lawn soil. In order to get a thicker grass coverage I over seeded and raked about 3 times. I used about 3/4 of a 5000 square foot bag for 3000 sqft- basically as recommended.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              JUST WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR...LOOKS AWSOME
              it's all in the prep people I had germination in 6 days without issues I used 300 lbs. of this seed to start a new lawn in northwest Georgia and product is performing well and as expected but I took alot of time to make sure I had proper soil preparation. looking forward to see how it holds up thru its first winter.. NOTE: COVER THE SEED WELL WITH STRAW IT HELPS HOLD IN MOISTURE EVEN WITH DAILY WATERING THE SEED CAN DRY OUT IF NOT COVERED
              by
                • Recommended
                This is my second year using this seed and both times I have had to put out seed multiple times b...
                This is my second year using this seed and both times I have had to put out seed multiple times because only about half would germinate each time. The seeds that do germinate, germinate surprisingly quickly - within just a few days (there has been a lot of rain this fall). Also a ton of weeds came up, some I've never seen in my yard before. So I'm assuming some of these weeds came in this this weed. I think the blend works great for Atlanta summers but I'll probably look into a different brand next year and hope for better germination.
                by
                Response from ScottsCustomerCareNov 7, 2018
                We are sorry that you did not get the results you expected from Scotts Turf Builder Southern Gold Mix. All of our Scotts seeds are thoroughly cleaned and is 98.9% to 99.9% weed seed free. Natural soil contains thousands of seeds and when soil is disturbed, such as by rototilling, seeds that were deep in the soil may be brought to top of soil where growing conditions are better allowing them to germinate. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call us and refer to your review to see what can be done. Our phone number is 877-220-3089. Scotts
                  Showing 1-10 of 488 reviews