#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #314674318

Model #18213-1

Store SKU #1005851624

Turf Builder Rapid Grass 5.6 lb. Sun and Shade Grass Seed

$3847
Apply Now
Pay $13.47 $38.47 when you open a new card. info
Apply for a Home Depot Consumer Card
  • Sun & shade mix for your new lawn or overseeding existing grass
  • Grass seed and fertilizer for a 99.9 percent weed-free lawn
  • Enjoy your new lush, green lawn in just weeks
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me
How to Get It

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:
$3847

Product Overview

Get outside and enjoy your lawn with Scotts Turf Builder Rapid Grass Sun & Shade Mix. With our unique, proprietary mix of grass seed and fertilizer in one effective formula, your lawn benefits from extended feeding, resulting in more full green grass! Compared to seed alone, your lawn will grow 2 times faster (when applied at the new lawn rate, subject to proper care). Use on either new lawns or overseeding existing grass. Scotts Turf Builder revolutionary sun and shade seed mix grows green, lush grass, in just weeks (see grass grow in 12 to 21 days)! Grass seed germinates best when temperatures are between 60°F and 80°F and after any chance of frost, usually in the Fall and Spring. To apply, rake the top layer of soil before applying grass seed with a Scotts spreader. For best results, water twice daily for at least 3 weeks. Each 5.6 lb. bag seeds 2,800 sq. ft. based on overseeding rate. Do not use weed control products until your lawn has been established (mowed at least 4 times), if you already applied weed control, please see those package directions on when to plant grass seed. Finally, be sure to apply Scotts Lawn Food products every 8 weeks throughout the season to help maintain your thick, green lawn.
  • Enjoy a new lawn in just weeks with Scotts Turf Builder Rapid Grass Sun & Shade Mix; grows up to 2x times faster than seed alone when applied at the newlawn rate (subject to proper care)
  • Unique, proprietary combination of sun and shade mix of seed and fertilizer results in full green grass that grows in just weeks; expect to see grass growing at a minimum of 12 days and maximum of 21 days
  • This sun and shade grass seed and fertilizer combination will change the way you grow grass; it's the most complete solution for large problem areas in your lawn and for establishing new grass
  • Fall and Spring are the best times to plant grass seed; seed germinates best when temperatures are between 60°F and 80°F and the chance of frost has passed
  • For best results, rake soil lightly to remove debris; apply grass seed with a Scotts spreader, then water daily or as needed to keep soil surface moist until the seedlings reach 2 to 3 inches tall; one 5.6-lb. bag seeds up to 2,800 sq. ft.

Additional Resources

From the Manufacturer

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Grass Seed

current product
Turf Builder Rapid Grass 5.6 lb. Sun and Shade Grass Seed
Turf Builder 7 lbs. Grass Seed Northeast Mix7 lb. Turf Builder Kentucky Bluegrass Mix Seed20 lb.Turf Builder Grass Seed Tall Fescue Mix Grows Deep Roots for a Durable, Livable Lawn Resistant to Heat and Drought
BrandScotts ScottsScotts
NameTurf Builder Rapid Grass 5.6 lb. Sun and Shade Grass SeedTurf Builder 7 lbs. Grass Seed Northeast Mix7 lb. Turf Builder Kentucky Bluegrass Mix Seed20 lb.Turf Builder Grass Seed Tall Fescue Mix Grows Deep Roots for a Durable, Livable Lawn Resistant to Heat and Drought
Price
$3847
$4077
$4984
$6597
Ratings
(833)
(287)
(860)
(1529)
Grass TypeSun and ShadeMixedBlue GrassFescue
RegionAppalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest MountainNortheast CentralAppalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain,Southwest MountainAppalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain,Southeast,Southwest Mountain
Traffic/Wear Tolerance LevelBright LightMedium LightMedium LightMedium Light
Drought TolerantNoYesYesYes
Grass Seed UseNew Lawn,OverseedingNew Lawn,OverseedingNew Lawn,OverseedingNew Lawn,Overseeding
Product Size5.6 LB-Pound7.57 LB-Pound7.57 LB-Pound20.7 LB-Pound
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)2800303047255000
Product Weight (lb.)5.6 lb7.57 lb720
Landscape Supply TypeSeedsSeedsSeedsSeeds
Product Width (in.)9.50 in9.5 in9.5 in15 in
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Coverage Area (sq. ft.)2800Product Depth (in.)4.50 in
Product Height (in.)15 inProduct Size5.6 LB-Pound
Product Width (in.)9.50 in

Details

Drought TolerantNoGrass Seed UseNew Lawn,Overseeding
Grass TypeSun and ShadeLandscape Supply TypeSeeds
OrganicNoPack Size1
Product Weight (lb.)5.6 lbRegionAppalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain
Returnable90-DaySeed TypeGrass
Traffic/Wear Tolerance LevelBright Light

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 3.4
    out of 834 reviews
  • 47%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 834 reviews
Don't understand all the negative reviews.
This product worked great for me. Planted mid May in Wisconsin after tilling about 3-4". Spread Rapid Grass around. Watered 2x a day for a month and it's lush and beautiful now. Be patient and follow the steps on the bag.
by
    • Recommended
    1 found this review helpful
    This grass never took in fresh soil
    Used this seed where I laid down fresh soil in mostly sunny area. Watered it. It changed from blue color to light brown. Never grew. Maybe it was a bad bag of seed but I don’t think you can return an empty bag and expect a refund. Bummer I’ll have to try a different brand
    by
    Response from Scotts Consumer ServicesJul 11, 2022
    We're sorry to read about your disappointment with Scotts Turf Builder Rapid Grass Sun & Shade Mix and appreciate your feedback. Any weed control used prior to seeding, such as using the crabgrass preventer, will prevent the seed from germinating.

    We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please reach out to us at 877-220-3089 if we can further assist. Scotts
    • Verified Purchase
    Worked for me
    Saw a lot of bad reviews about this grass failing to germinate. I chose it anyway because it promised speed, and I had to seed a big yard at a rental house after a construction project. Long story short, it worked great. Came in thick and lush in a little over a month. I distributed tide laundry powder over the ground ahead of seeding, and it holds moisture about twice as well as it did previously which helped with seeding and now reduces water consumption.
    by
      • Recommended
      Amazing product!
      After I was left with a mess of a back yard after having a platform deck built, and only a month to get grass grown in for an event I'm having at my house ,=I bought this seed. What a great product! The before and after are 26 days apart. Watered every day several times and thrilled with the results.
      by
        Not quite what I expected
        Selected this product after extended conversation with a Scott's customer svc. associate. Prepped the ground as directed, spread with a Scott's spreader using the advised setting, Watered 2x daily. Too many areas of ground where seeds did not germinate. Germination seems sporadic. Deciding to keep with Scott's or go with another product.
        by
        Response from Consumer ServicesJun 24, 2022
        Richard, we're sorry to hear Scotts Turf Builder Rapid Grass didn't meet your expectations and we appreciate your feedback. Reach out to us here for assistance with our product guarantee: https://tinyurl.com/y8nvfsca
          Worked Like a Charm!
          Literally regrew my entire back yard after is was devastated in Hurricane Ida, and lay brown and frozen all winter. A few bags of this, one bale of hay and regular watering and it is emerald green again.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          1 found this review helpful
          Amazing Results
          I'm convinced that the negative reviews are from people who just tossed the seed down and expected it to grow. We had some thinning and completely bare spots that appeared after winter. I power raked with the SunJoe dethatcher which to be honest, terrified me after seeing how bare the lawn looked. But I applied the rapid seed and watered diligently, and I'm very happy with the results. Lawn is looking great and getting better by the day. This is a before and after shot. Couldn't be happier.
          by
            • Recommended
            Worked great!
            Used it on some extremely dry and clay like TN soil. It took a few weeks to really begin getting thick and lush, but it did! I took plenty of care to water it and the effort was not wasted.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            Do not buy this product.
            This stuff is no good at all. Today makes 2 weeks since I’ve planted the seed and covered with a thin layer of top soil. It gets watered for 10 mins 3 times daily at 7am, 1pm, and 7pm. There is a very low % of germination, I laid this stuff down thick by hand to cover up patchy spots. The first 3 pictures shown are Rapid Grass, and 2 final ones that look good are Lesco Double Eagle that was planted on the same day in the same manner and watered at the same times. I’ll only be buying Lesco now.
            by
            Response from ScottsCustomerCareMay 1, 2022
            Kevin, sorry to hear that Scotts Turf Builder Rapid Grass failed to germinate. This can happen for a number of reasons, If Temperatures are below 60 degrees or above 90 degrees seeds can go dormant. Use of weed controls and unfavorable soil conditions can cause seeds not to germinate as well. This product is backed by a Money back guarantee. For further assistance please call us at 1-877-220-3089. Scotts
              SC beach property
              Our property is approximately 1/4 mile from the beach. Mostly Sandy soil and 3/4 of the lot is heavily wooded. We did not supplement the soil, only racked and germination has been fantastic! We’re very pleased so far! Waiting to see how the new grass holds up to summer heat and humidity.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              Showing 1-10 of 834 reviews