Internet #202222975

Model # GEN7000LP

0027077073683

Sportsman

7,000/6,000-Watt Propane Gas Powered Electric Start Portable Generator

  • Ideal for camping and running appliances during power outages
  • Propane fuel produces up to 40% lower carbon monoxide emissions
  • Engine runtime of 8 hours at 50% on a 20 lb. gas cylinder
$ 629 00
(limit 5 per order)
$826.00

Save $197.00 (24%)

Loading Options
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

+

Product Overview

  • Ideal for camping and running appliances during power outages
  • Propane fuel produces up to 40% lower carbon monoxide emissions
  • Engine runtime of 8 hours at 50% on a 20 lb. gas cylinder
Keep household appliances and power tools running smoothly with the Sportsman Propane 6000/7000-Watt Portable Generator. Perfect for camping and running household appliances during power outages, this generator features an engine runtime of 8 hours at 50% with just a common, 20 lb. gas grill-type cylinder (LPG cylinder not included). The engine runs at less than 80 dB. Since propane fuel burns cleaner than gas engines, carbon monoxide emissions are up to 40% lower. Propane fuel does not degrade, so you can store several tanks for an unlimited amount of time.
  • Easy to transport and maneuver when the included wheel kit is installed
  • 120-Volt 50 Amp/240-Volt 25 Amp operation
  • Uses a standard gas grill-style LPG tank like the ones sold and refilled at The Home Depot
  • 13 HP, 4-stroke OHV, recoil start engine delivers maximum performance
  • Runs on clean, quiet and efficient liquid propane gas (LPG), so you never have to worry about bad gasoline fouling the engine
  • 6000 running watt/7000 surge watt
  • High altitude use: this generator is not recommended for high altitude use above 3,000 ft.
  • LPG propane tank is not included
  • Features air-cooled design, AVR (automatic voltage regulation), low-oil shutoff, spark arrestor, full power panel, engine shutoff switch and overload protected outlets
  • Electric and recoil start; battery for electric start not included
  • Includes four 120-Volt GFCI outlets, one 120/240-Volt outlet and one 12-Volt DC outlet
  • Runtime equal to 8 hours at 50% load per 20 lbs. of LPG fuel
  • Decibel rating of less than 80 dB for quiet operation
  • A 12-Volt motorcycle battery no larger than 7-1/4 in. L x 6-1/2 in. L x 3 in. W is required for electric start
  • Ideal battery required is 7-1/8 in. L x 6 in. H x 3 in. W, 130 minimum CCA (cold cranking amps)
  • EPA-approved
  • 30 Amp outlet
  • 5 ft. regulator hose is included in box



Product Overview

  • Ideal for camping and running appliances during power outages
  • Propane fuel produces up to 40% lower carbon monoxide emissions
  • Engine runtime of 8 hours at 50% on a 20 lb. gas cylinder
Model #: GEN7000LP
Internet #: 202222975

Keep household appliances and power tools running smoothly with the Sportsman Propane 6000/7000-Watt Portable Generator. Perfect for camping and running household appliances during power outages, this generator features an engine runtime of 8 hours at 50% with just a common, 20 lb. gas grill-type cylinder (LPG cylinder not included). The engine runs at less than 80 dB. Since propane fuel burns cleaner than gas engines, carbon monoxide emissions are up to 40% lower. Propane fuel does not degrade, so you can store several tanks for an unlimited amount of time.

  • Easy to transport and maneuver when the included wheel kit is installed
  • 120-Volt 50 Amp/240-Volt 25 Amp operation
  • Uses a standard gas grill-style LPG tank like the ones sold and refilled at The Home Depot
  • 13 HP, 4-stroke OHV, recoil start engine delivers maximum performance
  • Runs on clean, quiet and efficient liquid propane gas (LPG), so you never have to worry about bad gasoline fouling the engine
  • 6000 running watt/7000 surge watt
  • High altitude use: this generator is not recommended for high altitude use above 3,000 ft.
  • LPG propane tank is not included
  • Features air-cooled design, AVR (automatic voltage regulation), low-oil shutoff, spark arrestor, full power panel, engine shutoff switch and overload protected outlets
  • Electric and recoil start; battery for electric start not included
  • Includes four 120-Volt GFCI outlets, one 120/240-Volt outlet and one 12-Volt DC outlet
  • Runtime equal to 8 hours at 50% load per 20 lbs. of LPG fuel
  • Decibel rating of less than 80 dB for quiet operation
  • A 12-Volt motorcycle battery no larger than 7-1/4 in. L x 6-1/2 in. L x 3 in. W is required for electric start
  • Ideal battery required is 7-1/8 in. L x 6 in. H x 3 in. W, 130 minimum CCA (cold cranking amps)
  • EPA-approved
  • 30 Amp outlet
  • 5 ft. regulator hose is included in box



Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Key Features

Product Overview
Key Features
  • Ideal for camping and running appliances during power outages
  • Propane fuel produces up to 40% lower carbon monoxide emissions
  • Engine runtime of 8 hours at 50% on a 20 lb. gas cylinder
Keep household appliances and power tools running smoothly with the Sportsman Propane 6000/7000-Watt Portable Generator. Perfect for camping and running household appliances during power outages, this generator features an engine runtime of 8 hours at 50% with just a common, 20 lb. gas grill-type cylinder (LPG cylinder not included). The engine runs at less than 80 dB. Since propane fuel burns cleaner than gas engines, carbon monoxide emissions are up to 40% lower. Propane fuel does not degrade, so you can store several tanks for an unlimited amount of time.
  • Easy to transport and maneuver when the included wheel kit is installed
  • 120-Volt 50 Amp/240-Volt 25 Amp operation
  • Uses a standard gas grill-style LPG tank like the ones sold and refilled at The Home Depot
  • 13 HP, 4-stroke OHV, recoil start engine delivers maximum performance
  • Runs on clean, quiet and efficient liquid propane gas (LPG), so you never have to worry about bad gasoline fouling the engine
  • 6000 running watt/7000 surge watt
  • High altitude use: this generator is not recommended for high altitude use above 3,000 ft.
  • LPG propane tank is not included
  • Features air-cooled design, AVR (automatic voltage regulation), low-oil shutoff, spark arrestor, full power panel, engine shutoff switch and overload protected outlets
  • Electric and recoil start; battery for electric start not included
  • Includes four 120-Volt GFCI outlets, one 120/240-Volt outlet and one 12-Volt DC outlet
  • Runtime equal to 8 hours at 50% load per 20 lbs. of LPG fuel
  • Decibel rating of less than 80 dB for quiet operation
  • A 12-Volt motorcycle battery no larger than 7-1/4 in. L x 6-1/2 in. L x 3 in. W is required for electric start
  • Ideal battery required is 7-1/8 in. L x 6 in. H x 3 in. W, 130 minimum CCA (cold cranking amps)
  • EPA-approved
  • 30 Amp outlet
  • 5 ft. regulator hose is included in box



Product Overview

  • Ideal for camping and running appliances during power outages
  • Propane fuel produces up to 40% lower carbon monoxide emissions
  • Engine runtime of 8 hours at 50% on a 20 lb. gas cylinder
Model #: GEN7000LP
Internet #: 202222975

Keep household appliances and power tools running smoothly with the Sportsman Propane 6000/7000-Watt Portable Generator. Perfect for camping and running household appliances during power outages, this generator features an engine runtime of 8 hours at 50% with just a common, 20 lb. gas grill-type cylinder (LPG cylinder not included). The engine runs at less than 80 dB. Since propane fuel burns cleaner than gas engines, carbon monoxide emissions are up to 40% lower. Propane fuel does not degrade, so you can store several tanks for an unlimited amount of time.

  • Easy to transport and maneuver when the included wheel kit is installed
  • 120-Volt 50 Amp/240-Volt 25 Amp operation
  • Uses a standard gas grill-style LPG tank like the ones sold and refilled at The Home Depot
  • 13 HP, 4-stroke OHV, recoil start engine delivers maximum performance
  • Runs on clean, quiet and efficient liquid propane gas (LPG), so you never have to worry about bad gasoline fouling the engine
  • 6000 running watt/7000 surge watt
  • High altitude use: this generator is not recommended for high altitude use above 3,000 ft.
  • LPG propane tank is not included
  • Features air-cooled design, AVR (automatic voltage regulation), low-oil shutoff, spark arrestor, full power panel, engine shutoff switch and overload protected outlets
  • Electric and recoil start; battery for electric start not included
  • Includes four 120-Volt GFCI outlets, one 120/240-Volt outlet and one 12-Volt DC outlet
  • Runtime equal to 8 hours at 50% load per 20 lbs. of LPG fuel
  • Decibel rating of less than 80 dB for quiet operation
  • A 12-Volt motorcycle battery no larger than 7-1/4 in. L x 6-1/2 in. L x 3 in. W is required for electric start
  • Ideal battery required is 7-1/8 in. L x 6 in. H x 3 in. W, 130 minimum CCA (cold cranking amps)
  • EPA-approved
  • 30 Amp outlet
  • 5 ft. regulator hose is included in box



Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Sportsman Duromax Sportsman WEN
Name 4,000/3,250-Watt Propane Gas Powered Portable Generator with Clean Burning LPG and RV Outlet 3500-Watt Dual Fuel Powered Electric Start Portable Generator with Wheel Kit 7,000/6,000-Watt Propane Gas Powered Electric Start Portable Generator 13,000-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Wheel Kit and Electric Start
Price
Was $349.88
$279.00
Save $70.88 (20%)
$505.30
Was $826.00
$629.00
Save $197.00 (24%)
$1,795.15
Ratings (778) (146) (778) (25)
Engine Make OEM Branded OEM Branded OEM Branded OEM Branded
Features Automatic Voltage Regulation,Low Oil Shutdown,Muffler,On/Off Switch,Overload Protection,Resettable Circuit Breaker,Short Circuit Protection Automatic Voltage Regulation,Built-in Fuel Gauge,Dual Fuel,Electric Start,Fuel Gauge,Low Oil Shutdown,Muffler Automatic Voltage Regulation,Electric Start,Extended Handles,Low Oil Shutdown,Muffler,On/Off Switch,Overload Protection,Resettable Circuit Breaker,Short Circuit Protection Electric Start,Fuel Gauge,Low Oil Shutdown,Muffler
Running Wattage 3250 3500 6000 11000
CA (CARB) Compliant Not CARB Compliant CARB Compliant Not CARB Compliant Not CARB Compliant
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Height (in.)
21.75
Product Length (in.)
29.5
Product Width (in.)
20.5

Details

Application
Home Standby,Job Site
CA (CARB) Compliant
Not CARB Compliant
Color Family
Green
Engine Displacement (cc)
389
Engine Make
OEM Branded
Features
Automatic Voltage Regulation,Electric Start,Extended Handles,Low Oil Shutdown,Muffler,On/Off Switch,Overload Protection,Resettable Circuit Breaker,Short Circuit Protection
Fuel Tank Capacity (gallons)
100
Full load fuel consumption (gallons/hour)
1
Horsepower (hp)
13 hp
Included
Wheel Kit
Number of circuits/outlets
6
Operational Volume (dB)
79.5
Outlet Type
120V 25A,240V 25A
Power Type
Propane Gas
Product Weight (lb.)
171lb
Returnable
30-Day
Run time at 50% load (hours/tank or charge)
8
Running Wattage
6000
Start Type
Electric Switch,Recoil Start
Starting Wattage
7000
Suggested Uses
Battery Charger,Bench Tools,Halogen Work Light,Large Appliances,Lights,Mobile Devices,Power Tools,RV A/C Unit,Small Appliances,Small Electronics,Sump Pump,Well Pump

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
1 Year Limited

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Height (in.)
21.75
Product Length (in.)
29.5
Product Width (in.)
20.5

Details

Application
Home Standby,Job Site
CA (CARB) Compliant
Not CARB Compliant
Color Family
Green
Engine Displacement (cc)
389
Engine Make
OEM Branded
Features
Automatic Voltage Regulation,Electric Start,Extended Handles,Low Oil Shutdown,Muffler,On/Off Switch,Overload Protection,Resettable Circuit Breaker,Short Circuit Protection
Fuel Tank Capacity (gallons)
100
Full load fuel consumption (gallons/hour)
1
Horsepower (hp)
13 hp
Included
Wheel Kit
Number of circuits/outlets
6
Operational Volume (dB)
79.5
Outlet Type
120V 25A,240V 25A
Power Type
Propane Gas
Product Weight (lb.)
171lb
Returnable
30-Day
Run time at 50% load (hours/tank or charge)
8
Running Wattage
6000
Start Type
Electric Switch,Recoil Start
Starting Wattage
7000
Suggested Uses
Battery Charger,Bench Tools,Halogen Work Light,Large Appliances,Lights,Mobile Devices,Power Tools,RV A/C Unit,Small Appliances,Small Electronics,Sump Pump,Well Pump

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
1 Year Limited

Questions & Answers

Can someone tell me how difficult this unit is to start? I'm a disabled widow who doesn't always ...

Can someone tell me how difficult this unit is to start? I'm a disabled widow who doesn't always have someone on had to start it for me, does it start easily?
Asked by: FindsFeathers
yes, it is push button start. You have to choke it like any, but it starts right up...
Answered by: rcpr
Date published: 2017-12-30

How many amps does this generator run? I need a 30 amp generator for my pull camper.

Asked by: Shrn
3250 running WATTS = 27.08 running AMPs
Answered by: Workz
Date published: 2019-08-09

Can the 7,000/6,000-Watt LP Generator run a Central AC unit in a house? We do have the necessary...

Can the 7,000/6,000-Watt LP Generator run a Central AC unit in a house? We do have the necessary switch (whatever it is called) on our Circuit breaker box to plug this directly to it.
Asked by: KathDu
The size of the generator needed is dictated by the power requirements of all of the circuits and appliances you want to run. The power needed for many large items in the home such as air conditioners, water heaters, and other appliances varies widely. We recommend working with an authorized Generac dealer to determine the generator size that would best suit your needs. If you need assistance finding a local dealer, we recommend using our dealer locator found here: http://www.generac.com/dealer-locator
Answered by: Generac
Date published: 2019-07-31

Can this 7000/6000-Watt unit be connected to my house via Interlock Switch or Transfer Panel?

Asked by: LJ
Yes
Answered by: Stretch
Date published: 2019-07-13
  • y_2019, m_8, d_16, h_5CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_253
  • loc_, sid_202222975, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 26ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

7,000/6,000-Watt Propane Gas Powered Electric Start Portable Generator is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 778.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pefect generator for our multiday outages Shipped and redeived within 5 days. Put some oil in the generator and it cranked up the first time after a few tugs to get some propane into the system. We live in a condo where gasoline storage is a problem. We do have bulk LP gas for heating etc. and the next phase of this emergency generator will be to install a fitting on our gas line so we do not have to go anywhere to have a tank(s) filled. So we can run pretty much constantly during an outage. We have some long outages here in NH and quite often there are no places available for fuel due to the outage. Researched intensely and if you want to run a few things, save your food and or provide heat, this is an ideal generator. It runs a lot quieter than the last gas generator I borrowed and a lot less fumes. Best value by a mile compared to any other generators in this size.
Date published: 2011-11-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I purchased this product several years ago for $799 (now it's $100 less). It's essentially been ... I purchased this product several years ago for $799 (now it's $100 less). It's essentially been a very large and heavy doorstop. I have only been able to start it about a handful of times over the years. New spark plug, new battery, filled with oil, full propane tank. Zip. The few times it did run, it coughed and sputtered worse than my grandfather, who has COPD. NO ONE in my area who fix generators for a living will touch a propane unit. Buffalo Tools customer support? HA! I have been trying to give it away, but no one wants it. Go with almost any other brand than Sportsmen. You'll save yourself some headaches.
Date published: 2019-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value Backup Generator The Sportman 7000LP is a lower end, higher wattage, portable propane generator. I recommend it for people who want a portable propane generator for emergency backup to moderate use. I would not recommend this generator for routine or heavy usage as manufacture cost cutting can be seen in the lack of oil filter, no included battery, and non-brand name engine. The generator lasted just over seven hours on one 20lb propane tank at exactly 50 percent load (3000 watts) in my test run. I attribute the 12 percent loss in efficiency, compared to the published eight hour run time, to less than ideal winter conditions in which I was constantly battling propane tank freeze up. The engine itself had some remnants of metal filings from manufacturing. I highly recommend flushing the oil once or twice before initial use, upgrading the two oil drain plugs to magnetic oil drain plugs, and changing the oil after your first test run to best manage any leftover metal filing. I also recommend upgrading the spark plug to an iridium plug to maximize efficiency as iridium resists heat and corrosion better than standard plugs. (Propane burns hotter and is more corrosive than gasoline) • Oil Drain Plug: 12mm x 1.5 • Iridium NGK Spark Plug: BPR6EIX (NGK 6637)
Date published: 2012-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well I ordered this when it was the deal of the day, just before Hurricane Sandy was announced. Delivered in 4 days, just before the storm for which I was glad as I have been without power for 5 days now. It works very well. I don't know how to determine load, but I have been getting about 6.5 hours per tank running the refrigerator, tv,computer, and alternating the freezer and pellet stove. I love the propane as you can't get gasoline in this area and propane doesn't give the gas fumes and is safer to transport than gas. It is easy to operate and change oil. I do wish it came with wheels but I put it on a flat bed dolly and it moved easily.
Date published: 2012-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used this generator while driving from Augusta to Sierra... I used this generator while driving from Augusta to Sierra Vista AZ. The generator was turned on while driving. I put it in the bed of my 04 tacoma, and ran a extension cord to the back if an enclosed trailer to keep my wine refrigerator running. During the five day trip i used 1.5 of 20lb tanks.
Date published: 2019-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my new generator. Charges up my battery... I love my new generator. Charges up my battery bank, I've got 6 connected to Power Inverters. My 2nd home doesn't have power, So I fired up to run all the appliances and cook, Run lights, etc. It's quiet and doesn't stink!! I also bought the cover and the wheels. It's the best I've had!!
Date published: 2019-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Purchase - So glad I bought this. I bought this in June of 2011 after a tornado ripped through a nearby area and made me aware that I should have something for back up power. This past week was actually the first time I ran the generator - I ran it 24/7 from Sunday morning until Thursday night. It consistantly went 8 to 8-1/4 hours on a 20lb propane tank. I have this wired directly into my electric panel. Obviously you can not run a electric stove or electric water heater, but everything else including our furnace ran great. With the power out to a lareg area, people were having trouble finding gasoline for their generators, I had no problem finding propane at all. I highly recommend this to anyone that needs a generator for emergencies.
Date published: 2011-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have ran this to run my a/c and it... I have ran this to run my a/c and it has done great it has also ran a fridge. Haven’t tried much else yet but I will. I have used one 20lb tank for 8 hours so far and haven’t ran out of propane. It is a great product I would buy again and recommend to someone.
Date published: 2019-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really like the fact that the Sportsman Generator is propane and that i don't have to mess with... I really like the fact that the Sportsman Generator is propane and that i don't have to mess with gas. I use this generator to charge my RV batteries while camping. This generator is quiet. With the 30 amp plug i can even run my air conditioner.
Date published: 2019-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great idea to go with LP vs gas Generator arrived in less than 1 week from time order was placed. Trucker (R&L) called the day before delivery and on delivery put it in my garage. Packing was great and easy to undo. Attachment of wheels was easy. Pull start is difficult. Got a Gel battery and it's a snap to start with the electric start! I bought a 25' 240 to 120 cord so that after a storm hits I'll only have to run one wire into the house instead of 3 or 4. It seems to be much quieter than my old gas generator. The only unusual thing that I noticed is that the choke has to be closed each time you start it. This applies even if the generator was just used. Once started, move the choke to open and you are ready to go!
Date published: 2012-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product. Very pleased with quality and price This product is exactly what I was looking for. Easy to set up and run. Lots of power. I have had this generator for a couple weeks now. Several days over the past 2 weeks I have started and tested the generation quality. I ran my washing machine, skill saw and drill all at the same time. The generator powered the machines without breaking a sweat. Starts very easy every time. I bought a battery for $40 to use the electric start. It starts almost immediatly. Then I tried starting it using the pull start and it was very easy to pull...though I am a 250 pound man so a smaller person might find it a little harder but still able. I recommend this generator. Propane is very convienent and has an indefinately long shelf life. Shipping was quick and easy. Good job home depot for carrying a quality product for a good price.
Date published: 2012-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great generator This generator came with low expectations. I bought it on sale at a ridiculously low price. However, it has turned out to be a gem. I use at my off grid cabin in the San Luis Valley. It starts every time. It's not a loud generator. It goes through practically no oil. It's not as pretty as a Honda or other high price generators, but it runs like a charms and powers everything I put to it: all power tools, including a massive hammer drill, microwave, etc. Finally, it runs forever on a single tank of propane. I used it building the cabin for probably three hours a day over two weeks. This is a great generator.
Date published: 2014-08-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The generator arrived quickly and in good condition. It started... The generator arrived quickly and in good condition. It started on the third pull and ran well on the test run.
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works great. Wish I had the wheel's and handle... It works great. Wish I had the wheel's and handle for it. I don't understand why they don't come with
Date published: 2019-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Far So Good After reviewing online manual for a few days, to get a good understanding of the operations, our generator was delivered as expected....filled with oil, check everything, hook up LP and on first pull it fired up....very happy with this so far...we bought it for our camper and to have back power at home, when needed.....camping test in two weeks, will update then on it's performance. so far one happy camper....BW of Tucson..p.s. I did add a GFCI adapter to each outlet for added protection, "NOTE" as long as you don't directly hook it to your home electrical circuit ,a earth ground isn't needed.....
Date published: 2012-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I am disappointed that the noise level is higher than... I am disappointed that the noise level is higher than I expected.
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 3 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice ! Very nice generator. Processing and delivery took 10 days from the date of online purchase to my doorstep in Key West Fl. I bought this as a backup generator to run essentials in my house in case of a prolonged power outage, (IE: Hurricane). I have a T-valve off my home propane tank (which fuels my stove/oven), and have a connection to which this generator will receive its fuel supply. I also had my electrician run a power cord from the breaker box to plug into the generator. I bought a battery (I suggest you do too) and it took several attempts to get it going, since it's new I guess, but runs strong and steady. No problems so far. Looks nice and relatively simple to assemble and use. It's exactly what I was looking for and I highly recommend. Propane is definitely the way to go, especially if you can connect to a large home tank like I did. Hopefully I will never have to use it !
Date published: 2011-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to start!!... Easy to start!!
Date published: 2019-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best camping genset. Purchased this generator specifically for my camper. I have propane and did not want to carry gasoline also. First the price...best there is. Propane gens are not that common but worth the search. I found this same set at nearly $200. more at other locations online. Also you pay for shipping. Second is Home Depot. Free shipping by UPS and arrived damaged free. Arrived much quicker than I thought it would and before their eta. Third is the genset itself. Out of the box, put in oil, hooked up to a propane tank and started on the second pull. Runs great and has the RV plug so no adapter is needed. I wanted it specifically to run my AC on a really hot day and no shade and it did it well. Limits are you cannot use a microwave and AC at the same time. The noise level is what they claim. I did not measure the db (rated at 68) but it was much quieter than my Gentron of the same size. My camper is 30amp and this takes care of what I want. I do not use it that often but I carry it with me for when I need it.
Date published: 2015-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awsome features This is one amazing machine. Well worth the extra money for the propane model. Don't have all of the gas fumes nor the mess of spilling gas. The fumes given off be the propane burning generator is very minimal. Still want to be cautious of use in closed in areas, but if outside, you can work right near it (10 to 15 feet away) and you won't gag on fumes or get a killer headache. It's pretty easy starting, and not as loud as a gas generator. You can even jump start other items that use a 12 volt battery. It has a special plug, and the wires to use for it. Great item. Worth every penny.
Date published: 2011-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I did not know what to expect. I own a a 32 travel trailer and my biggest concern was running the a/c with this unit. Not only did it run the a/c, it ran everything that was progressively turned on. I did trip the 20 amp breaker when the water heater kicked in on electric. No problem, I switched the HWH to propane and the generator ran flawlessly running everything in the rig. Clean, quiet, no gasoline to deal with. Absolutely a best buy for my family.
Date published: 2013-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Generator ! In the couple of years since Hurricane IKE, I have wanted a generator to handle my Frig, Freezer, TV and a small Window AC in the event of a repeat storm. I ordered this generator from HD and UPS delivered it quickly (and in my case) undamaged. I filled it up with oil -which was not included and after 4 pulls it started up and ran like a champ. (You WILL need a long funnel as others have mentioned to make filling with oil a quick, clean job.) Not even a month after I received it, a real bad storm passed through my area and pressed this unit into action. It ran flawlessly for 10 hours supporting all of my needs. It is relatively quiet, very fuel efficient and the exhaust is hardly noticeable. I am very pleased with this generator. It is a great value for price/kwh !!!
Date published: 2012-06-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Misrepresented Output I have owned the larger version of this genset which was rated at 7 KW surge and 6 KW continuous. I believe that rating was accurate, It got me through 3 major power outages in northern winters. When it came time to replace it, I thought that I could scale back due to math and the fact that the previous one had so much surplus capacity. This genset's rating is not accurate it struggles to provide 1.8 KW continuous per outlet (including the RV outlet) yet its rated for 4 KW surge 3250 KW continuous. Its a dandy little machine that runs great and probably serves its purpose if you only want to power some lights in an emergency. I would not buy this again nor recommend it because it grossly misrepresents its output ability.. Go directly to the larger model. That one is rock solid and does everything you'd want. This model is disappointing. I tried saving money by scaling down, and it was false economy.
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Previously, we have always purchased gasoline powered generators, as we have always had a place t... Previously, we have always purchased gasoline powered generators, as we have always had a place to store the gasoline cans safely that is not inside our garage. When we moved into town, with no outside storage space, we studied and reviewed propane generators for several weeks. Propane tanks are much easier to handle than gas cans, and the propane generators are slightly quieter. (Not a lot, but just a little.) The Sportsman4,000-Watt Clean Burning LPG Propane Gas Powered Portable Generator with RV Outlet fits our needs perfectly. It's RV ready, and we can store propane tanks safely inside the garage. When we go camping, my husband can lift it into our truck with no problem. If our power is out due to a storm, it can easily power our refrigerator and a few lights. I would recommend this generator.
Date published: 2017-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent generator for the price Delivered directly to house, took out of box, attached the wheels and it started right up. Great generator for the price, love the propane fuel and mobility. During the last power outage, I saw lines of people at the one gas station that still had power, lining up to get fuel for gasoline powered generators. I have prepositioned two propane gas canisters that can sit for years without worry. I'll be ready for the next outage!
Date published: 2012-07-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good generator We bought this generator to run our 15btu AC on our trailer. When we received it we put oil in it and hooked it up to propane. It took a couple pulls on the handle to get it started, but I think that was only due to it being brand new since subsequent starts were instantaneous. We ran the AC in the trailer one night to test out the generator. It is a little louder than I thought it would be, but to be honest, I am not familiar with generators, and the sound of the trailer's AC actually covered up most of the generator noise so we slept fine. I would recommend this generator to anyone. I was also very impressed with Home Depot's delivery service.
Date published: 2011-08-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What I expected Have only started it twice, after adding oil and checking screws and bolts for tightness. Took only six moderate pulls to start the first time, and two or three after that. Runs quieter than many others I've been around, and the exhaust fumes are not as pungent as a gasoline powered generator. In a power outage, I'll be glad I have it.
Date published: 2014-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonderfully Two days after I had 200A service and a bus transfer switch installed with an 220V outlet for the generator added to the outside of the house. Hurrican Sandy hit and I lost power for 2-1/2 days. I ran the generator continuously for the entire time, except for tank changes and after I purchased a 40lb tank, I could run continuously for 24 hours. Since I live in a rural area, the generator ran my well pump, furnane, refrigerator, lighting and my big screen TV and surround sound system.
Date published: 2012-11-04
  • y_2019, m_8, d_16, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_778
  • loc_, sid_202222975, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 299ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT