Internet #310449167

Model #OL04110884OR

1 in. x 12 in. x 6 ft. Red Oak S4S Board (2-Pack)

  • Perfect for accent walls and other DIY projects
  • Can be primed then painted/sealed then stained
  • Meets the highest grading standards for strength and appearance
  • See More Details

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:
$14121

Product Overview

Every solid Red Oak piece meets the highest grading standards for quality, strength and appearance. Perfect for interior use from a practical as well as an aesthetic point of view nothing else has such timeless good looks or provides such a sense of well-being. This fine American classic hardwood can be used for shelving, cabinets or custom furniture pieces. These boards can also be used for hobby projects, wine cellar shelving or general finish work. This 2-piece pack gives you exactly what you need for any project.
  • California residents
  • Boards come from sustainably managed forests and are of the highest-quality available
  • Practical way to bring warmth and beauty to any project
  • Stable and durable to last a lifetime
  • Solid red oak hardwood no glue

Compare Similar Hardwood Boards

1 in. x 12 in. x 8 ft. Poplar S4S Board (2-Pack)
current product
1 in. x 12 in. x 6 ft. Red Oak S4S Board (2-Pack)
1 in. x 12 in. x 8 ft. Red Oak S4S Board (2-Pack)1 in. x 12 in. x 8 ft. Walnut S4S Board (2-Pack)
BrandSwaner HardwoodSwaner HardwoodSwaner HardwoodSwaner Hardwood
Name1 in. x 12 in. x 8 ft. Poplar S4S Board (2-Pack)1 in. x 12 in. x 6 ft. Red Oak S4S Board (2-Pack)1 in. x 12 in. x 8 ft. Red Oak S4S Board (2-Pack)1 in. x 12 in. x 8 ft. Walnut S4S Board (2-Pack)
Price
$12591
$14121
$15398
$29900
Ratings
(27)
(61)
(61)
(59)
FeaturesPaintable,StainableStainableStainablePaintable,Stainable
Finish TypeUnfinishedUnfinishedUnfinishedUnfinished
Board Joint TypeSquare EdgeSquare EdgeSquare EdgeSquare Edge
Nominal Product Length (ft.)8688
MaterialPoplarRed OakRed OakWalnut
Nominal Product Thickness (in.)1111
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Actual Product Length (ft.)
6
Actual Product Thickness (in.)
0.75
Actual Product Width (in.)
11.25
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
11.25
Nominal Product Length (ft.)
6
Nominal Product Thickness (in.)
1
Nominal Product Width (in.)
12

Details

Appearance Board Type
Hardwood Boards
Board Joint Type
Square Edge
Fastener recommendation
glue and nails
Features
Stainable
Finish Type
Unfinished
Lumber Grade
FAS
Material
Red Oak
Moisture content
Kiln Dried
Number Of Boards Per Pack
2
Returnable
180-Day
Style
Mission
Texture
Smooth

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
90 day

Questions & Answers

13Questions19Answers

Is this solid oak or particle board or veneer?

Asked by Cliff August 16, 2019
5
Answers

Solid oak

are these 2 6 foot boards or 2 three foot boards

Asked by rich April 15, 2020
2
Answers

They are two 6 ft boards

Are these edge-glued boards, or are they each s single piece of wood?

Asked by JohnA April 1, 2020
2
Answers

Single piece of wood

Is this solid wood?

Asked by Robert August 18, 2019
2
Answers

Yes, I bought this wood as part of my kitchen makeover. It will be used for bracing under a wide overhang of recently installed countertop. They are going to be beautiful.

Is this a pack of (2) 8-foot boards/16 feet total, or is it (2) 4-foot boards/8 feet total?

Asked by Cahnell May 21, 2020
2
Answers

2 boards that are 8' in length

How many actual boards come in this?

Asked by Sammy March 9, 2020
2
Answers

2

Can I get them cut to to 60 inch Length

Asked by Greg December 7, 2020
1
Answer

Hi Greg, Email me your order number to ryan@swanerhardwood.com and I will take care of that for you. Thanks for reaching out.

When you say "2-Pack" does that mean I am getting two "eight foot" boards, or two "four foot" boa...

Asked by Lenny January 22, 2020
1
Answer

Hi Lenny, With this 2-Pack you receive 2 pieces that are 3/4 in. x 7.25 in. x 8 ft. The actual thickness is 3/4''. Thanks for the inquiry.

Can these be steam bent

Asked by Novice January 21, 2021
1
Answer

It can – red oak is actually really good for steam bending, but it’s a process. https://www.woodmagazine.com/woodworking-how-to/wood-preparation/steam-bending

Examples: How do I install this? What is the battery life? Does this come in black? Is this heavy...

Asked by CanyonD January 25, 2021
1
Answer

Heat them up with a hair dryer and they will peel right off. Sorry these are mandated in California.

1 in. x 12 in. x 6 ft. Red Oak S4S Board (2-Pack) - page 2

Customer Reviews

  • 61 Customer Reviews
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars overall
80% of customers recommended.
Overall Ratings
5star-icon(46)
4star-icon(7)
3star-icon(2)
2star-icon(3)
1star-icon(3)
Sort By:
Lots of planer marks
I ordered this kit plus a 5 pack of 2' boards. See my review for the 5 pack under hat product. As a result of my 5 pack review I was worried about this order and when it arrived it had a number of corner dents. To the point I had to cut off ends shrinking my working space. Corners need better packaging. Otherwise the grain was good, the boards were straight, and no cupping or splits. However, once I started working them I noticed significant planer marks on the boards. I performed some significant sanding and still could not get them all out. Really this was a case of simply re-planing to be able to smooth the wood out. Planing marks are usually caused by dull blades or start and stops during the pass through. I used a black stain and polyurethane mix and you can clearly see the planer marks. I will live with it now as there is hours and hours of invested time on the project. I will never buy Oak online again and will either live without it or drive around until I can find it. Wood workers should be able to see these flaws and not send to customer. Pictures don't really show extent.
Was this helpful?
1
0
A little disappointed in this order. Someone else said it best, its hard to depend on someone els...
Quality :
3
Value :
3
A little disappointed in this order. Someone else said it best, its hard to depend on someone else if you cant go pick out the wood yourself due to shortages at local suppliers. 1 piece has a split, and 2 pieces don't match the other 3 and have a clearly darker tone and different grain pattern. Not sure if it was a different type, lot, tree, or what, but 2 had 1 type of sticker and the other 3 had a different type of sticker indicating possibly 2 different suppliers. They look nothing alike! Oak is not cheap and usually bought for long life projects and you typically want the grain, tone, and appearance to match. A piece I had at home matches the 3 better than what they sent so luckily the project is not a wash as I only need 4 pieces. I don't have time to be returning this wood. I am now worried about the 2 8 foot pieces being delivered tomorrow.....come on guys you could have matched the wood/grain better!
Was this helpful?
2
0
NOT AS ADVERTISED
The boards arrived very well packed, wrapped in plastic and then put into a very long cardboard box. The wood looks exactly as shown in the picture. So why is it not as advertised you ask?? THE BOARDS ARE ACTUALLY 11.75 X .75 X 8 !!! It is even labeled as 11.75 x .75 x 8 on the plastic wrapper around the wood. Don't waste your money and time. I plead you.
Was this helpful?
1
0
Response from Swaner Hardwood ExpertJuly 12, 2020
Hi Lukas,
We are sorry for the confusion as 1x12 is the nominal size where if you scroll down on the item under specifications it states the actual size of 0.75 in. X 11.25 in. x 8 ft. Sorry for the confusion if you need actual 1” x 12” it would have to be a special order. Swaner
Ensure you do not need 12" wide like the Product name indicates when actual width is only 11.25"
Quality looks great, milling is straight, excellent clean AB grading, however the width of the product is only 11.25" wide. Suggest you revise the Product name to 11.25" Wide Actual vs 12" as the product naming indicates. For my project will be installing Rogue Stringers for a wall mount squat rack to these, and the stringers are 10" Wide. Now if you do read the Specifications down below the product name, it does state 11.25" wide, just unsure why the Main Product Name would not outline actual width of 11.25, as its not even a 12" Nominal width.
Was this helpful?
2
0
This hardwood was perfect for shelves that I made. I routed and stained it ... turned out beautiful.
This hardwood was perfect for shelves that I made. I routed and stained it ... turned out beautiful.
Was this helpful?
2
0
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Was this helpful?
0
0
Very pleased with wood.
Very pleased with wood.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Poor Quality
I ordered two (2) of this product and the first two boards were good but the third board was so bad it will end up in my scrap ben. This board had so many defects I do not understand how it got through your quality control ( if you have a quality control group). The planning of the board was so bad I could slide a 1/8" shim under a straight edge in many places along the surface.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from Swaner Hardwood ExpertJanuary 14, 2021
Hi warjaq,
Please email me at ryan@swanerhardwood.com so that I can find out more about this and take care of you. We are sorry for the issue. Swaner
The wood worked out great!, made my project look great as well, making a cedar chest for my grand...
The wood worked out great!, made my project look great as well, making a cedar chest for my grand daughter.
Was this helpful?
0
0
It was perfect for the job I was working on.
It was perfect for the job I was working on.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Review this Product
Share your thoughts with other customers