#1 Home Improvement Retailer

5 gal. G3 - Pathway Stabilizer Bottle

$10104
Apply Now
Pay $76.04 after $25 OFF your total qualifying purchase upon opening a new card. info
Apply for a Home Depot Consumer Card
  • Helps to create attractive patio and walkway surfaces
  • Helps to minimize dust, weeds, and insects
  • Use with DG and crushed stone mixes for better results
caret

Product Details

TechniSoil G3 - Pathway Stabilizer is a simple solution for enhancing landscapes with custom pathways and patio areas. This eco-friendly liquid polymer stabilizer for decomposed granite and crushed stone mixes yields a durable, dust-free surface in only a few basic steps. By bonding crushed aggregate fines, G3 - Pathway Stabilizer forms aesthetic natural surfaces for the modern landscape.
  • Create beautiful, natural surface pathways & patios
  • Reduces tracking of loose materials & improves surface stability
  • Works best with 3/8 in. minus or 1/2 in. minus decomposed granite (DG) & crushed stone mixes
  • Easy to apply using standard equipment
  • Eco-friendly, VOC-free, safe around plants & animals
  • Reduces dust, weeds & insects
  • Excellent for residential & light commercial foot-traffic use
  • Return Policy

Additional Resources

From the Manufacturer

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.
caret

Specifications

caret

Questions & Answers

86Questions
caret
Q:Hey There. I?m looking to put in a golf cart path to the lake from the house. I want the path to be five foot wide and around 250? long. What would the suggested component list look like and what would you recommend?
by|Nov 21, 2022
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  VirgilP, This application is a bit more 'technical' than a more 'standard' project (i.e. garden path, patio, firepit, etc). It might be best if you spoke with someone in our Technical Support Department to discuss recommendations and expectations.

by|Nov 21, 2022
    caret
    Q:Will this discolor the stone?
    by|Aug 16, 2022
    1 Answer
    Answer This Question

    A:  George, If you're using G3 to stabilize a crushed stone mix 'adjacent' to; stone, concrete, wood, etc, it is recommended to cover or protect (plastic, tarp, cardboard, etc). Since G3 is an 'adhesive', it 'may' discolor or stain solid surfaces. If you are wanting to stabilize a decomposed granite/crushed stone as a 'jointing material' for your stone, we have another product specifically designed for that; NanoPave JSS, which works as a stabilizer for your jointing material and is also a sealant. NanoPave JSS is offered in 2 sheens, Natural-Look for a matte finish and Enhanced-Look to bring out more color.

    by|Aug 17, 2022
      caret
      Q:Can this product be used on an already hand compacted surface? If not how to prepare the surface for use of this product
      by|May 23, 2022
      2 Answers
      Answer This Question

      A:  If it is already compacted, you can use a hand sprayer to spray it on top. Do 2–3 layers and let it soak and dry in between. 

      by|May 26, 2022

        A:  SoquelJohn, Thanks for the inquiry. The quick answer is 'yes'. In fact, probably 30% of G3 users have existing crushed stone (decomposed granite or a compatible 1/4 or 3/8" minus crushed stone). If this is for a pathway, patio, etc. (where there will be foot traffic, chairs, etc) it is recommended to follow our instructions in section VII of our INSTALL GUIDE for G3 Pathway Stabilizer (available on our company website), and then simply follow our application steps. If this is for landscaping (tree wells, xeriscape, natural landscape), and not a heavily foot-trafficked surface then the process is a bit different. Please feel free to contact out Technical Support Department to assure you are proceeding with confidence and full product knowledge.

        by|Jul 10, 2022
          1 found this answer helpful
          caret
          Q:How many sq ft does this product cover? I need to cover about 600sqft at a one-inch depth of decomposed granite.
          by|Feb 21, 2022
          1 Answer
          Answer This Question

          A:  Vchats, G3 Pathway Stabilizer covers 75 sf./ 5-gallon pail (for 600 sf. it would require 8 of the pails). We do recommend the treated decomposed to be 1.5" minimum, less DG 'can' equate to a thin layer that isn't as strong (think of thin ice on a pond). I'd advise that you visit our website (technisoil.com) and check out our brochure, install guide, video and FAQ for detailed information. Or if you have any additional questions contact our 'Tech Support' department.

          by|Feb 22, 2022
            Showing 1-4 of 86
            caret

            Customer Reviews

            3 out of 5
            (168)
            • 3
              out of 168 reviews
            • 49%recommend this product
            Filter by:
            Showing 1-10 of 168 reviews
            At first the product work good..The product made the granite surface hard..But after a heavy rain...
            At first the product work good..The product made the granite surface hard..But after a heavy rainfall the product was washed away and the granite was no lorge detached..so it was a waste of my money..Not happy
            by
            Response from TechniSoil Product ExpertJul 6, 2020
            Georgia I'm sorry you had a challenge with your install. Water oversaturation can be the Achille's heel for any 'natural binder' (mainly because of the composition and structural limitations of most crushed stone mixes). But that being said, an optimal installation will weather fine in 99% of any condition (we have projects/customers from Minnesota to Denver and Houston; all which can get heavy weather), that's why we stongly mention in our install guide and FAQ the 'need' for lateral drainage. If the product is optimally installed, proper drainage will avoid this from occurring. Although, even in optimal installations the system can still be 'pushed to its limit', but unlike other natural binders, G3 will retain integrity and maintain its hardeness after the excess water has evaporated; it might cause the area to not be used 100% for normal/heavy use, but this is just temporary. However, if the G3-bound system 'washed away' there are usually other variables that caused this larger issue, such as; not enough G3 applied, improper compaction (compacting before application or not using mechanical compaction), edging is to high to allow drainage, low spots on the surface, weed fabric used, decomposed granite was thicker than 2", no structural base rock, etc. Even if lateral drainage is estabilished in the slope/crown of the surface the system can be compromised by flowing water, trapped water or most certainly if there is standing water on the surface. Any of these variables can cause negative results, and are important to consider in the preparation phase of your project. Not knowing your exact challenges and why they occurred, please contact our Technical Support Department and we'll help craft a solution. For future reference, especially for customers using any of our products for the first time, we have videos, step-by-step directions, FAQ to address specics. But, when in doubt please don't hesitate to contact our Technical experts before you start your project. Our products and processes aren't complex, but they do require a bit of evaluation to avoid any pitfalls. It is our goal for customers to attain A+ results, and 99.49% of the time that our Technical staff is involved we can alleviate any problems well before they occur. TechniSoil
            • Verified Purchase
            1 found this review helpful
            Followed the video. Stuffs stable and hard as a...
            Followed the video. Stuffs stable and hard as a rock. Highly recommend this product.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            1 found this review helpful
            I used product on decomposed granite (DG), with watering can for application. For compaction, I u...
            I used product on decomposed granite (DG), with watering can for application. For compaction, I used the flat side of hoe (renting a vibe plate seemed a bit much for average DIYer). The DG has hardened up quite nicely. But in order to saturate DG with watering can, you need way more product than advertised. It quickly vanishes with watering can. I would order a bit more than you think you need, especially if you plan to do the recommended second coat. Other than that, quite happy so far. It's expensive, but I would recommend the product. I does work.
            by
            Response from TechniSoil Product ExpertOct 6, 2019
            Glad to hear your results turned out well. The G3 liquid initial application rate is designed for 1.5-2" of DG, if the material is thicker it will absorb more G3 liquid. We recommend 1.5-2" of DG because it isn't a structural aggregate, so 'more' DG actually makes a weaker structure. As for compaction, it is greatly recommended to use a vibratory plate compactor for optimal results. Using a 'hand-tamper' in hard to reach spots is acceptable, but the weight and vibration from the plate compactor creates a uniform and very dense surface structure that other methods cannot attain. The plate compactor also helps evenly distribute the G3 liquid through the DG during compaction. Although the plate compactor may look intimidating it is actually very easy to use- I always tell customers the hardest part about the plate compactor is getting it out of, and putting it back in the truck, it's a two-person job in most instances. Also, in the 'warmer' part of the year we recommend to apply the G3 liquid only in the morning hours, if it is applied during the heat of the day it can evaporate before it can fully absorb and disperse through the DG. When in doubt about your project always feel free to contact our Technical Support Department for guidance. Thanks again for your business. TechniSoil
              • Recommended
              5 found this review helpful
              Product was easy to apply and hardened the pathway nicely.
              Product was easy to apply and hardened the pathway nicely.
              by
              Response from TechniSoil Product ExpertJul 8, 2019
              JG, Glad to hear you garnered great results. Pathway Stabilizer is our 'original' and one of most popular products. With a little maintenance and TLC from time to time, you'll find that your pathway will last a LONG time. TechniSoil
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              3 found this review helpful
              Works great on Decomposed Granite
              After installing DG pathways around raised beds, I used this stuff according to the online video directions provided by the manufacturer. After 2 days the paths were hard as cement. The hardest part was pouring the liquid into a watering can, even with a large funnel. The stuff splashes all over the place! Also the 5 Gallon containers are really heavy and hard to control when full. I wish the manufacturer would supply a screw-on hose for pouring the product.
              by
              • DIY
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              22 found this review helpful
              Wonderful product!
              The Pathway Stabilizer worked wonders on my trailway leading into the back of my house. I needed to firm up my crushed stone path for my daughters wedding. This is a wonderful product! Very stong! I will certainly recommend this to friends and family.
              by
              • DIY
              • Recommended
              26 found this review helpful
              Great product, works as described! Takes a little bit to...
              Great product, works as described! Takes a little bit to set up, but your soil sticks like glue!
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              Technisoil is Great on DG Pathways
              I have used this product before to stabilize a sloping section of DG pathway in my yard. Without treatment, this section washes erodes away in a good rainstorm and needs to be rebuilt every year. . Technisoil pretty much prevents this erosion. I had all my DG pathways refreshed this summer and applied Technisoil again to hold the sloping section through the winter. Id does not change the appearance of the pathway in any way.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              Seems to be performing well, only had it on a...
              Seems to be performing well, only had it on a day. Our decomposed granite feels like mortar. The container is super awkward to pour, though, due to the placement and shape of the opening. We had to destroy the cap in order to open it. The air hole was difficult to cut open, too.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              Smaller quantities would be useful...
              Smaller quantities would be useful
              by
              Response from TechniSoil Product ExpertOct 25, 2022
              Brian, We are working on offering a 1-gallon size, but for most projects (75 sf./ 5-gallon pail) any 'left over' G3 can be used for maintenance or for any future projects. Just re-cap the pail and store in a area away from direct sunlight and in colder months do not allow to 'freeze'- the left over G3 will last 2-5 years after opening. TechniSoil
              • Verified Purchase
              1 found this review helpful
              Showing 1-10 of 168 reviews