Internet #205896323

Model # 100086594

Store SKU #517733

0021496013350

20 lb. Tall Fescue Shade Grass Seed Mix

  • Turf grass designed for partially shaded areas with limited sun
  • Lawn seed is blended with tall and fine fescue varieties
  • Covers up to 5,000 sq. ft. with 7-21 day seed germination
$ 52 98
Loading Options
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Turf grass designed for partially shaded areas with limited sun
  • Lawn seed is blended with tall and fine fescue varieties
  • Covers up to 5,000 sq. ft. with 7-21 day seed germination
The Rebels Shade Mix for Tall Fescue grass seed is a tough, high quality turf grass that is designed for areas that receive limited sun each day. It contains tall fescue varieties blended with fine fescue for shade tolerance, allowing the flexibility to grow a beautiful lawn in shady conditions. The Rebels Extended Roots seed varieties maximize a lawn's ability to thrive, even under the toughest summer conditions. The Rebels Tall Fescue grass seed grows up to 40% more roots than ordinary grass at deeper depths for excellent drought resistance and nutrient uptake, helping your lawn thrive.
  • Produces a darker, greener and denser lawn than Kentucky-31 and other tall fescues
  • A cool season, aggressive, perennial bunchgrass that develops a uniform, thick turf as it matures
  • Maintains a deep green color throughout the growing season
  • Contains improved heat, drought and disease resistant varieties
  • Withstands heavy traffic, insects, and drought for lower maintenance
  • Grows up to 40% more roots than ordinary grass for excellent drought resistance and nutrient uptake
  • Best for partial shade (less than 4 hours of sun per day)
  • Germinates in 7 to 21 days
  • Covers up to 5,000 sq. ft.

Product Overview

  • Turf grass designed for partially shaded areas with limited sun
  • Lawn seed is blended with tall and fine fescue varieties
  • Covers up to 5,000 sq. ft. with 7-21 day seed germination
Model #: 100086594
Sku #: 517733
Internet #: 205896323

The Rebels Shade Mix for Tall Fescue grass seed is a tough, high quality turf grass that is designed for areas that receive limited sun each day. It contains tall fescue varieties blended with fine fescue for shade tolerance, allowing the flexibility to grow a beautiful lawn in shady conditions. The Rebels Extended Roots seed varieties maximize a lawn's ability to thrive, even under the toughest summer conditions. The Rebels Tall Fescue grass seed grows up to 40% more roots than ordinary grass at deeper depths for excellent drought resistance and nutrient uptake, helping your lawn thrive.

  • Produces a darker, greener and denser lawn than Kentucky-31 and other tall fescues
  • A cool season, aggressive, perennial bunchgrass that develops a uniform, thick turf as it matures
  • Maintains a deep green color throughout the growing season
  • Contains improved heat, drought and disease resistant varieties
  • Withstands heavy traffic, insects, and drought for lower maintenance
  • Grows up to 40% more roots than ordinary grass for excellent drought resistance and nutrient uptake
  • Best for partial shade (less than 4 hours of sun per day)
  • Germinates in 7 to 21 days
  • Covers up to 5,000 sq. ft.

Key Features

Product Overview
Key Features
  • Turf grass designed for partially shaded areas with limited sun
  • Lawn seed is blended with tall and fine fescue varieties
  • Covers up to 5,000 sq. ft. with 7-21 day seed germination
The Rebels Shade Mix for Tall Fescue grass seed is a tough, high quality turf grass that is designed for areas that receive limited sun each day. It contains tall fescue varieties blended with fine fescue for shade tolerance, allowing the flexibility to grow a beautiful lawn in shady conditions. The Rebels Extended Roots seed varieties maximize a lawn's ability to thrive, even under the toughest summer conditions. The Rebels Tall Fescue grass seed grows up to 40% more roots than ordinary grass at deeper depths for excellent drought resistance and nutrient uptake, helping your lawn thrive.
  • Produces a darker, greener and denser lawn than Kentucky-31 and other tall fescues
  • A cool season, aggressive, perennial bunchgrass that develops a uniform, thick turf as it matures
  • Maintains a deep green color throughout the growing season
  • Contains improved heat, drought and disease resistant varieties
  • Withstands heavy traffic, insects, and drought for lower maintenance
  • Grows up to 40% more roots than ordinary grass for excellent drought resistance and nutrient uptake
  • Best for partial shade (less than 4 hours of sun per day)
  • Germinates in 7 to 21 days
  • Covers up to 5,000 sq. ft.

Product Overview

  • Turf grass designed for partially shaded areas with limited sun
  • Lawn seed is blended with tall and fine fescue varieties
  • Covers up to 5,000 sq. ft. with 7-21 day seed germination
Model #: 100086594
Sku #: 517733
Internet #: 205896323

The Rebels Shade Mix for Tall Fescue grass seed is a tough, high quality turf grass that is designed for areas that receive limited sun each day. It contains tall fescue varieties blended with fine fescue for shade tolerance, allowing the flexibility to grow a beautiful lawn in shady conditions. The Rebels Extended Roots seed varieties maximize a lawn's ability to thrive, even under the toughest summer conditions. The Rebels Tall Fescue grass seed grows up to 40% more roots than ordinary grass at deeper depths for excellent drought resistance and nutrient uptake, helping your lawn thrive.

  • Produces a darker, greener and denser lawn than Kentucky-31 and other tall fescues
  • A cool season, aggressive, perennial bunchgrass that develops a uniform, thick turf as it matures
  • Maintains a deep green color throughout the growing season
  • Contains improved heat, drought and disease resistant varieties
  • Withstands heavy traffic, insects, and drought for lower maintenance
  • Grows up to 40% more roots than ordinary grass for excellent drought resistance and nutrient uptake
  • Best for partial shade (less than 4 hours of sun per day)
  • Germinates in 7 to 21 days
  • Covers up to 5,000 sq. ft.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Pennington The Rebels GreenView Water Saver
Name 10 lb. Annual Ryegrass Seed 20 lb. Tall Fescue Shade Grass Seed Mix 20 lbs. Fairway Formula Grass Seed Turf Type Tall Fescue Sun and Shade Blend 25 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed
Price
$24.25
$66.13
$70.99 /bag
$71.83
Ratings (571) (68) (20) (83)
Drought Tolerant No Yes Yes Yes
Traffic/Wear Tolerance Level High Medium High High
Region Appalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain,Southeast,Southwest Mountain Appalachians,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain Appalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain,South Florida,Southeast,Southeast-Central Texas,Southwest,Southwest Mountain Appalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain,Southeast,Southwest Mountain
Grass Type Rye Fescue Fescue Fescue
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
5000.000
Product Depth (in.)
3.25
Product Height (in.)
26
Product Size
20.437 LB-Pound
Product Width (in.)
16

Details

Drought Tolerant
Yes
Grass Type
Fescue
Landscape Supply Type
Accessory
Organic
No
Product Weight (lb.)
20lb
Region
Appalachians,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain
Returnable
90-Day
Seed Type
Grass
Traffic/Wear Tolerance Level
Medium

Specifications

Dimensions

Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
5000.000
Product Depth (in.)
3.25
Product Height (in.)
26
Product Size
20.437 LB-Pound
Product Width (in.)
16

Details

Drought Tolerant
Yes
Grass Type
Fescue
Landscape Supply Type
Accessory
Organic
No
Product Weight (lb.)
20lb
Region
Appalachians,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain
Returnable
90-Day
Seed Type
Grass
Traffic/Wear Tolerance Level
Medium

Questions & Answers

Does this grass seed have expartation date? Home Depot is having a sale at my local store and I w...

Does this grass seed have expartation date? Home Depot is having a sale at my local store and I wanted to buy some for next year as well.
Asked by: Vlad
the expiration date listed by state is always on the grass seed package
Answered by: HomeDepotCustomer
Date published: 2018-10-31

I see that this seed covers 5000 sq ft. Is that for established turf, or new seeding on topsoil ...

I see that this seed covers 5000 sq ft. Is that for established turf, or new seeding on topsoil with not turf present? Thanks in advance for your help.
Asked by: Edward
I believe it will be fine on area with new turf.
Answered by: alzee
Date published: 2018-10-18

does Pennington make this seed, I see look alike bags at different stores.

Asked by: jm
God makes it !!! ......but yes, Pennington sells it
Answered by: PeteG
Date published: 2019-02-20

I am in the Atlanta, Georgia area. Can this seed be planted in the spring, or is it best to wait...

I am in the Atlanta, Georgia area. Can this seed be planted in the spring, or is it best to wait until fall?
Asked by: Newbie
Hi Newbie, We recommend planting in the fall. Thanks.
Answered by: Rebels Team
Date published: 2019-06-26
  • y_2019, m_10, d_17, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_11
  • loc_, sid_205896323, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 6ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

The Rebels 20 lb. Tall Fescue Shade Grass Seed Mix is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 68.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Never took hold or seeded.... Never took hold or seeded.
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This grass seed was a large part in the renovation of my yard. The grass is soft and supple. This... This grass seed was a large part in the renovation of my yard. The grass is soft and supple. This seed was able to penetrate even the most tough mud and make my yard into a peaceful Eden! I have had this grass seed only for a few weeks but I already have sprouts! This does in fact meet all of the expectations I had.
Date published: 2018-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is the first time I've used Rebel's, so hoping... This is the first time I've used Rebel's, so hoping for good results. Manufacturer Rep was at the store when I went to purchase, and he was very helpful. He even looked at the pictures I had of our lawn and gave recommendations from that. I'll give update once it has more time to really come up.
Date published: 2018-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff grows where nothing else will. My house is over 20 yesterday old, and no one has ever ... This stuff grows where nothing else will. My house is over 20 yesterday old, and no one has ever been able to get grass to grow here, but I'm having success with this seed and a little fertilizer.
Date published: 2018-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grass is sprouting good so far, will see if it... Grass is sprouting good so far, will see if it survives all the coming rain this week. Rebels seed works best for me... bought regular Pennington last year, did not seem to do as well.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Had better luck before with this seed......it's probably not doing as well as in the pass, becaus... Had better luck before with this seed......it's probably not doing as well as in the pass, because of the weather. Hopefully more will start grow as weather get better.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rebel shade works well in N.C. It came up in 8-9 days. Watered every day to keep ground moist. Rebel shade works well in N.C. It came up in 8-9 days. Watered every day to keep ground moist.
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Despite placing the seed down in August, the results were... Despite placing the seed down in August, the results were great.
Date published: 2018-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far, so good. Grass is beginning to sprout.... So far, so good. Grass is beginning to sprout.
Date published: 2018-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was used for a shady area in my yard. It was used for a shady area in my yard.
Date published: 2018-10-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from the Rebels grass seeds worked well in my yard, I... the Rebels grass seeds worked well in my yard, I have dogs so they do a number on my grass but htis worked very well !
Date published: 2018-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This seed helped my shady backyard significantly. It is not... This seed helped my shady backyard significantly. It is not a panacea, I still have bare areas, I'm still working on it, but in combination with a new layer of topsoil and closely following directions it did help.
Date published: 2018-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny. Planted on parched heavy clay soil. Tilled, added fertilizer and Rebels grass ... Worth every penny. Planted on parched heavy clay soil. Tilled, added fertilizer and Rebels grass seed. Watered once; had an additional rain shower and voila!!- sprouts in 10 days. Very hardy, fast growing, very drought resistant. So very pleased!!! My lawn will soon be the envy of the neighborhood!!!!!
Date published: 2017-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Law bid thriving in a spot where we could not... Law bid thriving in a spot where we could not grow grass previously
Date published: 2018-06-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not sprout I applied and cared for the seed as per the instruction, but did not see a strong result. It was June but I kept it wet, and the weather was actually not to hot so I expected better results. However, this is not the best time to plant seed.
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good seed. Does what it says it will do, good amount of water and and a good amount of sunshine. Being shade rated, this does well. Almost can watch it grow from dawn to dusk as I watered in the morning and the evening to find more green shoots each day.
Date published: 2016-10-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from nothing came up and i watered correctly. kept the bag... nothing came up and i watered correctly. kept the bag and receipt. will be coming in for refund.
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new grass is comming. Weather in Chesapeake, VA was too cold for this season of the year. My new grass is comming. Weather in Chesapeake, VA was too cold for this season of the year.
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New grass growth in 10 days with daily watering with... New grass growth in 10 days with daily watering with daytime high temps from the 50s to the 70s. Expect good growth before the cold temps settle in.
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nothing has come up. Recommend buying another brand Nothing has come up. Recommend buying another brand
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Extremely poor results after detach, aerating & watering for 3 weeks! Extremely poor results after detach, aerating & watering for 3 weeks!
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Grew weeds. Not grass. ... Grew weeds. Not grass.
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The product doesn't work well in dense shade as advertised. The product doesn't work well in dense shade as advertised.
Date published: 2017-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use Rebels annually to reseed my fescue. I use Rebels annually to reseed my fescue.
Date published: 2017-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2017-09-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Used in an almost completely shaded area; so far, so... Used in an almost completely shaded area; so far, so good.
Date published: 2017-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Seeds I've sowed mostly all my seeds mostly in winter what is called Dormant seeding. See below: WINTER LAWN SEEDING - IT WORKS! Dormant Seeding SEEDING OPTIONS IN THE LATE FALL AND EARLY WINTER - SLICE OR BROADCAST SEEDING? When you think about planting grass, spring comes to mind as the best time. But, can you believe that it's not only not the best time, it isn't even the second best time. The best time to seed your lawn is in the late summer when the soil is warm and there isn't much weed competition.The second best time to seed your lawn isnt the spring though, it's the winter. That's right, it is not too late to get a jump on your new spring lawn.As long as the ground is not frozen, Good Nature can use a Slice Seeder to get those hardy seeds into the ground so they're ready to germinate come warmer spring weather. In fact, there are some benefits to Dormant Seeding in the late fall and early winter: *Winter Seedings are less reliant on watering because the soil is typically wet coming out of winter and spring rains are likely. Watering come spring however will improve the odds of a successful seeding, especially if we get some dry spells. *The snow on your lawn through winter will help the seed get deeper under the ground. *By the time the soil is dry enough to seed in the spring, you usually miss out on good rains that would help seed germinate. Seeding in the winter eliminates that problem. I did broadcast my seeds (very effective) or use a special slice seeding machine to help improve seed to soil contact. Slice (super effective) Seeding is more effective, but if you're ever going to do a broadcast seeding, it will be most effective as a dormant seeding. If your lawn already looks great and you're just trying to keep it that way, a Dormant Broadcast Seeding is a good economical choice. If your lawn is pretty thin and you're really trying to improve it, a Dormant Slice Seeding would be the best choice.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets the job done... Gets the job done
Date published: 2017-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Great
Date published: 2017-10-17
  • y_2019, m_10, d_18, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_68
  • loc_, sid_205896323, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 63ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT