Internet #100258384

Model # 1603400

Store SKU #396927

Store SO SKU #1000593190

0049206160347

18 in. Ergonomic Mountain Mover Snow Shovel

  • Nylon wear strip is gentle on your deck and other surfaces
  • Ergonomic handle with oversized grip is easy on your back
  • Blade shape is great for shoveling or pushing
$ 35 24
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

+
+

Product Overview

  • Nylon wear strip is gentle on your deck and other surfaces
  • Ergonomic handle with oversized grip is easy on your back
  • Blade shape is great for shoveling or pushing
This True Temper 18 in. Ergonomic Mountain Mover Snow Shovel is ideal for shoveling or pushing snow. The blade shape features a flat front end for pushing snow and slush while the deep back end is shaped to scoop snow. The nylon wear strip extends the life of the blade and prevents the gouging of decks and other surfaces. It also features an ergonomic handle and an oversized D-grip that easily accommodates a gloved hand.
  • 18 in. combination blade is ideal for shoveling and pushing snow
  • 37.4 in. ergonomic handle for more comfortable shoveling
  • Oversized grip for gloved hand
  • Nylon wear strip prolongs blade life and does not cause damage to deck, patio and other ground surfaces

Product Overview

  • Nylon wear strip is gentle on your deck and other surfaces
  • Ergonomic handle with oversized grip is easy on your back
  • Blade shape is great for shoveling or pushing
Model #: 1603400
Sku #: 396927
Internet #: 100258384

This True Temper 18 in. Ergonomic Mountain Mover Snow Shovel is ideal for shoveling or pushing snow. The blade shape features a flat front end for pushing snow and slush while the deep back end is shaped to scoop snow. The nylon wear strip extends the life of the blade and prevents the gouging of decks and other surfaces. It also features an ergonomic handle and an oversized D-grip that easily accommodates a gloved hand.

  • 18 in. combination blade is ideal for shoveling and pushing snow
  • 37.4 in. ergonomic handle for more comfortable shoveling
  • Oversized grip for gloved hand
  • Nylon wear strip prolongs blade life and does not cause damage to deck, patio and other ground surfaces

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Key Features

Product Overview
Key Features
  • Nylon wear strip is gentle on your deck and other surfaces
  • Ergonomic handle with oversized grip is easy on your back
  • Blade shape is great for shoveling or pushing
This True Temper 18 in. Ergonomic Mountain Mover Snow Shovel is ideal for shoveling or pushing snow. The blade shape features a flat front end for pushing snow and slush while the deep back end is shaped to scoop snow. The nylon wear strip extends the life of the blade and prevents the gouging of decks and other surfaces. It also features an ergonomic handle and an oversized D-grip that easily accommodates a gloved hand.
  • 18 in. combination blade is ideal for shoveling and pushing snow
  • 37.4 in. ergonomic handle for more comfortable shoveling
  • Oversized grip for gloved hand
  • Nylon wear strip prolongs blade life and does not cause damage to deck, patio and other ground surfaces

Product Overview

  • Nylon wear strip is gentle on your deck and other surfaces
  • Ergonomic handle with oversized grip is easy on your back
  • Blade shape is great for shoveling or pushing
Model #: 1603400
Sku #: 396927
Internet #: 100258384

This True Temper 18 in. Ergonomic Mountain Mover Snow Shovel is ideal for shoveling or pushing snow. The blade shape features a flat front end for pushing snow and slush while the deep back end is shaped to scoop snow. The nylon wear strip extends the life of the blade and prevents the gouging of decks and other surfaces. It also features an ergonomic handle and an oversized D-grip that easily accommodates a gloved hand.

  • 18 in. combination blade is ideal for shoveling and pushing snow
  • 37.4 in. ergonomic handle for more comfortable shoveling
  • Oversized grip for gloved hand
  • Nylon wear strip prolongs blade life and does not cause damage to deck, patio and other ground surfaces

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand True Temper True Temper True Temper True Temper
Name 20 in. Poly Combo Snow Shovel 20 in. Aluminum Combo Blade Snow Shovel 18 in. Ergonomic Mountain Mover Snow Shovel 17 ft. Telescoping Roof Rake
Price
$28.64
$34.99
$35.24
$53.97
Ratings (129) (189) (568) (481)
Blade Material Plastic Aluminum Plastic
Coated Blades No No Yes
Blade Length (in.) 13.5 in 15 14.5 in
Handle Material Steel Aluminum Metal Aluminum
Garden Center Tool Type Snow Shovel Snow Shovel Snow Shovel Roof Rake
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Blade Length (in.)
14.5 in
Blade Width (in.)
18
Handle Length (in.)
37.4
Product Depth (in.)
6
Product Height (in.)
54.125
Product Width (in.)
18

Details

Blade Material
Plastic
Coated Blades
Yes
Garden Center Tool Type
Snow Shovel
Handle Material
Metal
Product Weight (lb.)
3lb
Returnable
90-Day

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
none

Specifications

Dimensions

Blade Length (in.)
14.5 in
Blade Width (in.)
18
Handle Length (in.)
37.4
Product Depth (in.)
6
Product Height (in.)
54.125
Product Width (in.)
18

Details

Blade Material
Plastic
Coated Blades
Yes
Garden Center Tool Type
Snow Shovel
Handle Material
Metal
Product Weight (lb.)
3lb
Returnable
90-Day

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
none

Questions & Answers

How is it on your back in heavy wet snow

How is it on your back in heavy wet snow
Asked by: cherry
Wet and heavy snow is never easy on your back.
Answered by: Bernie
Date published: 2019-02-11

is the shovel metal? my last shovel was plastic with a metal handle and it broke around the scre...

is the shovel metal? my last shovel was plastic with a metal handle and it broke around the screws that attached the shovel to the metal handle
Asked by: dawnwawn
Plastic with metal shaft, however it is well design, there is no screw to break around, has worked very well for us the past couple of years
Answered by: DogWood
Date published: 2019-02-16

Is this shovel the same as this one # 1603400

Asked by: Millie
What is the right way to use this shovel cause my back hurts after using?
Answered by: Niecer
Date published: 2019-01-31

Is the handle aluminum?

Is the handle aluminum?
Asked by: Duh
The yellow handle isn't aluminum
Answered by: Leiws
Date published: 2017-12-20
  • y_2019, m_9, d_20, h_15CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_13
  • loc_, sid_100258384, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 59ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

True Temper 18 in. Ergonomic Mountain Mover Snow Shovel is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 568.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shovel. We have a textured finish on our deck. We can not use a shovel with a metal lip because they will dig into the deck finish. This shovel has a nylon(?) lip and works perfectly with the deck. Granted we have only used it twice this year but it seems to hold up nicely. It will get a LOT more use this winter. I'll report back.
Date published: 2014-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A real back-saver! Living in the Northeast we have done our fair share of shoveling so far this winter. This shovel's ergonomics are a real back-saver for me at six feet tall! Would recommend it for a try if your taller than average. Be advised this shovel has a plastic reinforcement strip on the bottom and not metal, therefore it will be good for clearing a deck, but may not be suitable for use on a paved driveway. Other model has metal bottom strip.
Date published: 2015-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from this snow shovel worked Okay, but it was not amazing. The plastic edge that allows it to be used... this snow shovel worked Okay, but it was not amazing. The plastic edge that allows it to be used on decks is good (and why I bought it), but it makes the shovel edge thick and not able to clear the surface as smooth as other shovels we have. It did allow me to clear my deck without scratching the Trex decking so I am happy with that aspect of the shovel. I don't feel that the ergonomic design of the handle really provide that much overall benefit. While this is a good product, I reserve my recommendations for "great" products and so i would not be recommending it. I have used this in only two snowstorms, but I think it is enough time to judge the product. I cannot speak to its durability over time which would be another factor I would add to my consideration relative to recommending it. I am tall (6-4-1/2") and the shovel handle is not quite long enough to be ideal for me.
Date published: 2019-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Excellent ergonomic tool - purchaser is a senior citizen and the tool is extremely helpful in shoveling snow. Excellent lasting item - purchased same tool from Home Depot about four years ago.
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We moved up 6,000 feet to a Mountain Community in California. Came from the city and knew nothin... We moved up 6,000 feet to a Mountain Community in California. Came from the city and knew nothing about snow. Bought this Snow Shovel over two years ago and it is fantastic for shoveling while the snow is fresh and soft. Once the remains turn to frozen solid ice you need a metal shovel. Found that out the hard way when our son shoveled this past snow storm and it cracked. We liked it so much we ordered a new one right away. My husband glued the first one - holding fine. And we have used the second one already. Much easier on the back and arms then the straight handle type. Holds a lot of snow!
Date published: 2017-02-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great...at first. When I first got this shovel, I loved it. I originally purchased it based on reviews here and because when I got to the store, I saw that it had a ratchet connection from the shaft to the shovel. I figured that this was a new design from Tru Temper so that if the blade ever wore out or the bucket cracked or something, you could just get a replacement part and not have to buy a whole new shovel. Anyway, long story short, without ever pushing in on the ratchet part (and therefore loosening it), the connection came loose. Now, anytime you have more than 10 pounds or so of snow on the shovel, the bucket comes loose and falls off when you throw the snow. It's a total pain in the rear and I expected more from a $25 shovel.
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from after 1 year complete garbage 12/25/17. After one year have become almost unusable. Tomorrow will be looking for new. The one i used last year has inch and three quarter curve in blade. Second, still with label has inch curve. You can see curve under Orange straight edge. For this price they should last for more than one season.
Date published: 2017-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly good! Needed a new snow shovel but was late getting out to get it. In fact my procrastination meant I had very little choice when I got to HD after the "big one" and I only had a choice of a couple different ones of this ergonomic style. It was with much trepidation that I picked this one out. I told myself that if I didn't like it, I could always get a different one in a week or two after they restocked and "gift" this one to my daughters family. WOW! Was I surprised at how comfortable this one is to use. I have a bad back, but using this shovel seemed to be almost effortless compared to my old standard snow shovel, with no back strain! It's a little pricey compared to a standard shovel, but I figure what I save on pain pills will make up the difference. Your mileage may vary, but it probably won't be far off.
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This shovel made me $150!!! First snow shovel I've ever bought I've shoveled snow before for work but never had to buy one myself I'm 6' so this one is nice because I don't have to bend over double. Brought it in my 4wd when this storm came through in case I had to dig myself out. Turns out work pays us if we volunteer to shovel. Made 6 hours across two days. Shoveled 4 driveways, one I did twice, and helped dig a little girl out who got stuck. All in all, not a bad ROI in my book. I was worried because of the ratchet connection between the handle and blade but I've been leaning on it all weekend and it hasn't given me lick of trouble. Wife is a couple inches shorter than I am, she likes it too. If it broke tomorrow, it's paid for itself and it's replacement. . . but it doesn't seem like it'll break any time soon.
Date published: 2016-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome shovel! Much better than my classic aluminum shovel. After my classic aluminum shovel started to crack and bend, I got this shovel based on its great review. Wow! I immediately felt a difference. It is light like my old aluminum shovel but it is easy on my lower back and I can carry more snow now so I work much quicker now. I wish that I bought it sooner. After picking this shovel up at my local home depot, I went to a fast food restaurant and my car actually got stuck in snow. Lucky for me that I had this shovel in the backseat and I was able to dig myself out. Now I think that I should always have a shovel in case of emergency especially as all these side streets are in pretty terrible shape. Barely plowed.
Date published: 2016-01-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The scraping edge is not straight, there for it doesn’t do a good job scraping the driveway clean The scraping edge is not straight, there for it doesn’t do a good job scraping the driveway clean
Date published: 2018-12-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The leading edge is a gray plastic not metal as... The leading edge is a gray plastic not metal as my other shovel. The entire front of the shovel is beveled / warped so it does not lay evenly on the pavement. Not very useful in that condition. My older one is still straight as an arrow. Not worth the money at all.
Date published: 2019-03-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from comfortable but poor quality Comfortable to use; however, poor quality. Shovel cracked within ten minutes of use on only 4 inches of snow.
Date published: 2012-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rugged ergonomic snow shovel designed to shovel and also push snow This is the first snow shovel that I have used with an ergonomic shaped handle that is also designed to be used to push snow versus only being designed for shoveling snow. The handle on this shovel is made out of steel tubing instead of aluminum tubing and can push and lift heavy snow without flexing or bending. Snow shovels with ergonomic shaped handles minimize the amount of bending required when shoveling to help dramatically reduce lower back strain in comparison to straight handle snow shovels which require more bending and can increase lower back strain. This is a good shovel for the price with having a strong ergonomic handle instead of a straight handle and also being designed to push snow to save some of the effort of clearing snow since it is sometimes faster and easier to push snow then it is to shovel it. The blade edge on this shovel has a thick nylon strip instead of a thin steel strip that is sometimes used on other shovels. The nylon edge strip on this shovel is gentle for removing snow from wood surfaces such as decks or steps in comparison to a steel edge strip on other shovels that can easily damage wood surfaces.
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to hold and was sturdy enough to handle wet... Easy to hold and was sturdy enough to handle wet snow
Date published: 2019-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-04-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Great Average at best... Handle is slippery, can't get a good grip on it. Which defeats the purpose of a curved handle. I was expecting it to be better, but even with leather gloves on, your hands slip. Plus it is only attached by one measly screw, which is a little loose. Can't tighten because they cleverly put under a piece of plastic. I would return it, but I'm afraid it will snow again and have nothing else to shovel with. NOT very pleased...
Date published: 2015-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I picked up this shovel after reading a favorable review in the New York Times. Magically, it ha... I picked up this shovel after reading a favorable review in the New York Times. Magically, it hasn't snowed since! It looks and feels like it'll work just fine, but in December and now well into January there has been no snow in NW Indiana, which is pretty odd, but I'll take it!
Date published: 2019-01-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It looked good, but failed! The metal shaft was good, but plastic parts, way to thin. Shovel end cracked and split at the center of the shovel only after a couple of uses. It needs to be thicker plastic!! I'd like to get my money refunded, but haven't taken it back yet. Next trip to Home Depot, its going back !
Date published: 2015-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It looks like a great snow shovel that will be... It looks like a great snow shovel that will be great shoveling snow.
Date published: 2019-01-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from We live in the Worcester Hills in Mass. Lots of snow, ice, etc. This showel is great for fluffy t... We live in the Worcester Hills in Mass. Lots of snow, ice, etc. This showel is great for fluffy to medium heavy snow. It is nearly useless once snow freezes over or the town street plow pushes overfreezing slush into the driveway. I go through an average of 2 of these showels per year. When dealing with icy snow/slush, the connection between the handle and the showel tends to break easily. A broken snow shovel makes for a really big piece of trash ;-( It's usually the only "ergonomic" snow showel available in town, so I'll be stuck with this model for the foreseeable future.
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 18 inch wide blade and nylon wear strip The blade ends are bowed up and when the nylon wear strip gets wore down you have to throw the shovel away cause you cant buy a replacement wear strip. I bought one last year with a metal wear strip and it wore down and popped out of the rivets. If I could have bought a replacement wear strip I could have drilled out the rivets and attached a new wear strip on with pan head nuts and bolts.
Date published: 2014-01-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good product but shovel handle comes loose. Good product but shovel handle comes loose. Good design, edge is plastic and better on patio than metal.
Date published: 2014-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good snow shovel but not quite excellent for the following reasons From a larger mans perspective: the metal handle is smooth, a ribbed handle would be less cold to hold on to. The upper hand grip (D hand grip) is a little loose, the scoop is just a tad too light and flimsy, and the bend along the handle is a little too shallow. However, my 5'4, thirty year old daughter seems to think it is just right, especially as its got the curved handle, but isn't too heavy for a woman to move a lot of snow. Overall its a good shovel for the price and we will always have one on hand.
Date published: 2016-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best general purpose snow shovel I've used The shovel is lighter than most, but still manages to be sturdy. I find the curve in the handle to be just right to reduce the crouch from which I'm lifting snow. There is a plastic rather than steel edge blade, which allows me to use the shovel in the first pass of getting a big snowfall off my car without worrying about scratching. Also lets me be worry free in clearing my wood deck. And surprisingly, the plastic blade wears away much more slowly than the metal blades on other shovels I've used. One Achilles heel: if you jam the shovel into heavy, almost-ice snow and then try to lever upward with the handle, you'll crack the shovel scoop's main reinforcement, which substantially reduces the shovel's plowing capability and ability to penetrate consolidated snow.
Date published: 2015-12-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Purchased this shovel to replace the same version that we bought several years earlier that had t... Purchased this shovel to replace the same version that we bought several years earlier that had the metal bottom edge break off. This was the only ergonomic handled snow shovel that Home Depot carries. Went to use it at the first storm we had after purchase only to discover that the shovel was curved and as such would only remove snow at the center of the shovel for a width of about 3 inches. Curve isn't noticeable unless you look at the shovel with the shovel part at eye level. Returned it to the store with the plan on replacing it with another one only to discover that the other ones we checked all had the same curve making them useless. Didn't bother and will look else ware for a replacement.
Date published: 2019-02-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It didn't occur to me try check it before I needed to use the shovel, but the blade is slightly c... It didn't occur to me try check it before I needed to use the shovel, but the blade is slightly curved. The means shoveling snow isn't very efficient. I tried to flatten the blade, but it didn't help much. Due to the curve, even using considerable finesse, the shovel is effectively about six inches. I might find another purpose, but this shovel is useless on flat surfaces, like a side walk or drive way.
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good at moving a lot of snow; and for your back's sake you better hope its light fluffy snow. Pl... Good at moving a lot of snow; and for your back's sake you better hope its light fluffy snow. Plastic will never stand up to ice breaking and flexes under heavy loads. That said, it is the perfect pusher-style shovel with a lightweight and cupped blade and, if held hip-high, the curved handle drops the blade to a nice, efficient angle. It made cleaning off my roof easier than winters past and the hard plastic blade/cutting edge was gentler on the shingles. I have not had the shovel long enough to award 5 stars for quality because durability is what I look for in a hand tool - if it survives the first winter I will (might) update this..
Date published: 2019-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy - Easy to Lift I really like the grip and the weight of this shovel, so much so I bought a second one. While it has a plastic scoop to keep it light, it has a metal edge which I find is very good for cutting the snow. The handle curve is just right for me (very tall). I highly recommend this shovel!
Date published: 2015-02-13
  • y_2019, m_9, d_21, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_568
  • loc_, sid_100258384, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 114ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT