Internet #305502026

Model # 339744

Store SKU #1003315238

0020066428136

Varathane

8 oz. Dark Walnut Classic Wood Interior Stain

  • Timeless color in a penetrating wood wiping stain
  • Classic wood finish - layer coats to achieve rich, natural color
  • Wood stain recoats in 2 hours and covers 37 sq. ft. per 8 oz.
$ 4 28
$4.98

Save 14%

Loading Options
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Timeless color in a penetrating wood wiping stain
  • Classic wood finish - layer coats to achieve rich, natural color
  • Wood stain recoats in 2 hours and covers 37 sq. ft. per 8 oz.
Varathane 8 oz. Dark Walnut Classic Wood Interior Stain provides a rich natural color that beautifully enhances the wood grain. Applies easily with high quality synthetic brush, lint-free cloth or foam applicator. Customize color or achieve a darker color by adding additional coats.
  • Designed to enhance natural grain of interior wood surfaces such as furniture, cabinets, doors, trim and more
  • Covers up to 37 sq. ft., recoat in 2 hours to build color
  • Semi-transparent formula provides a classic, natural color that allows wood grain to come through
  • Wood finish penetrates deeply providing long lasting protection
  • Available in a timeless color assortment that provides the ability to match colors to previously stained projects
  • Most surfaces or projects require 2 coats, apply additional coats to further customize look
  • Final coat dries in 4 hours
  • For further protection, polyurethane may be applied
  • Allow 8 hours before applying oil-based poly and 24 hours before water based poly
  • Cleans up with mineral spirits
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Overview

  • Timeless color in a penetrating wood wiping stain
  • Classic wood finish - layer coats to achieve rich, natural color
  • Wood stain recoats in 2 hours and covers 37 sq. ft. per 8 oz.
Model #: 339744
Sku #: 1003315238
Internet #: 305502026

Varathane 8 oz. Dark Walnut Classic Wood Interior Stain provides a rich natural color that beautifully enhances the wood grain. Applies easily with high quality synthetic brush, lint-free cloth or foam applicator. Customize color or achieve a darker color by adding additional coats.

  • Designed to enhance natural grain of interior wood surfaces such as furniture, cabinets, doors, trim and more
  • Covers up to 37 sq. ft., recoat in 2 hours to build color
  • Semi-transparent formula provides a classic, natural color that allows wood grain to come through
  • Wood finish penetrates deeply providing long lasting protection
  • Available in a timeless color assortment that provides the ability to match colors to previously stained projects
  • Most surfaces or projects require 2 coats, apply additional coats to further customize look
  • Final coat dries in 4 hours
  • For further protection, polyurethane may be applied
  • Allow 8 hours before applying oil-based poly and 24 hours before water based poly
  • Cleans up with mineral spirits
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Varathane Varathane Varathane Varathane
Name 8 oz. Dark Walnut Classic Wood Interior Stain 1 qt. Dark Walnut Classic Wood Interior Stain 1 qt. Espresso Classic Wood Interior Stain 1 qt. Red Mahogany Classic Wood Interior Stain
Price
Was $4.98
$4.28
Save 14%
Was $7.98
$6.98
Save $1.00 (13%)
Was $7.98
$6.98
Save $1.00 (13%)
Was $7.98
$6.98
Save $1.00 (13%)
Ratings (467) (467) (467) (467)
Container Size 8 OZ-Ounce 1 QT-Quart 1 QT-Quart 1 QT-Quart
Transparency Semi-Transparent Semi-Transparent Semi-Transparent Semi-Transparent
Coverage Area (sq. ft.) 37 150 150 150
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
8 OZ-Ounce
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
37

Details

Application Method
Brush,Wipe On
Color Family
Brown
Color/Finish
Dark Walnut
Dry to touch (min.)
120
Interior/Exterior
Interior
Number of coats recommended
2
Number per Package
1
Paint/Stain Base Material
Oil
Paint/Stain Clean Up
Mineral Spirits
Paint/Stain Key Features
No additional features
Paint/Stain/Waterproofer Product Type
Specialty Finish/Small Project
Substrate/Surface Use Type
Wood
Time before recoating (hours)
2
Transparency
Semi-Transparent

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Satisfaction guaranteed for full refund of purchase price

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
8 OZ-Ounce
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
37

Details

Application Method
Brush,Wipe On
Color Family
Brown
Color/Finish
Dark Walnut
Dry to touch (min.)
120
Interior/Exterior
Interior
Number of coats recommended
2
Number per Package
1
Paint/Stain Base Material
Oil
Paint/Stain Clean Up
Mineral Spirits
Paint/Stain Key Features
No additional features
Paint/Stain/Waterproofer Product Type
Specialty Finish/Small Project
Substrate/Surface Use Type
Wood
Time before recoating (hours)
2
Transparency
Semi-Transparent

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Satisfaction guaranteed for full refund of purchase price

Questions & Answers

What wood conditioner do I use with this- does it matter if it's oil or water based? And what do ...

What wood conditioner do I use with this- does it matter if it's oil or water based? And what do I use as a matte finish top coat to help protect it?
Asked by: CA
Use an oil-based conditioner on soft woods like fir or pine after sanding. Follow all instructions on can or use & care sheets. You can add any oil-based polyurethane satin (matte) finish after the last stain coat is dry.
Answered by: Boon
Date published: 2019-06-05

Can I use it in an air spray gun?

Can I use it in an air spray gun?
Asked by: Anjobarrera
With the correct up draft spray booth.. yes without it there will be many imperfections
Answered by: JasonK
Date published: 2019-06-25

What if I do sanding woods that stained with darker color and then apply this one? I used Varatha...

What if I do sanding woods that stained with darker color and then apply this one? I used Varathane cognac 3X product(model # 271150 at homedepot) on maple wood panels(indoor stair steps) one year ago. It came out much darker than what I expected. I plan to sanding the wood panels well and then apply this gunstock classic stain over it. Is it a bad idea? I am not sure how the sanding remove the stains very clearly, either. Any suggestions?
Asked by: TOM
You would need to sand until the natural wood is exposed to remove all previous stain or it will just become darker. Good luck!
Answered by: Vic
Date published: 2019-05-07

Do i need to apply a sealer over this product? If so what is recommended?

I am applying the stain on the stair treads of my staircase.
Asked by: Heather
Hi Heather, thank you for reaching out! Once our Varathane Wood Stain has been applied, a clear protective polyurethane must be applied to protect the finish. We recommend our Varathane Water-Based Floor Finish Polyurethane, which provides a crystal clear, protective finish: https://www.homedepot.com/p/Zinsser-1-gal-WaterTite-Mold-and-Mildew-Proof-White-Oil-Based-Waterproofing-Interior-Exterior-Paint-2-Pack-5001/204068078 - Rust-Oleum Product Support 2
Answered by: Rust-OleumSupport
Date published: 2019-07-15
  • y_2019, m_7, d_17, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_45
  • loc_, sid_305502026, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

8 oz. Dark Walnut Classic Wood Interior Stain is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 463.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not the brand that I was looking for. Was told... Not the brand that I was looking for. Was told this brand replaced the old brand. Was looking for Olde Maple colored stain (w/poly). Only 1 maple colored stain available in replacement brand, & it wasn’t w/ poly. Bought it; but it wasn’t even close to color of stain that I needed. Very disappointed!
Date published: 2019-05-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Similar to other brands I have used in the past.... Similar to other brands I have used in the past. This time I had a situation that is very unfortunate. I bought a small can and was part way thru my project when I spilled most of the remainder. I returned to home depot and purchased a larger container of the same color. HOWEVER IT WAS NOT A MAC
Date published: 2019-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Needed a stain that would make pressure treated lattice look... Needed a stain that would make pressure treated lattice look like cedar and this Gunstock color from Varathane did the trick. Also here is a helpful hint if you are staining lattice... use a spray bottle, it goes on quick without losing as much product as a power sprayer.
Date published: 2019-05-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The color doesn't match the label or the display chip... The color doesn't match the label or the display chip samples, it is very grey, not just a dusting of grey, but full deep penetrating cover all your light wood completely grey. Anything you stain with this will be much more grey than the label or picture on it.
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It should have a note saying “Not suitable for hardwood... It should have a note saying “Not suitable for hardwood floors “As professional sander I can say it is a terrible product, unfortunately the homeowners doesn’t know until it’s too late. Get back Minwax at least!!
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even though it is designed to be used inside, being an oil based product, I used it to restore my... Even though it is designed to be used inside, being an oil based product, I used it to restore my 8 x 8in post on my exterior porch. The product went on really good and after two weeks still looks great.
Date published: 2019-05-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Home Depot switched from Minwax to this brand "Varathane" which... Home Depot switched from Minwax to this brand "Varathane" which is inferior in qualty and stain color. After testing all the Varathane products against Minwax, I find Varathane products inferior
Date published: 2019-04-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Was told by home depot representative it's "exactly" like min wax...nope it's not. Color is light... Was told by home depot representative it's "exactly" like min wax...nope it's not. Color is lighter & this is "only" A stain. The other stuff is a sealer. Oh well, lesson learned.
Date published: 2019-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Desired a safe stain (not too dark, must add pow... Desired a safe stain (not too dark, must add pow to a room, somewhat light in stain but brightens a room; neutral). Golden oak did a fabulous job, fitting the requirements plus.
Date published: 2019-05-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Product was hard to use. As a stain the... Product was hard to use. As a stain the consistency was inconsistent. Constantly had to keep shaking the can. will not buy Varathane products again. Just buying Minwax.
Date published: 2019-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product with simple application that looks excellent. We used... Good product with simple application that looks excellent. We used the Varathane wood conditioner before staining and the stain came out very uniform. Great products.
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I do quite a bit of staining in my small... I do quite a bit of staining in my small work shop.I must tell you that stain was the worst stain I ever used..It did not cover good at all,therefore I threw it out..
Date published: 2019-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the color of golden oak. I used it... I love the color of golden oak. I used it on plywood and it turned out a beautiful rich coffee color stain. The smell of it is not as strong as others that I’ve used
Date published: 2019-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I needed a black stain and this is the blackest I have been able to find. Very good, goes a long... I needed a black stain and this is the blackest I have been able to find. Very good, goes a long way, a little slow to dry, but that's not a big problem.
Date published: 2019-07-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I started my project with minwax Honey stain. Varathane Honey... I started my project with minwax Honey stain. Varathane Honey did not match the minwax color as had been advertised. Very disappointed
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The stain is a nice color and the price wasn't a bad one. Home Depot is a great place to shop at ... The stain is a nice color and the price wasn't a bad one. Home Depot is a great place to shop at and I love the products they sell.
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I had a good support in Customer Service with the... I had a good support in Customer Service with the Brand, However it doesn't work how I expected, probably I need to sand again.
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, took to the wood doors perfectly.. Did take... Great product, took to the wood doors perfectly.. Did take about 3 coats, if you want really dark, black may be the way to go.
Date published: 2019-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far looks very good gave 2 coats so far... So far looks very good gave 2 coats so far which mite be plenty only problem I have I should of bought the smaller can.
Date published: 2019-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Color on the samples were representative of the product once... Color on the samples were representative of the product once applied. Easy to apply and dries evenly and quickly.
Date published: 2019-07-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Color was not even close to sample color shown. Drying... Color was not even close to sample color shown. Drying time seems to be longer than other stains I usually use.
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The performance is fine as a stain, but it’s not... The performance is fine as a stain, but it’s not going to look anything like the picture. It’s a bluish gray.
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the red oak stain looks great on my new P.T. wood picnic table. will see how it holds up out in t... the red oak stain looks great on my new P.T. wood picnic table. will see how it holds up out in the weather.
Date published: 2019-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good stain!! I used this product on my end... Very good stain!! I used this product on my end tables I built for our living room and they are beautiful!!
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like the original oil stain, does not shine up with second coat, can go back an touch up and blen... Like the original oil stain, does not shine up with second coat, can go back an touch up and blend in.
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We love the color. We just have tried samples of... We love the color. We just have tried samples of 10 different stains but kept coming back to this one.
Date published: 2019-06-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Was not happy floor came out so dark and did not look good need to sand out and redo now Was not happy floor came out so dark and did not look good need to sand out and redo now
Date published: 2019-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I wish it was made in a gel It would be easier to control. Staining outdoor ruff cedar I wish it was made in a gel It would be easier to control. Staining outdoor ruff cedar
Date published: 2019-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well shows off woods natural grain without hiding it... Works well shows off woods natural grain without hiding it Very very light stain
Date published: 2019-04-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It's too thin. I had to do 3 coats and... It's too thin. I had to do 3 coats and it still didn't cover my desk completely.
Date published: 2019-07-02
  • y_2019, m_7, d_17, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_463
  • loc_, sid_305502026, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 99ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT