Internet #305587137

Model # 342085

Store SKU #1003315297

0020066432751

Varathane

8 oz. Wood Conditioner

  • Conditions interior wood surfaces to prep for oil based stain
  • Seals soft or porous wood for a smooth, even wood stain finish
  • Easy to use, high solid formula covers up to 55 sq. ft. per can
$ 5 98
Loading Options
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Conditions interior wood surfaces to prep for oil based stain
  • Seals soft or porous wood for a smooth, even wood stain finish
  • Easy to use, high solid formula covers up to 55 sq. ft. per can
Varathane 8 oz. Wood Conditioner is a pre-staining step made for use on interior wood projects before finishing with an oil-based stain. Varathane Wood Conditioner helps prevent splotchy, uneven staining on soft and porous wood types, including birch, maple, alder, fir and pine. High-solids formula offers excellent penetration into the wood for beautiful staining results and projects. Made to prep and seal wood surfaces allowing for a rich, deep and even color.
  • Use prior to applying stain to porous woods to minimize blotchiness and ensure a consistent, even stain application
  • Works on interior soft wood surfaces including pine, maple, alder, fir and birch
  • Covers up to 55 sq. ft.
  • Acts as a wood sealer and seals soft wood pores for a better, even color and stain control without splotches
  • Applies easily to interior wood surfaces using a brush or cloth
  • High-solids formula penetrates deeply into wood to close pores, allow 30 minutes after application before applying wood stain
  • Cleans up with mineral spirits
  • Will work on a variety of wood surfaces including interior wood furniture, cabinets, doors, trim, wood floors and paneling
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Overview

  • Conditions interior wood surfaces to prep for oil based stain
  • Seals soft or porous wood for a smooth, even wood stain finish
  • Easy to use, high solid formula covers up to 55 sq. ft. per can
Model #: 342085
Sku #: 1003315297
Internet #: 305587137

Varathane 8 oz. Wood Conditioner is a pre-staining step made for use on interior wood projects before finishing with an oil-based stain. Varathane Wood Conditioner helps prevent splotchy, uneven staining on soft and porous wood types, including birch, maple, alder, fir and pine. High-solids formula offers excellent penetration into the wood for beautiful staining results and projects. Made to prep and seal wood surfaces allowing for a rich, deep and even color.

  • Use prior to applying stain to porous woods to minimize blotchiness and ensure a consistent, even stain application
  • Works on interior soft wood surfaces including pine, maple, alder, fir and birch
  • Covers up to 55 sq. ft.
  • Acts as a wood sealer and seals soft wood pores for a better, even color and stain control without splotches
  • Applies easily to interior wood surfaces using a brush or cloth
  • High-solids formula penetrates deeply into wood to close pores, allow 30 minutes after application before applying wood stain
  • Cleans up with mineral spirits
  • Will work on a variety of wood surfaces including interior wood furniture, cabinets, doors, trim, wood floors and paneling
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Varathane Howard Howard Varathane
Name 8 oz. Wood Conditioner 16 oz. Wood Polish and Conditioner 12 oz. Butcher Block Conditioner 1 qt. Classic Water-Based Pre-Stain Wood Conditioner
Price
$5.98
$8.48
$9.48
$12.98
Ratings (76) (193) (115) (14)
Container Size 8 OZ-Ounce 1 PT-Pint 12 OZ-Ounce 1 QT-Quart
Transparency Transparent Transparent Transparent Transparent
Coverage Area (sq. ft.) 55 150 100 125
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
8 OZ-Ounce
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
55

Details

Application Method
Brush
Dry to touch (min.)
30
Interior Paint & Stains Product Type
Oil/Conditioner
Interior/Exterior
Interior
Number of coats recommended
2
Number per Package
1
Paint Tool Product Type
Interior Paint/Stain
Paint/Stain Clean Up
Mineral Spirits
Paint/Stain Key Features
No additional features
Transparency
Transparent

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Satisfaction guaranteed for full refund of purchase price

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
8 OZ-Ounce
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
55

Details

Application Method
Brush
Dry to touch (min.)
30
Interior Paint & Stains Product Type
Oil/Conditioner
Interior/Exterior
Interior
Number of coats recommended
2
Number per Package
1
Paint Tool Product Type
Interior Paint/Stain
Paint/Stain Clean Up
Mineral Spirits
Paint/Stain Key Features
No additional features
Transparency
Transparent

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Satisfaction guaranteed for full refund of purchase price

Questions & Answers

Can I apply a paint over this? Looking for a smooth finish when done, to match existing pottery barn furniture.

Asked by: Zack
I've only stained after the pre-stain and you should do it within 20 minutes or so of the application. I don't see why you couldn't apply paint then, but why wouldn't just use paint alone as that would already provide you with a smooth finish? I don't know if this pre-stain conditioner will help you get what you are looking for. Remember that once you apply the conditioner or really any 'liquid' to the raw wood you are raising the grain of the wood and need to lightly sand anyway. So I think I would just sand and then prime and paint if that is what's required.
Answered by: Ammo
Date published: 2019-06-25

Hi. The directions say to allow conditioner to penetrate 30 minutes. Must it then be stained imme...

Hi. The directions say to allow conditioner to penetrate 30 minutes. Must it then be stained immediately after 30 minutes or is there a window of time acceptable? For example, can one apply the conditioner, wipe off the excess then get back to it the next day to stain ? Thank you.
Asked by: Harry
I wait about 1 hour to 2 hours before application of stain.
Answered by: siddique
Date published: 2019-02-25

How long does it take for the wood conditioner to completely dry or evaporate?

How long does it take for the wood conditioner to completely dry or evaporate?
Asked by: GitRdun
It only took an hour
Answered by: Pete
Date published: 2019-03-26

Can I use tung oil after using pre-stain conditioner, and stain for finish protection? I'm concer...

Can I use tung oil after using pre-stain conditioner, and stain for finish protection? I'm concerned the tung oil won't penetrate the wood after using the conditioner. Thanks for any help ASAP!
Asked by: LWD
Pre stain helps get smooth uniform stain effect. Have not used Tung Oil myself, but it should work. Try it on a small piece to see the effect before working on the actual project.
Answered by: siddique
Date published: 2019-04-17
  • y_2019, m_7, d_19, h_5CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_10
  • loc_, sid_305587137, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 37ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

8 oz. Wood Conditioner is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 76.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-06-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not impressed with varithane products... Not impressed with varithane products
Date published: 2019-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!... Love it!
Date published: 2019-07-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I tried it on Baltic Birch and quarter sawn Douglas Fir and got about the same results. I have li... I tried it on Baltic Birch and quarter sawn Douglas Fir and got about the same results. I have limited experience with wood conditioners so I am probably not the best person to evaluate them. The biggest problem with this product was the smell as I found it necessary to open windows, turn on a fan, and leave the room for quite a while because the smell was so strong. As for the actual benefit of using the product, well I used test pieces of wood with one half conditioned and the other half not conditioned and then stained both halves to see how they looked. I didn't find there to be that much difference in the two sides when I was finished. Neither side of the test piece really very blotchy. So, in the future if I am going to use a stain, I will either perform a similar test on a piece of the wood that I am going to stain to see if it is necessary to use the conditioner. Or, I will just use the conditioner just to be safe. I didn't find the end result really any different than the other brand that I tried.
Date published: 2018-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The instructions were easy to follow. I used it to seal a piece of pine before I applied stain. T... The instructions were easy to follow. I used it to seal a piece of pine before I applied stain. The conditioner helped create a blotch-free, evenly tinted finished product.
Date published: 2019-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great product that I've been using for years and have treated (with a bigger can) a tab... This is a great product that I've been using for years and have treated (with a bigger can) a table top, large bookshelf roller shelf, etc. It gives a nice, uniform stain as if you had sprayed it, with no light or dark spots. I did not sand the wood as recommended, but in many cases you can't since you need a smooth finish. I have down below an example of a quality plum stain on a regular piece of pine; left untreated, right treated. Depending on your wood, stain, and method of application, you might choose to not use this conditioner as it may lighten your desired too much; up to you. This liquid spreads really easy, so you don't need any special applicators; a paper towel will do wonders. It does dry fairly quick, even in colder climates. In the few minutes it takes to apply/dry and the few dollars, it's really a no-brainer if it works for your application.
Date published: 2018-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works!!! This stuff works great. I was staining some ash and the finish was coming up terribly dark and blotchy all over. I ended up having to sand off all the stain and use this conditioner. I prepped the wood just like I would if I were staining it and made sure the surface was completely dust free with a tack cloth. I then added a liberal amount of the conditioner to the wood with a foam brush and let it soak in for 15 minutes. After 15 minutes I wiped up the excess conditioner and allowed the conditioner to dry for 2 hours. The directions state 30 minutes before staining but I felt that was too quick so I went with 2 hours with incredible results.
Date published: 2018-12-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 1) The odor was intense in the garage. Hadn’t opened... 1) The odor was intense in the garage. Hadn’t opened the door ao as to keep bugs out. 2) Thought I was painting on & wiping off the same amount of conditioner, but after the door dried for a day I realized part of one board was not coated the same. No info about doing a second coat…argh!!! Now what?
Date published: 2019-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great product. I use Varathane on most... This is a great product. I use Varathane on most all of my staining projects. The conditioner insures i get a good even color. I always use it in conjunction with Varathane stains. I have not tried it with another brand.
Date published: 2019-02-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Personally, I have no idea. I followed all directions and... Personally, I have no idea. I followed all directions and the sealer did not dry. 3 days later, I resanded the entire item and started over with different products.
Date published: 2019-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The portion of wood that is visible is great looking because of the process my husband used inclu... The portion of wood that is visible is great looking because of the process my husband used including this product.
Date published: 2019-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This worked great on teak wood outdoor furniture. Used outside,... This worked great on teak wood outdoor furniture. Used outside, easy to apply. Use lint free cloth. No residue.
Date published: 2019-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality product I use Varathane for all of my finish product. the conditioner is a first step to achieving a great finis.
Date published: 2019-02-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely made a difference in the way the stain penetrated... Definitely made a difference in the way the stain penetrated the plywood. Much light but way more even.
Date published: 2019-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect. Does exactly what it's intended to do, prepare the... Perfect. Does exactly what it's intended to do, prepare the wood for stain.
Date published: 2019-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I didn't know I needed this before I used the stain it worked fantastic I didn't know I needed this before I used the stain it worked fantastic
Date published: 2019-03-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The smell is horrendous compared to pre-stains made by other... The smell is horrendous compared to pre-stains made by other companies.
Date published: 2019-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We did a pine floor and this product made the... We did a pine floor and this product made the stain work amazing
Date published: 2019-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great. Much better than other pre stains that I’ve... Worked great. Much better than other pre stains that I’ve used
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It does as described . Stain looks great after using this. It does as described . Stain looks great after using this.
Date published: 2019-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really opened the wood pores to except the stain It really opened the wood pores to except the stain
Date published: 2019-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use and cuts the time of many applications... Easy to use and cuts the time of many applications
Date published: 2019-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use, works well, cleans up easily Easy to use, works well, cleans up easily
Date published: 2019-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-06
  • y_2019, m_7, d_19, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_76
  • loc_, sid_305587137, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 54ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT