Model # COIR11LB

Internet #300679904

Vermont Organics Reclamation Soil 11 lb. Coir Block
0855474003206

Vermont Organics Reclamation Soil

11 lb. Coir Block

  • Helps curb climate change
  • All-Natural and organic, low carbon footprint
  • Works for all plant types
$ 15 25
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Helps curb climate change
  • All-Natural and organic, low carbon footprint
  • Works for all plant types
Vermont Organics Coconut Coir is an ideal soil enhancer. Use it as a fine textured mulch. Add fertilizer to make a complete soil. Add it directly to soil to lighten it. Plus it holds ten times its weight in water.
  • Coir in the soil sequesters carbon from the atmosphere for up to 40 years
  • All natural and renewable
  • Works for all plant types
  • Effective as a peat moss substitute, with a lower carbon footprint and lower environmental impact than peat
  • Reduces risk of root diseases
  • Helps aerate soil

Product Overview

  • Helps curb climate change
  • All-Natural and organic, low carbon footprint
  • Works for all plant types
Model #: COIR11LB
Internet #: 300679904

Vermont Organics Coconut Coir is an ideal soil enhancer. Use it as a fine textured mulch. Add fertilizer to make a complete soil. Add it directly to soil to lighten it. Plus it holds ten times its weight in water.

  • Coir in the soil sequesters carbon from the atmosphere for up to 40 years
  • All natural and renewable
  • Works for all plant types
  • Effective as a peat moss substitute, with a lower carbon footprint and lower environmental impact than peat
  • Reduces risk of root diseases
  • Helps aerate soil

Specifications

Details

Bag Weight (lb.)
11
Organic
No
Returnable
90-Day
Soil Amendment Type
Soil Conditioner

Specifications

Details

Bag Weight (lb.)
11
Organic
No
Returnable
90-Day
Soil Amendment Type
Soil Conditioner

Questions & Answers

If it doesn't come in any packaging like some are saying, then how do we know what we are really ...

If it doesn't come in any packaging like some are saying, then how do we know what we are really getting or what company it's really from? this is wrong. we won't really know if we get the same product advertised.
Asked by: dd
Just like any product, you have to trust the vendor to tell you. If you don't trust HD then order it from another online retailer.
Answered by: Tim
Date published: 2019-02-08

is this product buffered?

is this product buffered?
Asked by: james
My understanding is that coir is naturally ph neutral, unlike peat moss
Answered by: Mikey
Date published: 2019-03-20

I have heavy clay in my yard. It's easy to drown the roots because it holds water. I have used pe...

I have heavy clay in my yard. It's easy to drown the roots because it holds water. I have used peat moss in the past to help with that. Is this a good substitute for peat moss in this situation?
Asked by: Sheila
The coir breaks down in a season, especially in areas with hot, humid summers, and although that will add organic matter to your soil, it won't create the many tiny drainage channels that you need for heavy clay soil. I also have heavy clay soil and have found that "soil conditioner," which is screened composted bark mulch (commercially available) has been a much better soil amendment. When I haven't been able to find the soil conditioner, I've used bagged soil for raised beds because it has a large proportion of bark fines.
Answered by: Maven
Date published: 2019-04-12

Is this pesticide free? Thinking of buying as a substrate for my vinegaroon cage

Asked by: Chadderall
Yes usually
Answered by: jcjb2002
Date published: 2018-09-06
  • y_2019, m_4, d_20, h_5CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_10
  • loc_, sid_300679904, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 338ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

11 lb. Coir Block is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 52.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product works really well. I like that it is... This product works really well. I like that it is sent in a box without unnecessary plastic and to make sure you are getting the full weight of what you paid for they put in more than just the brick.
Date published: 2019-02-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Product presentation - the brick has a side chipped away. I think the brick was more than 11 poun... Product presentation - the brick has a side chipped away. I think the brick was more than 11 pounds, so they chipped away part of it.....I didn't weigh it. If it wasn't 11 pounds, I'd be furious. Packaging - it came in a carboard box that I could work straight out of, so it was perfect. There was no annoying plastic wrapper of any type. Quality - Its more coarse than I'm used to. It's much more fibrous. I'm not sure if that's a good thing or bad thing. So far it has no effect on my crops. It also contained a lot of rocks. It scared me a little as I was sowing my microgreens seeds. I thought that they may not have washed the coco. Well, it didn't affect any of my crops as I mentioned, so I don't think I had any salt problem. The rocks, on the other hand is a problem. If you use the coco in the garden, the rock (a bit too big to be called pebbles) probably won't make a difference. For microgreens though, it's just not acceptable. I may get more in the future. The homedepot locker thing is pretty easy to use. I just won't be ordering it again for micros. Those rocks just aren't gonna work.
Date published: 2019-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shipped in plan packaging, but I am fine with that. Less to throw away later. Easy to use for lar... Shipped in plan packaging, but I am fine with that. Less to throw away later. Easy to use for large garden projects, just wish they carried in store.
Date published: 2019-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect cat litter... Perfect cat litter
Date published: 2019-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great but difficult for senior citizens to handle. Please make... Great but difficult for senior citizens to handle. Please make smaller blocks less difficult to handle. Product after hydrated is easy to use. It is just rehydrate process of lifting heavy, large block, and getting a LARGE container to contain expanded product.
Date published: 2019-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from this is a pretty good product, i like it, and... this is a pretty good product, i like it, and plan to buy it again. the only problem i have with it is that they don't "charge' it when they make it. you need to add a good dose of calcium and magnesium to it when you re-hydrate it, or you'll get deficiencies
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I may be missing something but I expected to be... I may be missing something but I expected to be able to break it up and spread it around but it is literally a brick that I’ve only managed to scrape some off.
Date published: 2019-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One of the blocks was easy to process but the... One of the blocks was easy to process but the other one took awhile to get saturated with water. The product is working well now in the garden containers.
Date published: 2019-04-09
  • y_2019, m_4, d_21, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_52
  • loc_, sid_300679904, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 232ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Get Everything You Need