#1 Home Improvement Retailer

6 in. Mini Reservoir Roller

How to Get It

Product Overview

The Wagner 6 in. SMART Mini Reservoir Roller is the ideal solution for painting tight, hard-to-reach spaces. With paint contained right in the handle, there is no need for back-and-forth trips to the paint tray, saving valuable time. The internally fed roller allows for consistent coverage and creates an even finish, so you can easily paint a bathroom, kitchen, closet or other confined area with just a few fills.
  • Integrated 10 fl. oz. reservoir means you can paint up to 38 sq. ft. in a single fill
  • Polyester roller cover is compatible with latex (water-based) paints
  • 6 in. perforated mini roller easily reaches tight spots
  • Fill and cleaning adapter simplifies filling and cleaning process
  • Thumb-trigger piston pump for controlled, even paint delivery
  • Lock-and-roll connector allows you to adjust roller arm to suit your needs
  • Lightweight, compact frame with ergonomic handle for comfortable use
  • To learn more about Wagner products, click here

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Handle length (ft.)
1.25
Product Depth (in.)
3.5
Product Height (in.)
22.6
Product Length (in.)
7.1
Product Width (in.)
3.75
Reach Height (ft.)
7.5

Details

Applicator/Tool Type
Roller
Number of Batteries Required
0
Paint capacity (gallons)
.08
Paint coverage per fill (sq. ft.)
38
Product Weight (lb.)
1.21
Returnable
90-Day
Roller Product Type
Power Rollers
Voltage (volts)
0

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
1 year

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 2.4
    out of 25 reviews
  • 39%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews
This product makes trim a breeze
This Wagner mini roller is a lifesaver. It delivers smooth, even coverage with no brush strokes. The reservoir holds enough to cover lots of area. No trays, no dipping, couldn't be easier to use. Very easy to clean, ready for the next job. I use it along with the Wagner smart roller to complete a whole room in no time.
by
  • Pro
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Nice handy tool for small spaces
I like this, very convenient for the tight spots or little projects. I had my son paint the wall in his room, hated having to pull all the furniture out. With that in mind, this was a handy tool, really started out with painting over a patch, but I had him extend it out to make it look even, took two fills and it was just right. No problem with the tool or the performance. My only complaint is that this is all plastic and I could hear it creaking if I pressed the roller too hard to the wall. I have a little concern as t he push rod is also plastic and a bit spindly, concern it might break. The roller did come off in the middle of a roll, not sure why, but the clip mechanism in the roller probably came loose when pressing the roller at the wrong angle. After cleaning up the mess, I just pushed roller back in place and went back to work. You do have to clean this tool up, meaning read the instructions and clean all the internals, I used a latex paint and I can see why it’s a big deal to do this. Paint residue gets into everything and if you don't clean it out well, makes it tough for the next job. I have a small closet to redo and this will be handy, as advertised, no tray, no dipping the roller, etc.
by
  • DIY
  • Recommended
1 person found this helpful
A Real Time-Saving tool!
The Wagner SMART Mini Roller is a chip off the old block. Just like its bigger cousin, the Wagner Turboroll Paint Roller, the Mini Roller is a joy to use. When I had to paint our pump house, I knew this was the tool to use. Even though this is designed for interior paints, I found that if I diluted the exterior paint by mixing a cup of water to an empty quart can and then adding the paint, for a 25% dilution rate, it flowed fine through the roller. The paint came out smooth and at a precise rate for even coverage. And the filled-up reservoir meant few trips to a paint tray for me! (Being “disabled” I really appreciate any step-saving tools I can find!) Cleanup was a breeze with the hose fitting. (Just make sure you don’t use too much pressure with your water hose!) Grab an old coffee can and fill it with water to wash the trigger housing with soapy water. (This is especially important if you need to disassemble the trigger housing. It keeps all the parts in ONE place.) Another important thing is to lube the O-ring in the paint reservoir with a small amount of petroleum jelly! Make sure everything is dry and pack it up for your next paint project.
by
  • DIY
  • Recommended
4 people found this helpful
Messy, drippy great concept for maybe one small job.
It's a great idea and might be OK for one very small job. My complaint is the trigger/ pump mechanism leaks paint that drips drips drips on everything under whatever you're painting I just bought the thing today... read the manual and filled it up. It works OK on the first tank.. then it started leaking out of the trigger/pump after I refilled it. I emptied it out.. cleaned everything added some of the lubricant that was supplied with the painter.. Refilled and it still leaks. I'm going to call the store I purchased it at and see if they'll take it back
by
Response from Technical SupportApr 15, 2016
Sorry you are having problems with your Smart Mini Roller. It sounds like there may be an issue with a seal or the duckbill valve. Something like this would be covered under the warranty. Please give us a call at 800-328-8251 so we can discuss it together.
    Nice little paint stick
    I thought it was a neat little roller , until the roller cover came off while I was painting and fell down the carpeted steps paint all over the carpet all the way down the steps. After we cleaned up I thought maybe I didn't have it on right so we tried it again, it came off again another mess that was it didn't use it anymore.
    by
    Response from Technical SupportApr 15, 2016
    I'm sorry to hear that you are having issues with your Smart Mini Roller. It sounds like you may be having an issue with the roller cap or roller arm preventing it from staying on. We would certainly look to cover something like that under warranty, so please call us at (800)328-8251 and we will assist you.
      I Have to Say, "This is the BEST Product Ever"!!!
      I really don't understand the bad or negative reviews with this product. I have used it several times without any problems at all. The head DID NOT snap off, the roller DID NOT pop off and it DID NOT leak. I have to think that the other negative reviews are from people that should not be painting at all. This product is very easy to set up and use. It works perfectly and saves a ton of time. Clean-up afterwards is very important if you want to be able to use it again. You need to take the time to clean it well. It's really not that hard to do. It's also important to lubricate the o-rings and gaskets to ensure proper operation and no leakage. The gasket that mounts to the roller head MUST be installed in the correct position. If it's installed backwards, it will leak. Read the instructions, they are very helpful. I'm sorry that Wagner has decided to discontinue this item. I have been buying it up wherever I can find it. I love this paint roller
      by
      Response from Wagner Spray TechMar 25, 2016
      Thank you for your comments. We are glad it worked for your purpose and you found it easy to use. WagnerSprayTech
      • DIY
      • Recommended
      Extremely Unhappy
      We bought this product to paint one and a half walls in my wife's office at her job. We liked the idea behind it when we saw the display in our store. I thought the loading of the paint was nice but when it came time to paint we became unhappy. The roller popped off 3 times and squirted paint all over the ground....luckily we had plastic laid down, but it still created a mess that was tracked around. I would like to see some type of locking mechanism that keeps the roller securely attached instead of just snapping on and off. The third time I finally had enough, with jeans and shoes covered in paint went back to a regular roller and paint. I feel like the SMART Mini roller used a lot of paint compared to the regular roller so some of the paint was wasted. I would gladly accept a refund if possible as I cannot take the roller back to the store since it was used.
      by
      Response from Wagner Technical ServiceFeb 11, 2016
      I'm sorry to hear that you are having issues with your Smart Mini Roller. It sounds like you may be having an issue with the roller cap or roller arm preventing it from staying on. We would certainly look to cover something like that under warranty, so please call us at (800)328-8251 and we will assist you.
        DO NOT BUY!!!!!
        Assembly was difficult (directions unclear) and I NEVER could get the paint to come out to the roller. When the trigger was depressed the paint would ooze out of the section that connected the roller to the pole. Ended up throwing it away without every being able to use it. :-(
        by
        Response from Wagner Spray TechMar 28, 2015
        I'm so sorry to read of your experience with the Wagner SMART Mini Roller. I have no explanation as to why the paint would not come out unless it was a very thick paint or why it leaked unless the duckbill valve was missing or damaged. If you wish to give it another try please give us a call at 1-800-760-3844. We'd enjoy the chance to help you. WagnerSprayTech
        • DIY
        • Verified Purchase
        Messy
        I previously purchase a reserve roller and LOVED IT! So I ordered 2 of these. First only 1 was shipped. Took a month to get missing 1. There is no spatter guard so I had spatter all over the floor.
        by
        Response from Wagner Spray TechMar 5, 2015
        I'm sorry that you had a poor experience with the Smart Mini Roller. It is true that there is not a splatter shield available for that model, but we do recommend using drop cloths on the floor to prevent any messes. WagnerSprayTech
        • DIY
        Not the best investment.
        Probably best to stick to a high quality roller cover: frame and a good old fashion paint tray. The mini roller is messy, difficult to manage and clean.
        by
          Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews