#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #202555714

Model #ARC-12SD

12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifier and Remote

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:

Product Overview

With this new Eco-friendly CFC free, lead free and high energy efficiency portable air conditioner, you can stay cool while keeping with better environmental standards and reducing energy consumption. This Whynter GREEN ARC-12SD portable air conditioner features the ECO-FRIENDLY CFC free GREEN R-410A refrigerant and lead free RoHS compliant components. This unit features the patented advance auto drain technology, which uses and recycles moisture collected during the cooling process to produce cool air. The dual hose operation provides fast cooling.
  • AWARD WINNING : 1. Good Housekeeping's "Best Portable Air Conditioners to Buy in 2019" 2. Consumer Report's 2019 Top 2 highest Score
  • 12,000 BTU (ASHRAE) / 7,850 BTU (SACC) cooling capacity
  • Casters for easy mobility
  • 3 fan speeds
  • Full thermostatic control 61°F - 89°F
  • Digital display allows precise temperature control
  • 24 hour programmable timer
  • Remote control lets you easily adjust the temperature and function mode
  • Activated carbon air filter removes odor and smoke and a washable pre-filter
  • Auto restart after power outage
  • 96 Pints/day dehumidifying capacity
  • Patented auto drain function fully exhausts all condensate automatically in most environments
  • Upgraded plastic window kit (46 in.) and extendable exhaust hose (up to 60 in.) included
  • Cools up to a 400 sq. ft. space (ambient temperature and humidity may influence optimum performance)
  • Three operational modes: air conditioner, fan or dehumidifier.
  • Eco-friendly CFC free Green R-410A refrigerant
  • Full installation set includes extendable exhaust and intake hose (up to 60") and window kit (up to 46") Max. window kit length = 46" , Min. window kit length = 20".
  • Which type of air conditioner is best for your home?
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
16.5
Product Height (in.)
34
Product Width (in.)
20 in

Details

Adjustable Humidistat
Yes
Air Conditioner Features
Adjustable Humidistat,Automatic Shutoff,Timer
Air Conditioner Product Type
Portable Unit
Air direction/circulation
2-way
Amperage (amps)
10.5
Appliance Category
A/Cs and Fans
BTU Cooling Rating (ASHRAE)
12000 BTU
BTU Cooling Rating (DOE SACC)
12000 BTU
Color Family
White
Combined Energy Efficiency Ratio (CEER)
0.0
Commercial/Residential
Residential
Commercial/Residential Use
Residential
Controls
Digital
Cooling Area (Sq. Ft.)
400
Cord Length (ft.)
6.4
Decibel (Sound) Rating
56 dBA
Decibel Rating
56 dBA
Dehumidifier Included
With Dehumidifier
Energy Efficiency Ratio (EER)
10.91
Filter Type
Washable
Heater Included
Without Heater
Included
Casters,Remote Control,Window Venting Kit Included
Moisture removal capacity (pints/day)
96
Number of cool settings
1
Number of Fan Speeds
3
Product Weight (lb.)
71
Returnable
30-Day
Vent Hose Exhaust Configuration
Dual Hose
Voltage (volts)
115
Wattage (watts)
10.5

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
UL Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
One year limited warranty

Questions & Answers

15Questions19Answers

Can I install this unit in a sliding window?

Asked by Tyson June 14, 2021
2
Answers

Hi Tyson, <br><br> The included window kit is designed to fit most standard vertically or horizontally sliding windows and measures, 6.5" W x 20" L (minimum), 46" (maximum). <br><br> Since windows come in different sizes, some customization may be needed when installing the accessories. If the included solid window kit slide bar panels do not completely cover your window or door opening, most customers purchase an additional window kit and use both sets. Alternately, a customized longer solid slide bar panel can be made by cutting Plexiglas or PVC plastic to size to be used with the panel with the hose cut outs of the original window kit. <br><br> If you have additional questions, our Customer Support Team is available Monday - Friday 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM PST at 1-866-WHYNTER (1-866-949-6837) and at support@whynter.com.

Our unit needs to be emptied daily. I’d like to purchase the hose to attach to the back. However,...

Asked by Erin June 8, 2021
1
Answer

Hi Erin, <br><br> Please reach out so we can help find the best solution for you. <br><br> Our Customer Support Team is available Monday - Friday 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM PST at 1-866-WHYNTER (1-866-949-6837) and at support@whynter.com.

how tall is this unit?

Asked by gerry June 5, 2021
1
Answer

Hi Gerry, <br><br> Unit dimensions: 20″ W x 16.5″ D x 34″ H. <br><br> If you have additional questions, our Customer Support Team is available Monday - Friday 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM PST at 1-866-WHYNTER (1-866-949-6837) and at support@whynter.com.

In fan mode does it intake air from outside?

Asked by Miku July 22, 2020
1
Answer

The unit does not bring in air from the outside in fan mode. <br><br> Our Consumer Support Team is available Monday - Friday 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM PST at 1-866-WHYNTER (1-866-949-6837) and at support@whynter.com should you have additional questions.

Can you buy the hose & kit to setup separate?

Asked by Mike July 10, 2020
2
Answers

Probably but the two hoses arrived with the unit along with a For one and if needed or an attachment for the other end, which is needed.There is a product you can use around the edges and the holes for the hoses girl which is clear or white, installed with a caulking gun, and removable at the end of the season if you choose.

Is there any WARNING based on the "Proposition 65 Warning" for California residents?

Asked by Amilcar June 22, 2020
1
Answer

Yes, the warning will be on any refrigeration product due to the refrigerant in the closed compressor system. <br><br> Our Consumer Support Team is available Monday - Friday 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM PST at 1-866-WHYNTER (1-866-949-6837) and at support@whynter.com should you have additional questions.

How quiet is this?

Asked by David May 1, 2020
1
Answer

Hi David, <br><br> Noise level (dBA): < 52.5. <br><br> Our Consumer Support Team is available Monday - Friday 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM PST at 1-866-WHYNTER (1-866-949-6837) and at support@whynter.com should you have additional questions.

Can someone measure the actual cord? I know the spec says 6.4, but have learned thru experience these aren’t always accu

Asked by Emily April 20, 2019
3
Answers

The power cord measures 6'4". <br><br>Our Consumer Support Team is available Monday - Friday 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM PST at 1-866-WHYNTER (1-866-949-6837) and at support@whynter.com should you have additional questions.

What size is the flexible ducting?

Asked by CM August 13, 2017
4
Answers

The length is about 4' fully extended. You can buy any 5'. The manufacture does not recommend hoses more than 9'.

do you have to install a hose to drain water?

Asked by maria April 10, 2017
3
Answers

I haven't had to drain any water yet but I would think a hose would make draining it easier. However, I think you would have to attach the hose prior to letting the water fill up. I'm not sure how you would add a hose after the fact because you would have to unscrew the plug to attach the hose and water would immediately come out. The manual only mentions adding a hose for continuous draining.

12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner with Dehumidifier and Remote - page 2

Customer Reviews

  • 3.9
    out of 99 reviews
  • 83% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 99 reviews
Does everything one would expect of it in a clean and simple fashion. Setup was easy. Only "compl...
Does everything one would expect of it in a clean and simple fashion. Setup was easy. Only "complaints" are the noise while sleeping, this isn't a specific machine complaint but the reality of any A/C inside of a room and the brightness of the front lights. Again, these aren't changing the effectiveness of the machine in any way but cosmetic issues one should be aware of. Otherwise it has been exactly what I was looking for in a portable A/C.
by Jon
1 person found this helpful
I bought this unit (June 2019) to replace a large window unit that had become too much for me to ...
I bought this unit (June 2019) to replace a large window unit that had become too much for me to put in the window. It cools my 30x16 room easily. I'm sure it will cool my adjacent rooms too. It's just as noisy, if not a little more than a window unit, but not a negative. I only gave it 4 stars because of the window panel. I'd give 4.5 stars but I can't. I installed the panel in a wood double hung window. I was disappointed with it because it left a large gap on the small panel extension where it meets the lower sash. I used foam pipe insulation to cover the top and bottom of the panel and that solved the problem with the gap. I also had to buy foam to fill the void between the two sashes (between the glass) to keep the cool air inside and the bug out. This last problem might be because I have old wood windows, but the panel didn't clear the window stool enough to allow the hoses to connect to the panel. Adding the pipe insulation on the bottom of the panel raised it enough to connect the hoses. Going forward, this unit will be easier and quicker to install and uninstall.
by Glenwell
2 people found this helpful
Does what it's supposed to do!
I live near Atlanta with it's hot and humid summers. I do a fair amount of woodworking in my insulated double garage and last summer I couldn't work past 1 o'clock because it was too hot. I've had this A/C for 6 weeks now and LOVE IT. I don't have windows in the garage so I had to cut 2 holes thru the wall for the vents. This was not a problem and it worked out well. I have yet to empty the water pan with the condensate. Because of all the saw dust I produce, I use some cheap A/C filters to cover the interior air intake.
by Jawbreaker
16 people found this helpful
Great AC, Works fine .easy setup,Get more BTUs than you need
Delivery was fast, unpacked and waited more than 4 hours as instructed. Turned it on and works fine. It is quiet considering the compressor is inside the house. It was about the same as the window Ac we removed. Wish I bought the 1500btu though. The 1200 btu cools about the same as my 10000btu window unit.
by gerry
11 people found this helpful
Quality item
Purchased this AC unit to cool our sunroom ( 14X14) which is also a secondary living-tv room. The unit works well and keeps the room at 75 degrees on a 90 degree day. As some other people have mentioned I had to modify the installation for a 4 foot slider window. I used PVC board to extend the window adapter supplied (which was heavy plastic). The normal installation in double hung windows would be easy. I do recommend getting some foam tape rather than duct tape to weatherize around the window adapter- it does a neater job. Check the pictures for my installation. Also you might need a saw to cut the plastic window adapter to fit your window. I also installed it at the window so I could shut the screen to control the bugs. I also used a piece of black drainage pipe so the intake pipe would not suck in the expelled hot air from the unit. This works well. The black pipe fits right into the window adapter mounting. (see pics) The unit is a little noisier than a standard window AC unit but when you have an unique installation situation it does very well. We can still watch tv when it is on. As someone mentioned on a 90 degree day who cares about the white noise! If you can get by with a window unit and don't mind the unit sticking out of the window on the outside then I would recommend a standard window unit. From the outside you can hardly tell this unit is installed inside. (check pics) I ran this unit for 4 days with 60% humidity outside and checked it every morning- no water to drain. It has a system to use the water every AC unit makes and usually drips on the outside of your house to cool the unit itself. It seems to work very well. I do not understand why the other reviewer had to empty his unit after 3 hours unless he had it on the dehumidify setting. On this setting the unit has to be setup to drain the water all the time (like to a floor drain ). The unit is made to move from one room to another easier than a regular window AC unit. If you have regular double hung windows this will be easy with the supplied window kit. As i said I had a slider window and had to modify the installation. As a DYI person this was not a hard job but took about 3 hours including going to the box store and getting the PVC board, having them rip it and returning home and modifying the window adapter. At this time I also used the rest of the PVC board to adapt a second slider in the house if I would want to move the unit in the future.( I used the one inch cut off strips to make stop locks for the slider for security.) The PVC board worked well because my sunroom is white, the board is white and the window adapter supplied was white- it all matched well.(pics) --Conclusion- I like the unit. It is a little more money but the quality is there. It takes up some room inside and is a little noisier than a window unit, however if you have a room where a window unit is not possible or you don't want the eyesore of a window unit sticking out of a window this is the way to go. Also get the two hose units. The one hose unit uses your air conditioned air to cool the unit and then expels it outside. It seems the manufacturer did their homework on this unit. The remote is easy to use and also has the controls on the unit if you lose the remote or it breaks. If you do not have to modify the window space installation should be a snap. FYI- You can buy this unit other places on the web but boxing it back up and shipping it back would be a pain. It is worth the extra bucks to be able to take it back to your local Home Depot if you are not satisfied.
by Tom49
60 people found this helpful
Inconvenient to drain/Whynter is stinge!
The a/c works fine at this point. Now that I have it, I find that I have to move this beast to an area where I can drain it! With how my basement apartment is set up, I will have to somehow carry it. That is inconvenient to the point of being ridiculous. That takes care of emptying the lower reservoir. To drain the upper one, I just discovered I have to purchase a hose separately. This company is so cheap that they can't simply include this hose with the initial purchase? Smart move, Whynter - annoy your customers right off the bat. These inconveniences and annoyances, and especially the fact that I am going to have to carry this monster to where I can drain it guarantee that I would find another portable a/c unit. If you have ANY physical limitations, do not bother with this brand/model.
by mjdInMinn
Response from Whynter Customer ServiceJun 14, 2021
Hi there,

The air conditioner uses the patented auto drain or self-evaporative technology which exhausts condensation automatically in most environments. Please note that if the humidity is very high, the auto drain function will still exhaust the majority of the moisture. The remaining moisture will be collected in the water tank at the base of the air conditioner and continue to self-evaporate until the tank becomes full and requires manual drainage.



If continuous drainage is necessary, a hose can be installed to the upper drain port for continuous gravity drainage. When continuous drainage is set up, the collected moisture will be drained through the hose and not drain down into the water tank and will not self-evaporate.



The air conditioner operates more efficiently without continuous drainage set up as the self-evaporative system recirculates the moisture collected in the tank over the internal condenser coils which help create cooler air.



To further assist you with parts and accessories, please contact our Customer Support Team, available Monday - Friday 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM PST at 1-866-WHYNTER (1-866-949-6837) and at support@whynter.com. Whynter
Some positive reviews but mine is not working less than 2 summers
NOT COOLING AFTER 2 SUMMER. I bought 14, 000 BTU Whynter portable air conditioner based on positive reviews. However it last less than 2 summers. Last week we had over 80F weather so I turned the air conditioner but it's not cooling only fan. I contacted to the company because their compressor warranty is for 3 years. They requested me multiple emails from basic stuffs such as how to check an air conditioner and my receipt. Finally I got an email stating that I have to pay for sending and returning the air conditioner to the company and if it's not compressor, I have to to pay the cost of repair $180 (I know it's compressor). Don't waste your money for this junk.
by sunny
Response from Whynter Customer ServiceJun 14, 2021
Hi Sunny,

Thank you for your feedback. After reviewing your case, the three-year compressor warranty was honored and a return authorization was issued to you.



If you have additional questions, our Customer Support Team is available Monday - Friday 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM PST at 1-866-WHYNTER (1-866-949-6837) and through your support case. Whynter
Unit arrived on time and intact, good condition. Have...
Unit arrived on time and intact, good condition. Have not used yet due to continued cool weather.
by THOMAS
After the first season of use the remote did not work for the following summer. Otherwise, the ...
After the first season of use the remote did not work for the following summer. Otherwise, the unit itself cools very well.
by Jul
Reliable and worth the money
I have had this air conditioner for a few years. I bought it because it was recommended by Consumer Reports due to its double hose intake and exhaust feature. I am so glad I did. It cools the whole downstairs of my home. Is continually cooling with so far no condensation.
by Ellen73
Showing 1-10 of 99 reviews