No Results Found

Refine by Rating

  • The jury is out
  • October 27, 2014
  • Recommended Product

Just finished installing 250 sq ft (12 boxes) of the rustic maple. The Good: It looks fantastic - really beautiful and 95% like real wood. Also, it was surprisingly easy to cut, including the tough cut-out around air registers etc. All I needed was a utility knife and straight edge. I crimped cut-outs with a pair of pliers. That's it. The Not-So-Good: This is NOT the easiest flooring in the world to install. I have installed real wood flooring, have built and renovated houses and am very mechanical. I ended up with some hairline cracks that I am concerned that over time will collect dirt and be unsightly. I bought the Allure tapping block to persuade pieces to draw up, and actually discovered that I was doing more harm than good by using it. This is a "finesse" product and not a "force" product, and the tiny tongue and groove system only sometimes actually "clicked" as advertised, about 1 in 10 pieces. Only 1 in 3 or 4 actually drew up together perfectly the first time. Hitting the tapping block (as you would with real floors) didn't work and actually fragmented the "tongue" so that thin slivers of plastic shredded off. About 1/4 of the way through the job. I experimented more with the angles and applying pressure with my hands and body weight, and got better results. You need to wiggle the pieces together and lean into it, and sometime arching the previous piece as well to get everything to draw up. Then, it doesn't stay drawn up on the long sides despite using a rubber mallet. I occasionally sank a sheetrock screw under the edge (to be covered by shoe moulding) to hold everything in place. No matter what anyone else says, hairlines cracks will be a part of the job, which actually makes it look even more authentic, like wood. But we will see over time. If they become a problem, my rating of this product goes from 4 stars to 1. When I was finished, I felt like I had wrestled every piece into place and had really sore knees despite using knee pads. I had to, because there was variation in how the pieces inter-locked together - the manufacturing process does cause subtle variations in the mechanics of the each pice. Also, the tiny differences in how separate prices draw up will compound across rows. This product is one of those that sounds great in the advertising and in principle, but the realities of installation tell a different story. To be fair, when it is done, you do not need to stain or coat the floor as with wood. I do think this was the right flooring system for our situation, but fingers crossed on how it looks 1, 2 or 3 years from now.

Pros Looks Like Wood, Looks Great Cons Difficult to Install

Video & Photo

  • DIY

Jon

Richmond, VA
45 to 54, Male
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Jon
  • easy to install
  • December 22, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Was very quick to install. Took longer to get carpet and tack board up, furniture out, and floor cleaned than it did to install flooring. Did cut as shown by scoring with a razor kinfe but did have to cut back side as well for a smooth cut. No spacers, padding, or moisture barrier made installation quick and easy. Looks fantastic. Would caution you to make sure your floor is very clean. Small fragments we cut ended up under some pieces and these can very easily be felt when you walk on floor and makes a sight bulge. This cause us to have to remove some pieces and remove debris under flooring. Other than that very good, highly recommend.

Chris

6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Chris
  • Very pleased
  • December 12, 2013
  • Recommended Product

Purchased the flooring last week for our 2 bathrooms. The flooring came very quickly, sooner than expected. Only minor problem was that we had ordered 6 boxes of flooring and for some reason the order got separated and we received 4 of the boxes on Friday and the other 2 boxes came yesterday. Installed flooring on Sunday in one bathroom. Installation was easy and similar to installing laminate flooring. Have only had it down a few days but think it looks fantastic. We installed over builder grade vinyl flooring. VERY happy with the result and can't wait to get the rest of the flooring down in our other bathroom. A little on the expensive side.

Pros Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End Cons difficult to chalk around toilet w/ grooves

Video & Photo

  • DIY

CKBK

Myrtle Beach, SC
35 to 44, Female
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: CKBK
  • Looks great, easy to install
  • September 23, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

We put this product in our basement. Even though our basement is modern looking, we have an older house and liked the look of the wide boards, the golden color and the burl texture. It was very easy to install, don't pay someone else to do it, it's not worth it. Just score and break the planks. I had to score several times, my husband just once. We used a table saw for the long rips. Re-use your end plank at the start of the next row to reduce waste. This product was a bit more expensive than other brands, but when we brought samples home and compared, we liked it best - wider boards, thicker weight and nicer looking woodgrain. My only issue was that we had to wait almost two weeks for it to be delivered. Came on a truck and we had to store it in our garage and carry the boxes in - a pain, but still worth it.

Pros High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Effective, warm underfoot Cons not in stock-item, expensive

Video & Photo

  • DIY

HandyMom

Stillwater, MN
45 to 54, Female
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: HandyMom
  • This should be one of Home Depot's stock colors
  • August 06, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I have had several Allure floors installed into rental properties that I own. This is the first Allure plus with the interlocking pieces. Previously we were using the less costly Allure with the stick together strip. The stick together strip can be a lot of trouble to keep stuck tight. So far I prefer the interlocking. The Markum Oak Medium was a special order so was more costly than the stock colors. It is such a great color being a little darker but not too dark. It is a great match with the woodwork and doors in many 1970's homes. Many Home Depot's don't even carry a sample of this color but they all should stock this great choice.

Pros High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable

Donna

Waukesha County, WI
55 to 64, Female
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Donna
  • Make it Right
  • June 29, 2016
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Awesome stuff... Easy quick. Took about 6-7 hours to do the whole job and I took off all the moldings & pulled out the fridge and Stove. A quick, cheap, DIY upgrade to make a Great impression

Pros Looks Great, Comfortable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Feels Like Wood, Looks High End, Looks Like Wood, Modern, High Quality of Material

Video & Photo

  • Pro

MakeITright

NY
35 to 44, Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: MakeITright
  • After a long wait, very pleased with the outcome
  • July 29, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Product was available online only. After a long wait, and a few hiccups in the delivery process, 15 cartons of the flooring arrived in good condition. It took me two days to install 300 sf by myself, working around cabinetry. If it was a blank slate it would have gone down in half a day. It blends perfectly with a floating bamboo floor previously installed using the seam molding. I used an underlayment pad similar to the bamboo to ensure the dissimilar floors were at the same level. Couple of helpful hints. Directions indicate start from left corner with tongue out. A better instruction should say start from the furthest left corner and show which is the tongue side. That being said, working around cabinetry, forced the installation to require pieces fit under the groove. I found that if you just nip out the corner as it is on the tongue side the piece falls right in place. The click is a finesse, not muscle technique. If you accidentally score/scratch where you don't want take a spoon and burnish the material back in place, virtually invisible. I found nippers (tile, or nail type) very helpful in fitting around cabinets. If you find you need to cut flat seams and butt together, put a little clear poly caulk on the edge and it holds together and is almost invisible.

Pros Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great Cons score and snap is a bit hard on the hands

Video & Photo

  • DIY

Bohocanary

Trinidad, CO 81082, USA
55 to 64, Female
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Bohocanary
  • Nice floor, easy to clean
  • January 15, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Wife and I like the click lock, vinyl plank, Allure Saw Cut Dakota flooring we purchased form Home Depot. We were shopping for flooring 6 months ago, saw a sample of Allure Saw Cut Dakota and ordered 33 boxes. The price was OK and free shipping made it better. We installed 600 plus square feet in living area, kitchen, hall and bath room. After 6 months still looks great, shows no wear, spilt liquid no problem. Wife says cleaning is a snap. Just vacuum with an electric broom and damp mop as needed. We purchased additional 200 square feet to go in bedroom and are installing it now..

Pros High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Great Accent, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective Cons all joints must be snug no gap or grey showing

Video & Photo

  • DIY

ben1849

Marlow, Ok.
65 or over, Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: ben1849
  • Great flooring
  • April 24, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I love this flooring so far....it is installed...did it ourselves. Decided to put it in the bathroom first to test out how it looked and felt in order to decided if I wanted it in the rest of the house. I will definitely be using this flooring in every room of my house. It looks great...just like real wood and is so much easier on the feet than tile and cleaner than carpet. I love that it is waterproof as I am in a flood zone in FL. I read someone else's review before I decided on this and he said when he got flooded, he just had to pull it up to dry out and was able to lay it again...PERFECT. I have 2 dogs and no scratches so far but then they don't come into the bathrm much. It was a little tricky cutting the planks around the toilet and doorway but tin snips (per another review suggestion) made it much easier. Really need a sharp knife/box cutter to cut the planks. Overall, I'm extremely happy. The only part is finding trim and T trim for doorway...Home Depot employee suggested metal...don't like that...found some online. Home Depot should really carry stuff to go with the flooring in the store and their online site....and promote this flooring more bcs it looks really nice and more durable that hardwood and lots cheaper.

Pros High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Comfortable, Looks High End
  • DIY

gg0107

Holiday, FL
45 to 54, Female
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: gg0107
  • Beautiful Flooring!!
  • January 13, 2015
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

We absolutely love how the Allure Ultra Vinyl Plank Flooring looks in our basement! I'll be honest, I was a bit skeptical about using vinyl flooring in our basement project for several reasons. I thought it would be "cold" looking and feeling and to be honest I've seen some vinyl based "wood" floors that just look awful, but this product couldn't be farther from either of those things. A friend first recommended that we look into vinyl plank flooring as he'd just used a similar product in his basement. I wasn't convinced until I talked to Justin at my local Home Depot store and he completely sold me on the product. I'm very glad he did! Tip: be sure to let the product *fully* acclimate to the room temperature. We had it in the house for a week or so prior to installation, but in a room that was quite a bit colder than the room it was being installed in. As a result it was a bit difficult to snap together at first. Unfortunately I had not ordered enough and had to order a few more boxes and when those arrived I re-did a few rows that had come loose. It was so much easier to do once it was fully acclimated in that room, so whatever you do, do NOT skip that step.

Pros Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern

Video & Photo

  • DIY

cfsilence

Blairsville, GA
35 to 44, Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: cfsilence