No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (11)
  • Good concept, poor reliability
  • April 26, 2013

I have had mine for about a year and must admit that I am a bit disappointed. The unit looks good and the concept is what I was looking for but the quality is poor. 1. It does not have good range so the display inside is quite frequently wrong. The sending unit is less than 25 feet away and we still need to go check it to know what the water temp. 2. The max/min doesn't seem to work. Today it showed 87 and 114 and I know that neither was correct. 3. After about 10 months the sending unit just totally failed. I tried new batteries and still nothing. The nice people at Home Depot helped me out with a replacement even though I had no receipt.

Pros Easy to Use, Looks Great Cons Not Durable, doesn't work, poor reliability

Kurt

Florida, USA
55 to 64, Male
11 out of 11 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Kurt
  • Adding my voice to the rest of the howls...
  • August 05, 2015

I've bought two now. They're junk. Neither one lasted more than a month before it started to fail. I love the concept and the aesthetic design. The quality, however, it horrid. It's a device designed to float in a pool full of water, outdoors, in the weather and, yet, it's incapable of keeping the water out. It leaks like a sieve. Best as I can tell, the water is penetrating around the LCD display as there is no water seal between the display and the clear window (see attached photos), but I can't confirm that. Either way, it'll work great for a few weeks, then you'll start to notice a little condensation on the LCD glass. Then it'll start to report water temperatures over 100, under 50 (in Florida in July), and stop working. It's a shame, really. But, it's a complete and utter waste of your money unless you're handy with tools and willing to tear a unit apart to waterproof it before you put it in the pool. A horrible design job. The unit I used for the attached photos is less than two months old, bought brand new and the local Home Depot. I think I'll see if they'll exchange it and then take that apart and waterproof it and see how that goes.

Video & Photo

  • DIY

spiel2001

Saint Cloud, FL
55 to 64, Male
11 out of 11 people found this helpful
more details...
By: spiel2001
  • Stopped working after one month
  • February 03, 2013

The unit stopped sending after about one month. Moisture got into it. I had tightened it very well, but the hot water must still get through. More important, the receiving unit did not indicate it had stopped receiving the signal and kept showing the last temp (100 deg.). It was only because I became suspicious because the temperature never varied by even a degree, that I checked. If the spa had turned off and frozen, I would never had known until it was too late. There was no waring of any failure.

Cons Not Durable, failed no warning

gene325

Rockford, IL, USA
65 or over, Male
10 out of 10 people found this helpful
more details...
By: gene325
  • Bought one 2 years ago - it failed - and my work around.
  • February 21, 2014

Stopped working after 1 week. Being an engineer I figured out humidity inside the sending unit was the problem. Put sender inside a sealed Lock-n-Lock container with a packet of desiccant. Worked great for 2 years then sender failed (the spa was NOT at 158 degrees as it indicated). Checked reviews of every other wireless spa thermometer on the market, all have the same problem. So buy the least expensive, a lock-n-lock and desiccant and figure you'll be replacing it in a couple of years. Perhaps I'll invent my own decent model....

Pros Easy to Install Cons Not Durable
  • DIY

chas

hawaii
65 or over, Male
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: chas
  • Inaccurate
  • October 29, 2015

The unit is well-built and looks nice, but it does not register the correct temperature. Manufacturer's warranty information is unavailable, and attempts to contact them have failed. The real temperature was confirmed with manual thermometers. Acurite shows 99 when the tub is actually 104. Hoped this unit would be better than those cheap units from China that only last a month or two. This one is warrantied for a year but what good is that when the manufacturer won't respond? Guess I will have the wrong temperature for a year. I notice that Acurite thermometers in general are inaccurate. My wireless Indoor/outdoor thermometer is typically 5 degrees wrong.

Pros Strong Cons inacurate

Video & Photo

  • DIY

RockyMtGeorge

Boulder CO
45 to 54, Male
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: RockyMtGeorge
  • Complete failure
  • April 30, 2013

Great looking product, great price, works great, for two weeks. Fails soon after every time. The manufacturer is in the process of making the necessary changes, DO NOT BUY.

Pros Looks Great Cons Not Durable, fails after a few weeks in water
  • Pro

jafc41

CT
55 to 64, Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: jafc41
  • Leaks
  • September 13, 2016

Based on my experience and other reviews I can come to only one conclusion - This thing leaks and will only last anywhere from a few days to one season if you are lucky. It isn't a case where one may leak and another may not, they all do! Now I may not know much, but if you told me to make a gadget that floats in water, my first objective would be to make sure it doesn't leak. No matter what, if I can't make sure it doesn't leak, then it can't come to market. The one I bought lasted about a couple Months before it stopped working and I saw water in the screen area. I opened it up and put it in the sun and once dry it worked again with fresh batteries for a few more weeks. I am strong enough and tightened the battery compartment as tight as I could make it. I suspect that the water is coming in from the antenna cover on the top as the screws that hold it are completely rusted.

Pros Easy to Install Cons Not Durable, Leaks
  • DIY

Verohandymike

Atlanta, GA
45 to 54, Male
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Verohandymike
  • Mine failed
  • June 28, 2013

I doubt they will make it right. I doubt I have the receipt after this long, but maybe I can give my age in dog years while standing on my head and they will give me a break. If they happen to be so kind as to replace mine, I'll seal the gaskets with silicon grease, and take the circuit board out and spray it with varnish to prevent corrosion from causing "bridging". The need a redesign by someone who deals with electronics in harsh environments. So if you want to treat this as a consumable, then your pool temperature is costing you $ 30.00 a year. If that works for you, then fine. But it doesn't work for me. It's a good idea ruined by poor execution.

Cons Not Durable
  • Pro
  • DIY

Chuck

Antelope, ca
65 or over, Male
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Chuck
  • Worthless, don't bother
  • November 20, 2012

I put this unit in my hottub, and set the remote on the mantle. The remote continued to read 102, and I was happy that my hottub was safe. I went to use the hottub one night only to discover that it was about 40 degrees. The unit had filled with water and shorted out. Oddly, the remote never bothered to indicate that the sensor was offline or that the hottub might no longer be freeze safe. Great idea. Lousy product.

Cons Leaks, remote doesn't alert to sensor failure
  • DIY

Dunc

Philadelphia, PA
45 to 54, Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Dunc
  • Disappointed with AccuRite Pool Thermometer
  • September 11, 2012

Purchased this item new and for about 6 weeks it worked flawlessly. I was very careful to be sure that the floating unit was never disturbed or opened. I am not sure if rain, or leakage from the pool occurred, but the unit suddenly stopped working. When I brought it in to inspect it, the interior of the unit that floats was very wet inside and smelled of burned electronics. It appears to be completely dead.

Cons Not Durable, leaks and doesnt last.

mrmoose

Columbia, SC, USA
45 to 54, Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: mrmoose