No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (23)
  • 130lb spreader
  • January 22, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I own several smaller models, 100lb. This 130lb. Agri-Fab has a covered, or protected gear mechanism, a failure point on the smaller models I own. One feature not on this model which I had to modify was making this two wheel drive,, a must on snow and ice when spreading snow/ice melt.. The handle mount bolts are a bit flimsy. I had to modify with bolts instead of the supplied sheet metal screws.. I'm also a bit concerned about the hooper material becoming brittle and cracking in the cold.. We'll see.. I just bought another 130lb. unit yesterday.. Now the proud owner of 2 130lb Agri-Fab Spreaders, plus the three smaller 100lb units I have run into the ground.. Kenny t

kennyt

Carroll County, Maryland
9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: kennyt
  • I purchased this last week from Home Depot. I assembled it in about 1 hour 15 mins. Overall I am ...
  • May 10, 2019
  • Recommended Product

I purchased this last week from Home Depot. I assembled it in about 1 hour 15 mins. Overall I am happy with the spreader and seems to be strong and well thought out. One exception is the plastic caps that hold the wheels on. These caps are fine for somethings but not for this heavy duty unit. A 130lb hopper is meant for larger yards and when you take into account hills, bumps and slopes in my property, I just don't see the caps holding up long. I did end up drilling a 7/32 hole on each axle and installed an extra 3/4" x 1 1/4 inch washer along with a 1/8" x 2 9/16" hitch pin. You could also use a 3/16 cotter pin if you prefer but the hitch pin makes it easy to remove wheel if need to grease or service. Spent $3 in washers and hitch pins at local hardware store and well worth it.

Video & Photo

TXJ

6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: TXJ
  • Disappointing
  • February 21, 2017

I assembled the spreader as per the instructions only to realize that the wheels would not turn. I determined that a small pin was dislodged and blocking the axle from turning. The pin was located where the axle meets the gear used to turn the shaft for the disperser. I contacted the company and they informed me that I should tap the pin back in place. Unfortunately the pin would not go into the hole any further due to the fact that it had not been drilled properly during the manufacturing process. The pin was bent and I had no way of being sure that this was the only problem. I requested for them to simply send me a replacement part, meaning the axle and gear assembly just as it had been provided to me. They said they could not send the three part assembly, only the defective parts and I would have to reassemble it myself. Obviously this was unacceptable and I was forced to return the product to Home Depot. So pathetic that the company wouldn't provide the parts that might have cost a dollar or two only to end up getting the entire product back and have an unhappy customer.

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
  • Food Plot Helper
  • May 20, 2016
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Bought the spreader to use for fertilizing my food plots. Assembly was fairly easy. Illustrations sufficient to assemble it in about 15 minutes. The assembled product seems solid, the wheels and handle are a huge improvement over standard yard spreaders. Our soil is very sandy. I fertilized one food plot after completing the discing and planting. The unit was difficult to push through the sand, even with the larger wheels when loaded with 50 lbs of fertilizer. That might just be an issue with our soil in Florida. The spreader performed well on my other food plots when using it before I plowed. The spread pattern gave me solid coverage, just over 10 feet wide per pass. No loose or stressed joints after finishing 4 acres. I will update my review after planting fall food plots.

Pros Durable, Easy to Clean, Good Shape

Video & Photo

  • DIY

Chilibean

Jacksonville, FL, USA
55 to 64, Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Chilibean
  • GREAT PURCHASE, WORTH THE EXTRA $
  • October 18, 2016
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Assembly was easy enough... the overall size was bigger than anticipated, however once I filled and started spreading... night and day difference from HD Scott's rotary spreader, although I could have bought almost 3-scott spreaders for the price! Fert and seed went down with ease...

  • DIY

Joe

Reading, MA
35 to 44, Male
1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Joe
  • seems to be sturdy
  • April 22, 2013

horrible instructions, plan on using 2 people and spending at least an hour. Speader works fine but is bulky and hard to push on an incline.

Pros Durable, Easy to Clean Cons bad instructions too bulky
  • DIY

jlld

Virginia, USA
55 to 64, Male
1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: jlld
  • Great product
  • April 06, 2016
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

This unit is pretty heavy duty. The assembly was easy and the unit performs great.

Pros Great Quality Cons none
  • DIY

H328

Medina, OH
55 to 64, Male
1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: H328
  • Great product
  • February 27, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Bought it for spreading salt for some commerical accounts, worth every penny..buy it.

Pros Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality

snowsheriff

Hunterdon County, NJ, USA
35 to 44
1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: snowsheriff
  • This product maneuver very well
  • May 16, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

It's well worth the money, for commercial use. Product was very easy to put together.

cherryd

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: cherryd
  • It pays to spend a little extra
  • June 24, 2016
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

SmartSpreader 130 lb. Push Broadcast Spreader was more money than the Scotts spreader, but after reading the reviews, I'm glad I went with the SmartSpreader

Pros Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Great Quality, Strong Cons pain in the neck to assemble
  • DIY

beatlebangboy

Acworth Georgia
55 to 64, Male
1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: beatlebangboy