No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (13)
  • Good Looking and Functional Barrel
  • May 21, 2015
  • Recommended Product

If you replace the cheap plastic valves with brass one-turn shut off valve, these barrels not only look good but will function perfectly for you! I could not find the 1.5 inch vinyl hose the instructions recommend for joining two barrels, at least one long enough, not to mention that an 1.5 inch hose is awfully large and would be almost impossible to bend. I joined two barrels together by using black vinyl discharge hose. This hose fit snugly INSIDE the outlet and inlet of each barrel and doesn't need to be water tight since it's just draining water from the first barrel to the second. I was able to easily remove the hose and empty out the last bit of rainwater and sentiment from the barrels after watering my flower bed and lawn.

Pros Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish Cons plastic valves need to be replace with brass ones

Video & Photo

  • DIY

IBPC

Imperial Beach, CA
55 to 64, Male
20 out of 20 people found this helpful
more details...
By: IBPC
  • cheapest components... needs replacement... barrell fittings only glued to outside surface of barrell.
  • August 13, 2013

I have bought 2 barrels... and have had nothing but problems... the valves supplied for the bottom of the barrel will come out when attaching the hose... very cheap... shortly afterwards you find out that the bottom barrel insert is only glued on the surface... the laminate gives out and you have to fix it... if used normally you have to go and buy a good valve for your hose... secondly... the upper attachment for the starts to come off also...it is glue the same way as the bottom... so another leak... hardware for the screen on the top of the tank starts to rust... the barrel itself the is the only quality part of what you purchase... anything supplied needs to be replaced...the competitors barrel at home depot is 110 dollars... this company should charge more and give some quality components and appropriate bulkhead fittings... disappointed in that part of it... need to buy a quality fitting for barrels at home depot... you cut the old hole with a hole saw bit... and put a bulkhead fitting... costs 11 dollars... spent a lot of time messing with these barrels.

Pros Good Shape
  • DIY

jasper11

45 to 54, Male
18 out of 18 people found this helpful
more details...
By: jasper11
  • Poor Construction
  • October 04, 2013

We brought the rain barrel home and had our gutter installed to feed directly into it. On the first light rain it was leaking water from the bottom valve - turns out it wasn't sealed around the valve, so we had to get silicone sealant to fix it. Then we went to hook up a hose to the spigot and when we twisted the hose to tighten it - - it started to leak from the connection at the barrel as well. The spigot also has a very light flow when opened all the way (it will take a good 10 minutes to fill a water can). Finally, the valve on the bottom came apart when we attempted to tighten a hose to it. This is a poorly constructed barrel - - skip it and spend a little more to avoid the repairs and head ache!

Cons Not Durable, poor construction
  • DIY

beehappy72

MN
35 to 44, Female
18 out of 18 people found this helpful
more details...
By: beehappy72
  • Love my rain barrels!
  • April 16, 2014
  • Recommended Product

These Castilla Brownstones look like real stone pots from any distance. They were perfect for filling corners and adding interest to our new house, and this color was made for our brick. The bottom has a half turn valve perfect for a soaker hose hook-up and I really like the higher up hose bib for filling my 2 gallon watering cans. Beyond that, rain water is loaded with free nitrogen from the lightning. The plants absolutely thrive drinking it with zero chlorine or other metals. I have 10 of these barrels all around the house for watering shrubs and veges. Turns out to be a great investment twice as this was a quarter of the price for installing a sprinkler system all around the slab.

Pros Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality Cons plastic hose bib failed but co. replaced w/ upgrd
  • DIY

Chateman

Shreveport LA
45 to 54, Male
18 out of 18 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Chateman
  • Good product save one flaw that Home Depot easily fixed for me.
  • October 14, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I got two of these to use as a slow flow watering container for a couple of new trees on my property. Needing a large container, I opted for something that was visually pleasing. These fit that bill, however there was a flaw with them. Each of the main plastic valves were broken right out of the bag. I would assume it was a design flaw since both were broken in the exact same area. I returned to Home Depot to exchange and found the same thing in the barrels that they had on hand. The Home Depot staff then replaced the valves with equivalent brass models and they have worked perfectly. I give the product 4 stars due to that flaw and I give Home Depot 5 stars for their customer service.

Pros Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish Cons faulty plastic valve

Mike

9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Mike
  • Spigot threads crack or unglue easily. Pours slowly.
  • July 29, 2016

The color, shape, size and price great. Big problems though with the spigot threads. First barrel the top spigot cracked as I hand tightened. Got a second one, was good for a month, and when I opened the bottom spigot on a hot day and the glue came loose. They have 3/4 threads, but on both barrel gave me 3/4 thread converted to 1/2 pipe. Poured so slowly i bought my own wth 3/4 which si 4x faster. A lot of rain barrel manufacturers make the same mistake, very few have hi flow. Poorly planned and cheap thin plastic design. Going to try gorilla glue wish me luck. If that does not work, I'm done.

Cons Not Durable, slow pouring

Video & Photo

  • DIY

gondoman

homer glen il
45 to 54, Male
8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: gondoman
  • Poor Hardware
  • August 12, 2014

The Barrel Body is fine, the valves and fittings are not. The top valve that comes with the barrel is cheap plastic and the packing gland leaked immediately. I bought a brass valve to replace it. The bottom fitting where the hose attaches is a bad design as a metal fitting on the hose mates with a plastic male threaded piece in the barrel. This stripped out the second time I used it. As far as functionality, the barrel does collect a surprising amount of water. Mine is installed on a 3 foot high pedestal with a single downspout feed from a 12'x12' section of roof. 1/2" of rainfall will fill the barrel half full. I also added an overflow spout by tracing a flexible downspout on the side of the barrel and cutting the hole and sealing it with silicone. I will be looking to different designs for me next rain barrel.

  • DIY

llamawalker

Painesville, OH
35 to 44, Male
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: llamawalker
  • Extremely poor quality
  • November 03, 2014

I will be returning this product as soon as it drains. About the only positive thing I can say about it is it holds water. The fittings are so poor that both have broken within the first month of use. I wish I would have looked more closely when I bought it. Thin cheap molded plastic parts could not possibly last long even with very light use.

Pros Functionality Cons Not Durable
  • DIY

HomeDepotCustomer

Athens GA
45 to 54, Male
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: HomeDepotCustomer
  • Buy extra hardware or skip this barrel
  • September 16, 2014

The included hardware is utter garbage. Why wouldn't they use metal fixtures for holding back 55 gallons of water? I'm already paying $70 for a plastic tub, did they think I wouldn't pay $75 for a plastic tub with metal spouts? The whole assembly broke apart after I _lightly_ attached a hose this morning. So now I have 55 gallons of water leaking into my foundation, and my new pair of shoes ruined. I'm seriously disappointed with this purchase.

Pros Stylish, great for flooding a yard Cons junk hardware
  • DIY

NightOfTheLivingTed

Cleveland, OH
25 to 34, Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: NightOfTheLivingTed
  • I got this rain barrel for my birthday last year (2016) and LOVE it! The lower drain it great sin...
  • March 08, 2017
  • Recommended Product

I got this rain barrel for my birthday last year (2016) and LOVE it! The lower drain it great since mine sits in an elevated flower bed and I put a 6ft hose to it and can just turn the the handle and fill my watering can that sits lower. I drilled the holes out in the planter just to help the water drain thru, but, being so shallow it's not really good for flower planting, so I just put some small landscaping rocks in it, added a rain chain and look/works great! No problem with the spigot, just remember to be careful putting it on and not to knock it, but it can be changed out easily with one from HD plumbing area.

Video & Photo

birdwatcher

6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: birdwatcher