No Results Found

Refine by Rating

  • Nightmare from start
  • September 01, 2016

Almost from delivery of this appliance it was problems and it started with delivery people who got an attitude with me because they insisted they deserved a "5" rating (highest) for their performance and I was not about to and they went so far to say they would be fired if they did not receive a 5. They were to have set it up and walk me through the operation and controls and that never happened. It took what seemed days to get ice and then only about 2 cups worth each day was produced. I called service and their biggest concern was "Was it under warranty?" and then I because the trouble shooter and did I do this and did it do this and so and so on. It took 2 weeks for a service tech to arrive and I said it had gotten worse and less ice. He did so e things and said it should be good now, well now was not any better and weeks later I had enough and called again and went through the process if you do not have the needed information hang up and call when you do sort of treatment. I was told I would have some one out and it was not the day or time they said at the Amana service center call. After two trips more by service they installed a "new version ice maker" and all should be good for ever and ever. I waited 2 days and still no ice and so again I called and they (service Amana) asked if the ice maker was "ON?" Well I would have expected the service person to turn it on, well it was not and it started making ice again. It, ice-maker has a major design flaw because if ice gets backed up or clogged for whatever reason the whole shoot for ice get blocked full of ice cubes and when you open the freezer door you receive hundreds of pieces of ice all over the floor. This massive ice dump has happened to me numerous times because there is no way to get to the backup without opening the freezer door. Now again the ice maker stopped producing and Charlie (service guy) came and looked and acted lost and said he ordered parts again and when they come in they will call and make appointment to replace parts again. I have since learned the warranty for AMANA is ONE year that is 1 year and the cost of extended warranty is outrageous. There are many issues I have learned and sure would never EVER buy any Amana garbage again in my life.

Pros Looks Great Cons Not Durable, ice maker nightmare, double door hassel, both doors have to be opened to open one inside
  • Pro

garbage

Arkansas
55 to 64, Male
4 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: garbage
  • Awesome fridge
  • April 17, 2016
  • Recommended Product

This is a pretty awesome fridge and what I consider to be my second "higher-end" fridge that I've owned. This is very comparable to a major brand of fridges that I've owned in the past. Even though the brand name may not jump out as much, the product itself delivers. French doors are a wonderful feature allowing for lots of room for milk, condiments, etc. The freezer is spacious allowing for anything you'd ever need for an entire family to be stored. The stainless steel finish gives the fridge an executive feel and definitely helps the "curb appeal" in the kitchen. I'd recommend people to not shy away from this brand and give it a go. I'm very happy with this fridge after using it for the past 6 months!

Pros Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Easy to Install, Stylish, Easy to Clean
  • Top 1000 Contributor
  • DIY

HomeDepotCustomer

Michigan
25 to 34, Male
2 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: HomeDepotCustomer
  • Awesome Fridge
  • October 03, 2015
  • Recommended Product

I must say I was pleasantly surprised with the amount of space this thing has. It has many storage options for the refrigerator and the freezer part in the bottom. The fridge has 3 different drawers for meats, vegetable and fruit. 2 humidity controlled crisper drawers for the fruit and veggies and a pantry door that runs the length of the fridge to store long pieces of meat or what have you. The freezer has tons of storage space and a basket on top. Water filter in is the top of the fridge so no more crawling on the floor to replace a filter. Doesn't show finger prints. Has led lights on the control panel. You can set the light on above the dispenser on low or high, but it comes on automatically when you use the ice or water dispenser and stays on a little bit. I haven't had a need to keep the light on though. Also, the thing I like about this is the fast cool button. You put some groceries in the fridge, turn on the fast cool button and it cools everything in the fridge. We used it when we first set it up to keep the food from going bad. ( The delivery guys hauled our old one away, which we weren't expecting.) And it cooled the fridge and freezer pretty quick. Side panels can be adjusted to fit your needs. Wide enough to hold a full gallon of milk. Everything to operate the fridge is done on the LED control panel..Which has a nice blue color on a black background.. The fridge is preset at the factory but can be adjusted to meet your needs. 38 for the fridge and 0 on the freezer we have found to be suffice...The ice cream doesn't get stone hard in the freezer. I just can't say enough about this refrigerator..Definitely the best one I have ever owned, and in my opinion, probably the best on the market at this price point. Would highly recommend...

Pros Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
  • Top 250 Contributor
  • DIY

headhunter

Texas
45 to 54, Male
11 out of 17 people found this helpful
more details...
By: headhunter
  • High-end Refrigerator
  • October 03, 2015
  • Recommended Product

This is a super nice refrigerator with smooth rolling lower freezer and inner drawer. Inside the double-door refrigerator section is a spacious area with numerous shelves, including lots of small storage shelves built into the doors. There is one shallow drawer that spans the entire interior and two more deep drawers above. All have clear plastic to make seeing the contents easy. Lighting is great. The water filter is easy to access in the ceiling, but does protrude into the storage space a little bit. The water and ice dispensers have separate buttons to press cups against. The finish on the outside is superb, and the door handles are stylish and offer a nice grip. The sides are nicely textured and painted. This is a very nice refrigerator.

Pros Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
  • Top 500 Contributor
  • DIY

CM

California
45 to 54, Male
11 out of 17 people found this helpful
more details...
By: CM
  • Lovely and Modern, But Has Drawbacks
  • December 05, 2015

I was excited to get this French Door Amana because I had seen one like this and liked the openness of the design. I got mine yesterday. Immediately I noticed that the shelving as assembled by the delivery team did not allow for tall items such as ketchup bottles o rtall juice containers. I ended up having to remove one shelf in order to accommodate tall items while putting milk in door shelves because there just wasn't any way to adjust the shelves to accommodate the tall items. Now I have to devote bottom shelf to small, rarely used items and top shelf for tall items. Not enough door shelf space for much. Also, I'm 76 and not very strong. I was unable to push the release button on the ice maker in order to "flush" out the first two batches of ice to clear out the water line, so I had to empty it out glass by glass. I'm unable to remove the ice maker at all. I like the design and lighting in this refrigerator, but I have traded shelf space for beauty. I think most families will find that they have more little bottles of seasonings and dressings than they thought -- and little space in this refrigerator to access them easily.

Pros Looks Great, Stylish Cons Difficult to Use, few shelves to fit items, can't remove ice maker

Sandra

Kent, WA
65 or over, Female
5 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Sandra
  • The Worst
  • January 17, 2017

Purchase fridge, washer and dryer for delivery 20th December , had to change delivery to 29th. Brought fridge damaged, had dryer, no washer. Purchased another fridge because HD didn't know when they would pick up damaged one. Brought 2nd fridge, it was damaged too. Kept changing delivery date for washer. Asked for ALL my money back. Shorted me $166...I've got to travel 45 mins back to store to figure what the $166 short is all about. Finally went to lowes, on a friday..they delivered washer and a fridge on monday...great, compared to waiting on HD for TWO freaking months!

2 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
  • Love it! Good quality, good price, excellent courteous delivery, Very happy.
  • May 19, 2017
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Love it! Good quality, good price, excellent courteous delivery, Very happy.

MaryMary

1 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: MaryMary
  • Piece of Junk
  • November 20, 2015

We bought this Amana french door refrigerator and it was delivered/installed approximately one week ago. In the last week, the ice maker has completely stopped working - twice. The first time it was jammed and we cleared the jam. This time - one day later, we are not sure what is going on. There is no ice jam and the water filter is working fine. No ice. Two days in a row. What a piece of junk. Save your money.

DL

4 out of 17 people found this helpful
more details...
By: DL
  • Don't bother
  • April 04, 2016

The Amana brand of appliances are all cheap garbage...Son't buy!

Cons Not Durable
  • DIY

HomeDepotCustomer

Michigan
55 to 64, Male
3 out of 38 people found this helpful
more details...
By: HomeDepotCustomer
  • So far so good
  • December 08, 2015
  • Recommended Product

Well HD won't leave me alone to leave a review. I don't know, we've had this fridge for about three weeks. It hasn't blown up yet. Makes a couple of interesting noises after dispensing ice or water. Doesn't hold much ice with a full bin. Good space. Stays very cold at default setting

more details...