Customer Reviews for Andersen 36 in. x 80 in. 2500 Series Almond Universal Self-Storing Aluminum Storm Door with Nickel Hardware

Internet #203369106

Model #HD2SSN36AL

Store SKU #208917

  • Prepped for easy installation in about 2 hours
  • Universal handing accommodates left and right hand installation
  • Nickel handle set included

Customer Reviews

  • 2444 Customer Reviews
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars overall
79% of customers recommended.
Overall Ratings
5star-icon(1483)
4star-icon(507)
3star-icon(168)
2star-icon(104)
1star-icon(182)
Attribute Ratings
Appearance
4.6
EaseOfInstallation
3.4
Quality
3.8
Value
3.7
Sort By:
Good directions, all of the components were included.
Good directions, all of the components were included.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from AndersenNovember 16, 2020
We appreciate your wonderful comments. Thank you for the five star rating! - Irene Andersen
Overall installation was about two hours as described, and no, I'm not a professional. Hanging th...
Appearance :
5
Ease of installation :
4
Value :
5
Quality :
5
Overall installation was about two hours as described, and no, I'm not a professional. Hanging the actual door took less than an hour, the rest of the time was doing the finish work including drilling the holes for three door handle with the supplied drill bit, etc. The only drill bit not included was a 7/16". But that aside, the door is really well made and Is excellent quality. Very happy with the purchase.
Was this helpful?
4
0
Response from EMCOOctober 5, 2020
Thank you for posting your review and for sharing your installation experience. The Andersen 2500 Series Self-Storing Storm Door is a 2-Hour Easy Install Storm Door. Great job in installing the door! Enjoy your new door and have a great day! - Noel AWEMCOMarketing
The door it’s great but...
We loved the door and it works great but the instructions are horrible, Andersen needs to work on that Manual because it’s not “user friendly” at all.
Was this helpful?
1
0
Response from EMCOSeptember 28, 2020
Thank you for purchaisng our Andersen 2500 Series Storm Door. We are sorry for the inconvenience that this has caused you. We will create a feedback about your concern to further improve our product. Have a nice day! - Irene AWEMCOMarketing
But the hide away screen separated from the frame due to the screen material was too short and di...
Appearance :
5
Ease of installation :
4
Value :
2
Quality :
3
But the hide away screen separated from the frame due to the screen material was too short and did not allow any room or stretching when playing down. No children or animals to cause this. Felt like they were scrimping on product length!!!
Was this helpful?
8
0
Beautiful door!!! Added the finishing touch to my home. Very satisfied!!! Self install was a litt...
Beautiful door!!! Added the finishing touch to my home. Very satisfied!!! Self install was a little hard but well worth it! The self string screen is an absolutely great change made to the door. I love it!!!
Was this helpful?
2
0
Response from AndersenAugust 24, 2020
Thank you for your review to Andersen® Windows. We are happy to hear that you love your Andersen storm door! We appreciate the perfect rating and hope you continue to enjoy your purchase! -Megan Andersen
Love that this door offers a full view, yet still...
Love that this door offers a full view, yet still has a built-in screen to allow fresh air. The door itself is lightweight with a brake option to keep the door open, if desired.
Was this helpful?
5
0
Response from AndersenAugust 24, 2020
Thank you for your review to Andersen® Windows. We are happy to hear that you love your Andersen storm door! We appreciate the perfect rating and hope you continue to enjoy your purchase! -Megan Andersen
I cannot tell you how much I enjoy this door, And the screen is the greatest invention! I needed ...
I cannot tell you how much I enjoy this door, And the screen is the greatest invention! I needed a new door and it started out as a joke that I wanted to get a full glass door so my Cats could look out. As you can see it was so well worth it!
Was this helpful?
10
0
I love this door! I will say, as others have, that this is not a 2 hour installation. It was abou...
Appearance :
5
Ease of installation :
3
Value :
5
Quality :
4
I love this door! I will say, as others have, that this is not a 2 hour installation. It was about 4.5 hours. The directions are also not the easiest to follow, so read and reread. Don't mind the reflection in the door, the option for the oil rubbed bronze look is amazing! I purchased the same model, different generation, about 15 years ago, and they have definitely improved the pull down screen function. I'm very happy with the door! Now if Home Depot will implement their credit card discounts for the order immediately upon buying the item with the promotion, that would be a great improvement.
Was this helpful?
3
0
It's ok, but I expected more
Value :
3
Quality :
3
I was looking for a nice, but not super expensive storm door for my new house that didn't look cheap. This Anderson door seemed to fit the bill and was one of the few in this price range that had nickel hardware. Installation: I'm certainly not a pro, but I'm also not an idiot for general house repair either. A storm door install shouldn't be terribly difficult. However, the instructions for this install were a joke. Anderson clearly uses a generic set of install instructions and then provides additional instructions in each of the 'kits' for your specific door. This means you are ultimately using 4 or 5 different instruction manuals. At times these instructions are unclear and do not match the items you have been provided. An example of this is mounting the hinges to the door frame. The instructions provided said to use the pre-drilled holes; which makes sense. Unfortunately, that wasn't even possible as the gap for the pre-drilled holes didn't match the gap for the hinges. I was able to use 2 of the 4 holes, but needed to drill 2 new holes. The hinges weren't the only time you needed to drill holes. Again, this is clearly a standard door frame that is used for multiple doors. You need to self drill the holes in the frame for the hardware (door handle and lock). Anderson provided a spade drill bit for this which worked ok. The directions warn you how precise these holes need to be though. You could easily screw this step up and have a mess on your hands. I was disappointed that this step wasn't done within the manufacturing process. Anderson also provided at least 1 drill bit. Fortunately, I have multiple drill bit sets as the one provided snapped in half drilling the second hole (for the hinges that shouldn't have needed holes drilled). I'm amazed that Anderson doesn't have either a step-by-step app built for their instructions or a video of the installation for this exact door that they refer you to. These are becoming very commonplace and wouldn't take significant effort to develop. Useage: I've had the door for about 2 months now. It opens and closes nicely. The pull-down top screen is very nice. Having the screen hidden when not 'open' is a great feature. It makes the door have a nice clean, all glass look / finish when it is hidden. I'm disappointed with one of the support panels for the screen though. The panel has already warped and has a major 'wave' to it (see image). I would not expect this poor quality for a $260 door. The panel which is likely why it warped. Overall: I'm on the fence regarding this product. The appearance is nice enough, but the install process is less than ideal. I'm skeptical regarding the overall durability of this door given the warping on the screen support panel that I am experiencing after less than 2 months of usage. While this door likely beats many of its competitors in the price range, it may be worth it to spend a bit more and get a more durable product.
Was this helpful?
14
0
Response from AndersenAugust 3, 2020
Thank you for your inquiry to Andersen® Windows. We are very sorry to see the low rating. Please contact your local home depot or call the Andersen Solution Center at 855-337-8811 if there is anything we can do for you. –Megan Andersen
Anderson Model 2500 Venting Storm Door Closer Bracket Failures
Value :
5
Quality :
4
I bought my door back in Jan 2015 and I like it. The only problem is the the door closer brackets keep breaking. I'm now on my third set . The door bracket, jam brace and especially the jam bracket arm are the weakest links as you can see in the photo. Made of thin pot mental they break very easily. I'm on my third set. Anderson door needs to look at this flaw and beef up these brackets with a heaver metal.
Was this helpful?
7
0
Response from AndersenJuly 27, 2020
Thank you for your review to Andersen® Windows. We appreciate the feedback regarding the closers. We hope you continue to enjoy your storm door. Thanks! -Megan Andersen
Review this Product
Share your thoughts with other customers