#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for BEHR PREMIUM 1 gal. #75 Polar Bear Semi-Gloss Enamel Interior/Exterior Cabinet, Door & Trim Paint

Internet #315366518

Model #712001

Store SKU #1004872844

  • Outstanding block resistance for quick return to service
  • Excellent flow and leveling - provides a smooth finish
  • All-Weather Protection

Customer Reviews

  • 4.3
    out of 2,471 reviews
  • 65% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 2,471 reviews
This cabinet paint covered well and looks great. It is self leveling, which means I do not have b...
This cabinet paint covered well and looks great. It is self leveling, which means I do not have brush strokes or roller marks on the doors. Looks fantastic.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
3 found this review helpful
Disappointment
I was repainting old oak kitchen cabinets that I had previously painted with a roller with latex enamel tinted to a dark espresso brown that did not dry as hard as I expected so I put on a coat of water based clear polycrylic with a foam brush that helped. To prepare for repainting, I used a palm sander with 240 grit and then 400 grit to take the shine off but not down to bare wood. I did not prime. I put a coat of this paint on with a low nap roller. I noticed air bubbles and orange peel and tried to roll over but paint was already getting sticky so I stopped while it was wet and covered. Did it outdoors in 60 degree dry weather in the shade and they were hard and dry in less than 1 hour. I lightly hand sanded and recoated. The end result showed dried air bubbles and orange peel. This paint was hard to work with, did not level much and gave disappointing results. I would not use on expensive kitchen cabinets.
by
Response from BehrMar 29, 2021
Hi TomMc,

Thank you for sharing your experience with Behr Cabinet & Trim Enamel. I'm very sorry to hear that you had a difficult time with application, air bubbles, and orange peel. That's never something we want our customers to go through, and I understand how disappointed you must be. As you probably already know, the appearance can be improved by sanding, cleaning, and recoating. When using Cabinet & Trim Enamel, we recommend priming all surfaces (painted/unpainted) beforehand for optimal results. Customer satisfaction is very important to us, and I encourage you to contact Behr directly for further assistance. We'd love to learn more about your project and find the best way to help.

Kindest regards,

Doris Behr
    3 found this review helpful
    Great coverage
    This paint meets and exceeds expectations. It took two coats of primer and one coat of color to transform my kitchen.
    by
      • Recommended
      1 found this review helpful
      This paint was nice and thick and creamy. I had it tinted a medium gray and put it on over Kilz a...
      This paint was nice and thick and creamy. I had it tinted a medium gray and put it on over Kilz adhesion primer for my laminate kitchen cabinets and I am very thrilled with the coverage and the entire look. This paint did not splatter. I would use it again in a heartbeat.
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      6 found this review helpful
      This paint is really white... It brightened up the whole room. Would recommend and purchase again.
      This paint is really white... It brightened up the whole room. Would recommend and purchase again.
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      2 found this review helpful
      It's ok
      I used this on some golden wainscoting, trim and doors. I did use primer and with 2 coats it looks pretty good. I used brush and roller, I didn't have any issues with lines or roller marks. The paint is pretty thin so it does want to run. My complaint would be its not that hard. I can still scrape it off and maybe it's not a good choice for wainscoting. Nice color. I would use scuff resistant next time.
      by
        7 found this review helpful
        Love it!
        Gave me old cabinets a facelift painting them with this product tinted navy blue. My cabinets had been resurfaced in laminate by previous owners so I primed them first and then added 2 coats of paint & I love the results.
        by
          • Recommended
          1 found this review helpful
          not navy blue
          Im waiting for it to dry but it looks like a royal blue
          by
          Response from BehrJan 19, 2021
          Hi gr33n, thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear that the color did not turn out as expected. Typically, the lighting and surroundings in the room influence the way the color will turn out. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly if you need further assistance; our customer care team is happy to help you! -Giovanna Behr
            • Recommended
            This was great in covering the kitchen & bathroom cabinets...
            This was great in covering the kitchen & bathroom cabinets after sanding & priming. Also used on the door frames.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            Beautiful color and very nice paint.
            Beautiful color and very nice paint.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            Good at first, then it cracks.
            Stripped and sanded kitchen cabinet doors in June. Primed with Behr primer and painted 3 coats with 2 day drying time in between. Now it's January and EVERY door the paint has cracked where the raised panel meets the frame. I now get to REDO this entire kitchen this next summer.... AGAIN. =o( BTW, my built in humidifier is ON, not that THAT should really matter. ALSO, it STAINS very easily. So don't have ANY accidents in your kitchen where food might get on the cabinets for a few minutes because you'll have a gross stain there when you wipe it off. This paint is absolute crap.
            by
            Response from BehrJan 12, 2021
            Hi TickedinLSMO,

            Thank you for sharing your experience with Behr Cabinet & Trim Enamel. I'm very sorry to hear about the cracking and stain issues experienced, as it certainly isn't what we want our customers to go through. I recommend sanding the affected areas before cleaning and touching up. Please contact Behr's Customer Care Department for further assistance with this matter. We'd love to find a way to help.

            Kindest regards,

            Doris Behr
              5 found this review helpful
              Only use on same color trim or if you don't mind six+ coats
              I bought this paint on the recommendation of the employee in the paint department for painting an interior door. I was painting sunflower yellow over olive green. The first coat looked awful. It didn't cover much at all, looking more like I'd brushed stain over paint. My husband went back to Home Depot and talked to someone else in the paint department who said that we had to use gray Kilz2 primer before using the yellow enamel. Hubby purchased the primer and I painted the door with the primer, let it dry, and tried again with the yellow. Same result (see image below). Note the navy blue wall next to the door? That's one coat of Marquee over pale green. I will be picking up the same yellow in Marquee and painting the door with that instead. And on top of all that? Home Depot doesn't take returns of paint, so now I'm stuck with a useless $20 can of yellow... stuff. I do NOT recommend this product.
              by
              Response from BehrJan 4, 2021
              Hi Jen - Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about the lack of coverage you're getting with our paint! If you're using a very vibrant yellow, it helps to apply a tinted primer (white primer that's been tinted with a little bit of yellow) before painting. This will help cut down on the amount of coats needed to build up the yellow, especially when making a dramatic color change. We'd be happy to help you with this further. Please feel free to reach out to us directly at your convenience. We hope to hear from you! - Sara Behr
                2 found this review helpful
                Worst trim paint ever
                I am repainting all the trim in a house I just purchased. I put on two primer coats and have still had to put 3-4 coats of trim paint on. Mind you, all of this trim was already white. This is after cleaning, sanding, priming and using high quality brushes. I would not recommend this to anyone. “The perfect white” is a much better trim paint and has better coverage. Safe to say 2 weeks worth of work down the drain. Attached is a picture of preprimed beadboard that I had put 2 coats on. Completely uneven. Here is trim wood that I primed and painted with the 2 coats.
                by
                Response from BehrDec 30, 2020
                Hello Spencer, we appreciate you sharing your feedback. We're sorry to hear you didn't get the coverage you were expecting from our paint; that's not the experience we want our customers to have with our products. Our Premium Plus Paint is self-priming. However, it's not guaranteed to cover in a specific amount of coats. Multiple coats may be needed to achieve your desired coverage. Customer satisfaction is important to us, though. So, please feel free to contact our Customer Care team directly for additional assistance or if have any questions. Have a great day. –Joanna Behr
                  2 found this review helpful
                  I used this paint to change the staircase and risers...
                  I used this paint to change the staircase and risers from oak to white. Did three coats and it turned out great! See before and after picture!
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  1 found this review helpful
                  The Finished Look We Hoped For
                  Although our cabinets were in good shape, the finish was well worn and needed updating. My husband and I decided to tackle painting them ourselves. I searched online and found the Behr Premium Cabinet paint. At first, the number of color options was somewhat overwhelming, but after viewing a number of selections we chose Bit of Sugar for the cabinets and Chocolate Swirl for the island. We followed the directions and cleaned, sanded, and primed before applying two coats of paint. Our cabinets are wood with a slight grain and we were very pleased that the grain was still visible after the second coat. We used a Purdy brush to apply the paint and it went on smoothly and leveled well. Our kitchen has a fresh new appearance and we are very pleased with the result. We would definitely recommend this Behr paint.
                  by
                    • Recommended
                    Worked great. Cabinets look brand new.
                    Worked great. Cabinets look brand new.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    Took quite a few coats but the overall result was...
                    Took quite a few coats but the overall result was outstanding.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    This paint covered very well and we’re very happy with...
                    This paint covered very well and we’re very happy with the results on our kitchen island makeover.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    Spray paint
                    I have been painting my cabinets, door, base boards and window casing during the pandemic. I have used all the paints BM Advance, SW Pro Classic, SW Emerald Utherane, Behr Alkyd and Behr Cabinet & Trim Enamel. Behr Cabinet & Trim Enamel is a fast drying paint and you will find it difficult to use with brush and roller. No matter what you do, you will see brush and slight texture with roller. It is an exceptional paint if you are using air less sprayer. Finish comes out quite smooth, it dries hard and it is durable. IMO, BM Advance is hands down the best paint out there for all scenarios. (Brush/Roll/Spray). SW Pro classic is an amazing paint if you want to brush and rolll but not so great for spray-painting. Behr Alkyd is ok for brush and roll This is the formula I apply when painting cabinets/doors. I spray paint cabinet doors and doors with Behr cabinet and trim enamel and for the areas that I can't take off and spray paint I use BM Advance to brush and roll. There are two reasons I don't use BM Advance for everything 1- It is expensive than Behr 2- It has a recoat time of 16 hours, where as Behr Cabinet & Trim Enamel has a recoat time of 2 hours. Big difference!. Hopefully these tips are helpful, best of luck in your project.
                    by
                      • Recommended
                      18 found this review helpful
                      very poor quality paint for price
                      Not sure if it was a bad batch for what happened but immediately upon drying cracks formed on the surface of the trim where there was some detail. This was brand new, pre-primed trim from home depot. I expected much more out of a $40 gallon of premium paint.
                      by
                      Response from BehrOct 8, 2020
                      Hi john - Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about the cracks that immediately formed on your trim! To fix the finish, I recommend lightly sanding down the cracks, cleaning the surface to remove the sanding dust, then touching up with more paint. For further assistance with your project, please feel free to reach out to us directly. We hope to hear from you! - Sara Behr
                        • Recommended
                        2 found this review helpful
                        Not durable, don’t buy
                        One would assume a “cabinet paint” product would be durable enough for kitchen cabinets. It isn’t. I was able to get a beautiful sprayed on finish and was very happy for about a week until this product showed major staining and serious wear from daily use. Couple of months later and I’m already considering refinishing the whole kitchen. Major waste of time and resources. I have been a professional custom finisher for many years, so it’s not the application.
                        by
                        Response from BehrSep 9, 2020
                        Hi ProPainter,

                        Thank you for reviewing Behr Cabinet & Trim Enamel. I'm very sorry to hear that it began to wear and stain after only one week. That's definitely not normal or what we want our customers to experience. Please contact Behr's Customer Care Department for further assistance with this matter. We'd love to find a way to help.

                        Kindest regards,

                        Doris Behr
                          5 found this review helpful
                          Spotty and not even coverage
                          I sanded, primed, and painted 3 coats of behr cabinet and trim paint and my cabinets are still spotty and uneven. There are spots that are uneven, and color variances that can easily be seen. I do not know what to do now as I used most of the paint and I do not want to continue adding coats. I would not recommend as the coverage of this paint is horrible for such a specialty product design for cabinets. Also the white color does not match the Behr paint color I used on my walls, And ceiling.
                          by
                          Response from BehrSep 2, 2020
                          Hello David, thank you for your feedback. Sorry to hear about your experience with our paint; that is not the experience we want our customers to have with our products. To get your project back on track, we'd recommend allowing your last coat to dry for at least 4 hours before priming it with our Kitchen, Bath & Trim Stain-Blocking Primer & Sealer to prime and seal the surface, and topcoating it with your paint. Keep in mind that the white tone of our untinted Cabinet & Trim Paint is not the same as our regular paint line's (Premium Plus, Ultra, Marquee) Ultra Pure White tone. Customer satisfaction is important to us. Please feel free to reach out to our Customer Care team directly with any questions you may have or for assistance. Have a great day. -Joanna Behr
                            2 found this review helpful
                            Loved it
                            I used this paint to repaint an antique table. It worked wonders. After sanding my table I applied two coats. It dries quickly and produces a hard, durable protective surface. The paint absorbed quickly and the color was even. It went on easily and made my project easy. Didn’t need to use a sealant after. Overall, would recommend.
                            by
                              • Recommended
                              1 found this review helpful
                              This paint is garbage.
                              Don’t waste your money. I bought this to paint my primed interior doors and trim, and it is an extremely disappointing product. The paint dries to an awful, nearly matte, spotty texture. There is very little coverage, even with three light coats and primer. I thought when I stirred it, it looked odd in the can, but decided that must just mean it needed more stirring... no amount of stirring could help. It’s absolute crap and takes about five coats to look even remotely decent. I am sure the Home Depot or Behr folks will comment on my review that I, of course, did something incorrectly to cause the paint to perform so poorly, but I assure you, I did not. It’s a bad paint and good luck if you choose to test it on your project, hope it’s not expense to fix after it’s ruined.
                              by
                              Response from BehrAug 20, 2020
                              Hi MissJessie - Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that the coverage was poor and the sheen dried to a matte, spotty finish. I'm concerned that the paint didn't look right in the can, even after it was stirred. To fix the finish, we recommend applying a fresh coat with a new can. We'd like to assist you with this further and learn more about the can you originally purchased. Please feel free to reach out to us directly. We hope to hear from you. - Sara Behr
                                4 found this review helpful
                                Frustrated, Tired & Disappointed
                                We had a bay window bench built, as well as a entry way hall tree with storage under both. So, I had to get custom doors custom made for the storage part. After 3 weeks & several hundred dollars, it was time to paint everything white! Of course, we sanded, cleaned & primed everything except the doors to start. I originally bought INSL-X which was very pricey, had no other complaints about it. Now FF two weeks later... The custom doors finally arrived (3 days ago) & I send my husband went to HD to get paint, STRESSING that I want the absolute smoothest finish possible to get closer to a MFG look. I said I was fine with BEHR because it’s typically a good product & they have a cabinet paint similar to the one mentioned above. He came home with this paint & promised that the folks at HD said this IS the one we need to get the results I was wanting. We already had doors perfectly primed, sanded & clean. 3 coats of this paint & 3 days later... They look terribly rough & splotchy. NOT at all the smooth cohesive look I was going for! (And yes, I’ve sanded b/t coats, etc.) So, the next day, we sanded them back down to try it all over again, but to no avail... SAME RESULTS!!! Now my brand new custom doors (which weren’t cheap) look like crap & in order to “fix” this, I would have to spend more $ on paint plus another 2 days minimum redoing them. Who has time for that when you’ve already spent an extra day & night on it. The amount of money & time spent to have a crappy or unfinished project literally makes me want to cry!!! I trusted BEHR products until now, but this has been beyond upsetting... However, I do think if you are buying this paint for trim only, it will get the job done fine. (I included pic of the brand new doors so you can see how easy this part of the project should have been!)
                                by
                                Response from BehrAug 13, 2020
                                Hello KK, thank you for your feedback. We are terribly sorry to hear you didn't get the smooth even finish you were expecting from our paint; we assure you this is not the experience we want our customers to have with our products.

                                To get your project back on track, we recommend scuff sanding your doors, cleaning them and allowing them to completely dry, and priming them with a primer such as our Kitchen, Bath & Trim Stain-Blocking Primer & Sealer No. 75 before recoating them. When recoating, we'd recommend using a high quality 100% nylon brush or a high quality 1/4" nap roller. An airless sprayer with a .011" - .015" tip and 60 mesh filter can also be used to apply your paint. Our Cabinet & Trim is self-leveling. However, light sanding can be done in between coats with 320-400 grit sand paper to provide an even smoother finish.

                                Customer satisfaction is very important to us. Please feel free to directly reach out to our Customer Care team with any questions you may have or for assistance, as we'd like to help. Have a great day. -Joanna Behr
                                  4 found this review helpful
                                  Stay away! We had to give up after doing the same board 5 times! switched paint, perfect first coat
                                  The advertising makes this stuff sound great, well that is advertising for you! We sanded a small flat easy to paint, easy to sand board down to the bare wood, made sure it was really smooth, even using filler primer after the sealant primer and sanded down again for each attempt in between. keep in mind this is with a top quality brush, not a sprayer. We tried: light coats, 2 then 3 coats, bad brush lines and ridges (maybe mountain ranges is more appropriate here, clearly from the brush lines not the wood grain) heavy coats, 1 thick coat, then 2 and 3 were attempted, again got bad brush lines and ridges at every step and on every side of the board again. Okay, a sprayer might not give the same results, but my takeaway first out is that this stuff does not have "excellent flow & leveling", actually the opposite, it has horrible flow and leveling. I chatted with the BEHR customer service and all they could do was blame the primer and specifically said not to add any conditioners. They would send me a replacement quart and a quart of their recommended primer in about 15 business days, yes, it takes 3 weeks to get a quart of paint. Not going to delay the project that long, contractor will be here before then. After chatting with the sales rep, I was curious and ran the back of my finger nail on the board to check its scratch resistance, well it left a permanent mark that was akin to chalk on a chalk board, big and obvious. Clearly not scratch resistant enough to be in a kitchen on cabinet doors. There goes the claim about "dries to a hard, durable finish" Okay, giving up on that, went back to HD to get some outdoor paint. In talking with the sales rep, he told me a few days prior he had a customer come in and complain that the doors had bonded to the cabinet frames as the paint finished curing. Doesn't sound like the "Doors won't stick after 2 hours" claim is accurate either! All in all, I would say this paint has failed to meet every one of its claims on the label. I went with the Marquee outdoor paint, and first coat already turned out perfectly. Save yourself the headache and just get a good paint to start with!
                                  by
                                  Response from BehrAug 12, 2020
                                  Hi dan - Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about the issues you ran into with our Cabinet & Trim Enamel! It sounds like you've already reached out to our Customer Care team directly regarding your project. If you need further assistance, please feel free to contact us again. We'd be happy to help. - Sara Behr
                                    10 found this review helpful
                                    Great for cabinets
                                    Painted our cabinets about one month ago and paint is holding up very well. So far no chips. I will say the paint is fairly thin and we did have issues with the paint running when painting the frames of the cabinets. Would recommend hand painting the inner frames where the doors go and using a spray gun only on the outsides and the doors. Otherwise, dries quick and minimal smell.
                                    by
                                      • Recommended
                                      3 found this review helpful
                                      Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
                                      Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                                      by
                                      • Verified Purchase
                                      Great Product
                                      Cabinets were chipping and peeling. Cut and sanded then rolled on the enamel. Covered the old chipped area really nicely. Purchased a quart and didn't use a fourth of the can. A little goes a long way!
                                      by
                                        • Recommended
                                        1 found this review helpful
                                        This color is absolutely gorgeous it’s even better than expected! Covered nicely in just two coat...
                                        This color is absolutely gorgeous it’s even better than expected! Covered nicely in just two coats with a great finish. Got the same paint in but of sugar and it took 5 coats to completely cover and now I need to buy more to finish my upper cabinets. Not completely done yet as this is a huge job but almost!
                                        by
                                        • Verified Purchase
                                        • Recommended
                                        1 found this review helpful
                                        Showing 1-30 of 2,471 reviews

                                        Frequently Bought Together

                                        +
                                        +
                                        Price:
                                        $52.98