Best results require proper cleaning and preparation of surfaces
out of 86 reviews
79% recommend this product
Showing 1-10 of 86 reviews
May 30, 2020
I LOVE this product! I saw the mixed reviews and took a chance on it...I was not disappointed! My...
I LOVE this product! I saw the mixed reviews and took a chance on it...I was not disappointed! My deck boards were super old and splintering, but this paint restored them and gave me at least another year or two before I need to replace them!
I used this product on concrete and was pleased with the results. Color and coverage was good. ...
I used this product on concrete and was pleased with the results. Color and coverage was good. I think most of the bad reviews may be due to lack of surface preparation.
I pressure washed the heck out if it and scrubbed it with an etching cleaner before applying.
I don't recommend their roller as the finish was way too textured and spiky. I switched out to a 1/2" nap after only a few passes. Still ended up with a mild textured finish that was perfect.
Recommend stirring before re-filling the roller tray as the grit seemed to fall back to the bottom of the can quickly. Two coats is recommended for sure.
If your taping off areas, I would pull the tape while the product is wet and re-tape before applying the second coat. I didn't and had to use a razor blade and cut the product as I pulled the tape in order to keep it from peeling the product away from the surface.
So far it has been two months and all seems well.
This product was WAY to thick to spread. My wife started and complained that it was very thick and difficult to spread. Instead of believing her, I told her that it is supposed to be a little thicker than paint. However, after she had painted nearly all the rails and spindles, I helped her and realized that we never should have used the product. It was the consistency of drywall mud. It wouldn't pick up on a 3/8" nap paint roller, and when it did, it wouldn't apply to the surface. A paint brush was manageable for about 5 minutes until the product filled the brush so much that the brush wouldn't apply product any longer. I returned to the store to ask if this was normal. They said yes. We opened a new can to see if it was the same consistency as the can I bought. The new can was much thinner, similar to paint. The store said that when this product is tinted, it can thicken like mine did, but it should still apply OK. They sold me one of the Behr mesh roller covers that is specialized for this project. The roller worked only marginally better then regular rollers. The best way to apply was use this roller (which makes the surface look like a very thick stamped ceiling), and then smooth it out with a brush. When the mesh roller cover didn't work, we quit using the product. However, we had to spend an entire Saturday sanding down all the spindles and railings that we had already "painted". We are going to use standard exterior paint on the rails and spindles. We are now farther behind on this project than when we started and wasted nearly $100 on this product, just to spend more time removing it.
Again, Home Depot mentioned that adding tint to this product can cause it to thicken. But mine changed from thick paint to drywall mud. I would NOT recommend adding tint, but if you do, check the consistency before you leave the store.
Response from Joanna, Behr Customer CareApr 25, 2021
Hi tmk1, thanks for sharing your feedback. We're sorry to hear the Advanced DeckOver you used seemed too thick and was hard to apply and remove; that's not the performance we expect from our products.
Our DeckOver coating is thicker than our other wood/concrete coatings, as it provides a textured slip-resistant finish. However, it should be spreadable. To ensure proper consistency during your application, we recommend stirring the coating for 3-5 minutes before using it, and intermittently during your application.
Customer satisfaction is important to us. So, we've reached out to you directly to assist you further. Have a great rest of your weekend.
Customer review from behr.com
Apr 12, 2021
Bought 6 gallons of this product, plenty for our deck. Cleaned & Prepped area prior to applying. It’s been barely 3 weeks and it’s coming off. Not only was this expensive but the color did NOT match the product label. Cape Cod Gray looks like white. Awful product, I’m so disappointed after all the money we spent not to mention the work involved that this looks like this. NEVER, again!
Response from Sara, Behr Customer CareApr 14, 2021
Hi Avery- Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that the color didn't turn out as expected and the finish is coming off after only 3 weeks! I've reached out to you via email to learn more about your project and help you get your deck back on track. Thank you again for taking the time to submit a review, and I hope to hear back from you. - Sara
Customer review from behr.com
Apr 1, 2021
Overall Great Deck Finish
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This was my 2nd time using this product over a 5 year old treatd wood deck. First time was likely too early on deck wood life. This time, after preparing the surface and primer, looks like it will be the charm. The 2nd time has only been down 6 months.
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I am 74 Yrs. old and for all interior painting and outdoor staining projects I have always
used Behr products. In this case I have $90.00 worth of stain that is so thick It can not be applied and will not soak into properly prepared wooden deck stairs and floorboards, and an unfinished project.
by Jimbo 3147
Response from Joanna, Behr Customer CareApr 4, 2021
Hi Jimbo 3147, thanks for sharing your feedback. We're sorry to hear our Advanced DeckOver coating was thicker than expected.
To ensure proper consistency, we recommend stirring your coating for 3-5 minutes before using it, and intermittently during your application. Keep in mind our DeckOver coating is thicker than other wood coatings, as it's meant to provide a textured slip-resistant finish.
Customer satisfaction is important to us. So, we've reached out to you directly to assist you further. We hope you have a great rest of your weekend.
Customer review from behr.com
Mar 31, 2021
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Worked great! And looks great 1 year later. I wish the instructions recommended using the non-textured product for the first coat. The texture does limit coverage and if you’re not careful you can miss spots “below” the texture. a starter coat could prevent any misses. And adding the texture for the second coat would still look awesome.
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We retired in Oregon where the weather exacts a heavy toll on unprotected exterior wood railings. We purchased Deckover after extensive preparation on our railings. I tried several different application methods. The coverage and wood adherence was excellent. I followed the directions for application and after almost two years, the railings look as good as when the Deckover was first applied. I was skeptical of the 25 year coating life, but in spite of over sixty inches of rain a year, I believe that Deckover was the best choice I could have made. Instead of an eyesore, our railings are a real asset to the exterior of our home.
Deck was painted 2 months ago. It is a mess because foot prints, dog prints, dirt, you name it, all stick to it. The deck was previously painted with the older formulation.
by Ralph 1
Response from Sara, Behr Customer CareFeb 9, 2021
Hi there - Thank you for reviewing our Advanced DeckOver Textured. I'm so sorry to hear about the foot and paw prints on your deck, and how dirt and debris are sticking to the surface. Because of the non-skid texture, this coating may hold on to dirt and debris more than a regular smooth deck stain or paint. However, the surface can be easily cleaned with soap and water or our wood cleaner. I've also reached out to you via email to make sure your project is taken care of. Thanks again for taking the time to submit a review, and I hope to hear back from you. - Sara