No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (11)
  • This worked great for a 16x14 deck I used almost 3 gallons. I had my deck power washed before and...
  • June 20, 2017
  • Recommended Product

This worked great for a 16x14 deck I used almost 3 gallons. I had my deck power washed before and applied it 2 weeks later. If anyone is wondering. I put it on in 87 degree temps and it rained 5 hours later and it didn't ruin it. The water started beading when it rained. It's easy to apply and the color is great. I would use this again. I took me and my mom about 7 hours total. We had to stop on the first day because we ran out of this. I'm so glad I didn't pay someone $2000 to do this for me. It looks good for an amateur. There's a couple of spots that are bad, because the coat overlapped. But all in all I'm happy. Just do one coat. That's all you need.

Video & Photo

KayW

22 out of 22 people found this helpful
more details...
By: KayW
  • Gorgeous Color! ♥
  • April 14, 2014
  • Recommended Product

I really like the color, tone, & texture of this stain. It's super easy to apply (the second coat is a breeze). I would recommend this to anyone looking for a lovely transparent stain. I used this on my 6 year-old deck a few days after using BEHR Premium All In One Wood Cleaner. The result was a gorgeous, even cedar tone stain that made the deck look vibrant and new. I applied the second coat a day after applying the first coat - something came up and I couldn't finish the entire job in one day. I was afraid this would affect the results in a negative way. Luckily, everything turned out beautifully and I am really in love with my deck. I can't comment on longevity since the results are only 2 days old, but I love the ease of application and the gorgeous color. Ohh and clean-up is a snap -- it washes off with soap & water!

Pros Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly

Video & Photo

  • DIY

Atlanta, GA
25 to 34, Female
16 out of 16 people found this helpful
more details...
  • Not as described
  • May 12, 2015

My cedar deck was in need of a refresh. I had originally used Defy cedar color transparent stain which left a beautiful color and finish however it didn't last very long under Georgia heat. I had read a review that the Behr product was rated higher than the Defy and would last longer. I used the Behr premium semi transparent cedar product. I had it professionally applied with two coats strictly following the application directions. The color is very orange and is much more opaque than semi transparent. It looks like a painted deck rather than a stain. It also still has a sticky feel when walking on it even though it was applied over two months ago. I hope it will last a few years but time will tell. I also used the Behr preparation products to strip the old stain and then clean the deck prior to staining. I am not totally displeased but may change my mind if it holds up to the test of time.

Pros Easy to Clean Cons uneven coverage, more opaque than described

Video & Photo

  • DIY

Alice

Atlanta GA
65 or over, Female
14 out of 14 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Alice
  • Don't waste your time or money
  • June 12, 2013

I had the same thing happen to me.I spent a lot of money and a lot of time applying the stain only for it to peel off not even a year later.VERY DISAPPOINTED!

Cons Scratches Easily

kmn1995

12 out of 12 people found this helpful
more details...
By: kmn1995
  • It is the best EVER!
  • July 23, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

We have tried at least 4 different products on our deck until we found this. Its consistency is a little odd, but it goes on like a dream and produces a hard, good looking finish, which so far seems extremely durable under our harsh conditions...Wyoming, blazing heat in the summer and snow & ice all winter. It is the best EVER!

Pros Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly, fabulous color
  • Pro

WyomingNative

Meeteetse, WY 82433, USA
65 or over, Male
11 out of 11 people found this helpful
more details...
By: WyomingNative
  • Great Product, really lasts.
  • May 01, 2012
  • Recommended Product

We applied this on the backside (southwesterly exterior wall) of our cedar bat and board sided house back in spring 2009. Our cedar had been painted once so we used a pressure washer to strip the paint and then after it dried for a day we applied one coat of the BEHR #501 with 4" brushes. The next day we went to look at it and it appeared wet, but upon inspection, that is just how it looks. After 4 years, it still looks the same wet look as it did that first day after, with no graying or other fade as far as I can tell. We have since applied it to our 1405 sq ft home, and it took less than 5 gallons.I highly recommend this product, and all our guests who see it say the same thing- "Is that stain still wet?". Great product, great coverage, be careful not to overlap when you take a break and start back, a second coat makes it noticeably darker. Highly recommend that you pressure wash away any graying of your wood before applying, if you don't, it will be very dark. Fresh wood turns a beautiful reddish-gold color when this cedar naturaltone #501 is applied.

  • DIY

HotNess

Southeast Texas
35 to 44, Male
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: HotNess
  • Excellent product!
  • August 09, 2015
  • Recommended Product

This product was very easy to work with. The transparent color provides a rich, dark finish while preserving the natural grain and fibers of the wood. I purchased the product during a $10 rebate promotion. It took less than three weeks to receive the rebate!

Pros Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly

Video & Photo

  • DIY

retro

Springfield, MA
25 to 34, Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: retro
  • AWESOME Product / buy!
  • July 02, 2014
  • Recommended Product

From Meh! to ahh! An entrance appeal DIY front entry deck project for the wife. Deck is approximate 400 sqft made out of PT wood and finished with BEHR® “Cedar Natural-tone” Semi-Transparent Waterproofing Wood Stain. Not completely finished, some finishing touches to do like the bottom stairs riser and side decking covering. This product made the deck come to life with its easy application and dry time was amazing!

Pros Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly

Video & Photo

  • DIY

hrodrig3

Ft. Lauderdale
35 to 44, Male
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: hrodrig3
  • Great stuff!
  • July 17, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I'm very pleased with the results. It's a little more of a reddish hue than I expected but it still looks nice and hides the wear and tear of older wood well. In fact, I can get by with one coat although it recommends two.

Pros Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage
  • DIY

BZ

Louisville, KY, USA
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: BZ
  • I love BEHR stains and paint.
  • May 25, 2015
  • Recommended Product

This was easy to mix and apply. Deck looks great. We will see if it looks this good after 4 years (warranty period). I was able to use a deck sprayer to apply on the rails. And I used the Renuvo deck staining tool for the floor. Worked out great. It stained a lot darker than the picture on the can showed. but still looks good.

Video & Photo

  • DIY

brandlic

5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: brandlic