#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for BEHR Premium DeckOver 1 gal. #SC-105 Padre Brown Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating

Internet #204226880

Model #500001

Store SKU #1000060373

  • Rejuvenates properly prepared old, dull wood and concrete
  • Solid color creates a natural, smooth, slip-resistant finish
  • Easily applied using brushes, rollers, or sprayers after prepping

Customer Reviews

  • 3.3
    out of 775 reviews
  • 59% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 775 reviews
Awful
Did not last a year!!! The product just peels off. It was the worst, I am just at a loss for words. Basically I have to put all new deck boards on my deck now. Not even worth 1 star.
by Awful
Response from Joanna, Behr Customer CareJul 16, 2019
Hello Awful, thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you ran into an issue with your coating; that's not the experience we want our customers to have with our products. Customer satisfaction is important to us. So, I've reached out to you directly to assist you further. Have a wonderful day! -Joanna
    Terrible!
    We purchased this product a year ago and we were very happy with it at first. However after a year of having this on our deck it looks terrible. It was chipped off and worn off in several places and it did not hold up at all. I do not recommend this product. We are now looking into stripping our deck and staining it with a regular deck stain. It’s not worth the money to purchase the product especially now that we are having to spend more so close in time.
    by MPHall
    Response from Edith, Behr Customer CareJul 16, 2019
    Hi MPHall,

    Thank you for your review, and I am sorry to hear the coating has chipped and worn off in the majority of the surface. I can assure you this isn't how we expect our product to perform, and I'll be sending you an email to look into helping you with this. Please keep an eye out for it, as it tends to go to your junk inbox. -Edith
      Poor quality
      Peeled off after 6 months which included 1 MN winter.
      by Snowflake
        Appears to work as advertise.
        [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I bought this product 2 months ago. Applied as per the instructions. We have had a very wet spring and early summer and all is well so far.
        by Happy with product
          • Recommended Product
          Great if you like painting with putty
          Product was so thick - like soft serve ice cream. Very hard to apply and covered less than half of what was stated.
          by KristinKW
          Response from Edith, Behr Customer CareJun 12, 2019
          Hi KristinKW,

          I am sorry to hear the coating was thick like ice cream. Although the coating is thicker than most paints, it should be easy to use. I can assure you this isn't normal. If stirring didn't help with the consistency, we then no longer would recommend continuing using it. We would like to get the batch info to report to our Quality team, and also turn this experience around for you. I will be sending you a separate email. Keep an eye out for it, as it tends to go to your junk inbox. -Edith
            Deck over
            [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I bought this to cover my deck. It's awful..it filled in no cracks like it claims even when we did it like the directions say. I look out at my deck and one coat is what we did and have nowhere enough for a second one. This stuff is just terrible
            by Debie
            Response from Jeanettza, Behr Customer CareJun 2, 2019
            Thanks for taking the time to review DeckOver, and sorry to hear it’s not filling up the cracks as you expected. Before applying the second coat, the cracks should be filled with DeckOver using a brush. However, if the cracks are bigger than ¼” then they should be filled with a wood/concrete filler.
            Additionally, DeckOver is a very thick product that is made to be applied at low spread rate (i.e. one gallon will only cover 75 square feet for two coats).

            I’ll be sending you an email to follow up and to see how I can best help get your project back on track. Best, Jeanette P.
              Deckover has lasted 6 years with no work
              No work on it after initial installation on the rental's deck in 2013; only cleaning it with soap and water after the 6th year to get the rental ready to sale (2019). The deck that I applied Deckover over, had separation of fibers, and did not look in good shape. I applied it during dry, hot weather in our area (unusual in NE Ohio), and I prepped it per the instructions ( a lot of work), being sure to allow it to dry thoroughly before applying two coats. I also only used a brush; it seemed to cover better that way, and fill in the nail holes and splits in the boards, first going across the board to load the split sections, and then going length wise down the board. It took a little more product then I would have liked, but it was for a rental, and I didn't want to be bothered by it a couple of years later. I forgot about the condition of the deck until today, when I started to sell it. Only soap and water needed to clean it up to where it looks pretty much like new. I think that weather conditions and preparation are the key to success with this product.
              by GeorgeS
                • Recommended Product
                Peeling
                [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I purchased the deck paint 2 years ago. Followed the instructions, even bought a power washer to make sure I cleaned properly (and other projects). Two years later most of wood on the deck is bubbling and peeling. Warranty lasts 1 year which is not enough time to see any visible issues with the wood. Should have a multi year warranty. I am now going to have to replace half of my deck boards. I should have caught sooner, but I just didn't notice how big of a problem this was until the weather began to be warmer and we spent more time on the deck.
                by Acey
                Response from Joanna, Behr Customer CareJun 1, 2019
                Hello Acey, thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear your coating bubbled and peeled. Customer satisfaction is very important to us, so I've reached out to you directly to assist you further. Have a great day! -Joanna
                  Damaged my porch!!
                  [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This product seemed like the perfect solution to keeping my porch looking great for years to come; instead it looked great for a few days then caused my porch to bow as it fully dried. Within 6 months the paint was already starting to peel and in some areas is completely gone. We followed every direction for prepping the porch and bought the recommended supplies for applying, spent more money on this product thinking it should last the amount of time it claims, but it did not last a year!!
                  by Mommabearof3
                  Response from Roxana, Behr Customer CareMay 28, 2019
                  Hello there,

                  Thanks for taking the time to review our Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating. I’m sorry to hear it didn’t meet your expectations. I know how frustrating that experience can be and I assure you it’s not the one we want our customers to have. I’ve sent you a direct email with more details, and I hope to hear from you soon.

                  Warm Regards,

                  Roxana N.
                  WebCare
                  Behr
                    Product will not last-Peeled up after one year.
                    Used this product on my deck last year. Followed the instructions. It has peeled up in many places this year. Will have to redo my deck this year. Not a good product for lasting
                    by Kami
                    Response from Sara, Behr Customer CareMay 16, 2019
                    Hi Kami - Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about the peeling on your deck after only a year! I've reached out to you via email to see what we can do to help you get your project back on track. Thank you again for taking the time to submit a review, and I hope to hear back from you soon! - Sara
                      Looks Fantastic!
                      [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Purchased a few days ago. Glad I read the "tips" on the website. If your deck had as many cracks as mine, you are in for a day a job (depending on your sun). That is the most time consuming. Recommend painting early in the morning or in the afternoon once you feel the temperature drop. Once your roller gets all coated up with paint, it goes fast. Second coat in approx 1 hour. It looks great. (tip - be sure to store your roller in a sealed baggie between coats)
                      by Jacquoleen
                        • Recommended Product
                        Beautiful
                        [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Works great on my 20 year old deck. Sanded and cleaned, goes on thick as I think it is supposed to. Just takes a little effort. The bad review people need to toughen up a little.
                        by Novice
                          • Recommended Product
                          Wish I had never used Behr Deck Iver
                          I followed every step of the manufactures directions when applying Behr Deck Over. Prep (used the Behr cleaner as stated in the can of Deck Over), dry boards, 72 degrees, 39% humidity, no sun, let dry for 72 hours. The Deck Over peeled off in sheets less than one year later. This was an expensive, back breaking, tedious job. I applied the Deck Over to an outside deck and railings. The railings peeled as bad as the floor boards on the deck. I would not recommend this product and if there was less than one star I would have used it, one star was too much for this product.
                          by Adam59
                          Response from Doris, Behr Customer CareApr 24, 2019
                          Hi Jack,

                          Thank you for reviewing DeckOver. I’m terribly sorry to hear that you’re having a peeling issue. This is never the performance we expect from our products, and I completely understand how disappointed you must be. I want to look further into this matter and find the best way to help. I emailed you directly and look forward to hearing back from you!

                          Kindest regards,

                          Doris
                          Web Care
                            Terrible Product
                            [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Purchased this product for our front deck (full sun exposure). We took great time preparing the deck exactly per directions. We cleaned, scrubbed, sanded some, cleaned some more, removed all debris, etc. In the spring, we applied 2 coats of Deckover and enjoyed the fruits of our labor for less than one summer season. It quickly stained in high traffic walk patterns (something I could deal with). It began bubbling away from the wood by the end of the summer and peeling soon after that. Now, two summers gone, it is a nasty looking mess that traps water under the peeling layers of Deckover. My deck is denigrating faster because of the product meant to help it. I am looking for guidance on how to remove this awful stuff from my deck so I can seal it with something less damaging. It is so bad that pulling off only the peeling areas and redoing will not be a functional repair. Plus I have ZERO faith in this product to want to put it back down. Help please.
                            by JCPeach
                            Response from Doris, Behr Customer CareApr 23, 2019
                            Hi there,

                            Thank you for reviewing Behr DeckOver. I’m terribly sorry to hear about the experience you’ve had. This is never the performance we expect from our products, and I completely understand how disappointed you must be. I want you to know that I’ll do my best to help.

                            DeckOver can be removed with a floor sander or power washer at a low setting. After removing DeckOver, any severely damaged wood boards should be removed before the surface is cleaned and recoated.

                            I want to find the best way to assist you and have emailed you directly.

                            I look forward to hearing back from you!

                            Kindest regards,

                            Doris
                            Web Care
                              Poor Performance!
                              I bought this product last year 4/18 to redo my deck. I had a professional prep the deck and paint it. Was fine until winter, then I started noticing it wearing off in front of the door. Then when the snow cleared and we started cleaning the deck, the paint is peeling in HUGE chunks. Really dissatisfied that I have to redo my deck this spring :(
                              by Kcasidas
                              Response from Vince, Behr Customer CareApr 22, 2019
                              Hi Kevin,
                              Thanks for allowing us to reach out to you. I’m sorry to hear about the peeling you’re experiencing with our DeckOver product. That is not how the product is meant to perform, and I will be reaching out to you in a separate e-mail to discuss your project. Have a good rest of your day, and thanks again for your feedback – Vince
                                Very poor
                                I bought this last summer and applied as instructed to my deck. This Spring it was peeling And had not adhered to the wood. I used a leaf blower to clean debris from my deck that accumulated from the winter and the “ Deck Over” peeled off even more.
                                by Steve011
                                Response from Edith, Behr Customer CareApr 18, 2019
                                Hi there,

                                Thank you for your review, and I am sorry to hear you're having a peeling issue in such a short amount of time. To look into helping you with this, I will be sending you a separate email. Please keep an eye out for it, as it tends to go to your junk inbox. -Edith
                                  Very dissatisfied with product.
                                  [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Bought this product as recommended by Home Depot paint department. Waited til the weather looked good, prepared deck as instructed and applied Deckover. Looked great first year. Second year, noticed some blistering, my wife redid deck. Now it's the second year and it looks terrible. Where the Deckover has bubbled and peeled, more moisture has got by the wood and now the Deckover can be peeled off in large pieces. We were told this would be a great product and cover our deck for many years. We are very upset and dissatisfied with this product. The deck boards were 3 years old when Deckover applied.
                                  by Oly1
                                  Response from Edith, Behr Customer CareApr 18, 2019
                                  Hi there,

                                  Thank you for your review, and I am sorry to hear you're having a peeling issue within two years of applying the product. To look into helping you with this, I will be sending you a separate email. Please keep an eye out for it, as it tends to go to your junk inbox. -Edith
                                    Does not hold up to its claim!
                                    So disappointed. We prepped our deck, sanded to bare wood, etc...3 years later the deck looks awful. We have a huge deck and bought 13 gallons of this stuff...said it had a 10 year guarantee. Peeling and cracking on all flat surfaces. The railing (vertical surfaces) have held up great, but anything that has been walked on looks awful. So disappointing and now we have to figure out how to get all this off and start all over with something else.
                                    by Ader
                                    Response from Sara, Behr Customer CareApr 18, 2019
                                    Hi Ader - thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I'm sorry to hear about the peeling and cracking on your deck floor! I've reached out to you via a private email to see what we can do to assist you with your project. Hope to hear from you soon! - Sara
                                      Outstanding product
                                      [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I bought this awhile ago and I had an outstanding luck with it . It looked amazing when I completed it on the deck and not only is the quality of the product was awesome but putting it on was very simple fast was very impressed. Thank you BEHR for offering an outstanding product .
                                      by Dee Pack
                                        • Recommended Product
                                        Looked great for a couple of months
                                        [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Went on easy. I killed my grass by washing my roller in the lawn. This stuff peels and now looks horrible after just the winter time. Now I'm told to not put anything over it and to put down new decking. I was told it was way better tha. The rustoleum. Uhg. Thanks Behr. And it wont let me post a pic.
                                        by Kone1
                                        Response from Joanna, Behr Customer CareApr 15, 2019
                                        Hello Kone1, thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear your coating is peeling so soon. Customer satisfaction is very important to us. So, I've reached out to you directly to assist you further. Have a marvelous Monday! -Joanna
                                          Deck Over, Don't buy
                                          [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] My 80 year old husband sanded , on his knees, our 13 x 18 deck down to bare wood as per directions. Also applied Deck Over as directed and it looked good for 1 year...then got so dirty that we could not wash it off. At 2 yrs the deck started peeling and is very stained. Now at 3 yrs, it is a dirty peeling mess. At our old age we thought the hard work put into this deck would last enough years for our use. WRONG! We are too old to do this again and it is too expensive to hire it out. I read reviews but we thought perhaps correct prep wasn't used and we already bought 5 gal and another gal extra. Money sure wasted but more than that the hard work involved. We have pics showing the prep work and the first glowing year. We are not computer literate so cannot include pics at this time but if need, please advise and we will get them to the proper people.
                                          by kutzeh
                                          Response from Takhari, Behr Customer CareApr 15, 2019
                                          Hello,

                                          Thanks for taking the time to review the DeckOver. I'm very sorry to hear that it peeled and you had trouble cleaning it. I can assure you that this isn't the kind of experience that we want our customers to have. I'd like to find out a few more details about your project so I can help. I'll be sending a follow-up email, so please be on the lookout for that.

                                          Best regards,

                                          Takhari
                                            Expensive and not worth the money
                                            I put 2 coats of my large deck, The paint peeled and now requires a large expenditure to correct it. Also found the paint very hot to walk on.
                                            by fall
                                            Response from Joanna, Behr Customer CareApr 12, 2019
                                            Hello fall, thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear your coating is peeling & it seems to hot to walk on at times. Customer satisfaction is very important to us. So, I've reached out to you directly to assist you further. Have a fantastic Friday! -Joanna
                                              Poor quality and product
                                              I have used Behr products in every room of my house...love them but this product is complete trash...after one summer it has peeled and looks terrible...I bought all the products to prep and apply and still peeled right up after one summer...it’s a huge waste of money and lots of it at that...tried to add photos but wouldn’t let me for some reason
                                              by Matt R
                                              Response from Vince, Behr Customer CareApr 10, 2019
                                              Hi Matt,
                                              Thanks for taking the time to review our product! I’m sorry to hear about the peeling you experienced with our DeckOver product. That is not how the product is meant to perform, and I would like to help get your project back on track. I will be reaching out to you in a separate e-mail to discuss your project. Have a good rest of your day, and thanks again for your feedback – Vince
                                                Don’t waste your money
                                                I followed the instructions exactly and even used the brand prep/cleaner. One year later it was peeling up in large sections. The funny part is that it adhered to new wood much better than older wood which is the intended application. As it peels up it actually traps water under it which is much worse than no treatment at all.
                                                by Dunky
                                                Response from Doris, Behr Customer CareApr 8, 2019
                                                Hi there,

                                                Thank you for sharing your experience with DeckOver. I’m terribly sorry to hear that its performance isn’t up to par. This is never the type of situation we want for our customers and I want to look further into this matter and find the best way to assist you.

                                                If the peeling is isolated, it’d be best to remove the loose coating before cleaning and touching up. If any of the boards are in poor condition, they should also be replaced before touching up/recoating.

                                                I emailed you directly and look forward to hearing back from you!

                                                Kindest regards,

                                                Doris
                                                Web Care
                                                BEHR
                                                  Bad Product -- Do Not Buy
                                                  This product is not durable or long-lasting. Within months, it will begin to flake, peel, bubble, and separate from your deck. After one winter, if not sooner, you will be regretting your purchase. It does not matter if it is a high traffic area or not. Even areas with little to no traffic will see extensive flaking and bubbling. It also does not matter how much time you spend preparing the deck for application. Even after using Behr's All-In-One Wood Cleaner, scrubbing with a stiff broom, power washing, etc. we are seeing these terrible results. This product was a complete waste of time and money.
                                                  by abc12
                                                  Response from Joanna, Behr Customer CareApr 8, 2019
                                                  Hello Doug24, thank you for your feedback. Sorry to hear your DeckOver coating didn't perform as you expected it to. Customer satisfaction is very important to us. So, we've reached out to you directly to assist you further. Have a marvelous Monday! -Joanna
                                                    Bubbled and peeled
                                                    Bubbled first time it rained and started peeling shortly after... Followed directions completely terrible experience
                                                    by Mark133
                                                    Response from Joanna, Behr Customer CareApr 6, 2019
                                                    Hello Mark133, we appreciate your feedback. We're sorry to hear your DeckOver coating bubbled and peeled after it rained; that's not the experience we want our customers to have with our products. Customer satisfaction is very important to us. So, I've reached out to you directly to assist you further. Have a great Saturday! -Joanna
                                                      Completely disappointed
                                                      [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I followed the preparation instructions and then painted my deck with the deckover less than a year ago. It's already peeling and flaking everywhere. I wasted so much time and effort and money trying to get my deck to look good and now it's all for nothing. I definitely would not purchase again.
                                                      by RDB000
                                                      Response from Sara, Behr Customer CareApr 9, 2019
                                                      Hi RDB000 – Thank you for reviewing our wood coating. I’m sorry to hear about the peeling and flaking on your deck, especially after less than a year! I’ve reached out to you via a private email to see what we can do to help. Hope to hear from you soon! - Sara
                                                        DeckOver Paint
                                                        Bought this Product from Home Depot August of 2018. Tre did our back deck and front porch. Back deck was new wood and we did prepare it prior to painting it with. The front porch was not new wood. As you can see from the pictures the back deck is awful and the front porch isn’t!
                                                        by Jill33
                                                        Response from Doris, Behr Customer CareApr 8, 2019
                                                        Hi Jill33,

                                                        Thank you for sharing your experience with DeckOver. I’m terribly sorry to hear that its performance isn’t up to par. This is never the type of situation we want for our customers and I want to look further into this matter and find the best way to assist you.

                                                        I emailed you directly and look forward to hearing back from you!

                                                        Kindest regards,

                                                        Doris
                                                        Web Care
                                                        BEHR
                                                          I wish I could put zero stars
                                                          I have a very large deck, put the deckOver over beautiful new boards, and within two years boards were rotted, the railings were rotted, bought 10 gallons of this paint.. Currently spent 2 weeks trying to strip the paint from the boards.. this paint is coming up in sheets in certain spots. Customers beware!! Do not put this on your deck it’ll ruin it within a year!!
                                                          by Debbiem
                                                          Response from Sara, Behr Customer CareApr 9, 2019
                                                          Hi Debbiem – Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that the wood boards rotted within 2 years! I’ve reached out to you via a private email to see what we can do to help. Thank you again for taking the time to submit a review. Hope to hear from you soon! - Sara
                                                            ruined my deck
                                                            I bought this about 10 months ago and let's just say I would never use it again. My deck is beginning to peel and now I am going to have to redo the entire front and back deck. Just a waste of money and alot of time!!!
                                                            by catpch
                                                            Response from Joanna, Behr Customer CareApr 6, 2019
                                                            Thank your for your feeback. We're sorry to hear your DeckOver coating has begun peeling; that's not the experience we want our customers to have with our products. Customer satisfaction is important to us. So, we've reached out to you directly to assist you further. Have a great Saturday! -Joanna
                                                              Showing 1-30 of 775 reviews