#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for BEHR Premium DeckOver 1 gal. #SC-105 Padre Brown Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating

Internet #204226880

Model #500001

Store SKU #1000060373

  • Rejuvenates properly prepared old, dull wood and concrete
  • Solid color creates a natural, smooth, slip-resistant finish
  • Easily applied using brushes, rollers, or sprayers after prepping

Customer Reviews

  • 3.3
    out of 774 reviews
  • 58% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 774 reviews
Great coverage
I used Deckover on my pool deck and I love it!! Filled in all the cracks in the wood and prevented splinters on bare feet all summer!! It goes on very thick which I didn’t realize until I poured it into my paint tray, but then I saw the wonderful results once it was applied! I love this product and will definitely use it again!!
by Gehmans
    • Recommended Product
    Great finished product
    I bought middle of summer off a recommendation from my contractor.
    by Stanz614
      • Recommended Product
      nice coverage
      This paint is wonderful, great coverage and worth every penny!
      by Hope33
        • Recommended Product
        Deck looks great and is protected as well!
        We used the Deckover on our deck attached to our pool and it turned out very nice and put a layer of protection as well. We then decided to use it on our older deck attached to the house and it totally transformed it. Looks new & fabulous again!!
        by KrisV
          • Recommended Product
          Does what it says. Stays put very well as long as you follow the instructions. Very happy that it...
          Does what it says. Stays put very well as long as you follow the instructions. Very happy that it's acrylic paint because acrylic paints always look rich and vibrant for many years and last a very long time.
          by Cheapo
            • Recommended Product
            Only 1 year warranty ???
            I've used Behr products exclusively for the last 20 years, never had any problems until this year, had done 4-5 decks with Deckover, no problems,no complaints, my deck was weathered pretty bad so I decided to use the Deckover on it so I would have lets say a test project at my residence to monitor it's durability. Pressure washed first, then used Behr deck cleaner, filled all holes & cracks with filler, then applied Deckover , now 15 months later it needs to be completely stripped because the Deckover is peeling off in large pieces like it never adhered to deckink. This was no small project, used 15 gallon of Deckover ..
            by Rogcat
              Waste of time and money
              I was very thorough with reading the directions on how to prep and use deckover paint. I cleaned my deck properly, put one coat on waited 24 hours, put another coat on and then it rained 30 hours later (paint says it only needs 24 hours to dry) and the paint was DESTROYED. It has bubbles everywhere. Now I have to scrape it all off and start all over. I will not recommend this product
              by foleykel33
              Response from Sara, Behr Customer CareSep 27, 2018
              Hi foleykel33 - Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I'm sorry to hear about the bubbles on your deck! I know how upsetting it is when you run into an issue like this after the time and effort you put into your project. I've reached out to you via a private email to learn more about your project and to make sure it's taken care of. I hope to hear from you soon! - Sara
                Deck Over
                [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I followed all the procedures and installed 3 years ago. Last year cracks and open spaces started appearing. When I flow leaves off the deck, pieces of DeckOver came off. I tried washing and some more came off. Home Depot told me to use Wood stain & finish stripper and then All-In-One Cleaner. The Wood Stain and Finish Stripper did not removal move than ~1/4. We can scrape some off. I can send you pictures. How do we get our deck back? Some have told me to replace with composite boards but that takes a lot of $$.
                by TheresaJW
                Response from Edith, Behr Customer CareSep 4, 2018
                Hi TheresaJW,

                Thank you for your review, and I am sorry to hear about the cracks and that the product is coming off easily. To looking into helping you with this, I’ll be sending you a separate email. Please keep an eye out for it, as it tends to go to your junk inbox. - Edith
                  Didn't Last on our Deck
                  [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Deck was bleached and pressure washed prior to application. Deckover looked goo for 1st year but began coming off in 2nd. Now 4 years in only have paint left in spots and that is peeling off.
                  by Rivahmitch
                  Response from Edith, Behr Customer CareSep 1, 2018
                  Hi there,

                  I am sorry to hear the product didn't last more than 2 years. I can assure you this isn't normal, and I'll be sending you a separate email to address the issue. Please keep an eye out for it, as it tends to go to your junk inbox. -Edith
                    Disappointed even before 1 year
                    I hired professionals to apply this product to my deck. All recommendations were followed prior to application. After less than a year, my deck has already started to crack and peel. I’m not sure what to do.
                    by Abc123
                    Response from Doris, Behr Customer CareAug 18, 2018
                    Hi there,

                    Thank you for your review. I’m very sorry to hear about the peeling issue you experienced with DeckOver; especially after such a short amount of time. It’s not the performance we come to expect from our products. I recommend sanding off the loose coating before cleaning and touching up. I’ve emailed you directly to see what Behr can do to help, and look forward to hearing back from you.

                    Kindest regards,

                    Doris
                    Web Care
                    BEHR
                      Verry poor results
                      This is possible the worst product to use on deck. Fitst application was a failure. Then behr sent more to try again and that also was a BIG failure. Stay away from this product.
                      by Disappointedx2
                      Response from Doris, Behr Customer CareAug 3, 2018
                      Hi Kenneth,

                      Thank you for your review. I’m terribly sorry to hear that you experienced and issue with DeckOver against; as we expect much better performance from our products. I’ve emailed you directly with some helpful information. Please feel free to reach out anytime!

                      Kindest regards,

                      Doris
                      Web Care
                        Does not work on Plywood Decks at cold climates.
                        [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Very disappointed as I was very meticulous to follow exact instructions for prep and application on my new plywood balcony. I have read the reviews as to the cracking problems and thought they tried to short cut the process but in the first year, hairlines showed and the second year I too am having massive cracking of the product throughout my balcony. I live in Saskatchewan where we can see a 40 degree temperature swing in 24 hours and it seems this product just can't handle it. The product adheres good to the wood but can not give proper expansion and contraction thus forming hairline cracks throughout the surface. Speaking with the rep in our local store, they recommend cleaning and resurfacing each year but at that cost there are better options available than this product.
                        by Code911
                        Response from Takhari, Behr Customer CareJul 20, 2018
                        Hello,

                        Thanks for taking the time to review the DeckOver. I’m very sorry to hear that it’s cracking off of your plywood deck/balcony. I can assure you that this isn’t the kind of experience that we want our customers to have. Unfortunately, we don’t recommend applying the DeckOver or any of our other products on plywood floors, and I apologize that you weren’t aware of this before using it. At this point, it will be best to remove the coating completely, clean the surface and recoat with a different product. I will be sending a follow-up email so please be on the lookout for that.

                        Best regards,

                        Takhari
                          PEEL...PEEL...PEEL
                          Utilized this product last August/September 2017 to refinish my deck. I have a four-level deck that runs the length of the house. So no small project. Parts of the deck had wood replaced and new seating built before refinished. The deck was power washed, scraped, sanded and repaired. The product was like painting with pudding. However upon completion it did look good. I was very anxious to show off the results and did so. Beginning in the spring of 2018 I noticed that the finish on the new parts of the deck were bubbling and peeling, coming off in huge long strips exposing the bare wood underneath. As the months have gone on I am getting more and more bubbling and peeling. In consulting with professionals they feel this is an issue with the product, not the application. I am now faced with re-doing the entire deck, from scratch, which not only will involve a tremendous amount of work, but more expense that we had not budgeted. Very disappointed in this product...and frustrated. Would not recommend to anyone and will take pictures for reference when asked. Sincerely, RScott
                          by Reecardo
                          Response from Doris, Behr Customer CareJul 17, 2018
                          Hi Reecardo,

                          Thank you for sharing your experience with DeckOver. I’m terribly sorry to hear about the bubbling and peeling issues you’ve had. Especially considering how large your project is. We expect much better performance from our products. For bubbling and peeling, it’d be best to sand off the affected area before cleaning and recoating. I’ve emailed you directly, and look forward to hearing back from you.

                          Kindest regards,

                          Doris
                          Web Care
                          BEHR
                            Applied as directed to our dock in Minnesota. Horrible peeling after one year. Also -so hot you c...
                            Applied as directed to our dock in Minnesota. Horrible peeling after one year. Also -so hot you can't walk on it if the temp is above 70. We have to constantly pour water on it too cool it down. Contacted Behr twice by email to ask what to do about it. No response from either email. Can't wait to find something to replace it!
                            by Kd
                            Response from BehrJul 9, 2018
                            Hello Kd, we appreciate your feedback. We're sorry you ran into issues with your coating. It's odd that you haven't heard back from us, as we reply to our emails within 48 hours. Please reach out to us directly again, via email or phone, for further assistance. Have a wonderful day! –Joanna Behr
                              Poor Poduct
                              [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] As directed I utilized deckover on my deck last year, a timely and costly process. For a short period of time it looked great, but that was short-lived. I again this year am in a position in which I now have to re-strip and clean the deck due to much peeling. I normally highly recommend BEHR and have used it paint wise through my entire home. I did not expect and am highly disappointed in this product, as well as having to again spend time and money on additional products.
                              by ALS1525
                              Response from Jeanettza, Behr Customer CareJul 8, 2018
                              Hi there,

                              Thanks for taking the time to review our product, and I'm sorry to hear about your negative experience. I went ahead and sent you an email to follow up; please feel free to reach back out if you have any questions.


                              Best,

                              Jeanette P.
                                DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT
                                Less than one year after applying this to our deck, we noticed peeling. Now we have the task ahead of us in figuring out how to remove this product from our huge deck. Our neighbors had the same problem and we both used different professional painters.
                                by pamgo
                                Response from Sara, Behr Customer CareJun 25, 2018
                                Hi pamgo - Thank you for taking the time to review the DeckOver. I'm sorry to hear about the peeling after less than a year! If you'd like to remove the DeckOver completely, I recommend using a power sander with coarse grit sandpaper which will bring you back down to bare wood. You can also remove the loose DeckOver only, clean the surface with our wood cleaner, then apply 2 new coats to your whole deck. I've also sent you a private email with more details on how to fix the peeling. Thank you again for your review, and I hope to hear from you shortly! - Sara
                                  Best Investment Ever!
                                  [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I am writing this review 3 years after I have applied this product to my vacation home deck in mid Michigan and would like to say it has held up tremendously well! It is very disappointing to read others reviews, saying how terrible this product is and not to buy. The key to making this product satisfying, is in the preparation. If you don't prepare your deck properly, then you won't get the results as expected. I spent the entire 4th of July week in 2015 preparing and applying the Behr Deck Over product to my 450 sqft treated wood deck that is nearly 25 years old. After power washing my deck, I rented a floor sander from our local rental store. (see attached pic). I sanded the entire deck right to the bare wood. I then applied the deck cleaner and let it dry well before applying two coats of Behr Deck Over. With the harsh winters we have in Michigan, I was a bit skeptical on what I would find in the spring time based on the reviews that I read. Needless to say, after 3 winters, this product has held up amazingly well. (see attached pic) All I do is lightly power wash it and it looks just as good as it does when I applied it. My advise is, if you're intending to make this a quick weekend project, this product is not for you!!
                                  by Cgar78
                                    • Recommended Product
                                    Deckover Disappointment
                                    I would like to describe our experience with your product. Our wood deck is 14 X 40’. We built our deck brand new. We decided at the advice of our local Home Depot to use the Behr Premium Exterior Deckover 5000 product. We purchased 4 – 5 Gallon buckets of the product. We assessed the condition of our deck to ensure that the wood was dry and ready to accept the product. The Home Depot rep instructed us to use the All In One Wood Cleaner to prep the wood for the Deckover. We purchased the cleaner and we followed the application instructions completely. I might add that my husband has been a contractor and cabinet maker most of his adult life and possesses all the necessary skills for working with wood. We applied the product in early October, a very mild time of year for Western Colorado. Average temperatures are 65-75 degrees during that time of year and we experience minimal rainfall. The following summer we noticed the paint peeling and bubbling in many areas of our deck. The covered concrete patio that we also painted with the product seems to be holding up satisfactorily. The paint continued to deteriorate and we were very disappointed with the product. It continued deteriorating to the point that when I did my yard work I was consistently picking peeled paint chips out of my lawn near the deck. Incidentally, we had talked so highly about the product initially after purchasing and applying it that my parents followed suit, and at 70 years old were on their hands and knees prepping and painting their deck and railing with the same product. Their results are the same as ours, the deck looks horrible and the paint continues to peel. This summer we have decided to sell our home. Knowing that we would need to work on the deck again in order to list the house, we returned to our local Home Depot. We were advised to again prep the wood with your cleaner, remove any loose or peeling paint, replace any deteriorated boards, and to this time use Behr Premium Solid Stain 50117 in Russet. The sales rep. figured we would need 3 gallons to recoat our deck. We removed the boards that we could salvage and turned them over to use the non-painted surface underneath. We salvaged several boards, but still had to replace 30 boards in order to move forward with the project. We removed what paint we could, where it stuck to the boards it really adhered almost beyond removal. We cleaned the wood again using the All in One cleaner and are currently about halfway finished applying the new product. It seems as we will need 4 gallons rather than 3. The Behr Solid Stain seems to be going on much nicer and I am desperately hoping that our deck will look ok when finished. The areas of the deck that we could not get all of the peeling paint off of still looks pretty bad even after the new coat is on. I have painted my entire 2000 sq. foot home interior and garage with only Behr paints since 2009. I just recently purchased 10 gallons of Behr Premium Plus Paint and Primer in One to paint my master bed/bath and living room. I have 6-8 gallons of various Behr product in my garage currently from the bedrooms, office, dining room, and garage. I am a loyal patron of your product. I am happy to have a home visit from one of your representatives to see the condition of my deck and compare it to how the product lasted on my patio. I look forward to hearing from you further as I am not at all satisfied with the Deckover product and would definitely not recommend it . As other reviews have also stated, this product is expensive and we are out a substantial amount of money, labor, lost weekends, and our deck looks worst than ever.
                                    by r3tvd0
                                    Response from Roxana, Behr Customer CareJun 22, 2018
                                    Hello Michelle,

                                    Thanks for taking the time to review our product and for being a loyal Behr customer through the years. I’m sorry to hear your deck has peeled after one summer of product application. I know how frustrating that can be especially when you’re looking to sell your home. We are continuously working to provide our customers with quality products, and I’m sorry to hear this isn’t the experience you’ve had.

                                    I understand you’ve already started working on your deck and our team has reached out directly to your email with more information.

                                    I look forward to hearing from you soon and making things right.

                                    Warm Regards,

                                    Roxana N.
                                    Web Care
                                    Behr
                                      Very disappointed- horrible product
                                      We used this on our large deck 2014. Did all the washing, stripping and prep per instructions. It only looked good that first year. Subsequent years we sanded bad spots and repainted and this year our deck is just plain ugly. We power washed it to try to strip off the peeling mess and it’s worse than ever. We will now have to strip and sand the entire deck and replace the railings. Will never purchase another Behr Product again.
                                      by Cody74
                                      Response from Roxana, Behr Customer CareJun 20, 2018
                                      Hello there,

                                      Thanks for taking the time to review our Wood and Concrete Coating. I’m sorry to hear it your deck is peeling after four years of application. I know how disappointing it is to keep preparing and reapplying a product for subsequent years. I can assure you this isn’t the experience we want any of our customers to have.

                                      I recommend sanding off the loose coating, cleaning the surface and touching-up or re-coating as needed for uniformity. I’ve sent you a direct email with more details.

                                      I look forward to hearing from you soon.

                                      Warm Regards,

                                      Roxana N.
                                      Web Care
                                      Behr
                                        DO NOT GET THIS , IT WILL PEEL AND ROT YOUR WOOD
                                        We used Behr deckover on our deck. We purchased over 15 gallons and prepped the deck as instructions stated. It’s Horrible. After the First year It started bubbling and peeling.Then the second year as we were about to try and strip the wood we noticed soft spots in the hand railings and deck boards. Because of the coating it will not let water out so the wood dry-rots. Our deck now has a lot of rot and huge areas where it’s peeling. We couldn't be more unhappy with the product. It took us weeks to get the deck prepared and painted. Waste of our money and time. Now we are currently in process of rebuilding the deck from the ground up because of safety reasons.
                                        by shamrock395
                                        Response from Giovanna, Behr Customer CareJun 19, 2018
                                        Hello,

                                        Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear that your deck peeled and bubbled and that some of your boards have rotted. This is not the kind of experience we want our customers to have. The DeckOver has a breathable film, and it is hard to say what caused the wood to rot. To resolve the issue, I recommend sanding the loose coating off, replacing any damaged boards, cleaning with the All-In-One Wood Cleaner and recoating. I have reached out to you in a private email with additional tips and helpful information.

                                        Regards,

                                        Giovanna
                                          Worst paint/stain product
                                          [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] After using many Behr PAINT products with excellent results, I thought DeckOver would be the perfect choice. It is by far the worst paint/stain product I've ever used. I tried very hard to follow the preparation steps, but after only one year the finish is peeling off in sheets. After searching reviews, I see I'm not the only one with this issue. Behr needs to do something here as my once beautiful deck is now an eyesore and constant source of frustration every time I step out my back door. Could not be more disappointed and angry!!
                                          by Tinman
                                          Response from Edith, Behr Customer CareJun 15, 2018
                                          Hi Tinman,

                                          I am sorry to hear you’re having a peeling issue in such a short amount of time. I can understand your disappointment; I’d feel the same way too. However, I can assure you this isn’t the experience we want any of our customers to have. To fix, we’d recommend removing as much of the loose coating by sanding it off or using a pressure washer at a low setting. After the affected areas have been smoothed out, use our All-In-One Wood Cleaner to promote adhesion. Once dry, feel free to do any touch-ups or apply a full coat for uniformity. To help with this, I’ll be sending you a separate email. Please keep an eye out for it, as it tends to go to your junk inbox. –Edith
                                            Worst product ever
                                            HUGE deck, bought 2 5-gallon containers based on recommendation of Home Depot in May 2016. Told it would last up to 9 years. In addition to the Deck Over, I purchased the recommended wood cleaner, applicators,.and even rented a sander. 5 friends spent 3 days prepping and came back a few days later to apply the 2nd coat. This spring the entire deck is peeling! Horrible.
                                            by suma
                                              Not good
                                              Used the deck over on our Deck , just coming up to two years and cracked and peeling off ,a waste of money ....We are now having to get someone to come and re do our deck . Would not recommend this poduct ..
                                              by Nope
                                              Response from Edith, Behr Customer CareJun 14, 2018
                                              Hi there,

                                              Thank you for leaving a review on our product, and I am sorry to hear about the peeling issue you’re having in just two years of applying our DeckOver. I can assure you this isn’t normal, and to fix, we’d recommend removing as much of the loose coating by sanding it off. After the affected areas have been smoothed out, use our All-In-One Wood Cleaner if on wood. For concrete, spot etching any bare concrete areas, and use a degreaser for the rest of the surface. Afterward, feel free to do any touch-ups or apply a new fresh coat all over for uniformity. To help with this, I’ll be sending you a separate email. Keep an eye out for it, as it tends to go to your junk inbox. –Edith
                                                We applied this to our deck and within less than a year it began to peal and come loose. We applied per the manufacturers recommendations. Now we are having to pay someone to remove all of it so we can apply a different products.
                                                by PrincessSassyPants
                                                Response from Vince, Behr Customer CareJun 13, 2018
                                                Hi Eric,
                                                Thanks for reaching out to us. I’m sorry to hear about peeling you’re experiencing with our DeckOver product. That is not how it is meant to perform, and I want to help turn this experience around for you. I'll be reaching out to you via e-mail to discuss how we can assist you with your project. Thanks again for reaching out to us - Vince
                                                  After 6 months, bubbling, peeling, nightmare
                                                  After using the product in the summer of 2017, the product began to bubble in big patches, and could be lifted in sheets. My husband spent a ton of time properly following the directions, and thought we'd finally found a way to not have to paint the deck every 2 years. Now in summer 2018, we are scraping the deck, trying EVERYTHING to remove the patches that remain. Water that got trapped under the paint has rotted the deckboards in patches. We've had to replace boards, especially along edges. Hours and hours and hours and still not done. It has been an absolute nightmare. We don't know what to do any more. Do NOT buy the product. A friend of ours has the same experience and is rebuilding their deck because no contractor will touch the Deckover product. What do we do?
                                                  by deckowner1
                                                  Response from Roxana, Behr Customer CareJun 11, 2018
                                                  Hello Susan,
                                                  Thanks for taking the time to review our product. I’m sorry to hear your deck bubbled and peeled after six months of application. I know how disappointing and frustrating this experience can be and I can assure you it’s not what we want any of our customers to go through.
                                                  I recommend making necessary repairs to have a safe project. Then, sanding off the loose coating. Next, clean the surface and lastly, touch-up or re-coat as needed for uniformity. I’ve reached out to your email for more details. I look forward to hearing from you soon.
                                                  Warm Regards,
                                                  Roxana N.
                                                  Web Care
                                                  Behr
                                                    Possibly the worst product ever purchased
                                                    [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I need some assistance asap on your Behr Deck Over product. My wife and I had used this product on our new deck about 2-3 years ago, within less than a year the paint started peeling off. I had assumed based on the quality of your other products we have purchased, NUMEROUS times, that it must have been my own fault and maybe I had not prepped the wood properly. However after spending more time and money year after year for the last couple years, the results unfortunately speak more to your product being the issue and not my workmanship. To be honest it’s an absolute disgrace that after all the time and money spent over the past couple years our deck still looks horrible. And now that I see some pretty alarming bad reviews addressing the same concerns we have, I find it important to reach out. We have now done a lot of research on how to remedy this situation and every solution given to us requires some pretty ridiculous cost, time, and energy on our part. As we have now been told by numerous people that it’s nearly impossible to remove all of the behr deck over without using a paint/stain stripper with several applications !!! as apparently it’s so thick it won’t come off easily. Some “experts” have said its almost better to replace the wood. REPLACE THE WOOD?!?!?. For a brand new deck literally less than 3 years old !!!??? Upon purchasing this product it was never discusses, highlighted or frankly assumed that it should only be used for older decks to give it a nice look for its remaining years. As this is what is now being told to us from “experts” in the paint departments we have purchased your paint from. We now do not have the time nor finances to spend stripping away this product that is oddly impenetrable to chemicals for stripping paint, yet will peel away on its own from some sunshine and slight breeze. There has to be a better option !!!??
                                                    by DG12
                                                    Response from Vince, Behr Customer CareMay 31, 2018
                                                    Hello,
                                                    Thanks for taking the time to review our product. I’m sorry to hear about the peeling that you’re experiencing with our DeckOver product. That is not how the product is meant to perform, and I want to help make this right. I will be reaching out to you via e-mail to help get your project back on track. Thanks again for your review - Vince
                                                      Terrible product - DO NOT USE
                                                      This product was applied to my deck and it’s not even been 12 months and it’s peeling up everywhere! My deck looks terrible and now I have to go through the hassle of stripping all this awful paint off to redo it. Deck was prepped before application, so there’s no reason why it should just be peeling up. Waste of time and money!
                                                      by Chalkwharf
                                                      Response from BehrJun 1, 2018
                                                      Hi Chalkwharf,

                                                      Thank you for your review, and I am sorry to hear you're having a peeling issue in such a short amount of time, especially after the prep work you did. This is not at all the experience we want any of our customers to have. To fix, we'd recommend removing as much of the loose coating by sanding it off or using a pressure washer at a low setting. Once the affected areas have been smoothed out, use our All-In-One Wood Cleaner (https://www.homedepot.com/p/BEHR-Premium-1-gal-All-In-One-Wood-Cleaner-06301N/203200559) to promote adhesion. When dry, feel free to apply two fresh coats. To help with this, I'd urge you to contact us directly; we'd love to help in any way we can. -Edith Behr
                                                        Does not last
                                                        Large patches slough off after less than a year. It looked very nice at first, but now I regret the time and effort we spent on it.
                                                        by TriedIt
                                                        Response from Jeanettza, Behr Customer CareMay 29, 2018
                                                        Hi there,

                                                        Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback, and I'm sorry to see your deck is peeling; we definitely expect more from our products.

                                                        Since it's peeling in more than one area, it's best to sand off as much of the DeckOver as possible before the deck can be cleaned with our No. 63 Cleaner and recoated using the appropriate spread rate. I will be sending you an email with more information in an effort to help you get your project back on track.

                                                        Best,

                                                        Jeanette P.
                                                          Not pleased
                                                          Behr Deck Over was used on our deck. It looked very nice, at first. It's been 2.5 years since application and the deck looks horrible! It actually looked horrible last summer but I did not have the energy to fix as I was pregnant. The horizontal boards have all peeled up. Dirt and mildew abound and will not clean off the surface. I did try to clean it with a deck cleaner last year and it did not do a thing. I am trying to figure out how to remedy our bad situation as replacing the deck is not an option at this point. From what I have read, I cannot strip or simply power wash the deck since we used a deck surfacing modification system rather than a simple stain. The reviews on the Behr deck texture are worse and putting the same product on top if this ugly situation will probably go downhill even faster.
                                                          by Linden
                                                          Response from Vince, Behr Customer CareMay 28, 2018
                                                          Hi Linden,

                                                          Thank you for taking the time to review our DeckOver product. I’m sorry to hear about the peeling you’re experiencing with it. That is not how the product is meant to perform and I want to help make this right. I will be reaching out to you via e-mail to try to help get your project back on track.

                                                          Thanks again,

                                                          Vince
                                                          Web Care
                                                          BEHR
                                                            Worst purchase ever
                                                            We purchase Behr paint all of the time and it is wonderful! Unfortunately, I am very disappointed and upset that the Deck Over, was the worst purchase ever!! We had a brand new wood deck put in and we used Deck Over for it. It hasn't even been a year yet and my deck looks awful. It is peeling every where and it also gets extremely hot in the summer months as well. This was not a cheap purchase either. What is the best way to remove the deck over, so I can use another product to stain or paint my deck? I do not and will not want to use Deck Over again. I would also like a reimbursement for the purchase and the head ache of removing and staining the deck again.
                                                            by dmakg
                                                              Showing 1-30 of 774 reviews