No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (32)
  • Many great improvements
  • October 25, 2015
  • Recommended Product

The GLM 50CX comes with 2 AAA batteries, a nice belt pouch, lanyard, 5 stick-on target cards for measuring narrow targets, the manual, and a quick start guide. A set of batteries will last for 2.5 hours of continuous measurement. It measures a petite 4" x 1.75" x 1". I have an older Bosch GLM 100C distance measurer that I've used extensively. My only complaints about it were that the display was difficult to read when the backlight was off or if it was viewed at more than a 45 degree angle, and that the buttons were a little confusing and I'd have to consult the manual occasionally. The new GLM 50CX fixes these issues in spades. The color display is bright and beautiful and, in combination with the larger font, easily readable under all lighting conditions and angles. The new user interface with fewer buttons and text labels is very intuitive - I was able to use most of the functions without opening the manual. There are new functions - a continuous "real-time" distance measurement, a bubble level, a "stake out" function to repeatedly measure a constant length, such as when marking stud locations every 16". The automatic memory function that remembers the last 30 measurements. You can also choose between two font sizes. One example of the thought that went into the GLM 50CX - on the old unit the display backlight goes out after 6 seconds and I have to push a button to get it back on. On the GLM 50CX, the display backlight stays on for 20 seconds and just picking up or tilting the unit restores the display. When powered on, the GLM 50CX defaults to Bluetooth off and "real-time" measurement. When I used the associated app on my iPhone to record measurements I was getting an error for "Invalid measurement for selected sketch". This is because it was expecting a "length" measurement and I was sending a "real time" measurement. If you use the app make sure to use the "length" function and not "real time" for sending length measurements.

Pros Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Compact, uses standard batteries, great set of functions, brilliant display

Video & Photo

  • Top 100 Contributor
  • DIY

Camano

Camano Island, WA
55 to 64, Male
13 out of 13 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Camano
  • Compact, screen easy to read and see
  • January 19, 2016
  • Recommended Product

OVERALL: Screen easy to read in dark and light. Size of chunk phone, easier to pocket than older models. Bluetooth and function menus much easier to use than previous models. SCREEN: Looks like a lower end phone screen. Which is incredible given the calculator-like screens of past models. Bright and easy to read in pitch dark, and almost any light. BATTERY: Possibly the only draw back. It does burn through the 2 AAA batteries faster than previous models. To be expected with the brighter screen I suppose... just order some extra AAA.

Pros Durable, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, bright screen Cons battery hog

Video & Photo

  • Top 250 Contributor
  • DIY

sdgiant

San Diego, CA, USA
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: sdgiant
  • Dead-On, Easy To Use, Convienient Way To Accuratly Measure!
  • October 15, 2015
  • Recommended Product

Received this just as I was getting ready to install a hand rail along some stairs. Using the Laser Measure, I was able to get the length I needed without the fuss of using a tape measure. One of the really nice features was using the inclinometer. This gave me the exact angle I needed to cut the end of the railing at an angle that would meet up with the house wall for a flush fit. Using both of these features, allowed me to install our hand railing very easily. I brought this laser measure out to the yard and played around measuring things. Even with the full sun, I was able to obtain readings without any difficulties. When I double checked a few readings using a tape measure, this laser measure was absolutely more accurate down to fractions. The display is extremely easy to read with it's large backlit display. The real-time measurement was also dead-on. As I was measuring things outside, I moved around, and the display changed the measurements as I moved, providing surprisingly accurate results. I can see where this laser measure will be a huge benefit in the spring when I start a few landscaping projects. With only 7 soft-touch buttons, this measure is not intimidating at all. the enclosed directions lay out the basic functionality in easy to understand language, as well as it's more robust advanced features. The small size makes it very easy to use. It also stores within the provided Velcro pouch. When using in elevated heights, the enclosed lanyard ensures your unit won't fall to the ground. Overall, this laser measure is something you really didn't know you needed until you use it. Very well designed, well protected from the environment, and includes everything needed to get up and going. Extremely pleased, and highly recommended.

Pros Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, real-time measurements
  • Top 50 Contributor
  • DIY

Transplanted

North Carolina
55 to 64, Male
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Transplanted
  • Amazing tool
  • October 14, 2015
  • Recommended Product

Been doing a lot of renovations around my house the last few months, but one thing I still am not great at is reading a tape measure, not to mention reaching very high areas of my house to get proper measurements without an extension ladder. Not the case anymore! With this handy laser measure I don't have to put myself in tight spots to get a super accurate measurement with zero effort. I did multiple tests around my house using this handy gadget and was amazed at the incredible accuracy and ease of use. I can't wait to take on my next project now with this in my arsenal!

Pros Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight

Video & Photo

  • Top 1000 Contributor
  • DIY

Cove

NJ
25 to 34, Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Cove
  • This works excellent indoors and I love the bluetooth feature to send dimensions directly to your...
  • April 20, 2017
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

This works excellent indoors and I love the bluetooth feature to send dimensions directly to your photo in the app. I found the measurements to be extremely accurate, and better than I could have done by myself with a tape measure. I love that after completing a "project" in the app you can export a PDF and Excel document with all of the measurements to save for later. My only real complaint so far is that outdoors it does not work very well. The longest I have been able to measure outdoors even in a shadow on a partially overcast day was 72', and that even took awhile to get the reading, but that is still less than 1/2 of the rated distance. I didn't really purchase it for extra long outdoor measurements so I still give it 4 stars.

Video & Photo

Jeepin

4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Jeepin
  • Great for recording lots of measurements
  • March 23, 2016
  • Recommended Product

The Bosch Laser Measure is loaded with features. Wow. Just read the description carefully. It has 9 different measuring functions, Color screen, compact, lightweight, Accurate, and of course Bluetooth. It does some angles and degrees, not just distances. Bosch has two apps you can install on Apple or Android. The Measure&Document app works on phones and tablets. This is the best little app. It works well, is easy to use, and records and catalogs the various measurements you make as you move through a project. This is the best part of this Laser Measure. It allows you to capture and document all of your measurements in one place on your tablet/phone. The Bosch FloorPlan app only works on tablets and is more complicated. It will also record your measurements from the tool, but it will take a little more work to learn the app and use the measurements. It's best for doing a rough sketch of a project. Accessories include a pouch, with belt loop, lanyard, and batteries. You can use Target Cards for those odd places where there is no surface (like the end of a table). Most of the functions are intuitive, but a quick read of the manual will help. Good instructions but as is typical with Bosch Manuals, they put the diagrams at the front of the manual and spend the next 40 pages referring back to the diagrams, causing you to flip pages constantly. It is primarily for use indoors. I tried it outside. It worked but the LCD screen was not always bright enough for outdoor use. Top it off with a 2 year warranty and you have a great laser measuring tool!

Pros Accurate, Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, bluetooth, great apps

Video & Photo

  • Top 250 Contributor

JohnS

California, USA
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: JohnS
  • NOT LARGE, BUT ... "IN CHARGE"!
  • November 20, 2015
  • Recommended Product

Years ago when I was in real estate I had a large, clunky laser measure to use when helping customers determine room sizes, etc. so I knew I would love this smaller, work-intensive laser measure. It does not disappoint! The included lanyard and case make it very easy to keep at hand when in use. After downloading the app to my iPad it immediately synced with bluetooth. We are in the process of finishing our laundry room walls so this will definitely be put to good use - We won't need to move everything just to get measurements! This tool does so much that reading the manual is an absolute must.

Pros Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight

Video & Photo

  • Top 500 Contributor
  • DIY

jeanieb

Salem, Ohio
65 or over, Female
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: jeanieb
  • The measuring device itself is great, accurate and very clear display. But the app and the bluet...
  • November 21, 2018

The measuring device itself is great, accurate and very clear display. But the app and the bluetooth connectivity is terrible. The software is so unusable and complicated and doesn't allow for any real "planning". You're better of going with the lower priced version and recording it on paper. Go check the app reviews before you buy. It's not worth the money to get BT and the software so this one is going back.

Drew

2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Drew
  • Nice Design
  • October 18, 2016
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Very nice product with a lot of different features. I really like the smart phone connectivity. Has a lot of advanced features that the average homeowner doesn't need or would get confused by so you may want to go with a lower cost model that doesn't have all the features this one provides.

Pros Accurate, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
  • Pro

jmiller368

Troy Michigan
35 to 44, Male
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: jmiller368
  • Nice meter for the price.......Needs to be able to take horizontal measurements by standing back ...
  • February 14, 2018

Nice meter for the price.......Needs to be able to take horizontal measurements by standing back from what you are measuring. Example: Stand back from the objects and point and shoot both objects and it calculate the distance between both objects.

GD

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: GD