No Results Found

Refine by Rating

  • Excellent Hardwood!!
  • December 11, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Great product at a great price! My wife and I really enjoy our new floors! They're easy to clean and look professional!

Pros Good Wood, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Great Accent, Looks High End, Effective

Video & Photo

  • DIY

Matt

Virginia, USA
25 to 34, Male
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Matt
  • Bad Quality Control by Bruce
  • January 21, 2014
  • Recommended Product

We did a whole house with this product over 1500 sq ft. The cherry wood color was fine for coloring, but the "natural" maple was more like the "country" maple - darker pieces, knots, black streaks. So we actually sorted through 55 boxes to get all the lighter pieces for the living room and dining area, which is more formal.We conceded to the mixed maple look for the upstairs bedrooms, but that wasn't what we really wanted. We had to re-box everything we sorted so the installer could work from it. We had a great installer and in the end it all looked pretty good. HOWEVER, there were many pieces that were obvious rejects from the manufacturer, already marked with pink or green chalk and many long pieces that had partial tongues and gray colored boards. Even boards with nail holes! I wasn't disppointed in Home Depot, I was very disappointed in Bruce. Seemed like they received these rejects from other jobs and then tried to pawn them off in production to other boxes. So, if you buy this product be aware of color variations and bad boards. I actually bought 10% over and then another 6 boxes for rejects...good thing I did or I wouldn't have had enough!

Cons bad boards
  • Pro

HomeDepotCustomer

Sonoma, CA
55 to 64, Female
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: HomeDepotCustomer
  • In terms of "bang for buck", this product is awesome. If it wasn't for one issue I had, which I ...
  • November 15, 2016
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

In terms of "bang for buck", this product is awesome. If it wasn't for one issue I had, which I will put more details below, I would've given this product 5 stars for sure. The color is beautiful (even though I know this is highly subjective), and it's quite durable as well. You certainly can put dents and scratches on it since it's real wood (not laminate), but it was more durable than I have expected. We put this in our second bedroom 3 years ago, so we actually had enough time to have some real-life testing. There were quite a few strips which had some imperfections, such as bend or broken/missing tongue. There were few (only few) strips which had some defects on the surface also. However, 99% of them were still usable. Now the problem part... When we put this on the second bedroom 3 years ago, we ordered 20 boxes. We used about half of them. Among the ones we have used, there were a couple of boxes which contained mostly short strips. All the boxes have plenty of short strips, but these two had more than average. Unfortunately, one of those boxes were the last one we opened/used, so there wasn't much for us to do in order to "wisely utilize" these short strips - so we just had to put them on the floor. As a result, some places we have a series of short strips in the same row, but then again it did not look too bad. Maybe it's due to the dark color and wood grain pattern (which is already very irregular even within the same board), but whatever it is, it's not that visible. Just last month we put the rest of the flooring in our master bedroom. We ran out of the material, so we had to order additional 5 boxes. This time, we opened up all 5 boxes and sort each board out by length, so that we can be more efficient by using the right length strip and minimizing cut offs (by the way, we used diagonal pattern, so there were a lot of cuts to be made). I am glad we did that because one of those 5 boxes had nothing but short strips. the entire box was literally filled with boards which are shorter than 30 inches, a great majority of them under 15 inches in size. That actually was the box that got bent and partially torn open during the shipment. When we picked those boxes up from Home Depot, I even took a picture of it just in case I need to return them because the boards inside are also damaged (but it turned out there were no physical damages to the boards). I think that was because of the very fact that the box was filled with short boards only. If there's not a single board long enough to provide any kind of structural strength to the box, I can imagine the hardboard paper, no matter how thick it is, won't be able to withstand the load. Also, these short boards had more imperfections, mainly missing/broken tongues. I think they probably used left off garbage and scraps to make short boards. Well, we managed to use up this big pile of short boards since we still had two small walk in closets unfinished, where we were able to use all the bad boards. However, if we did not open all the boxes up ahead of time like we did, and if we ended up opening this short board box the last, then we may have been in trouble.

John

5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: John
  • Very affordable product
  • November 15, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Too many discolored pieces in each box. Better to increase the price and eliminate bad pieces.

  • DIY

Terrence

Sterling, Potomac, VA 20164, USA
55 to 64, Male
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Terrence
  • beautiful
  • September 23, 2013
  • Recommended Product

We have had this already installed in our family room for about 2-3 yrs (same product, just wider planks) and were so happy with the quality we installed in in our quest room. What a difference a nice looking floor can make, and the price is great! We installed this ourselves and my husband was happy with the quality of the boards (he said he has heard with cheap wood floors they are often "bowed" and hard to install)

Video & Photo

christmas1970

35 to 44, Female
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: christmas1970
  • great quality
  • September 06, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

they look great, look sturdy and very stable. The color tunr out to be a bit more :red: than I expected, but still looks very good.

JVGr

Ithaca, NY
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: JVGr
  • Having installed numerous Bruce hardwood floors, I had no reservations in purchasing this product...
  • August 07, 2018

Having installed numerous Bruce hardwood floors, I had no reservations in purchasing this product for a very large project. I cannot express my level of disappointment with the quality of the flooring that was provided for this purchase. I had allowed for more than enough to complete the project and yet I was barely able to finish without buying more. Let me assure you, having done this many times, I knew how to be conservative in using the material, carefully selecting pieces and laying them out ahead to be sure that I would have minimal waste from cutting the ends, side strips etc. Always wanting to avoid a problem with shortage, my calculations allowed for approximately 12% overage for waste, the occasional problem board, etc. I was frankly shocked at how poor the quality was. I ended up with at least a full box of junk out of 29 boxes. When I say junk, I mean just that. 60+ inch boards with no tongues, boards with no end tongues, end groves that were too shallow for the end tongue. I cannot tell you how many times I had to take up a board because of some problem. I was also very surprised at the number of boards with dings in the surface and I they were there when we unpacked the boards from the box. Since it had padding between layers, it obviously either before or during the packing. All this does not take into consideration the normal boards we kicked aside just because we did not like the look. I expect that and for the most part, that was pretty normal. It was all the defective product that frustrated me. The only thing that made it so we didn't have to buy more was a fairly large closet where we were able to hide a lot of the junk boards. I have multiple other big projects to do and I will have to reconsider whether or not I dare spend thousands on Bruce hardwood.

garyb

4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: garyb
  • This Product is excellent
  • February 25, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

The floor looks great, about average time to install, but the finish work looks excellent, my wife and I are very pleased.

Pros Good Wood, Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Effective Cons No Instructions

Video & Photo

  • Pro

cyclesgt

Rockland, MA, USA
45 to 54, Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: cyclesgt
  • Great looking floor
  • July 31, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

This floor is just what I wanted,I have had it a month and it is very durable and looks great,it bightened up the dinning room,just what I wanted it to do. Excellent price too. My son and my husband installed it,no problems.

Pros High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks High End

Dove5827

Amherst, NY, USA
65 or over, Female
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Dove5827
  • Much softer than expected.
  • June 14, 2015
  • Recommended Product

Installed over 1400 square feet of this in my house. The product itself was in good shape, hardly any waste. The color is beautiful. It will fade in sunlight and rather quickly. Here is where the product loses stars, it's very soft. Scratches and dings VERY easily. Have 2 dogs, one is 20 lbs and the other 44lbs. They have wreaked havoc on the floors. My inlaws red oak on the other hand handles the same dogs with zero issues. Maple is supposed to be denser than oak... But what type of maple is this really? You get what you pay for. Floors do look nice, but if you have dogs or kids... Look elsewhere. Also, felt pads are a must for any kind of furniture. Even a small night stand. Previous house had pine floors, these are just slightly harder than those. I would recommend this for certain applications but would not use in my house again.

Greenie

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Greenie