No Results Found

Refine by Rating

  • Excellent floor wood, durable, looking outstanding.
  • June 07, 2017
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Excellent floor wood, durable, looking outstanding.

Dan

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Dan
  • Too many damaged pieces
  • July 04, 2017
  • Recommended Product

A lot of pieces were damaged. Out of 7 boxes, I ended up with almost a full box of damaged pieces. The tongue was either completely missing or mostly gone. However, usable pieces look great. I built a dance room for my daughter and it has held up great to the abuse of her tap shoes!

HomeDepotCustomer

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: HomeDepotCustomer
  • The Home Depot installers are exceptional. The Bruce Maple Hardwood is very inconsistent; pieces ...
  • October 31, 2018

The Home Depot installers are exceptional. The Bruce Maple Hardwood is very inconsistent; pieces with flaws actually on the finished surface of the wood (as in not making the surface flat)...never should have passed factory QC inspection. Our initial order was 26 boxes of wood. On the first day of install the installer, due to the poor quality of the wood, requested that we order 8 more boxes to finish the job. Currently we are waiting for that wood to be shipped and then we have to climatize it for 48 hours. The job is not done. What is done looks great, but we did not expect this multi-weeks delay. At this point, we have 6 boxes of wood to return to Home Depot and we're hopeful the awaited boxes will be at least half good and of the same dye lot. Then, we may get this job done so we can move in to the house.

Prozzo

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Prozzo
  • Awesome floor
  • September 23, 2013
  • Recommended Product

We installed this wood on one entire level of our home. It's been there a year, and we love it! We are planning to install it in a second level later this year. Excellent value. Easy to install with the proper tools.

Pros Good Wood, Feels Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks High End

Video & Photo

3rdDIYhouse

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: 3rdDIYhouse
  • Good quality hardwood, the color is joyful and welcoming. Everybody likes the floors now.
  • December 08, 2016
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Good quality hardwood, the color is joyful and welcoming. Everybody likes the floors now.

lata

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: lata
  • Pretty flooring - more variation that expected.
  • February 02, 2013
  • Recommended Product

While we can appreciate the beauty of this product - it was more "busy" than we'd expected. There were quite a few dark colored knots and several dark streaks. We've moved furniture around on it and haven't seen the slightest scratch or ding. It has a nice luster to it. I rely strongly on other peoples reviews and photos so I though I'd share ours, hope it helps you make your decision.

Video & Photo

MapleWood

51 out of 53 people found this helpful
more details...
By: MapleWood
  • Very Surprising Overall Excellence
  • December 04, 2012
  • Recommended Product

Especially at this price point, I really don't think that this flooring can be beat. I've investigated most every pre-finished maple flooring out there and I have to say the appearance of the Bruce natural maple is top-notch: Pros: - Minimal beveling at edges appearing more like the natural wearing of flooring that has been long-installed rather than the "click & lock" look of standard pre-finished planking. - Solid maple that can be re-finished if necessary. - I don't know how well the finish will wear but it is a lustrous, satiny gloss out of the box that looks rich and not plastic-y unlike many, many of even the high-end products out there. Cons: - There were a few pieces with uneven finish coating and/or defects in the tongue and groove that needed to be picked out but if you lay out and rack your rows of planks as is suggested in advance of nailing, they should be easy to spot. Overall, I'd say less than 3% of the total pieces were undesirable. - The fit to most of the planks wound up being nice and tight but due to the nature of the pre-finishing process you will wind up with a few discrepancies as you are not filling and sanding the wood to receive your own final finish. Thus, occasionally a board will be a millimeter narrower than one abutting it and there will be a hairline gap and that will need to be filled with the correct type of putty once the installation is complete. I think that this is just the nature of any pre-finished product. Know: - There is quite a bit of variation in the grain and coloring of the maple as distributed in the boxes. For me and my application, this was not a problem as I find the "clear", select grade to appear almost too bland. There is quite a lot of character in the Bruce planks; over all the look is quite pleasing as long as you make sure to blend pieces from several boxes. - I had been interested in Bruce's hickory flooring especially due to the variegation in the coloring and grain but found that the amount and extent in their maple product was a better choice. Photographs tend to mute the amount of contrast and I suspect that (again for my particular application only) the look of the hickory, with its severe differences between planks, would have been perhaps a bit extreme. - With their maple you get the best of both worlds: variegation and yet an overall pleasing continuity to the entirety of the floor. Reading the reviews for this product proved very helpful and saved me a bit of headache in the research so I thought I'd share my experiences. This is an excellent product and an excellent value for the money.

Pros Good Wood, Looks Great, Looks High End

Video & Photo

aminoswap

Bay Area, CA, USA
40 out of 42 people found this helpful
more details...
By: aminoswap
  • Very nice looking floor, however, it is not as durable as oak
  • January 03, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

We got the flooring because we installed natural maple cabinets in the kitchen. We did some research online and asked around and this was supposed to be suitable for kitchens. We hired someone else to do the installation. We have had the floor about 4 months now. For the most part it still looks very good. However, this wood is not as scratch resistant as oak flooring. In the family room right next to the kitchen I installed pre-finished oak flooring. The oak continues to hold up much better. I should say that we have two active dogs and three kids, and the family spends most of our time in the kitchen, so it is a tough environment. The floor still looks excellent, but if you get down close to the maple floor you can clearly see marks from dog nails.

  • DIY

Ithaca, NY, USA
35 to 44, Male
22 out of 24 people found this helpful
more details...
  • This product exceeded my expectations.
  • October 11, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I wanted a light toned hardwood for my kitchen that faces North and doesn't have direct sunlight. The red and white oaks were an option but I kept leaning towards the maple. I've used Bruce before with good results and purchased online. The boxes indicate wood is from Canada, which is fine with me. It's random length, not just 84" lengths. Boards were very clean and straight. Very little tare. A few dark boards but no knots in the 11 cases opened. Price was excellent for the product with free delivery.

Video & Photo

  • DIY

BC2Ga

Georgia, USA
45 to 54, Male
28 out of 32 people found this helpful
more details...
By: BC2Ga
  • Material and Homedepot Install
  • January 31, 2013
  • Recommended Product

My wife and I were planning to install the floor panels on our own, but we spent the extra cash to have the panels professionally installed. All we had to do is remove our own carpet and pickup the materials. There is an additional charge for removal of carpet, delivery, and floor boards (if needed). You get what you pay for so spend the extra cash to have the install professionally done. If you have an OSB (Oriented Strand Board Square Edge) floor board or regular plywood as the floor board, then you are good to go on the install. If you have a particle floor board, the installers will need to replace it with plywood (extra charge).

Pros High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End Cons matching quarter round is not longer than 8 feet

Video & Photo

  • Pro

jnole

WV
35 to 44, Male
12 out of 14 people found this helpful
more details...
By: jnole