No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (5)
  • Would recommend this product
  • October 24, 2011

I just installed 400 sq. ft. of this flooring in my family room and adjoining dining area. Like the other reviewer, I use my finish nailer on the starter row and the last two rows. I also used a bostitch flooring nailer which made the job much easier. I found that the planks dented much easier than I had expected, so use the flooring nailer with caution. There was a slight variation in the widths of the planks but the flooring nailer was able to pull them together in most cases. When I noticed this difference in width, I checked each plank before nailing it in place. With careful inspection of the planks and taking care to how I laid out the flooring, I was able to minimize the waste and only ended up with less scrape to fill a five gallon bucket with pieces less than four inches long. Like the other reviewer, it would be wise to open several boxes, lay the pieces out on the floor in piles of the same lengths so that you can select the lengths to install the flooring with the correct separation between joints. I am 71 years young, with a bad back, wrist, and two knees, and I didn’t have that much trouble and I accomplished this project in three days.

  • DIY

Steeplejack

26 out of 26 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Steeplejack
  • Great Value! Looks Great!
  • June 25, 2012
  • Recommended Product

I purchased 2,200 square foot for a house I'm renovating and had my floor guy install it. The quality of this is satisfactory. By that, I mean there are some noticeable defects- more knots/splits and mineral staining than a more expensive wood. But, even with the "character" marks, it looks great.The rounded edges make for less damage on installation but will require more sanding in the future when refinishing. I was assured that this material has the same finish as their longer warrantied floors.

chrisofva

6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: chrisofva
  • Excellent Product
  • June 12, 2012

Installing the product was fairly simple. There was a good amount of waste though over 10% I would say. But then again we were picky after spending the money on the product. We bought an extra box and finished the project this weekend. Looks excellent. I would recommend purchasing 10-15% extra to account for waste. Overall good product. Commenting on the longevity isnt really applicable yet just because it is brand new.

James

4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: James
  • Very poor quality. Opened 11 boxes and collectively 5 were...
  • September 29, 2018

Very poor quality. Opened 11 boxes and collectively 5 were unusable. Bought 100 boxes and returned 89.

HomeDepotCustomer

2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: HomeDepotCustomer
  • Great price, but order extra. Lots of unusable boards.
  • February 13, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

There were lots of low quality boards that should not have passed inspection. Many had tongues that were too short. Some had damaged corners/edges. Some were so warped they couldn't be installed - definitely a problem with the longer boards. One box was a noticeably different color, even though the labeling said it was the same. I ordered 12 boxes and ended up with almost one box of short pieces and rejects. On a positive note, the pieces that were usable were very nice and the floor looks great! This was the lowest price I could find anywhere. Just order extra and expect to do a little quality control yourself. It will still cost less that buying somewhere else!

Pros Looks Great Cons low quality control

2KittyMom

Indiana, USA
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: 2KittyMom
  • Not what I expected
  • October 04, 2016

The wood is difficult to install because the wood is not milled well. Many pieces were warped which made the joint difficult to get close. There was damage to many of the pieces, edges were worn, chipped, no finish and some color variances were major. More than 10% (closer to 20%) was unusable. I think this falls in the category of you get what you pay for. If I install oak hardwood again, I will go with unfinished oak and have it finished afterwards. The sanding and finishing process really gives the wood the look I expected from pre-finished but just can't be achieved.

Cons Difficult to Install, Scratches Easily

Joe

2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Joe
  • Quality is questionable
  • July 26, 2016

Much of the wood had bare spots and nicks which could not be used. There is significant variation in the color and the tolerances are just ok. Had to throw out more than 10%.

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
  • Bruce QC is has gone down. Bought 96 boxes of C138 flooring last month. Over 50% of the wood is...
  • November 17, 2018

Bruce QC is has gone down. Bought 96 boxes of C138 flooring last month. Over 50% of the wood is not usable. I have brought back most of it. 6 years ago we bought the same Bruce flooring and did not have any issues. Now we want to finish the other half of house and we have wasted so much time sorting and putting the bad wood back into boxes to return. the wood has manufacturing defects, missing tongue, holes spits, wood is not square. Looks like worse than cabin grade. I made complaint to CEO and customer service and really got no resolution. Looks like the flooring sold at Home depot from Bruce is inferior quality. Most of the wood is not usable.

Video & Photo

MGTN

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: MGTN
  • Oak Saddle 3/4 x 3-1/4 Solid Hardwood Floor C1117
  • April 27, 2011
  • Recommended Product

I purchased 25 cases of this flooring to do my master bedroom and closet. I helped my brother do a small bedroom in the past, but this was my first time doing it all myself. The finished floor looks great. I used my finish nailer on the starter rows and the last rows. I rented the bostitch flooring nailer from HomeDepot and it works great. I highly recommend this tool. There were a few blemished pieces in each box, but less than the 10% I was told to expect. Some boxes were mostly long pieces and some were all short pieces so I recommend opening several boxes to use random lengths. The only thing I would do next time is inspect each board closer and cull out the blemishes. I plan to do several more rooms in my home with this product, so I definitely recommend it. Happy Flooring!

Eastern PA
54 out of 55 people found this helpful
more details...
  • Good finish. Good price. overall very happy with this product.
  • December 27, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

A good product. Very few defects overall. Some boards were warped a little but was able to straighten out as I nailed. Some I needed a helper to tweek into position as I nailed. Not a big problem for me. A very few would not align perfectly and the butts would stick up slightly. If its a problem just select a different board or use any rejects as the starting piece. Be sure to work out of a couple of boxes at a time to make sure that you end up with a good mix of sizes. The floor looks great. Good price. I have done three floors with different products over the years. Make no mistake that it is hard work and I wouldn't want to do it for a living.

geterdone

13 out of 14 people found this helpful
more details...
By: geterdone