No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (16)
  • Worst floor ever. Manufacture Defects
  • June 04, 2015

Pieces were milled improperly width wise. So I had to sort through each box to find the best fit. Pieces had dings and dents on them coming right out of the box. Approximately 40 pieces were missing the tongues. Yes the floor looks great but one horrible floor to install. I really should of just returned the entire floor but I had 25% of it complete and then the disaster started. The manufactures quality control staff must be on vacation.

Cons Difficult to Install, manufacture defects

Video & Photo

  • Pro

Chris

Delaware
35 to 44, Male
34 out of 34 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Chris
  • Poorly Milled
  • April 09, 2014

I installed around 1,100 square feet of this flooring into our dining room, living room, kitchen, a sitting area, two halls, and two bedrooms. We wanted a wood floor that was dark, but not too dark as very dark floors, as per numerous reviews, are very hard to keep looking clean. We came across this on an end-cap at Home Depot. We liked that the tone is a bit more “cool” than warm (or reddish). The color of this is Brown Earth or Saddle (it goes under both names). I will say that now that it is complete, the finished floor looks very nice, and I get a lot of compliments on it; however….there are two big issues with this product: 1. It fairly easily scratches and dents. Our dog was scratching the floor badly. My wife (bless her) found a product (Soft Paws) where she glues these rubbery covers on her nails, and they work well. With that said, this floor scratches easily with all kinds of stuff. Perhaps in the long run it’ll just look acceptable and weathered/worn. This to be determined. Maybe this is just the deal with hardwood floor. I will say I’m disappointed that the coating isn’t more scratch-resistant (not just the wood). 2. This is the big one. This floor is very, very, very poorly milled. The tongues and grooves are not tight or consistent. The quality control is just flat embarrassing. So our finished floor has a number (a couple of dozen) of very bad creaks and squeaks in the floor… Take a look at the picture below. These are the “cast off” pieces for just a single 12 ft x 11 ft bedroom. Even tossing out this many pieces of poorly milled/inspected pieces, I still have 2 bad creaks/squeaks in that room. It’s a joke. I find it very disappointing. Frankly I’m at a loss as to how to fix all these creaks and squeaks. These are NOT subfloor related. These are situations where a single board has a creak. Some people will blame this on me and on my installation. I really have to dispute this. I’m an experienced woodworker of 15 years. I’ve redone a kitchen, done plumbing, electric, drywall, put in tiled floors, laminate floors…all without issue. If you look at my floor, the direction is straight as an arrow. Down a 35-foot hall...dead on. 15 feet to one wall….parallel to wall. 25 feet out to other wall…parallel within ¼”. I put in integrated floor grates (see picture) that I stained and polyed myself. The base and shoe are cut, caulked, and painted very nicely. As part of this flooring, I for all intents and purposes I did over 50% of a kitchen remodel as all base cabinets and electric and plumbing and gas and cabinets were taken out and put back. All of my transitions look great….to carpet, to tile, around two fireplaces, to a stairway. In other words, I have very good DIY and woodworking skills. I just don’t buy that this is my fault. I can’t imagine this not happening even had I paid to have it installed. So, what was my alternative here? Did I inspect each piece before laying it? Yes I did. This flooring is poorly milled. Period. This is NOT due to the normal cupping, bending, and movement of wood. I get that. Those things cannot by avoided. This is something different. Just sloppy tongues and/or grooves. The killer is there’s really no way to always know this unless you go over every single piece with a caliper? What is that? What kind of product do you have to verify so closely because the quality is so poor and the size varies so much? Anyhow, I’m very disappointed. Would I buy this floor again? NO. I would not. I wish I would of gone with something engineered and more consistent. I guess the question now is, can I salvage this? Can I fix the creaks and squeaks without making it worse? I hope this was helpful. If you do install this floor, I would be very, very, very careful to make certain to inspect all pieces to probably a ridiculous level.

Pros Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood Cons Scratches Easily, poorly milled, dents easily

Video & Photo

  • DIY

Steve

St. Charles, Mo
35 to 44, Male
30 out of 30 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Steve
  • What an incredible value and VERY nice looking floor from Bruce!
  • January 14, 2014
  • Recommended Product

I rarely spend the time to write a review of products I own but in this case this product really deserves great praise. I had a section of carpeted floor that I wanted to replace with hardwood. I visited by local The Home Depot and found this product sitting on an endcap. I was not able to find a sample nor was the product even featured but the box was torn open so I pulled a piece out. The wood looked very nice and the color looked close to my existing hardwood floor. The saleman allowed me to take a small piece from the box to try out at home. At home I confirmed the color was a very close match to what my builder hand stained 10+ years ago. I returned to the store and purchased 3 cases enough to cover the foyer area with some planned waste. Enough of my story, here are my observations. 1) Opening the cases I was surprised to find so many nice looking pieces of wood. I recall when my builder installed the original floor he used words like "select: to describe a grade which was less notty and more appealing. If my existing floor was "select" then this a grade or two above as so many pieces had such nice patterns and there was only a board or two that were not perfect. 2) The finish on these board was very nice. The manufacturer offers a lifetime finish warantee. I'm not sure what this means and/or how I'd actually take advantage of such as warantee by the finish is very shiny, smooth and clear. Compared to my original floor, this floor looks amazing. Hopefully I'll be saying the same thing in 10 years! 3) The tongue and grooves fit together very well. I suppose that's the standard there days with any hardwood manufacturer but there was very few warped boards and any warpage pulled together nicely when hammered. 4) The floor looks amazing. I did this installation myself. It was my first hardwood installation and I was a bit nervous when I started laying down boards but after the first few boards went in I really got the hang of it. If you're handy, I'd certainly recommend a self-installation to save yourself alot of money for someone else's labor. 5) The floor looks amazing. I know I just said that but as I look over at it thinking what else to write to help you make an informed decision I just can't help but be amazed at how nice this floor looks. I highly recommend it and for the price of $3.89 sq (as of 1/13/14), it's an amazing value!

Pros Good Wood, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End

Video & Photo

  • DIY

MikeS

Jackson, NJ
45 to 54, Male
14 out of 14 people found this helpful
more details...
By: MikeS
  • Quality product. Very little waste. Beautiful when done.
  • October 01, 2014
  • Recommended Product

Nice to get the job done in one day with no sanding or finishing.

Pros Good Wood, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable

Video & Photo

  • Pro

Dusty

Hartford Ct.
55 to 64, Male
13 out of 13 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Dusty
  • Client was very unhappy with product quality
  • August 30, 2016

Im a contractor and i bought this product for one of my customer. After the installation the customer moped the floor with a swiffer mop it was getting all stuck on a lot of splinter on the edges. Clien complains they can't even walk barefoot on the floor due to the splinters. She is really unsatisfied. I went to Home Depot and bruce, they just keep sending me back and forth to each other, neither of them try to do anything to help me resolve this problem. If could rate zero stars I would have.

11 out of 11 people found this helpful
more details...
  • Bruce - 3/4", 5" wide Oak Hardwood Flooring
  • September 19, 2016

This is not a DIY product! In an effort to help my wife's allergies I wanted to remove the remaining carpet from the living area of our home. I purchased almost $3000 dollars worth of this product and the materials necessary to install. I read all the instructions including the PDF download from Bruce. The instructions for a southern climate required it be glued and nailed down. I purchased the specific glue from another source because HD did not carry it. The Oak boards were in my home for almost 2 full weeks prior to installation to allow them to adjust to interior conditions. Our home stays at approximately 50% humidity year round with the uses of humidifiers and our central heat and air system. Not only have the 5" wide wood boards cupped the floor actually has a huge hump in a couple of places. I called HD for help and they call Bruce and Bruce said it was an installation issue, not their problem. Because its been longer than 90 days HD won't do anything.

Cons Difficult to Install
  • DIY

Mike

Middle Tennessee
45 to 54, Male
10 out of 10 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Mike
  • BRUCE hardwood flooring quality very disappointing
  • April 06, 2015

BRUCE hardwood flooring quality/workmanship was very disappointing. This is not the quality I was used to seeing from BRUCE. I needed 20 boxes but ordered 21 boxes, expecting some rejects, errors, etc. The quality of this product was so bad (warps, chips, untrue cuts, damaged/missing tongues, cracks, etc.) that I needed to order another box, of which almost a quarter of that box was unfit for use. I have used BRUCE hardwood in the past (7-10 years ago) and was always satisfied with the quality. The shipping process was also very frustrating. Of the original 21 boxes I had to reject 5 boxes for obvious shipping damage (forklift damage, open cartoons, etc). These should have been rejected long before they got to the customer. Of the 5 reordered boxes I had to reject 2 more boxes for simialr damage. Finally, the last 2 boxes were questionable but I was in need to get the project done, so I accepted them. When looking for flooring at a local flooring store the salesman/installer said that he would not recommend BRUCE because of quality issues, but I thought he was pushing his product line. I should have listened.

Cons poor quality/workmanship
  • DIY

Alfi

Maryland
55 to 64, Male
10 out of 10 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Alfi
  • Beautiful flooring, but I'll never recommend them again!
  • February 11, 2017

I ordered this flooring and installed it in a customer's home. I've installed 1000s of sq ft of flooring in the past, and will not recommend a Bruce product to anyone. Every last case of flooring I ordered had a width variance between 4 7/8" and 5 1/8". I had to go thru every single case and make stacks of same width product just to install this flooring. If it were for my personal home, or if it wasn't for the tight deadline on this particular job, I would have sent every last bit back to the factory.

9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
  • Some serious problems with this product
  • September 05, 2016

We have found many of the problems as stated by other customers. We found by checking the width of each board you can use the wider ones in one row and the narrow ones in another row but you must check each width because they are not consistent. This has increased the labor of installing considerably. There are lots of knots and broken tongues. Some warped boards are unusable. We will probably lose 20% of our product to defects

Sunny

9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Sunny
  • Hands DOWN the worst flooring i have ever had the displeasure of installing. pure trash. not a s...
  • April 20, 2018

Hands DOWN the worst flooring i have ever had the displeasure of installing. pure trash. not a single board was 100% straight. gaps between boards everywhere. Crooked boards everywhere, but the floor is down and now I'm killing myself applying wood filler between the gaps in some effort to hide this TERRIBLE garbage. NO NOT BUY!

Video & Photo

Dane

6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Dane