No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (11)
  • Just finished building and installing three of these in our newly remodeled bedrooms. All boxes ...
  • December 18, 2016
  • Recommended Product

Just finished building and installing three of these in our newly remodeled bedrooms. All boxes looked really beat up but the contents were in perfect condition. Instructions were very good and the Installation went smoothly. I would rate the quality and durability of the system 4 stars, but 5 stars after making my own modifications to strengthen and stabilize the shelving structure (see photos). First, I attached a 1"x4" mdf base under each side panel (a must for installation over carpet). This stopped the unit from sinking into and permanently compressing the carpet, and really improved stability. Next, I attached 1"x4" mdf with screws to the back edge of each panel from top to bottom. This eliminated the gap between the panels and the wall caused by the baseboard on our closet walls. It also made the unit much sturdier and allowed me to eliminate the unsightly cardboard corner stabilizers that came with the unit. I also eliminated the plastic wall connectors by running screws directly through the 1"x4" mdf into wall anchors. The unit is now rock solid and has a much more finished/refined look. For the extra $10 I spent on each closet, the closet system now looks and feels like the much more costly systems we looked at.

Video & Photo

HDshopper

52 out of 52 people found this helpful
more details...
By: HDshopper
  • Great starter system
  • December 07, 2011
  • Recommended Product

This system was well worth the money. Easy to put together and setup in the closet. All parts were there and instructions easy to follow. The closet rods can't used for anything over 3' to 4' without a bend in the rod. Had to purchase a longer round bar for the left side. Other than that no complaints. Nice organizer for the price or compared to other systems. Home Depot doesn't stock all accessories and I had to buy the hamper from Closetmaid's web site. Home Depot beat every price that Closetmaid had for the same item on their web site.

Video & Photo

  • Top 25 Contributor
  • DIY

DinKaty

Katy, Tx
55 to 64, Male
24 out of 24 people found this helpful
more details...
By: DinKaty
  • Classy Look for your closet!
  • May 27, 2014
  • Recommended Product

I am female and I was able to install 2 of these in my spare bedroom closets. It wasn't really difficult, just remember if you add the Doors use the small shelves where the doors will go. If you install drawers, didn't seem to matter what size shelf was used. I like the classy look they gave the closets verses the wire organizers, of course they cost more as well. I used only doors and shelves in 1 room and doors and drawers in the other. You may not see it from these pictures but I did purchase the shelves which go above the clothes racks as well. I think it just gives it a more finished look and also gives you more room to store things. I love the look of these units.

Pros Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End

Video & Photo

  • DIY

Sheri

Arizona
45 to 54, Female
16 out of 16 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Sheri
  • Awesome but not enough shelves
  • April 23, 2014
  • Recommended Product

This unit is super easy to put together. Some dents were made during installation since this is only laminate, but nothing crazy and a little white paint couldn't fix. I was able to put this all together by myself. You'll definitely need a power drill/screw driver for anchoring it to the wall, plus it makes screwing everything together a breeze. There's a lot of different things you can do with this shelving unit if you keep your mind open. My ONLY complaint is that there are not enough shelves and no way of buying extra. If you're super handy you could definitely buy the laminate top shelf products and cut them to size and what not. I just used wire drawers and other products to supplement the space. Definitely a good unit to hold shoes!

Pros Easy to Assemble, Great Instructions, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight Cons wish there were more shelves!

Video & Photo

e123456

Florida
16 out of 16 people found this helpful
more details...
By: e123456
  • Great Value but be careful
  • January 02, 2015
  • Recommended Product

As with any project, getting the room ready before you attempt to add the new "furniture" is the key. This product went together easily with no missing pieces. However, it's laminated mdf which is, unfortunately, easily damaged and dinged up. Assemble on cardboard or a shipping blanket. Make sure you have the tools specified (rubber hammer, claw hammer, cross-tip screw driver) and don't miss a step. Strongly recommend you use the ClosetMaid designer to make sure your idea works in the space you have.

Pros Easy to Assemble, Functional, Great Instructions, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight Cons Easily Damaged

Video & Photo

  • DIY

DeadPool

Lilburn, GA
45 to 54, Male
13 out of 13 people found this helpful
more details...
By: DeadPool
  • More than I expected
  • May 06, 2012

I wasn't really sure what to expect after researching these organizers for months. I chose this one. * I have to say the product is incredibly heavy. Thank goodness they delivered it right to my door, but it did have a dent in it, but once you unpack something that weighs a ton the last thing you want to do is exchange it - so I kept it. * I hired a handyman to install it and it took him a few hours. * The quality of the product is great and edges are rounded and finished. I wasn't expecting it. The shelves are adjustable but you need to use a screwdriver to unscrew each screw thing (I don't know what they are called), adjust the shelf and then re-screw each one. * I also purchased the drawers. I can't believe how high quality they are. They slide in and out easily and are really large. In the end, I am insanely happy with this closet. I had the bars adjusted for the weird length of this closet. It looks really professional. So so so happy.

  • DIY

NewGirlOnTheBlock

Ewing
35 to 44, Female
11 out of 11 people found this helpful
more details...
By: NewGirlOnTheBlock
  • Great Closet Organizer for the money
  • October 03, 2012
  • Recommended Product

I was quite surprised at how sturdy this unit is given the material but it appears that Closet Maid has taken extra steps to ensure its durability. This unit is held together tight, but the 4 braces used to hold the unit against the wall are key. Our closet is only 67" and we wanted both sides to hold clothes so I ended up cutting down two of the rods on the right side to accommodate this. This adjustment gave me 15" of hanger space to hold pants or shirts. Yes this is a little more work, but sometimes you've got to customize products to make them fit. My only recommendation is to take your time on this unit, pre drill some of the holes and use the anchors provided. You will not be disappointed if you take your time. We also purchased baskets for the bottom two shelves and installed this on existing hardwood floors. Great product!

Pros Durable, Functional, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design

Slaney

Seattle, WA
25 to 34, Male
10 out of 10 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Slaney
  • AS IS - Not For Adult Clothing
  • May 15, 2010

First, kudos to Home Depot Shipping Dept...Package was well packed and all the parts were enclosed. Item comes with fairly easy to understand instructions. It took me and the wife less than an hour to assemble and no divorce paperwork was filed in the process. Product bars are thin, therefore, depending on your expansion, you are limited to lighter clothing or you will notice a bend in the bar. I don't know that I would trust the plastic pieces they ask you to support the bar for any length of time. I went back to the store and bought some heavier rod holders and cut some support boards to help beef up this unit to meet our needs. As far as organization, it met the wife's few needs but again, this is probably more designed for a children's closet and clothes than any adults. This unit was used in a spare closet for seasonal clothing. It met our needs after we beef it up a little. I would have given it higher stars if this was for a child's closet. Perhaps even a 4.5 star rating as I think it would have met all the needs for smaller clothing storage, though I would still have questioned the plastic rod holders.

HoneyDo2010

Northwest IL
8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: HoneyDo2010
  • Well worth the money and looks great!
  • April 25, 2011
  • Recommended Product

This is a wonderful closet organizer; however, I'm sure my husband would disagree because he had to cut down the rods to fit our smaller closets and there was missing hardware. I can honestly say it was well worth "his" aggravation because these make our girls' closets look great (we bought two). We added shelves across the top and two baskets on pull-out rollers for more storage. We've had these over a year and they still look like they did the day we installed them. Very well-made and sturdy. We are moving and I just bought three more to install in the closets in the new bedrooms we're moving into (haven't told my husband yet though...oops). I would highly recommend.

keno68

Baker, LA
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: keno68
  • Great Tower
  • August 21, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Bought this to go in my guest closet. I already had bought Martha Stewart organizer. This fit right next to it, I was able to use the same support that the other organizer used. It went together very easily (I am a woman in my 60's and I did it by myself). and it looks good and does just what I wanted it to.

Pros Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight

Bridge2U

San Diego, CA, USA
55 to 64, Female
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Bridge2U