No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (22)
  • Cabinet grade quality
  • January 04, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

No voids- good solid poplar core means little expansion issues- veneer is good on one side, superb on the other. MADE IN USA!!!

Pros High Quality of Material, Good Shape, made in usa
  • Pro

Woodworker

12 out of 12 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Woodworker
  • Clean
  • May 24, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Solid, clean and very well packed. There was a minor ding on one edge but it is easily covered by edging. It is NOT rough like luan. I believe it's African Mahogany so it's color is on the white side as opposed to Honduran which is red. As another reviewer noted it has one very good side and one great side. I am very pleased with this purchase.

Pros High Quality of Material

JimJ

CT
10 out of 10 people found this helpful
more details...
By: JimJ
  • Very nice Mahogany lumber
  • March 27, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Very pleased with the quality and exceptional price and delivered to you.

Longbow

7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Longbow
  • Not what I was expecting
  • April 18, 2016

My first impression from the web listing was that this panel would work nicely for the bottom panel of a blanket chest that I am building. I took a chance and ordered it; the price was right and there is nowhere to get quality mahogany plywood anywhere near me. The packaging was done very well and the panel was protected nicely in foam. The panel was not completely flat, it had a slight bow, but nothing drastic. Upon inspection, one side of the panel looked ok, but the other had several spots where the veneer had been sanded through to the next layer by the machines that processed the panel (see photos). Since this was for the bottom panel of my project, I only needed one good side, so I kept the panel and decided to use it. When running my hand across the panel, I could feel slight undulations on the face. After cutting the panel to size, I could see why. There were many voids in the panel the had been filled with what looked like biscuits. These filler pieces were wedged in and pushed the outer layers further out making waves in the panel (see images). I'm guessing this is why the veneer was sanded through. The real pain came when trying to set the panel in the groove around the chest case. I had cut the groove to 23/32" around and tested with the panel prior to discovering the wedges in the voids. The panel fit just fine with the test. Once cut and the poor areas exposed to the edge, the panel was over 3/4" where those wedges were located. This made it a real challenge to install as it was not a consistent thickness. I guess you get what you pay for, but I was hoping for something a little better. Unfortunately, this was the only option in my area.

Pros good price Cons poor quality

Video & Photo

Mike

Livonia, MI
35 to 44, Male
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Mike
  • Very Pleasantly Surprised!
  • September 16, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I purchased five panels of this mahagony in order to rebuild a laminate computer desk and printer stand. I was a little worried about the quality since I had no contol over the selection, but when they arrived, I was relieved since (1) they were packaged very securely; and (2) each piece was beautiful! Both sides were sanded and took the stain very nicely and evenly. I won't hesitate to purchase this wood or similar for future projects.

Pros High Quality of Material, Good Shape

Video & Photo

  • DIY

MrsMurphy

San Antonio, Texas
45 to 54, Female
6 out of 6 people found this helpful
more details...
By: MrsMurphy
  • Quality Product
  • April 08, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I am using these panels for a wall in my office, have been very pleased with the quality and grain with these panels. I just wished they were stocked in the store.

Pros Multi Use, Stylish, Seals Well
  • DIY

csmbjb

Oklahoma, USA
55 to 64, Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: csmbjb
  • Makes a Beautiful Project
  • February 23, 2016
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Mahogany is not available locally and not at all Home Depot stores, I used it to make a case for a serving set I made for my wife, the wood is a bit more expensive than the other woods carried by Home Depot but the results are astounding. My resultant project is absolutely beautiful everyone that has seen it has asked if I'd consider making them one.

Pros High Quality of Material, beautiful wood Cons a bit expensive

Video & Photo

  • DIY

farleypinstripe

Melbourne, Florida
65 or over, Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: farleypinstripe
  • This mahogany ply is exceptional. It was very straight and I love the inside plys which are made...
  • January 31, 2017
  • Recommended Product

This mahogany ply is exceptional. It was very straight and I love the inside plys which are made from poplar. Poplar is a very good wood for drums so I get a very good sound combined with a good look from the mahogany veneer.

Video & Photo

Miko

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Miko
  • This was delivered on time and exactly what was shown and exactly what I wanted.
  • July 31, 2018
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

This was delivered on time and exactly what was shown and exactly what I wanted.

Dabear1013

2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Dabear1013
  • Nice piece of ply
  • April 07, 2016
  • Recommended Product

I'm using this for furniture and this is a nice strong piece of mahogany plywood. The finish is super smooth. This product is not sold in stores so you'll need to order it online. My other half thought I was crazy when I received a cardboard box that contained a piece of plywood, but when there are no local suppliers of this type of material, that's what you have to do. This is furniture grade so use a fine toothed saw blade.

Pros Alternative for Real Wood, Multi Use, Stylish

Video & Photo

  • Top 250 Contributor
  • DIY

Breynold2

Waltham, MA, USA
35 to 44, Male
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Breynold2