No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (10)
  • Too light.
  • February 06, 2012

Ditto. Color is not even close to what is on the swatch. Waaay too light. Wish I would have seen these reviews before buying.

  • DIY

Stromitus

Akron, OH
35 to 44, Male
11 out of 11 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Stromitus
  • Color way to light
  • September 26, 2010

We pick out the pewter color of the grout to closely match the slate tiles that the purchased at Home Depot. The grout mixed well, and handled great. However, we were totally surprised with the color when it was finaly cured. It was more a medium gray color than the color swatch. I know that it is not uncommon for grout to dry lighter. However, I this was at least 4 shades lighter. After searching the net I found that this seems to be a common problem with this brand of grout. I tested a standard grout sealer and that did not change the grout color.To solve the problem I coated the grout with an enhancing sealer which darkened the grout to closely match the original color swatch.

  • DIY

homeDIY

Franklin, MA
11 out of 11 people found this helpful
more details...
By: homeDIY
  • Worse thing ever - Ruined my floor
  • March 01, 2016

This grout is NOT dark brown. I put in a 400 sq ft floor using Gunstock (wood look alike) tiles. The display in the store said "Shown with Tobacco Brown Grout" It was beautiful so that is what I bought. When the grout was wet it looked great, but when it dried it was at least 3 shades lighter and looks like gray chalk lines. Does not even look brown at all. My $3000 floor looks horrible!!! I am now going to have to attempt to re-stain the grout a darker color. This will require painting all the grout lines with a tooth brush. It will probably take me months to complete. If you are looking for Brown grout - STAY AWAY FROM THIS COLOR!!!!

Cons not brown

Michelle

Bensalem, PA
45 to 54, Female
11 out of 11 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Michelle
  • It's Grout
  • November 09, 2011

What is their to say - it's grout not a smart phone. Grout is a mixture of sand, cement, coloring and binding agents. Not a very high tech product. It has at least a 30 minute working time, is easy to mix with a 3/8" variable speed electric drill and paddle mixer. I prefer a Black foam rubber trowel for application. The 25 lb. bag easily does a standard 5' tiled shower surround with 1/8" - 1/4" grout lines. I find that in a dry climate like Arizona, Nevada, New Mexico, etc. you can start removing the excess in as little as 10 minutes after application using a good grout sponge. Wait another 20 - 30 minutes and then go over the joints again correcting any defects, high or low spots and smooth out the surface. Wait another 1-2 hour and then start a very light cleaning of the surface haze. Rinse the sponge frequently. Allow the grout to cure [grout cures-paint dries] overnight and then do a final cleaning and buff the tile clean. DON'T forget to seal the grout after about 5 days. Use at least 2 coats of grout sealer. It is good stuff and would have given it 5 stars if it had been delivered for free, LOL It is a good recognized national brand.

  • DIY

TomG

Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA
65 or over, Male
10 out of 10 people found this helpful
more details...
By: TomG
  • Not recommended
  • April 09, 2016

I had similar results as other reviewers, the grout was dark brown when it was first applied but it has dried to various shades of light brown and gray. I will now have to basically paint each grout line with a toothbrush, which I'm sure will be a lot of fun. Needless to say that I am very disappointed in this product and I definitely would not recmmend it.

Cons not the correct color

Video & Photo

  • DIY

DaveD

Syracuse, New York
45 to 54, Male
9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: DaveD
  • Quartz Color Not Accurate
  • June 10, 2014

I purchased Polyblend #101 Quartz. Color is not accurate!!!! When the grout was wet the color was accurate. After it dried it is way lighter than represented on the box and internet. The color virtually disappeared! My kitchen went from beautiful to boring in the time it took to dry. I hate, hate, hate this color. I didn't fully review this product because only 5 reviews came up. Out of the 5, only 1 was bad, but it was for a different color. Now, after my purchase, multiples reviews come up. Wow, to my surprise this product and many of its colors have been getting bad reviews for some time. Wish I didn't trust Home Depot and had been more thorough. It's 3:00 a.m. and instead of sleeping soundly, I'm worrying how I am going to fix this huge problem.

Cons color not accurate

Polybland

Bloomingburg, New York
45 to 54, Female
9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Polybland
  • Polyblend Must Be Color Blind
  • July 14, 2014

The actual color of the PolyBlend #19 Pewter Sanded Group is ridiculously lighter than what's pictured and the color strip on the bag. It's almost white when dry. Polyblend is not helpful in any regards. Their customer service is nice enough but they read from canned responses. Blaming, among all things, the water despite the fact I followed their advice. If you're looking for grout that is anywhere remotely near the color is stated/pictured to be this one isn't it.

YoTony

9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: YoTony
  • Tabacco brown grout faded to near white.
  • July 01, 2014

Used professional installer and tabacco brown grout faded to near white. Makes the expensive tile I purchased look pretty bad. The bag says if you experience fading to call. I am still trying to get a hold of their technical services line, but am on hold for far too long each time I call. I used their product before on another project and it was fine. My contractor is hopeful they will send a bottle of stain. The grout looks like it's dusty next to my brown handscraped "wood" tile. disappointing to ruin $300 worth of tile with faded grout.

  • DIY

smarks

35 to 44, Male
8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: smarks
  • grout color was not tobacco colored. Several shades lighter than shown. Very unhappy
  • June 11, 2013

Would not purchase this brand again. Very disappointed in the color. A lot of hard work and time spent on several square feet with very poor satisfaction due to color

dj1952

Fort Worth, TX, USA
55 to 64, Female
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: dj1952
  • Unsatisfactory Product and Customer Service.
  • August 09, 2011

This product was installed on 600 sq feet by a seasoned professional... The product had excessive efflorescent and maybe 50% of the darkness as any of the color chips once installed. During the installation contacted the mfg for advice, they blamed the water... After testing various amounts of water as well as using only distilled water to mix and sponge finish with zero changes to the outcome, we completed the project. Now we are faced with spending the time and $'s to acid wash the area... not an easy chore, as it is outdoors, and surrounded by a 50 year old manicured garden and we will need to be 100% confident that there is zero spillage... The cost of this step will exceed the cost of the product. Because of the lack of concern by the manufacturers customer service and completely unacceptable performance of the product, I will personally and professionally never use or rely on any products from Custom Building Products. I will also openly recommend that others avoid using their products based upon my personal experience.

WW101

Washington
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: WW101