No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (14)
  • After reading reviews I decided to give it a try. I used it to fill finish nail holes in crown mo...
  • February 20, 2017
  • Recommended Product

After reading reviews I decided to give it a try. I used it to fill finish nail holes in crown molding, it applies easily and wipes off smoothly with your finger or paper towel. The one problem using products in a tube, is as it empties it’s hard to dispense product, I found by adding a folder clip (see picture) it took care of the problem and made it easier to apply all the product. I had been using DAP acetone base plastic would filler, it dries out very quickly, you must keep adding acetone to keep it pliable. The acetone is very hard to breathe and most likely bad for your health.

Video & Photo

JackT

12 out of 12 people found this helpful
more details...
By: JackT
  • Poor Product
  • June 24, 2016

I purchased this product on the advice of the Home Depot advisor at the Pin Oak store in Houston. My application was to fill countersunk screws in exterior decking. After approximately 4 weeks, the paint I had applied on top of this wood filler began to blister. The product itself has turned into dust. Despite claims on the product packaging, it really is NOT paintable, at least not with a premium exterior latex enamel. Although it may dry hard, as the product packaging states, it does NOT remain hard for very long.

  • DIY

Elder

Houston, TX
55 to 64, Male
9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Elder
  • Defective product
  • April 03, 2016

We went to Home Depot to get an interior/exterior stainable wood filler made by Elmer's that we have used in the past, but HD no longer carries it. We were able to find a few tubs of the old product in the "discontinued" section, then we were directed to Dap Natural Plastic wood latex wood filler and we bought several 32 oz tubs. We are filling the spaces between wooden floor planking in our house. Unlike the Elmer's product which works well for this, the Dap was already semi dry in the tub, and dried out more before we could get it to the crack with the putty knife. Every bit we did get into the crack flaked and was not even adhering to itself. It was also more expensive. Totally unsuited for our project.

Cons too dry in tub already, does not adhere, expensive
  • DIY

LogHomeFixer

Alaska
55 to 64, Male
9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: LogHomeFixer
  • Easy to use
  • October 03, 2016
  • Recommended Product

I used DAP plastic wood on the nail holes of my quarter round for my oak floor and did the job. You do need to read the directions, and if you don't, it would be runny, you have to massage the tube before opening to mix the contents.

7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
  • good for filling cracks on moldings
  • November 28, 2016
  • Recommended Product

I use this to fill cracks in crown molding joints. The Carpender did a terrible job with the miters and filled them with calk which is not sandable. I scraped out all the caulk and used this instead. The miters look much better now and no more cracks.

wldmike223

5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: wldmike223
  • best wood filler I have used
  • September 27, 2016
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

repaired damaged siding and was easy to use and dried quickly. Looks great after painted

Pros Dries Quickly, Easy Instructions, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Coverage
  • DIY

johnnybug

Rochester, NY, USA
55 to 64, Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: johnnybug
  • Bought this product to fill in some holes on pressure treated wood so that I could reuse on my de...
  • July 27, 2019

Bought this product to fill in some holes on pressure treated wood so that I could reuse on my deck railing. Filled in the holes as directed in the instructions, let cured for more than 48 hours before applying wood stain and sealant. Applied stain and sealant and let dry for another 36 hours at least. Then rain came. See pictures of how the filler just popped up and did not stay in place. Not a good product for the my application.

Video & Photo

Huggy

4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Huggy
  • Big fan of Plastic wood products, bought this because I don't use it all that often and wanted a ...
  • May 25, 2019
  • Recommended Product

Big fan of Plastic wood products, bought this because I don't use it all that often and wanted a way to have it on hand, securely closed so it would not dry up. It is easy to apply, dries quickly and easy to sand smooth I use it for small cracks or nicks, not sure if you would want to use this for large areas.

Video & Photo

  • Top 50 Contributor
  • DIY

txgent10

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: txgent10
  • Excellent
  • February 10, 2016
  • Recommended Product

I've used this on chips in door edges, plywood cracks, drill holes, and even huge gouges in the shelf under my sink. It is very smooth but you can texturize the surface if desired to match a grain or paint texture. It dries fast, and is an excellent beige color for wood filling. It doesn't shrink or crack, and takes stain and paint well. The square container is great for use with a 3" putty knife- easy to scrape along the flat sides. The lid seals just ok but is a wide opening, so I water it down to put away if I know I won't use for a while. Once opened, the remainder dries out after about 3 months, but can re-constitute it again with water if it's not too far gone. This is my favorite wood filler and I've used a bunch.

Pros Dries Quickly, Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Even Application, Good Coverage, Looks Great, High Quality of Material, Very Adhesive
  • Top 1000 Contributor
  • DIY

LILass

Long Island, NY, USA
45 to 54, Female
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: LILass
  • Not a wood filler.
  • August 21, 2016

I bought this thinking that it was a wood filler. It has the consistency of a runny wood glue. Totally unusable on any surface except the topside of a horizontal piece of wood with no through-holes. The lid says "trowelable and moldable". This is patently false. I am only in town for a short period of time to fix up this apartment and I had to rent a car just to go to home depot. I can't spend another $30 on a zipcar to justify getting a better wood filler. This has ruined my entire renovation schedule as I was supposed to start painting today. I agree with other reviewers that said the lid doesn't click into place well either. I've purchased almost identical products before and they were actually able to fill holes in wood. The only reason I was buying more this time is because my stash of wood filler was dried out.

Cons lies on the lid
  • DIY

Ben

Cambridge, MA
35 to 44, Male
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Ben