No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (17)
  • When you're buying caulk, you should be aware that, just like paint, the price is going to indica...
  • May 15, 2018
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

When you're buying caulk, you should be aware that, just like paint, the price is going to indicate the quality. In the caulk family, the cheapest caulk is PAINTER'S CAULK. Painter's caulk (called Dap brand Alex Painters Caulk at Home Depot) is low quality and will crack and fail within a short period of time. Painters will use painters caulk to save money. DON'T LET THEM. The next price point up is PAINTER'S CAULK WITH SILICONE (The main brand that Home Depot sells is called Dap Alex Plus). This is a better choice than plain painters caulk because it is made from acrylic, a more flexible glue that is the primary ingredient. They also add a very SMALL amount of silicone to further prevent cracking. While this is a good choice, but you can still do better. Read on. The next price point up is ELASTOMERIC CAULK. (The main brand Home Depot sells is called Dap Dynaflex 230). Elastomeric caulk is far superior than the previous 2 mentioned. It is flexible up to 50% of it's size and can be painted. It lasts YEARS. Home Depot sells it in a wide variety of colors. When I have contractors doing work on my house for me, I ALWAYS insist that they use Dynaflex 230 Elastomeric Caulk. It may cost $1-$2 more, but it is WORTH IT. In the 2 pictures I submitted, this is a large piece of Dynaflex 230 that was removed from a patio door that was changed out. It was on there for about 2 months. In the first picture noticed how much it will stretch without breaking. I could have stretched it even further (like gum, but stronger), but it was too difficult to stretch it and hold my camera and push the button at the same time! In the second picture, I have twisted it to show the flexibility. The twist is to the left of the piece. Take note that other retailers sell this product also, so it is widely available.

Video & Photo

  • DIY

tdm996

42 out of 42 people found this helpful
more details...
By: tdm996
  • best caulk
  • September 27, 2012
  • Recommended Product

I've used other cheaper caulk, big mistake. Get this stuff works great, sticks well, doesn't crack or dry out. Even better if you paint over it. It doesn't like constant exposure to water so I don't use it where it could be wet for a long time. In places like that I use 100% silicon but then you can't paint over it and it's even messier to clean up. In any case, don't get the cheap caulk, and if you have someone working for you, don't let them use it either.

Pros Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, you can paint over it Cons does not replace 100% silicon
  • DIY

California
18 out of 18 people found this helpful
more details...
  • Great 'final layer' sealant for foam board insulation panels
  • September 26, 2015
  • Recommended Product

In addition to all of the typical applications for DAP 230, it is an excellent 'final layer' sealant for XPS and polyiso foam board insulation panels. It does not dissolve the foam and remains flexible as assemblies expand and contract each day. We recently 'wrapped' the outside of a house in Massachusetts with 2" Foamular XPS panels, for example. We sealed all of the joints and edges first with the 'Windows and Doors' version of Great Stuff, which remains flexible. Then we covered all of the joints and edges with a generous layer of DAP 230, to make sure all of the air leaks were well sealed. A couple of photos are attached. I hope this is helpful. Mark

Pros Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly, perfect to seal foam board insulation panels

Video & Photo

  • Top 10 Contributor
  • Pro

BvilleBound

Massachusetts
45 to 54, Male
16 out of 16 people found this helpful
more details...
By: BvilleBound
  • The best latex caulk I have ever used
  • June 07, 2013
  • Recommended Product

I have worked in the building trades for 36 years. This is one of the few products I have used that I can say is truly excellent in every way. On a wood to wood exterior application this stuff holds up for years if you cover it with a coat of paint to block the UV rays. It does not crack or shrink. I have gone back to do rework on jobs years later and the Dynaflex 230 still looks new with NO failure what soever. The low ratings of this product are unfair because it seems those folks did not know what they were buying for a job that required a different product.

Pros Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Modern, Dries Quickly
  • Pro

Carpenter77

Ohio
45 to 54, Male
12 out of 12 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Carpenter77
  • I've been using this product since 1996 and have applied 1,000's of tubes, mostly on siding and t...
  • January 30, 2018
  • Recommended Product

I've been using this product since 1996 and have applied 1,000's of tubes, mostly on siding and the exteriors of homes that I have built new or repaired. This is one of the BEST products out there, period! After reading some of the reviews, it's utterly amazing what people expect of a calking when it's not used properly. This calking has to dry completely if you expect it to work, so it can't be used in cold weather or when rain is expected in the near future.... in those conditions, you will unfortunately have to use a messy sticky solvent based product, of which many do not perform as well long term. This product is one of the easiest calkings to use, tools easily and smooths out beautifully! I used this on my own home which I built in 1997 and the calking is still flexible and sealing perfectly! As with most latex calking, it should be painted because it will attract dust and look dirty in time. This calking also works very well indoors for sealing trim and molding, paints perfectly! I would never use this product in a shower, it's not meant for such use. To seal around a fiberglass shower where it meets the drywall, yes, but never inside. I've used about every brand and style of calking made. For it's intended use, it's the best easiest to use calking I have ever run across! I would recommend this calking to anyone. I've used a few others that work as well for some areas and are more expensive, but overall, this product is hard to beat!! One thing to note, the CLEAR version of this product does not perform the same and takes an extremely long time to dry.... I honestly would never use the clear. This calking should be painted anyway, so there is no need to ever use clear...... and the Alex Plus calking doesn't hold a candle to this product! Spend a buck or two more and buy the "good stuff"!

Professionalbuilder

10 out of 10 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Professionalbuilder
  • Excellent weather resistant paintable caulk
  • October 26, 2012
  • Recommended Product

DAP 230 caulk is very easy to apply and tool to a smooth finish, much better than silicone or urethane caulks. I've found it bonds well to painted and unpainted wood, metal or PVC with no problems and it takes and holds paint very well because it has no silicone in it - just be sure to let it dry completely first and use a backer rod for a deep joint. Silicone isn't listed as an ingredient on the back label, and anyway silicone caulks aren't always the best answer to every caulking problem.

AP

9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: AP
  • Good for the Price
  • August 22, 2007
  • Recommended Product

The only complaint I have with this product is that is shrinks. If you have a gap 3/16"-1/4" it will shrink enough that you'll need to add another layer. If you have a minimal gap of 1/8" you wont notice. Holds up well, easy to clean, and does remain flexible as advertised. I used it on a new home for window, door and siding caulking

Baldie

Portland, OR
9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Baldie
  • DAP dynaflex 230
  • July 02, 2010
  • Recommended Product

This is not just a caulk - this is a sealant. When cured you would think it had silicone in it, but it doesn't, so it doesn't smell bad. Easy cleanup. 50 yr warranty. Great product!

AIRbyDzn

wilmington, nc
9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: AIRbyDzn
  • I have read through lots of the reviews for this product and decided to offer this opinion. I hav...
  • April 28, 2018
  • Recommended Product

I have read through lots of the reviews for this product and decided to offer this opinion. I have been in the trades for thirty plus years, this is the sealant I now regularly select when needing the performance and reliability of a proven product. It flexes and tools better than most caulks which means a nicer looking end result; something unfortunately not ever contractor strives to achieve. I have never had a call back nor witnessed a Dynaflex failure since switching to it. My advice, do not expect a product to do something other than what it is designed to do. Using the proper product in the correct situation will produce the best results every time.

DoggieDaddy

8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: DoggieDaddy
  • Good Stuff
  • October 14, 2016
  • Recommended Product

I have used about 12 tubes of this stuff to seal up my 54 year old house. It works really well. I have used mostly the gray color as my house is painted gray. I think alot of the bad reviews are based off of people who did not read the instructions. There is a BIG DIFFERENCE between the colored stuff and the clear. The CLEAR TAKES A LONG TIME TO CURE. It states right on the tube, the colored stuff is ready for paint in less than 4 hours, but the clear is 7 DAYS. I have a bunch of tubes left and plan on using this exclusively on my house.

Pros Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Coverage, Good Protection, High Quality of Material
  • DIY

JC

Stateline, NV
25 to 34, Male
8 out of 8 people found this helpful
more details...
By: JC