#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for DEWALT 21.5 in. 20-Volt MAX Lithium-Ion Cordless Battery Walk Behind Self Propelled Mower

Internet #314297685

Model #DCMWSP244U2

Store SKU #1005658471

  • Self propelled feature allows for a controlled cut
  • Push Start for easy operation
  • 21.5 inch durable metal deck to cut large areas

Customer Reviews

  • 3.5
    out of 573 reviews
  • 62% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 573 reviews
Dead Battery makes a useess mower
I bought this mower in April and by July one of the two 10AH batteries is faulty. It will not charge and thus the mower will not run. total waste of money
by MadCustomer
    Stealth Mower!
    STEALTH MOWER! Ok, I will admit that I am a bit of a DeWalt fanboy...but I was still a bit leery when I bought this battery-operated mower. My backyard is almost a half-acre so it takes a while to push-mow. Well, I can tell you now that I am totally impressed with how this mower handled it. It operates on 2 20vmax batteries (same as most of my cordless power tools). After a little over an hour of mowing, which amounted to about a 3-mile walk, the batteries only dropped one of their three bars! And the mower is so freaking quiet! It doesn't just cut the grass, it sneaks up on it first...like a ninja! If you're in the market, I can recommend this one highly.
    by GW Bell
      • Recommended Product
      It's okay...
      Because I have several other Dewalt tools, I use it with the 9.0ah 60v batteries. Battery life is fine, but the mower constantly clogs at the rear discharge and leaves piles of cut grass on when the bag is not even 1/4 full. I have to keep opening the bag and shoving the grass to the rear to keep mowing. Also, the mower leaves patches of tall grass intermittently, so you will be constantly going over areas you just mowed. Only real plus is my wife likes not having to pull a string to start it.
      by Adam
      Response from DewaltProductExpertAug 6, 2021
      Hi Adam
      We appreciate your feedback on the DCMWSP244U2. We are sorry to hear about the issue you are having with your product. This is not the kind of performance we expect from our products and would like to speak to you about this issue so we can assist you in resolving this to your satisfaction. Please email me at wecare@sbdinc.com and reference case # 13619363. I look forward to hearing from you.
      Roxy
      DEWALT
        Battery Life
        I've had this mower for 4 months now. I can say that it worked flawlessly for the first 3 months. It did take over 15 hours to charge the batteries on a slow charger, but It did have enough power to cut the entire lawn. However, after the 3 months, it only took an hour to charge and we would only get 15 -20 minutes a charge. Not enough to cut our whole lawn. I contacted DeWalt support and they said the batteries that came with the unit have been discontinued and they would replace them with 4 of the 20V MAX 6Ah. I haven't received them yet, but hopefully they will have enough power to cut the entire lawn again. The mower has enough power to cut through the taller grass. I also love that it is self propelled. But the battery issue would have been a deal breaker for me if I had known from the beginning that they had been discontinued.
        by Mikie
        Response from DewaltProductExpertAug 4, 2021
        Hi Mickie
        We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to hear about the issues with the mower. We would like to speak to you about the experience you had. Please contact support at WECARE@sbdinc.com and include a brief description of the issue you are having along with your contact information. Reference case number 13610949.
        I look forward to hearing from you.
        Thank you
        Sherri C
        DEWALT
          2 people found this helpful
          extremly dissapointing/Dont buy it
          I would not recommend dewalt lawnmowers. After just a few uses batteries were fully charged but mower would not run. Called dewalt for somewhere local to see about service place honoring warrenty and they gave me two places that didnt even work on them. They even offered to send me a box to ship it for service to another location for repair but i wasnt going to risk that. I probably would have never seen it again and lost the mower completly. Ended up returning it to home depot and buying a gas mower.
          by kwgw
          Response from DewaltProductExpertAug 4, 2021
          Hi kwgw
          We appreciate your feedback. We apologize for any trouble or inconvenience with the lawn mower. We would like to speak to you about the experience you had. Please contact support at WECARE@sbdinc.com and include a brief description of the issue you are having along with your contact information. Reference case number 13611359 .
          I look forward to hearing from you.
          Thank you
          Sherri C
          DEWALT
            1 person found this helpful
            Wheels spin backward
            I read the reviews on this mower, and thought, “The problems won’t happen now; Dewalt has to have recalled the defective machines that had the self-propelled motor installed backward.” I was wrong. The darn thing almost ran over my foot when I started it up and engaged the self-propelled drive! The drive that should push this forward, actually pushed it backward! Caveat Emptor! Dewalt makes great products, but, this is not one of them.
            by RW
            Response from DewaltProductExpertAug 4, 2021
            HI RW
            We appreciate your feedback on the DCMWSP244U2 . We are sorry to hear about the issue you are having with your product. This is not the kind of performance we expect from our products and would like to speak to you about this issue so we can assist you in resolving this to your satisfaction. Please email me at wecare@sbdinc.com and reference case # 13611722. I look forward to hearing from you.
            We apologize for the inconvenience you are having.
            Roxy
            DEWALT
              Unit no longer runs
              During my last mowing everything was fine. I pulled the batteries when I was done. I recharged them, went to use it again and nothing... Support says I need to bring it in for service. It was only the third use, trying for the fourth.
              by Ken K
                Good but could be great
                Good: 1. 2x batteries means I can swap them with the rest of my 20V tools without having some giant single battery which can't really be used for anything else. 2. Runtime is fine for my needs with plenty of juice left for me to swap the battery into the string trimmer and the other into the blower 3. Love being able to fold the handles and store it upright. Takes up hardly any space in the garage. Could be better: 1. Needs a high lift blade to suck up grass, leaves, and get material into the bagger. 2. The cables get in the way of taking the bagger on and off. They also can get pinched when folding the handle over for upright storage. I ended up using electrical tape to keep them in place 3. The "key" needs a leash so it doesn't get lost 4. The self-drive wheels have resistance when not engaged. This seems like an easy engage/disengage fix
                by JJ21
                  • Recommended Product
                  Bought yesterday
                  I bought this yesterday, replacing my gas mower. Initially, I was hesitant to buy a battery mower but already had a bunch of Dewalt tools so I gave it a go. Charged the batteries last night. Just went out to mow. I did a strip about 7 feet and it stopped working. Pulled into the driveway and now will not start. I'm thinking that this might be a huge mistake. Took the batteries back in to re-charge.
                  by CASitzman
                    Alright mower great if you have deWalt tools.
                    Can't give 5 stars not a five star mower. I wanted to edit my other review but can't figure out where it is. I forgot to log on when I ordered my mower so it is not on my account. Down to the mower. When I reviewed it last time it was still new. After using I now know the glaring flaws in the design. It does mow as good as most gas powered mowers, not as good as my Honda HRX Versamow machine but it does have as much power as the Honda. The mower cuts even and the blade is very sharp out of the box. It has no problems cutting long wet grass but does not pick up all the clippings as does my Honda. Why DeWalt cut corners on their premium mower is beyond me. It does not have the features of the high end electric mowers it competes against and that is sad. Only one cutting blade, Why? The speed control handle is as flimsy as a cheap toy, it will break no doubt. The cables get in the way when emptying the bag and there is no way to correct it the way they are laid out and no way to change the layout of the cables. The battery cover has to be held open with one hand and makes it harder to change the batteries, you have to lay one down when putting one it. This is such a cheap setup. It stores easily on its end as do all the other electric mowers and NO GAS, OIL or AIR FILTERS to mess with. If you want electric there are better options. if you have DeWalt tools this is the one to get, the Batteries outweigh the flaws but its not perfect and not all plastic.
                    by dwaltus
                      • Recommended Product
                      I am very pleased with this mower, it cut my...
                      I am very pleased with this mower, it cut my yard 3 times on the same charge, my yard has a steep upgrade it pulls itself up the hill mulching grass as it goes makes the lawn look awesome, love this mower
                      by HomeDepotCustomer
                      • Verified Purchase
                      Very impressed!
                      When I bought this lawnmower I saw a lot of mixed reviews and the majority of them complained about the standard battery durations. However, since I have no mechanical skills whatsoever I knew that in a year from the purchase I wouldn't be able to get it running again, I am a woodworker not a mechanic. Anyways I bought this lawnmower and have now used it for three weeks. I do not have a huge yard but I have a decent sized one. I was mowing very thick, 6" + tall grass on the 4 setting, and this thing had no issues whatsoever mowing. When I hit thick spots it kicks into a higher gear and goes through it just fine. I did both the front and back on the bagged setting and it still had over half the charge left at about 45 minute run time. These are just the standard 10 ah batteries that came with it. The fact that it folds up to be stored vertically is also a nice touch. I was genuinely surprised with the performance of this battery powered mower. It definitely earns Dewalt's name and performs just like you expect it too. I love it so much and my neighbors were impressed with the results that they went out and bought themselves one and are extremely happy with their purchase. The one thing I would say I wish it came with a double charger for this combo, however everything else is perfect like a Dewalt should be.
                      by rtltx96
                        • Recommended Product
                        Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
                        Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                        by HomeDepotCustomer
                        • Verified Purchase
                        Blade crapped out after about 5 runs. It should not...
                        Blade crapped out after about 5 runs. It should not need sharpening that quickly. Also the blade already has alot of other damage to it. I only cut grass with it. Maybe a twig or two have been caught in it but nothing more. It could have been shipped to me damaged. Check your blade upon purchase.
                        by HomeDepotCustomer
                        • Verified Purchase
                        Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
                        Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                        by HomeDepotCustomer
                        Response from DewaltProductExpertJul 30, 2021
                        Hi, we're sorry to hear of the trouble you are having with the DCMWSP244U2. We would appreciate the chance to speak with and assist you. Please email us at WECARE@SBDINC.COM so that we may assist you with warranty. Please also reference case #13592821. Many Thanks, Mitzy DEWALT Customer Care
                        • Verified Purchase
                        horrible product
                        Second time using it and it stopped working i believe the PLASTIC pully melted as per watching other videos from and reading reviews from other customers its unfortunate because i like dewalt but this is now two products in a row that failed in a short amount of time so nonmore dewalt for me.
                        by phil
                        Response from DewaltProductExpertJul 30, 2021
                        Hi, we're sorry to hear of the trouble you are having with the DCMWSP244U2. We would appreciate the chance to speak with and assist you. Please email us at WECARE@SBDINC.COM so that we may assist you with warranty. Please also reference case #13592991. Many Thanks, Mitzy DEWALT Customer Care
                          • Recommended Product
                          1 person found this helpful
                          needs a little more run time to do my whole...
                          needs a little more run time to do my whole yard and i cant find anyone with the 10 ah batteries in stock
                          by
                          • Verified Purchase
                          assembled out of the box the self propell went in...
                          assembled out of the box the self propell went in reverse and almost got the deck on my feet.
                          by atv renew
                          Response from DewaltProductExpertJul 30, 2021
                          Hi, we're sorry to hear of the trouble you are having with the DCMWSP244U2. We would appreciate the chance to speak with and assist you. Please email us at WECARE@SBDINC.COM so that we may assist you with warranty. Please also reference case #13593771. Many Thanks, Mitzy DEWALT Customer Care
                          • Verified Purchase
                          I returned 1 because the battery wouldnt charge and only ran 5 minutes. The replacement did the s...
                          I returned 1 because the battery wouldnt charge and only ran 5 minutes. The replacement did the same, so I'll be returning this one as well. Over 2 hrs on phone with customer service. Don't waste your time!
                          by Rebecca
                          Response from DewaltProductExpertJul 30, 2021
                          Hi, we're sorry to hear of the trouble you are having with the DCMWSP244U2. We would appreciate the chance to speak with and assist you. Please email us at WECARE@SBDINC.COM so that we may assist you with warranty. Please also reference case #13593803. Many Thanks, Mitzy DEWALT Customer Care
                          • Verified Purchase
                          Wife loves it. Mows 7000 square feet. Easy to adjust...
                          Wife loves it. Mows 7000 square feet. Easy to adjust and run.
                          by DOUGLAS
                          • Verified Purchase
                          Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
                          Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                          by HomeDepotCustomer
                          • Verified Purchase
                          Worked great until it didn't
                          We purchased this mower 3 months ago and have used it for apx 20 hours. All of those hours we were happy with it. Today my wife was mowing away and it stopped running. I have multiple batteries of this type and ensured they were all working properly, being a master electrician and it still did not work or is fixable to the consumer. Unfortunately we will be sending this in for repairs and will have to buy a temporary mower for the mean time.
                          by Kevin
                          Response from SBD_Product ExpertJul 30, 2021
                          Hi Kevin
                          Thank you for your feedback regarding your DCMWSP244U2-CA. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and can assure you this type of performance is not typical of our products. Please contact our Customer Service Team by e-mail at wecare@sbdinc.com for assistance. Please reference case #13593577.
                          Thank you
                          Roxy
                          BLACK+DECKER
                            Worked beyond what I thought excellent product...
                            Worked beyond what I thought excellent product
                            by David
                            • Verified Purchase
                            Only mowed for 35 min...
                            Only mowed for 35 min
                            by HomeDepotCustomer
                            Response from DewaltProductExpertJul 28, 2021
                            Hi HomeDepotCustomer
                            We appreciate your feedback on the DCMWSP244U2 . We are sorry to hear about the issue you are having with your product. This is not the kind of performance we expect from our products and would like to speak to you about this issue so we can assist you in resolving this to your satisfaction. Please email me at wecare@sbdinc.com and reference case # 13583504. I look forward to hearing from you.
                            We apologize for the inconvenience you are having.
                            Thank you
                            Roxy
                            Dewalt
                            • Verified Purchase
                            Super easy to assemble! Love the performance and power it...
                            Super easy to assemble! Love the performance and power it has! Totally recommend this mower!
                            by DI
                            • Verified Purchase
                            Self-propelled wheels only go backwards
                            I bought this brand new from Home Depot and when I hit the self-propelled mood the wheels only go backwards not forward so I cannot effectively cut the lawn. Return the item from Home Depot in exchange for another only to find out that the batteries did not work returned it and got a full refund this product is garbage
                            by manoth1
                            Response from DewaltProductExpertJul 27, 2021
                            Hello
                            We appreciate your feedback. We would like to speak to you about the experience you had. Please contact support at WECARE@sbdinc.com and include a brief description of the issue you are having along with your contact information.
                            We look forward to hearing from you.
                            Thank you
                            STANLEY BLACK+DECKER
                              works great... in reverse!!
                              good build and feel. easy to assemble. once all put together and read instructions front to back and online videos I hit the self propelled levers expecting to b leisurely pulled forward. instead I was met with a loud clacking sound like the drive was fighting me. sure enough, pick the front wheels up and they are spinning in reverse! no, this is not an option on these mowers. went to home Depot and they are awesome, did a one for one swap. take the second one home... and it does the same thing. looks like DeWalt QA/QC is going down the drain.Of note, an employee at home Depot helped me open the box in the store because he wanted to make sure it actually came with 2 batteries. some boxes they opened for their displays only had one battery in. yea pass on this product. DeWalt lost a loyal buyer.
                              by austin
                              Response from DewaltProductExpertJul 27, 2021
                              Hello
                              We appreciate your feedback. We would like to speak to you about the experience you had. Please contact support at WECARE@sbdinc.com and include a brief description of the issue you are having along with your contact information.
                              We look forward to hearing from you.
                              Thank you
                              STANLEY BLACK+DECKER
                                High Potential some work to do in the meantime
                                My first battery operated lawn mower and enjoy the fact I no longer smell like gas. Here is my review 1. After 5th time using the Batteries started dying within two passes. Called for warranty and was told they are aware and sending me two 20 minutes batteries until resolved. I asked for 4 batteries instead and it is still not equivalent to the two that came with it. 2. Folding up after use beware as the cable can get kinked up. I used a cable tie with plenty of slack so flexible 3. Self propelled is easy to engage and disengage. Excellent Feature. 4. Quiet and smooth. Easy to push if you decide not to engage the self propulsion 5. Batteries get hot after use so let them sit couple minutes before removal 6. Customer service person Lorianne was excellent, kind, considerate and helpful.
                                by ChazMan
                                  • Recommended Product
                                  Not worth it
                                  I bought this. Charged the batteries overnight. Attempted to cut my grass. Live on less the a 1/4 acre. Mower mad it threw about a 1/4 of my lawn then batteries were spent. Does not self propel at all. Had the mower for less than 24hrs. Returned and bought a gas toro for $200 more. Went from a pinto to a Rolls Royce buying the gas Toro
                                  by PN
                                    Not a good start
                                    I bought this today. It's quiet, it cuts grass, it's easy to assemble and use. Unfortunately, I put the brand new UN3480 batteries into the brand new chargers and the red lights flashed for a few seconds then were (single) solid red, indicating they were charged. Of course, after ten minutes use, they were completely discharged. I put the batteries back on the charger, ignored the "fully charged" solid red lights and let them charge for two hours. This time they lasted for less than five minutes. I am now charging them overnight to see if there is an improvement.
                                    by DeVolt
                                      Showing 1-30 of 573 reviews