No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (6)
  • Dewalt 5" random orbit sander
  • June 11, 2006
  • Recommended Product

Yet another piece of my wood-working hobby puzzle... this is my first electric sander. After consulting a few reviews abroad and keeping price-point as a primary concern, I settled on this one. I have had it about 6 months and have familiarized myself with the ins and outs of it. Strengths: 1. hook and loop. Very very simple to change sanding discs. 2. control. Doesn't walk or jitter on you; is easy to keep under control, and doesn't seem to have problems with weight distribution (doesn't sand harder/deeper on one side than the other) nicely balanced. No swirling. 3. sealed switch. On.off switch is placed in the perfect spot and is sealed to prevent dust and debris getting in. 4. price. For what you get, this sander starts at an excellent price. 5. comfortable. rubber grips placed in primary positions offer a comfortable grip. Weaknesses: 1. weight. It seems a bit heavy in comparison with others in its class. Although, as mentioned before, it is well balanced, so the weight issue doesn't cause uneven sanding patterns. 2. dust bag. The dust collection bag is rather small and fills quickly, you have to empty it pretty regularly. Conslusion: All in all, this is a great sander... and offers room to grow, especially because it was purchased with entry-level ambitions. I would definitely recommend this sander to beginners, as well as professionals, as it offers a nice balance of features and a great price.

Lance

Conway, AR
49 out of 49 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Lance
  • Love it
  • February 25, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Had a square pad and went for this. Now it is a constant companion when I am doing woodworking. Loaned it to a friend who had loaned his, when he returned it asked how much I paid for this because he liked it and was going to do the same as is did. Only negative thing was the power switch. It is a simple rocker switch, but you have to be careful turning it off. You can press it to off and have it come back on when it is unattended. Twice this happened. Once it was a fluke, second time I realized that the switch was sensitive and if you pressed in the middle it would go off but spring back to the on position later.

Pros Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, good control Cons switch
  • DIY

Mark

Brick, NJ, USA
55 to 64, Male
17 out of 17 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Mark
  • Orbit out of this world
  • February 10, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I purchased this sander based on need and other write-ups. I am building toys and "cubbies" for daycares and I needed a sander that would cut the amount of sanding time in half or less. My DeWalt finish sander was great for small area projects, but I needed something to cover alot of ground and without leaving scratches or patterns from sanding. I just finished a Doll House that had been discarded because of paint and magic markers colors all over the place. I disassembled the house and used the 5" DeWalt Random Orbital sander to finish each piece. I was amazed at how fast the paint and markers came off the wood. The wood is maple and ash and it cleaned up very nicely as you can see in the enclosed pictures. I did use the finish sander to get into the square corners but everything else was random orbital. There are many grits of sanding disks available so moving from rought to finish was very easy with the hook and eye system to hold the paper on the disk. You have to be careful because all brands with holes do not line up on the disk holes for the dust collection. It is enough power but not to much for the jobs I do. I think this is a perfect sander for a DIY'er.

Pros Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Light Weight, easy sand paper removal, multiple gits available

Video & Photo

  • Top 100 Contributor
  • Pro

Sandy

Olathe, KS, USA
65 or over, Male
17 out of 17 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Sandy
  • Great tool
  • July 20, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I've been using this DeWalt sander for a couple of months now. It gets the job done! I've used it from refinishing window sills to sanding down new plywood for cabinets, all the way to sanding down my weatherbeaten deck to a smooth finish before staining. I was impressed by the power! The hook and loop connection to the sanding pads is easy and trustworthy. The power switch is sealed off from any dust from entering. Note: Make sure to fully depress the switch to On or Off. A couple times I had turned the sander off and set it down on the workpiece. Seconds later it magically turned back on and started spinning around. Fortunately it didn't damage the workpiece. This is why I said to make sure to firmly depress the switch to On/Off. This should not be a deciding issue on purchasing this sander. Overall, an excellent tool for anyone looking for a quality finish.

Pros Powerful
  • DIY

Swinkk

25 to 34, Male
13 out of 13 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Swinkk
  • Works great
  • December 07, 2011

Ordered online, picked up in store 15 minutes later--was ready at front! Tool works well. I used it to refinish our kitchen table. Went very smoothly. Has only 1 speed, and takes a long time to wind down when turned off. Great product, but I'm not convinced it's worth twice as much as the Craftsman equivalent, at half price

  • DIY

Rico

Richmond, VA, USA
35 to 44, Male
11 out of 11 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Rico
  • Cedar deck sanding
  • April 24, 2013
  • Recommended Product

Used this tool for my medium sized cedar deck. Never once did it act up, over heat or anything negative. It ran great, sanded to heavy coats of stain back the original sweet smell of cedar. No burn marks, circular marks. Deck looks brand new because of the sander. Highly recommend

Pros Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
  • DIY

TXOutdoors

Texas, USA
35 to 44, Male
9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: TXOutdoors
  • Changed my mind about sanders, in a good way
  • July 29, 2014
  • Recommended Product

I've always used 1/4 sheet vibrating sanders. Now they are hard to find. When I needed a sander, I looked at everything the store had. Mouse sander and palm sander too small. Vaguely remembered seeing these "round things" on a TV show, they seemed to work okay for them. Had a choice between the DeWalt and a cheaper brand, figured I might as well spend the ten more bucks for a good name brand. The multi-packs of sanding discs weren't too expensive and it's reassuring to know you have a lot of them. Easier to change discs than cut a 1/4 sheet. It works s well as the old 1/4 sheet sander, and it's lighter, and it doesn't make my hand feel like it I still vibrating ten minutes after I turn it off.

Pros Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
  • DIY

HousePainter

SE Texas
55 to 64, Male
9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: HousePainter
  • What an amazing sander this is!!
  • December 15, 2014
  • Recommended Product

Wow...what can I even say about this amazing sander?Well how about it's lack of noise and vibration. Or how ergonomic it is. I almost bought the cheaper $30 Ryobi sander but after feeling the Dewalt sander in the store I knew I had to have it. The main thing this sander has over other sanders is how comfortable it is in the hand. Because it has 3 amps versus 2 which most cheaper sanders have it will last longer and take more abuse.I will recommend this to all my friends and trust me, the Dewalt brand won't let you down.

  • DIY

ToolGuru

9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: ToolGuru
  • YesWALT
  • December 21, 2010
  • Recommended Product

Believe it or not I used this to refinish the hardwoods in my living room. My back and wrists wouldn't suggest doing this, but the machine held up just fine! Didn't overheat and is quite powerful for such a small sander. The dust bag caught a TON . Absolutely

MrJJ

PASADENA CA
9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: MrJJ
  • Sanders have come a long way!
  • October 01, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I had a very old orbital sander that took the small square sheets that you had to clamp at both ends onto the vibrating pad. I was working with a contractor and borrowed his DeWalt sander and was so impressed that I ordered this one immediately. I know that the other big name tool companies make similar products and I don't have any experience with their tools to compare against this one, but I've already got about 4 hours of use on this one and I'm really impressed with its performance. PROS: The sandpaper lasts a long time and is relatively inexpensive. There are other companies that make sandpaper pads that work great on the DeWalt. The micro Velcro system that holds the sandpaper to the pads makes it easy and quick to change paper. Nice long power cord. The dust pouch really works. CONS: Haven't found any yet

Pros Powerful, Good Size & Weight, dust pouch really works!
  • DIY

RichD

South Lake Tahoe, CA
55 to 64, Male
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: RichD