#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for

Customer Reviews

Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 435 reviews
App could use updating...
App could use updating
by HomeDepotCustomer
  • Verified Purchase
Amazing Night Vision
I have had this system for 3 days and I can tell this is the best security camera system I have ever had. This is the 4th system I've had. I would highly recommend this system to everyone! It is easy to set up and easy to use.
by Lola S
Response from CXOct 9, 2020
Hello Lola S! Thank you for taking the time to review your Defender 4K security system. We are so glad to see that you are enjoying the peace of mind that Defender strives to provide our customers with! Our customer feedback is what matters most to us here at Defender and, we would greatly appreciate you speaking with your friends and family about your experience with Defender Without you and our other customers, Defender would not be the name it is today! Melissa C. | Defender Customer Experience Expert
    • Recommended Product
    Works fine easy to install...
    Works fine easy to install
    by JOSE
    • Verified Purchase
    Easily installed. Great cameras. Excellent price when purchased on sale....
    Easily installed. Great cameras. Excellent price when purchased on sale.
    by KIRBY
    • Verified Purchase
    I purchased this DEFENDER security system on sale for less than $300. My (technically inclined, ...
    I purchased this DEFENDER security system on sale for less than $300. My (technically inclined, electronic engineer) son spent about six hours installing the four cameras, but WOW ... the resolution is AMAZING, better than we expected! The photo(s) I include don't do it justice. We are still playing around with the features and have a lot to learn; playback is easy and the email notifications work through the app. Wish the system had remote adjustment for the cameras.
    by gmh64
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended Product
    2 people found this helpful
    Picture quality
    Great value and security investment. Only draw back is DVR’s fan is noisy sound like bathroom exhaust fan
    by Eric P
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended Product
    Good system
    A good system. Newer cameras have a clearer picture than the old cameras but they are made of plastic as the older models were sturdy metal.
    by Anonymous
    Response from cxSep 28, 2020
    Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review your Defender 4K security system. We are so glad to see that you are enjoying the peace of mind that Defender strives to provide our customers with! Our customer feedback is what matters most to us here at Defender and, we would greatly appreciate you speaking with your friends and family about your experience with Defender Without you and our other customers, Defender would not be the name it is today! Melissa C. | Defender Customer Experience Expert
    • Verified Purchase
    only records at 8 frames per second
    Specs describe the camera at 15 FPS capability. Other systems I was looking at were only 7. Once I was into settings, was disapointed to find that 8 Frames per second was the max that it seems like it can handle. It has a 15 FPS feature, but only in the substream. still a decent quality camera. Instructions for getting the mobile app to properly work were not the best, but tech support walked me through it. Would be nice if one camera came with an audio feed, since the DVR supports it.
    by CLamb
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended Product
    Excellent system with minor setback
    Excellent system., but had problems with the Dvr. Still waiting for replacement to be shipped which is why 4 stars instead of 5
    by Pendleton
    Response from CXSep 28, 2020
    Hello Pendleton! Thank you for taking the time to review your Defender4K security system. We are so glad to see that you are enjoying the peace of mind that Defender strives to provide our customers with! Our customer feedback is what matters most to us here at Defender and, we would greatly appreciate you speaking with your friends and family about your experience with Defender Without you and our other customers, Defender would not be the name it is today! Melissa C. | Defender Customer Experience
    • Verified Purchase
    Computer savvy! Watch the YouTubehelp.
    I always liked Defender Products. This is my 2nd time I bought Defender camera systems. This is a upgrade to what I had. You need to be computer savvy. No IT help.
    by concours
    Response from CXSep 25, 2020
    Hello councours! Thank you for taking the time to review your Defender 4K security system. We are so glad to see that you are enjoying the peace of mind that Defender strives to provide our customers with! Please note our Customer Experience Experts are available through Live chat on our Defender Cameras website and can help with all of your technical issues! Our customer feedback is what matters most to us here at Defender and, we would greatly appreciate you speaking with your friends and family about your experience with Defender Without you and our other customers, Defender would not be the name it is today! Melissa C. | Defender Customer Experience Expert
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended Product
    camera system
    I recently installed a 4k, 5 camera wired system. The video quality was the reason I made this purchase. So far the video is great (except for one camera and defender is working on that). I have two complaints about this system. Camera mounts and apple software. If you are an Apple user you might not a have issue, but to me the apple issue was almost a deal breaker. One The cameras do not have a ball mount, that allows the camera view angle to be changed sideways. It only has up and down angles. I ended up cutting wedges for the base of the camera, in order to get the camera angle I wanted. A bit of a pain, but in my case doable. Just added several hours to the install. A ball type mount would have made the install so much easier. Two (major issue) The Apple software sucks. If you do not have an apple or an android device, don't even try to get remote access to the cameras. Defender will not support a windows based computer system. I found out this the hard way. I had to change the whole installation location because of this issue. Instead of using an easily accessible and secure location, I had to route cables from my attic, through a wall to my computer desk and purchase a video switch with cables, to access the DVR software. The apple software must be downloaded off the on line store. I did so on my wifes two newer apple devises and my older iphone. I my case the software would not install on my iPad, because my iPad, is in apples words "is to too old" and did not have the current operating system. (that is a whole other problem) Installing a remote user is extremely difficult. I have tried several times to add my wifes' iPhone and New iPad. So far at least 8+ hours of labor and No luck on any attempt. Defender help, so far has been fast to respond, but I still can not add a user. I did some how, get my model 5 iPhone to access the system. The software on the phone, eats battery time for lunch. Not great if you can not charge your phone after 30 minutes of use. I like the system on a whole. I am learning the DVR software, even though it is not intuitive.
    by Anonymous
    Response from CXSep 24, 2020
    Hello Richard! Thank you for taking the time to review your Defender 4K security system. Thank you for your feedback , I am happy to hear that you have been in touch with our Customer Experience Experts for assistance! Please try the following steps in order to share the cameras with your wife: Please have the person you wish to share the cameras with sign up for their own account right on the app. Click more in the bottom right corner. Then please click Manage sharing Settings Tap the plus to Add Recipient Enter the Mobile Phone Number or Email Address of the person you want to share with. Enter Remarks to leave the recipient details about the request. Never send the device password in the remarks section. Tap the Check mark icon to send. The recipient will receive a notification that there is a device to share. Tap Scan QR Code to scan the recipient’s device QR Code. The recipient will receive a notification that there is a device to share. The Recipient can find their QR Code by tapping More > Account Management > My QR Code. The code can be sent to the requester and scanned remotely. Our customer feedback is what matters most to us here at Defender and, we would greatly appreciate you speaking with your friends and family about your experience with Defender Without you and our other customers, Defender would not be the name it is today! Melissa C. | Defender Customer Experience Expert
      • Recommended Product
      So far, so good.
      actually mine is a 4K 16 Channel DVR with 4TB HDD with no camera. The DVR was scheduled to arrive 17 Sep, but due to construction on our avenue, the UPS driver chose not to deliver. I finally received notice on 20 Sep as to where I could now pick up the package, and I drove to pick it up on 21 Sep. I had a Defender before but it died shortly after warranty, and I tried two other brands but was not happy with either, thus I am back to you folks. I appreciate the 2 year warranty, and would love to be able to extend the warranty even further if possible. I do want to thank Melissa C (Defender Cameras) <support@defendercameras.zendesk.com> for her great assistance. I have a small issue with the window that displays camera 2, but have not had time to play with it to ascertain if it is the camera and not the DVR. It it turns out to be the DVR, I will submit a report. Thanks to all the Defender team. Stay safe folks. Best Regards Jerry
      by cobbgw
      Response from CXSep 24, 2020
      Hello cobbgw! Thank you for taking the time to review your Defender 4K security system and for your kind words! We are so glad to see that you are enjoying the peace of mind that Defender strives to provide our customers with! Our customer feedback is what matters most to us here at Defender and, we would greatly appreciate you speaking with your friends and family about your experience with Defender. Without you and our other customers, Defender would not be the name it is today! Melissa C. | Defender Customer Experience Expert
        • Recommended Product
        Very happy!
        So far we are very impressed with the 4K Ultra HD security system! We have only gotten around to installing one of the cameras since figuring out the wiring to and from the camera can be a bit of work. But 2 days after installing, we were able to capture a man breaking into one of our cars parked outside. We are extremely grateful that we had that camera running because its providing very useful evidence for the police. Make sure to avoid any obstructions in the path of the camera to maximize the night vision capabilities! We originally had a bit of roof line in the shot which caused a lot of glare. Once we tilted the camera down the quality improved A LOT! Day time quality is 10/10! It was also very helpful to watch the set up video on the Defender Youtube page! Also, Defender 24-7 app is working very well for us on our iPhones! No crashes or lag. The Motion Sensor alerts are very helpful as they record about 2minutes every time they are triggered which makes it very easy to save video/photos without having to playback and scroll through the footage.
        by Anonymous
        Response from CXSep 24, 2020
        Hello! Thank you for taking the time to review your Defender 4K security system. We are so glad to see that you are enjoying the peace of mind that Defender strives to provide our customers! Our customer feedback is what matters most to us here at Defender and, we would greatly appreciate you speaking with your friends and family about your experience with Defender Without you and our other customers, Defender would not be the name it is today! Melissa C. | Defender Customer Experience Expert
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended Product
        I hear a noise outside
        Now sense I bought this system. I can rest at ease, when I hear a noise outside. I am able to see all around the outside. Without leaving my bed. Now that is great!
        by Look Out
        Response from CXSep 21, 2020
        Hello Look Out! Thank you for taking the time to review your Defender 4K security system. We are so glad to see that you are enjoying the peace of mind that Defender strives to provide our customers with! Our customer feedback is what matters most to us here at Defender and, we would greatly appreciate you speaking with your friends and family about your experience with Defender Without you and our other customers, Defender would not be the name it is today! Melissa C. | Defender Customer Experience Expert
          • Recommended Product
          Not Good
          I bought the 4K1T4B4V2 model system in based on the description, on August 10, 2020 in the description it is announced as a 4K tv lines and 20 fps system, which is a lie, the maximum output of this DVR is 1080P and the max fps is 8fps. I contacted customer service several times to try to solve this but we did not reach any solution, they told me that the system that I bought only has 1080p output and that the 6 and 8 camera systems do have output in 4K Basically to get a real 4K system you would have to buy the 6 or 8 camera systems. The purpose of my complaint is to make this situation known, and that other people are not misled by this company. User's recommendation: Do not buy this system, look for a real 4K security System cameras.
          by mariop
            39 people found this helpful
            Good product, but no guides for sharing images to
            Hardware is good. Support and guides are lacking. Got it working to my phone no problem, but want it on tablet and wife's phone. Says you can set up sharing but no instructions on how to achieve it. Can it actually do it? Where is the instructions to do it.
            by Cameraman
            Response from CXSep 22, 2020
            Hello Cameraman! Thank you for taking the time to review your Defender 4K system. We are so glad to see that you are enjoying the peace of mind that Defender strives to provide our customers with! Or support section on our Defender Cameras has all of our manuals as well as helpful how to videos that will assist you in getting the most out of your system! To share the device with someone else please follow these steps: Please have the person you wish to share the cameras with sign up for their own account right on the app. Click more in the bottom right corner. Then please click Manage sharing Settings Tap the plus to Add Recipient Enter the Mobile Phone Number or Email Address of the person you want to share with. Enter Remarks to leave the recipient details about the request. Never send the device password in the remarks section. Tap the Check mark icon to send. The recipient will receive a notification that there is a device to share. Tap Scan QR Code to scan the recipient’s device QR Code. The recipient will receive a notification that there is a device to share. The Recipient can find their QR Code by tapping More > Account Management > My QR Code. The code can be sent to the requester and scanned remotely. Our customer feedback is what matters most to us here at Defender and, we would greatly appreciate you speaking with your friends and family about your experience with Defender Without you and our other customers, Defender would not be the name it is today! Melissa C. | Defender Customer Experience Expert
            • Verified Purchase
            could be better
            wired version provide cheap wire. instructions are not that great. APP is just OK.
            by Anonymous
            Response from CXSep 17, 2020
            Hi, thank you for taking the time to review your Defender 4K system. We are sorry to see that you are not 100% satisfied with your purchase! We have a full support section on our Defender Cameras website with manuals and how to videos to support you in getting your system up and running! Our Customer Experience would love to hear from you to assist you with the app! Please reach out to us through Live Chat on our website! Melissa C. | Defender Customer Experience Expert
            • Verified Purchase
            Review 2020
            Good quality and customer support. Field of vision seems small.
            by Anonymous
            Response from CXSep 15, 2020
            Hello anonymous ! Thank you for taking the time to review your Defender 4K security system. We are so glad to see that you are enjoying the peace of mind that Defender strives to provide our customers with and thank you for your feedback on the field of view! Our customer feedback is what matters most to us here at Defender and, we would greatly appreciate you speaking with your friends and family about your experience with Defender Without you and our other customers, Defender would not be the name it is today! Melissa C. | Defender Customer Experience Expert
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended Product
            Simple install but use have patience.
            Very easy to install and setup! Used a 1” concrete drill bit to drill through brick, pulled wires through no problem. Two sets of wires will go through the 1” hole. Hardest part of the job is fishing the wires through the walls/ceiling. Buy a fish tape. Connection to DVR was simple with color coded connections on back. Connected cable to HDMI 2 on tv and labelled it PC, use tv menu and it’s right beside Netflix. Don’t use any IP or PTZ camera settings in PVR menu! Don’t go crazy adjusting menu settings but keep password strong. Setup Defender 4K APP and adjust cameras with phone right in front of you. On a scale of 1-10 for installation, I’ll give it a 8 for average person. For a pro, easy 10. At night time, use the APP to fine tune for night vision so the light lines up where you want to see. Daytime will be perfect after that. Simple
            by Anonymous
            Response from CXSep 14, 2020
            Hello anonymous! Thank you for taking the time to review your Defender 4k security system. We are so glad to see that you are enjoying the peace of mind that Defender strives to provide our customers with! Our customer feedback is what matters most to us here at Defender and, we would greatly appreciate you speaking with your friends and family about your experience with Defender Without you and our other customers, Defender would not be the name it is today! Melissa C. | Defender Customer Experience Expert
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended Product
            So many features.
            Just installed at the farm. Works very well to others I've own. Great pictures.
            by Waybud
            Response from CXSep 11, 2020
            Hello Waybud! Thank you for taking the time to review your Defender 4K security system. We are so glad to see that you are enjoying the peace of mind that Defender strives to provide our customers with! Our customer feedback is what matters most to us here at Defender and, we would greatly appreciate you speaking with your friends and family about your experience with Defender Without you and our other customers, Defender would not be the name it is today! Melissa C. | Defender Customer Experience Expert
              • Recommended Product
              Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
              Rating provided by a verified purchaser
              by HomeDepotCustomer
              • Verified Purchase
              Great System
              We're very happy with this system. Used a wireless system before and was only marginally satisfied. This one outperforms the old one in every way - ease of use, video quality, storage - you name it, it's better
              by BGG0529
                • Recommended Product
                Excellent!!
                Great system. Excellent viewing, capturing and playback. Enhances our security.
                by Anonymous
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended Product
                Good (so far) No Frills System
                Bought the 4K1T4B4 system refurbished and it seems to be working fine, though I've only installed it today. Nothing special. The DVR settings/menu control is a little slow and unresponsive. Manuals aren't as readily accessible. It runs relatively quiet compared to my old Defender DVR. I haven't opened the DVR up to check what hard drive is used, so I hope it doesn't fail prematurely. The cameras are made of plastic which makes me wonder their actual resistance to the elements despite the IP67 and -40°C ratings. Night performance is not as good as some of the more expensive products in the market but if there's sufficient ambient light, it's good enough for my need. I only wish the angle of view is a little larger, at least 90° instead of 79°. The BNC cables for the cameras aren't heavy duty enough to be used exposed outdoor, better get some heavier gauge cables if you plan of running the cables outdoor exposed. The HDMI and Ethernet cables are a nice touch. The mouse is nothing special and will likely break with heavy usage. My other major concern in addition to the quality of the weather-sealing on the cameras and the hard drive is the power supplies. I've had to get replacement power supplies for my old Defender security system a few years into service. Only time will tell how this system will stand. All in all, for the price, it's good thus far, 4 hours post-installation.
                by hide1000
                Response from CXSep 8, 2020
                Hello hide1000! Thank you for taking the time to review your Defender 4K security system. We appreciate you detailed review and feedback! Our customer feedback is what matters most to us here at Defender and, we would greatly appreciate you speaking with your friends and family about your experience with Defender Without you and our other customers, Defender would not be the name it is today! Melissa C. | Defender Customer Experience Expert
                  • Recommended Product
                  Great system!
                  I’ve had the older model for almost 8 years so the system holds very well. We decided to continue our business with Defender! It was super easy to install and works awesome!
                  by Ladybug13
                    • Recommended Product
                    4th system owned but best in class
                    I am 62 years young and installed the system. The installation and DVR set up was easy to follow. Like anything new you must figure out the navigation of the menus and I found this easy once understood. The image quality in HD mode is outstanding and the field of view is good. I can see what I want. I am using the phone app to view and it seems to be fine.
                    by JLW In Texas
                    Response from CXSep 4, 2020
                    Hello JLW in Texas! Thank you for being a loyal Defender Customer! We are so glad to see that you are enjoying the peace of mind that Defender strives to provide our customers with! Our customer feedback is what matters most to us here at Defender and, we would greatly appreciate you speaking with your friends and family about your experience with Defender Without you and our other customers, Defender would not be the name it is today! Melissa C. | Defender Customer Experience Expert
                      • Recommended Product
                      Great when wired but App needs improvements
                      I bought this in early July and finished the set up mid July for my business. We finished in 3 days. It took long because of the numerous old wires above the ceiling. Also remember that the ends of the wires are different so don’t put them the wrong way or it’s a lot of work. Also, I was initially worried that I had to put 4 cameras 6 feet apart from each other As it said in one of the reviews, but when I received the package, I found out that the wire was 60 feet long. Overall, don’t be worried about the length of the wire. Setting it up on my monitor and TV was easy. I had to buy a HDMI splitter though so I put it on both my monitor in my back office and TV near my view at all times. Also, I learned that you should get an active HDMI Cable if you need a long (30 ft+) HDMI cable. Also, for this specific model, you are not able to add audio even though there is a port on the DVR for audio. Also, would recommend using a power strip or battery back up to put all your plugs in one spot. You can do an immediate 5 minute play back on 1 camera. I wish you could do play back on all of them at the same time. Resolution is great and can also zoom in. I wish there was a desktop app for this. The app on the App Store for iPhones and iPads is decent. The resolution is not the best on the app. I have the highest speed internet from my provider. The playback on the app is also very slow. The company should work on making the app better and also developing a desktop app for Windows and Mac. Otherwise, much better than my old analog cameras.
                      by Mike9
                      Response from CXSep 2, 2020
                      Hello Mike9! Thank you for your detailed review and feedback on our Defender 4K system, this feedback helps us to ensure that we are creating the best possible systems for our customers!. We are so glad to see that you are enjoying the peace of mind that Defender strives to provide our customers with! Our customer feedback is what matters most to us here at Defender and, we would greatly appreciate you speaking with your friends and family about your experience with Defender Without you and our other customers, Defender would not be the name it is today! Melissa C. | Defender Customer Experience Expert
                        • Recommended Product
                        The Defender 4K 4 camera system was installed to replace...
                        The Defender 4K 4 camera system was installed to replace an older lower resolution 4 camera system. The clarity and night vision are high quality and the field of view is wider than the old setup. Installation and setup was simple. I was able to exclude motion from certain areas so it only captures the movement that matters (not windchimes and cars on the main road). I wish Defender had a plugin for web browsers, but I couldn't find anything for that.
                        by DAN
                        • Verified Purchase
                        Simple and Easy Setup
                        Cameras are great. Very functional. Setup including internet and app access are easier than expected.
                        by Elatus
                        Response from CXSep 2, 2020
                        Hello Elatus! Thank you for taking the time to review your Defender 4K security system. We are so glad to see that you are enjoying the peace of mind that Defender strives to provide our customers with! Our customer feedback is what matters most to us here at Defender and, we would greatly appreciate you speaking with your friends and family about your experience with Defender Without you and our other customers, Defender would not be the name it is today! Melissa C. | Defender Customer Experience Expert
                        • Verified Purchase
                        • Recommended Product
                        Great daytime video quality
                        I had a samsung 1080p system before I bought a defender system. The video quality is excellant in the day time but the night vision needs a little help. Overall it is a great system and would highly recommend!
                        by Butternutz
                        Response from CXAug 31, 2020
                        Hello Butternutz! Thank you for taking the time to review your Defender 4K security system. Thank you for your feedback regarding the night vision, we are always looking for ways to improve! Our customer feedback is what matters most to us here at Defender and, we would greatly appreciate you speaking with your friends and family about your experience with Defender Without you and our other customers, Defender would not be the name it is today! Melissa C. | Defender Customer Experience Expert
                          • Recommended Product
                          Showing 1-30 of 435 reviews