No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (12)
  • one works great-the other is a dud
  • December 27, 2013
  • Recommended Product

Installed two side by side-Pros: One works great, it is easy to set, works with all types of bulbs with no restrictions. Cons: the timer on the other one looses about 6 hours a day so it is virtually useless and going to get returned to the store. A few notes: the store showed them available but for some reason they had never put them out on the shelves so they had to find them on the top shelf extra inventory area still in the boxes / I did call the service number while installing to make sure I was wiring them correctly and they were very professional and helpful / I do really like the fact that these are easy to program (just like any other timer) / I had to mark the arrow section with a dark pen (the place that shows the time it turns on/off) as it is just an indentation so you couldn't really see it / it has white/black/red/green wires. Overall, a mixed review as the one that works is really great, but unfortunately the other one is defective.

Video & Photo

  • Pro
  • DIY

homerepairnut

CA
55 to 64, Male
17 out of 17 people found this helpful
more details...
By: homerepairnut
  • It's good swich automatic ,
  • April 18, 2015
  • Recommended Product

I bought this product after i read the reviews. i don't beleive them , Many people complain about the digital ones, therefore i decided to buy this mechanical. Installation was very easy, you connect neutral, line and the load. I unscrewed the rotating knob, took it off and installed the face plate without any problems, screwed the knob back on . I used it one month ago . its has turns my light on at nights without any problems. You can switch to OFF but there is no option to override the timer to ON other than setting all 24 hours to ON.

Pros Easy to Use, Compact, Motion-Activated, Eco-Friendly, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Replacement, Easy Installation

Video & Photo

  • DIY

Hong45

Tulsa, Oklahoma
55 to 64, Male
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Hong45
  • Didn't last long.
  • May 06, 2016

This timer worked for a while, but then it started to jamb when it would reach the on times. I read other reviews with people having similar difficulties and re-checked the installation to make sure the wall plate wasn't binding with the timer dial. Everything was installed as instructed, and it seems like the internal mechanism that rotates the dial is simply too weak. We have a similar timer made by Woods in another room that has worked flawlessly for a few years, and this is the brand we used to replace this defective Defiant timer. The Woods timer is better and less expensive, but has to be ordered online.

  • DIY

CamanoHal

Camano Island WA
45 to 54, Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: CamanoHal
  • A Defective DUD-Don't Buy
  • May 25, 2015

I have bought 3 of these DEFIANT "in wall timers" 1000 015 595 and none of the timers work. I've installed them in two different houses, followed the directions, then even reversed the wires as some reviewers suggested and the timers do not work at all. The manual OFF switch will work like a light switch but that is all -- so what is the point of buying a timer? Don't waste your time and money. Home Depot needs to ship these clunkers back to China and stop trying to sell them to us.

Pros Easy Installation Cons doesn't work
  • DIY

Clementine

West Orange, NJ
45 to 54, Female
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Clementine
  • I hope there are better and more reliable options.
  • September 21, 2015

I purchased this timer because I am tired of replacing digital timers which can be ridiculous to program and burn out too easily. Too much complication with the digital timers. The problem with this timer is it's lack of reliability and not having the ability to turn it on at times. The timer does not always go on when it is supposed to. I called Home Depot and they told me I have to take the timer apart and file down a piece because it is too long. How ridiculous is that and who would buy the timer if they knew that? The product should be taken off of the shelves until it works properly. I am going back to Home Depot to return the one I just bought now that I know it is defective and hope to return the original one. I bought these to get away from digital timers. Now what? It is very expensive to pay electricians to install things that don't work.

Pros Easy to Use Cons not reliable

Recruiter

East Brunswick, NJ
65 or over, Male
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Recruiter
  • Same sad story
  • December 16, 2014

Wish I had read the reviews; I was in Home Depot and bought this on a whim. I had an electrician install it properly, but here's what happens, as it has for many others: As long as all the tabs are either "on" or "off," the timer dial goes round and round just fine, keeping time. But if a tab is shifted, I think to either off or on, when the dial gets to that tab, it halts, and will never move past it; if I twist it past, it then performs just fine, until 24 hours later it gets back to the tab, whereupon it stalls again. It's as if the motor lacks the "oomph" to push the switch over. So basically, the timer is useless. I will look for another similar timer; hopefully one that works. Don't buy this one.

Pros Nice Design
  • DIY

Beach004

Durham, NC
65 or over, Male
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Beach004
  • Do not buy this - it is a piece of junk
  • December 16, 2015

This thing does not work. It does not have enough "umph" to turn at the time you set for the lights to go on, it gets stuck. We paid an electrician to come in and put this in and it was a total waste of money. Now we will have to buy another type and have someone come in again. Save your money and buy another product.

Cons doesn't work

jrtampa

2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: jrtampa
  • Absolute Junk! No Way to Turn It On Manually.
  • June 14, 2016

This is an absolute piece of junk and I very rarely say that about anything. Very clunky, inaccurate operation. I bought this because I switched from incandescents to LEDs and what they don't tell you amidst all the LED hype is that your old timers/dimmers will not work properly with the LEDs. I have been very disappointed with the the entire Defiant line, Home Depot's proprietary brand. Look elsewhere.

Cons terrible product
  • DIY

SPQR

LI,NY
55 to 64, Male
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: SPQR
  • This seemed like a great product. Nice looking. Convenient to set. No programming method to le...
  • January 05, 2019

This seemed like a great product. Nice looking. Convenient to set. No programming method to learn. Fits in a regular switch plate. BUT it is so flimsy that it did not last me even a few months. The key moving part, a gear that drives the timer, is made out of some cheap brittle plastic, and the teeth break off, causing the timer to lose hours every day. That choice of materials must have saved the manufacturer a whole 0.01 cents per product. Not only should you not by it, but Home Depot has no business selling it. It is not substantial enough to the job it is designed to do.

Video & Photo

AnnoyedConsumer

2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: AnnoyedConsumer
  • You should buy this product just so you can smash it with a hammer. It is a total piece of crap a...
  • May 11, 2019

You should buy this product just so you can smash it with a hammer. It is a total piece of crap and is poorly designed. The pins are not strong enough to click the switch, and the dial is held in place with a weak useless piece of plastic "bolt." Buy it, smash it, and put the video online to warn others.

johnnycakes

2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: johnnycakes