No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (7)
  • Nice color
  • May 27, 2014
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I initially went with a rustic stain for my driveway, sidewalk and another area. I used 3 gallons. However, the rustic alone was a little too light for me. The following weekend, I added 2 gallons of this onyx and sealed it with the Eagle sealer Home Depot has, and the results are awesome. Careful when cleaning after you stain. Water runoff can leave a slight stain in other non intended areas.

Pros Very Adhesive, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly Cons run off from cleaning can slightly stain other
  • DIY

Bravette

Texas, USA
35 to 44, Male
13 out of 13 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Bravette
  • Color was not nearly as dark as the picture. ...
  • May 30, 2019

Color was not nearly as dark as the picture. Turned out grey.

HomeDepotCustomer

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: HomeDepotCustomer
  • Good product but its a dark brown/grey not onyx.
  • April 02, 2020

Good product but its a dark brown/grey not onyx.

pjr380

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: pjr380
  • mostly browns , only after 2 days did I see...
  • March 13, 2018

mostly browns , only after 2 days did I see any black and this was on a second application over another manufacturers brown and the " black " that did show was on the edges of the two stains . I know blacks are tricky but this product is a bust . Good thing I tried it on a test panel !

Dan

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Dan
  • Well I didn't read the reviews because I felt like...
  • December 26, 2017

Well I didn't read the reviews because I felt like how can you screw up a stain called onyx. But I guess I should of because it turned out brown and not black. Other reviews tell the same experience. And I also did all steps and bought all stuff the told you to buy.

Nathan

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Nathan
  • It turned out more brown black and grey marbling. My...
  • December 10, 2019

It turned out more brown black and grey marbling. My design team is so disappointed that we have to cover it up with carpet.

Truelife

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Truelife
  • I was hoping it would be darker than it ended...
  • November 01, 2017

I was hoping it would be darker than it ended up being. At least for my application it ended up being more of a brown than a black. Other than that, it worked like a charm. :)

Jeff

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Jeff
  • I used this product on Rapid Set High Strength Mortar Mix, with Flow Control and black tint accor...
  • March 31, 2020
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I used this product on Rapid Set High Strength Mortar Mix, with Flow Control and black tint according to the mixing instructions. The result of this starting point was dark gray. The Eagle product was touted as an acid stain that would turn your fresh mortar "onyx" and some reviews said that the results would be "black." One even said, "When you put this product on, you will think, 'This will turn out brown.' ... but trust us, the results will be black." Well I'd say this is half true. I did think it would turn the high-strength mortar I'd used for my pizza oven tabletop brown, and it did. It's nowhere near "black." The attached picture shows the unfinished result wet with water. The final is a dark, smooth dull brown ... about the same shades of brown. It did make the tabletop a variegated dark brown though, and as it turns out, it is a very pleasing effect. And probably better then either the dark gray of the raw mortar or the black I'd envisioned. An interesting outcome, and one I'd probably use again on another project.

Video & Photo

pilotjono

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: pilotjono
  • This product is excellent! I chose it because it says it can be diluted for lighter coloring and...
  • September 11, 2018
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

This product is excellent! I chose it because it says it can be diluted for lighter coloring and it has worked wonderfully in that way. HOWEVER, the variable is THE OPERATOR! The instructions were NOT crystal clear. DO MORE RESEARCH BEYOND READING THE LABEL! The label says test the color etc, however it does NOT say that full color develops after 6 hrs or more. It goes on light yellow. Also the condition of the concrete affects color. I wanted a light grey to bring together varying shades in my 43 yr old driveway. I wound up with black and blacker. ALSO IT CANNOT BE REMOVED EXCEPT MECHANICALLY (by actually removing the stained concrete). I used wire brushes to some affect, but the best solution was a concrete GRINDER. Later I used the stain to highlight a concrete faux rock I made. It worked beautifully.

naa

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: naa
  • Total waste of time and money.
  • April 22, 2016

Followed all application instructions, pre - cleaning, water tests and application. The stain set on top of the concrete very little was actually drawn into concrete. I'm thinking some of the elbow grease that was used in pre cleaning was have gotten on the floor and prevented the product from working. Save your money and time, avoid the stuff.

  • Pro
  • DIY

SlimPickens

Yoder Kansas
65 or over, Male
3 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: SlimPickens