#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Earthquake MC33 33 cc Gas 2-Cycle Cultivator

Internet #309496337

Model #31635

Store SKU #1004328262

Customer Reviews

  • 4.4
    out of 26 reviews
  • 90%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-26 of 26 reviews
Does its job!
I turned the blades around to make it more aggressive since the soil has not been tilled in decades. Just take your time on hard soil. It did a great job. It’s small enough to get into hard to reach spots. It’s a little hard to start sometimes. May just need to get broken in. If I were to review after a couple of seasons when it’s really broken in, it may be a different story.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
A compact tiller such as this seemed the perfect tool for my raised flower beds. Putting the unit...
A compact tiller such as this seemed the perfect tool for my raised flower beds. Putting the unit together was easy, even for this gal with minimal nuts/bolts agility. Hubby added the fuel with oil added. It took many pulls for the engine to first start. I rolled it to my garden area and pressed the lever to activate the tiller. The vibration was shaking my hands apart even with good leather gloves. The tiller wasn't cutting much into the soil at all in my hands. Hubby next tried it holding the rear wheels off the ground -- we were finally able to cut a little into the dirt. Certainly not a unit to turn the leaves under in the garden. With no backshield behind the tiller blades, the motor was covered with dirt. It was a day with many leaves -- so we had lots of cleanup before garaging the unit. Likely won't use it much.
by
Response from Ardisam, Inc.Oct 29, 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you had difficulty operating this machine. There should not have been any reason it would not handle cultivating already tilled soil. As for the tine shield...there is one in front to help with dirt flying up when used properly. Again, we are sorry you didn't have a good experience with this cultivator, however, if you feel like there may be an issue, I would recommend contacting customer service for assistance. They are available Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Central time at 800-345-6007 option 1, then option 5. Ardiasm
Ardisam/Earthquake and The Home Depot offer one nice tiller/cultivator ! This tiller is perfect f...
Ardisam/Earthquake and The Home Depot offer one nice tiller/cultivator ! This tiller is perfect for your home gardening chores. The 9 inch wide tines are perfect for getting the weeds in your spots between rows of plants ! And in the spring it will also help turn in the fertilizer to your cultivated soil ! It has solid poly/plastic wheels and tires so NO more flats to fix. The Viper 33 cc, 2 stroke/cycle engine is 50-1 mix so it uses the same fuel/oil mix that most home yard work equipment uses ! Weighing about 35 pounds makes it handy for almost any family member ! Warranty and assembly books are easy to read !! (see photos) Very little assembly is needed and first bottle of oil is included !
by
Response from Ardisam, Inc.Oct 22, 2020
Thank you for your feedback and outstanding rating! We appreciate your business and are glad you are happy with your product. If you need any assistance, please feel free to go to www.getearthquake.com. Have a great day! Ardiasm
  • Recommended
First off this is a cultivator NOT a tiller and they are clear about that. If you don’t know the...
First off this is a cultivator NOT a tiller and they are clear about that. If you don’t know the difference look it up BEFORE you decide on one. This came almost fully assembled except for the handle which required installing 4 bolts and wing nuts, without any tools needed. Also the instruction were 4 easy steps laid out on pgs 10-11 of the “Replacement Parts List” in the Product Description on this web page. I can honestly say this is the simplest assembly EVER. After assembly the instructions on starting (it even has the 50:1 Oil included) are clear (pull choke back toward the handles bottom left on pg 13). I think it started after only the 3rd pull. So then I took it back to the garden – I carried it the 100-150 ft, it’s that light, and I’m no spring chicken. Started it in the garden on the first pull. This little thing has some guts to it. It is probably the best cultivator I’ve ever used; in fact I’ve used bad tillers that weren’t this good. Simple to use, easy to control, doesn’t bounce around (probably would if you tried it in clay) and made quick work of the spot in the garden that was clear. I made 2 side by side passes about 6 ft long x 6-8 in deep in all of probably 2 minutes. I can’t wait till the spring to ease my way through the garden. Overall, I am very happy with this cultivator, it comes with a 5 year limited warranty and I see reason to question that. If you are reading this review and you are shopping for a good quality, well built, sturdy and easy to use cultivator, this one is my suggestion. Without hesitation I say it fits all my needs and expectations. WELL done Earthquake!!!!
by
Response from Ardisam, Inc.Oct 22, 2020
Thank you for your feedback and outstanding rating! We appreciate your business and are glad you are happy with your product. If you need any assistance, please feel free to go to www.getearthquake.com. Have a great day! Ardiasm
  • Recommended
2 found this review helpful
The Earthquake Cultivator is a small little 33cc machine. It's light weight and super easy to use...
The Earthquake Cultivator is a small little 33cc machine. It's light weight and super easy to use. If you are using it on hard ground wet the ground first so the cultivator can dig in to soil. Also the instructions are super easy to follow and took me about 20 minutes to assemble. You can also adjust the height of the handles that has 2 settings. On earthquake website they have accessories you can purchase. I have already ordered the earthquake edger kit for this cultivator to do my sidewalks in the front yard. I also like how you can adjust the height of the blades by unlocking the pin and moving the wheels up or down. Now will this Cultivator do a farm ? Maybe if you go slow but will it cultivate fresh soil for a nice little garden yes. Just remember with a little practice this can be a great cultivator for a small to medium garden. We got it to start prepping for our new garden in the backyard.
by
Response from Ardisam, Inc.Oct 22, 2020
Thank you for your feedback and outstanding rating! We appreciate your business and are glad you are happy with your product. If you need any assistance, please feel free to go to www.getearthquake.com. Have a great day! Ardiasm
  • Recommended
I am replacing a Mantis tiller with this Earthquake tiller. The built-in wheels are one thing tha...
I am replacing a Mantis tiller with this Earthquake tiller. The built-in wheels are one thing that drew me to this product, With the Mantis tiller, I had to purchase a "Quick Stand" to park it when I was not using it. With this one, all I have to do is let go and it will stand on its own. The 2-cycle engine was a breeze to start and use. It uses the same ratio as my Echo chainsaw, so that is good. It was real simple to assemble. The only tool I used was a pair of wire cutters to snip the cable straps. (Make sure you do not forget to snip the cable strap holding the throttle blade to the handle before you start it up! It will scream at full bore until you use the kill switch!) Anyway, this seems like a good replacement for my old Mantis tiller. It also comes with a 5-year warranty! One thing I did have to order was the edger kit. Home Depot carries them and it will be delivered in under a week.
by
Response from Ardisam, Inc.Oct 15, 2020
Thank you for your feedback and outstanding rating. We are glad to hear you are happy with your Earthquake MC33. Let us know if there is anything we can assist you with. Ardiasm
  • Recommended
The Earthquake MC33 with a 33 CC gas 2-cycle cultivator comes well packaged and with assembly and...
The Earthquake MC33 with a 33 CC gas 2-cycle cultivator comes well packaged and with assembly and operating instructions... It also comes with a small bottle of 2 cycle oil, enough to mix with a gallon of gasoline... If not wanting to mix oil with gasoline, Home Depot does sell premixed gasoline for use within the store, be sure to check you local store for availability.
by
Response from Ardisam, Inc.Oct 15, 2020
Thank you for your feedback and outstanding rating. We are glad to hear you are happy with your Earthquake MC33. Let us know if there is anything we can assist you with. Ardiasm
  • Recommended
Easy initial startup and use
Earthquake 31635 MC33 Cultivator with a 33cc 2-Cycle Viper is light weight but with plenty of power for home use. I have used it to prepare areas for reseeding and to break up a mound of topsoil that has been laying for several years. Much more convenient than getting out the big tiller when this one will do the job.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Great useful tool
I love this, makes gardening so much easier. Worth the money
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Small garden workhorse
For its small size the Earthquake 31635 MC33 Cultivator is a real workhorse and perfect for working in small gardens.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Hold on !
Definitely not for untilled ground. Really good for small spaces and raised beds. Fun tool.
by
  • Verified Purchase
Pleasantly Surprised!
I was pleased by how effectively the cultivator performed. It was easier to handle, dug deeper than expected, and got the job done quicker than I could hope. I did not think this little cultivator would break the dirt up so nicely. It does throw quite a bit of dirt, but that is okay with me.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Great small tiller
Great little tiller. Easy to start, light weight, just the right size to get between small rows. Will really dig.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Very good product
This is exactly what we hoped it would be. Lightweight to move around but powerful enough to do the job at hand.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
The little tiller that definitely could!
Needs stronger handles easier first time start but man does it work double yeah
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Ok but very hard to start
Worked great the first time but after that it’s very very hard to start.
by
  • Verified Purchase
Fantastic little machine.
Fantastic little machine. I tilled up my large garden with ease. My only complaint is that I wish it had the ability to lower the handle bars down a little more. I am not very tall and I have them the lowest they can they are still a little too high.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
good small tiller
For the money it is good little tiller for a small area.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Light but powerful
Easy to start, simple to use, does a great job without bouncing around, great penetration and tilling. All in all a great product which i look forward to use for many years.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Tough little affordable cultivator.
Great little garden tiller. Perfect for home use.
by
Response from Ardisam, Inc.Apr 6, 2022
Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you are happy with your Earthquake MC33. Contact us if you should need any assistance at 800-345-6007 option 1, then option 5. Ardiasm
  • Verified Purchase
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by
Response from Ardisam, Inc.Jan 28, 2021
Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear you are happy with your Earthquake MC33. Ardiasm
  • Verified Purchase
Very pleased w/ the earthquake/couldn’t have asked for any better...
Very pleased w/ the earthquake/couldn’t have asked for any better perf. Great price also.Has all the qualities as the bigger name tillers
by
Response from Ardisam, Inc.Oct 29, 2020
Thank you for your feedback and outstanding rating. We are glad to hear you are happy with your Earthquake product. Please contact us if you need any assistance. Ardiasm
  • Verified Purchase
better than it lookS
I didn't have much hop for this thing. but honestly, it was cheap enough to justify the purchase. I have several small jobs. rental would require me to rush though them. This thing worked much better than I expected. fires right up and has just enough power. was using it on virgin ground and it even work well. it's very loud, and cheaply made, but it was cheap!
by
Response from Ardisam, Inc.Apr 29, 2020
Thank you for your feedback and outstanding rating! We appreciate your business and are glad you are happy with your product. If you need any assistance, please feel free to go to www.getearthquake.com. Have a great day! Ardiasm
    • Recommended
    Cheaply made and practically worthless....
    Cheaply made and practically worthless.
    by
    Response from Ardisam, Inc.Dec 30, 2019
    We are sorry to hear you have had a bad experience with our product. Please contact customer service to explain further what the issue is so that we may better understand what we can do to improve our product. You may contact us through www.getearthquake.com or by calling 800-345-6007 option 1, then option 5 Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Central time. Thank you and have a good day. Ardiasm
    • Verified Purchase
    Small enough to maneuver in my garden and bedding areas...
    Small enough to maneuver in my garden and bedding areas but powerful enough to break up the soil after summer garden was harvested.
    by
    Response from Ardisam, Inc.Oct 21, 2019
    Thank you for your outstanding rating! We appreciate your business and are glad you are happy with your product. If you need any assistance, please feel free to go to www.getearthquake.com. Have a great day! Ardiasm
    • Verified Purchase
    ,works well !
    ,works well !
    by
    Response from Ardisam, Inc.Sep 11, 2019
    Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that you are happy with your MC33. If you should have any questions, need assistance in troubleshooting, or need to order parts, please contact Ardisam Customer Service Team at 800-345-6007, option 1, then option 5. They are available from 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, Central time. You may also go online to www.getearthquake.com. Again, thank you for your positive feedback, it is appreciated and we are glad you are happy with our product. Ardiasm
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    Showing 1-26 of 26 reviews