No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (19)
  • Designed for Durability
  • February 20, 2017
  • Recommended Product

This very rugged knife is stainless steel from blade to handle butt. Wood handle inserts are triple riveted to the thick tang. Fit and finish are very precise with no visible gap between the tang and inserts. (See photos.) The blade was sharp out of the box. A steel guard protects the user’s hand from slipping onto the blade and provides a surface to push against when digging. The sheath is polyester—rot-free and easy to rinse clean. Features: Thick 7 inch stainless steel curved blade, smooth and serrated cutting edges, notch for cutting twine, measuring scale (inches and cm). Fiskars hand tools are warranted against defects for life. Warranty claims can be submitted at Fiskars.com. Enter address and upload a photo image of the defective tool. No need to return the product.

Pros Durable, Sharp, Strong, built to last

Video & Photo

  • Top 500 Contributor
  • DIY

JoeTech

Princeton, NJ
15 out of 15 people found this helpful
more details...
By: JoeTech
  • Great gardening tool, or perfect gift!
  • February 28, 2017
  • Recommended Product

I have been looking at these Hori Hori Japanese-style gardening knives for a long time. The entire concept of theses tool will make most of the rest of your gardening tools obsolete. I think that there is no routine gardening task that isn’t made easier and more pleasant by this tool. This is well designed with a straight sharp edge on one side and a seriated sharp edge on the other, plus a notch for cutting string or small stems. The solid metal butt will tap stakes into the ground, and it even has a hole so you can hang it up. Easy to clean, keep sharp and store, plus it works great. I like that the sheath is super heavy duty polyester, even thicker than ballistic cloth, so it won’t rot or sponge up water like leather. Handle strap and belt loop will keep you from misplacing the tool. Well machined and made by a reliable company that has been around for almost 370 years! They must be doing something right. Even if you don’t garden, this will make the perfect gift for someone you know that does.

Pros Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape, Great Quality, Multi Use, Sharp, Strong, won't rust, durable sheath
  • Top 500 Contributor
  • Pro

SnowyMontana

Montana
55 to 64, Male
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: SnowyMontana
  • “I am But a Young Gardener….”
  • March 15, 2017
  • Recommended Product

Who knew? After a lifetime of gardening, I’ve found a better tool - complete with Fiskars quality, clever design and full lifetime warranty! Once of my first spring tasks is dividing and repotting tender succulents- made all the easier with the help of this capable knife and its multi-function design: cutting, digging, splitting, sawing, weeding, opening soil bags, measuring , cutting twine (see photos). It’s my new “go-to”. Great gift idea too.

Pros Great Quality, Multi Use, Sharp, lifetime warranty, carrying case

Video & Photo

  • Top 250 Contributor
  • DIY

RestAtHome

Houston, TX
55 to 64, Female
3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: RestAtHome
  • Big strong and sharp stainless steel gardening knife
  • February 20, 2017
  • Recommended Product

I was surprised when I received this gardening knife how big and strong looking it is. The wooden handle is designed so that it is easy to grip. Since it is stainless steel you don't have to worry about it rusting. The length of the blade makes it easy for you to get as deep as needed. The edge is very sharp. It has a nice pointed blade that is concave so it good for deep digging and has a measurement in the middle of the blade so you can get as deep as you need to. On the side it as a twine cutter which makes it easy for cutting through plants and roots. The serrated saw edge make it easier to cut through thicker growth. It comes with a sheath that can be fasten to your belt loops making it always ready for you use and it could also be used to protect yourself while outside. It reminds me of my Navy survival knife.

Pros Durable, Easy to Clean, Good Shape, Sharp, Strong
  • Top 500 Contributor
  • DIY

Bpatters1950

Newark, DE
65 or over, Male
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Bpatters1950
  • Not sure about others, but wow. This hori hori ( dig dig ) Japanese garden tool is well built. St...
  • May 11, 2017
  • Recommended Product

Not sure about others, but wow. This hori hori ( dig dig ) Japanese garden tool is well built. Stainless steel with full tang plus hilt and excellent handle but. For the money of 25 US at a retail giant like HD, this blade is impressive. I'm using it for metal detecting plugs or holes to dig out my finds. worth it!

vikta1

2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: vikta1
  • Awesome tool. I did just snap the blade in half-I didn't see that coming. But my experience with ...
  • October 17, 2018
  • Recommended Product

Awesome tool. I did just snap the blade in half-I didn't see that coming. But my experience with Fiskars is that their warranty process is seamless. I guess over the summer months being their busy time, it takes a few weeks to get the replacement but, I've had many tools break over the years & I end up taking the loss. With this brand, they stand behind their products & it's easy to give 5 stars & recommend their products. The Hori Hori is also an excellent treasure hunting tool if you're into metal detecting. The marked measurements on the blade help you to locate depth before digging an unnecessary giant hole to find a lousy screw in the earth..lol

Michael74

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Michael74
  • Great for gardening
  • June 14, 2017
  • Recommended Product

The concave blade features a precision sharpened tip and both sharp and serrated edges. These features make it ideal for digging through hard soil, splitting plants and cutting through stubborn roots, liners and soil bags. The 7 in. blade features clearly marked gradations, so planting seeds and bulbs at the perfect depth is a breeze. Our durable wooden handle provides a secure grip while the stainless steel, full tang resists rusting, bending and breaking.

Pros Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Good Shape, Great Quality, Multi Use, Sharp, Strong, Stylish
  • Top 1000 Contributor
  • DIY

TF4Favre

St. Louis, MO, USA
25 to 34, Male
1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: TF4Favre
  • Hori Hori Knife
  • June 01, 2017
  • Recommended Product

The 7 inch Stainless Steel Blade Wood Handle Gardening Knife, is a very good product made by Fiskars. The gardening knife has a lot of good features and uses. Like depth marking on concave blade for planting, edge of blade has saw for trimming plants , cutting roots, with twine cutter. It has a nice sheath for the sharp knife with a loop for a belt.. You can dig up weeds and edge around rocks. Happy Planting!

Pros Durable, Functionality, Great Quality, Multi Use, Sharp, Strong, Stylish

Video & Photo

  • Pro
  • DIY

Pete

Denver CO
55 to 64, Male
1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Pete
  • Handy little gardening tool
  • March 30, 2017
  • Recommended Product

Once the rain stopped here in Texas, I had the chance to try out this handy little tool while planting tomatoes. It easily penetrated the soil but it was still a bit soft from the rain. The knife is sturdy enough, I have no doubt it will handle dry soil and thick grass roots with ease. I did come across a few smallish roots while digging and used the Hori Hori to dispatch them. One was better than a half inch in diameter and parted with only 5 strokes of the blade. Pretty impressive. My only dislike of the product is that I have large hands and the handle narrows near the top. This makes it feel a bit "smallish" in my hands but it does not effect the quality of the product in any way and is a very easy fix with a few wraps of sports tape to achieve a custom fit and still fit in the included sheath. Overall, it is a good tool to keep in your garden kit.........and I would have no fear in taking on any hoodlum gang of gophers with this blade! Disclaimer: The author of this review received promotional consideration in exchange for his honest review of this product.

Pros Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Sharp, Strong Cons handle narrows at top

Video & Photo

  • Pro

TxMike

Near Houston, Tx
45 to 54, Male
1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: TxMike
  • Sharp blade that works wonders. This hori hori is perfect for planting seed (at accurate depths),...
  • October 02, 2018
  • Recommended Product

Sharp blade that works wonders. This hori hori is perfect for planting seed (at accurate depths), cutting, weeding, and digging. It is a great multi tool that is built to last. Full solid steel body with wood handle. It did a great job through this gardening year and I think it will for many years to come!

Levi

1 out of 1 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Levi