#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Fluidmaster DuoFlush Complete Fill and Dual Flush Conversion System

Internet #204667552

Model #550DFRK-3

Store SKU #1000028233

  • Convert your toilet to a dual flush water-saving system
  • Easy install for 2 in. valves, without removing the flush valve
  • Fully adjustable, includes the high powered PerforMAX fill valve

Customer Reviews

  • 2.9
    out of 688 reviews
  • 43% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 688 reviews
Not universal for Koehler WC
I got the Dual Flush for my kohler toilet. The kit say it fits most toilets but not this one. The kohler has a special vertical valve assembly. I have added a picture to demonstrate the type valve I'm talking about. I went back and pick up a standard valve assembly. After that fitting the dual flush to the standard was very quick and easy. It just snaps on. The flush handle replaces the old with ease. It is good for stoping leaks and very quiet.
by
  • Pro
  • Recommended
10 found this review helpful
Good water saving device with 2 flush levels
The instructions are rather complicated and to do the install right takes about 45 minutes. Longer than the stated 30 minutes. But that also includes adjusting the levels. When you push the handle down, it does a low water flush and when you pull the handle up it does a high water flush. I haven't seen any impact on my water bill, but toilet flushing probably doesn't use as much water as other things. Once you get it installed right and the levels adjusted it seems like a good product.
by
  • DIY
11 found this review helpful
Straightforward to install. Works as advertised so far.
Installation is pretty straightforward and not entirely different from traditional flapper systems. Instructions are clear and illustrated well. The main potential problem seems to be getting a seal between the new flush valve and your old toilet's valve seating (it's discussed twice in the instructions). There are three main possibilities on how to seal the two and the necessary parts are included. Read carefully to make sure the new system is seated well. Once installed, you go through multiple "test flushes" to determine how low you can set the water demand for the full and half flush settings. The manual says to start at "Max" and work your way down. Mine actually fully functions on the lowest settings so depending on your toilet you may actually want to start on the "Min" end and work up...save some water and toilet paper. The components appear well built and I had no issues with any connections. The flush itself does feel different since it controls the mechanism using a cable rather than a flapper arm. It would be nice if the handle were metal rather than plastic for a more solid feel.
by
  • DIY
  • Recommended
3 found this review helpful
Nice Function and Water Savings
Installation was very straightforward and instructions are clear. There are a few extra pieces - so make sure you follow the instructions and not use the parts for an alternate installation. Adjustment instructions are also simple to ensure an effective flush. When complete, the device seals well, is quiet and easy to use. The package is nice - the tank is less cluttered than the float that was replaced. Keep in mind that the handle works off a cable, so the feel is different than a conventional lever. Also note the handle shows that you lift up for a 1/2 flush and down for the full flush.
by
  • DIY
  • Recommended
7 found this review helpful
Flush Actuator is not stable
The installation is not difficult, but the sealant on the attachment ring stick to the plastic bag it is packed in and you have The worst part is that the flush actuator with the cable rotates on the handle and it does not work properly. This is a basic design flaw with, even the positioning tabs on the interior of the hole of the actuator do not line up with the slots on the handle stem because those slots are on the wrong side of the piece centering piece. This whole part, if it had been square or hex would have stabilized the actuator and kept it from turning. When it turns the cable does not move the flush mechanism. . I tried installing the actuator with and without the rubber gasket, made no difference. I would not recommend this product, and I actually took it out and threw it away.
by
Response from FluidmasterSupportNov 18, 2021
Fluidmaster would like the opportunity to help, please contact Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department for help with your product. We are available Monday through Friday from 5:30 AM through 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. Contact options include: Fluidmaster.com/support to Chat, Email or call Toll Free 800-631-2011. FluidMaster
    Waste of Water
    I love the dual flush functionality to conserve water, but the main reason I got it was because I was sick and tired of the chain getting tangled on my old system and having the water constantly run. This one has a cable, so I thought I was safe, I was wrong. The first one I bought lasted maybe 2 years before the cable broke. I was out of the support window but decided to give it another try, so I purchased a second one. The second one I've had for maybe a little over a year and now when you upflush (the half flush that is supposed to conserve water), it sticks at least half of the time, making the water continuously run, which not only defeats the purpose, but can be a major problem if not caught in time. I'm highly disappointed in the quality. It's sold at a premium price to conserve water but the parts are so poor all you're doing is paying more to waste more. I would give 0 stars if that was an option.
    by
    Response from FluidmasterSupportDec 17, 2020
    Fluidmaster would like the opportunity to help, please contact Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department for help with your product. We are available Monday through Friday from 5:30 AM through 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. Contact options include: Fluidmaster.com/support to Chat, Email or call Toll Free 800-631-2011. FluidMaster
      Don't buy
      Installation is very easy. However, the new valve snaps over the existing flapper seat and reduces the diameter of the flow into the bowl and changes the entire flush dynamic of the toilet. If you hold the handle down, you get lots of swirl but not much "go down" I had to pour a large glass of water into the center of the bowl to start the weak evacuation. The more solid waste in the bowl, the worse the action. If your toilet was designed for a standard valve, the fluidmaster standard valve is great. Do NOT try to change the design with this poor valve. You will not be happy with the performance
      by
      Response from FluidmasterSupportNov 8, 2020
      Fluidmaster would like to provide help and here is a quick tip that may solve your problem. When an incomplete or weak flush happens try this simple solution, raise the water level up inside the tank. If you need help please contact Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department, we are available Monday through Friday from 5:30 AM through 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. Contact options include: Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support E-Mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com and Toll Free 800-631-2011. FluidMaster
        I have been shopping at Home Depot for 15 or...
        I have been shopping at Home Depot for 15 or more years I am a general contractor I will always be good about Homedepot
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        I just had that added, so works fine for now...to...
        I just had that added, so works fine for now...to early for a review
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
        Rating provided by a verified purchaser
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        Good so far. easy to install....
        Good so far. easy to install.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        I opened the box to read the instructions only to...
        I opened the box to read the instructions only to find out that it was not compatable with my system. The outside reads that it is universal.....
        by
        Response from FluidmasterSupportAug 14, 2020
        The Duo Flush is compatible with all standard flush valves, however there are some exceptions, for example a tower flush or canister flush tower. Fluidmaster would like to learn more about your toilet and provide help. Visit our website fluidmaster.com/support to email or chat with a technician or call toll free at 800-631-2011. FluidMaster
        • Verified Purchase
        Beware - Not worth
        I purchased two of these for two of my bathrooms so I can end up saving money. Unfortunately, I am paying more water bills than before and there is continuous leak of water and this items doesnt fit perfect. Initially, I thought I didn't install properly and later I had professional look at it and he was not able to fix problem as well. I wrote to fluid master company asking for help and of course no response at all....Don't waste your money
        by
        Response from FluidmasterSupportAug 12, 2020
        Fluidmaster would like to provide help, here is a quick tip for older installations that are leaking water into the bowl. Just like a flapper the Duo Flush can be easily removed and the drain cleaned. Flush valve drains can attract hard water deposits and sometimes these deposits can interfere with the seals (or flappers) ability to make a positive water tight seal. Watch this video for quick instructions for removing the Duo Flush from your tank - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dEEp0nUgdpU - or visit our website - Fluidmaster.com/support - for troubleshooting tips, chat, email a technician or call toll free 800-631-2011. FluidMaster
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          It was a very easy install..
          It was a very easy install..
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          It leaks water somewhere because it keeps running for a...
          It leaks water somewhere because it keeps running for a few seconds every once on a while.
          by
          Response from FluidmasterSupportJul 31, 2020
          Fluidmaster would like to provide help and here is a quick tip that may solve your problem. Check the tank lever, the handle comes with an optional spacer that may be keeping the handle from inserting into the activation box, which can cause the piston seal from sealing the drain. Remove the handle to remove this spacer and reinsert the handle, this may solve the problem. If you need help please contact Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department, we are available Monday through Friday from 5:30 AM through 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. Contact options include: Chat fluidmaster.com/support, E-Mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com and Toll Free 800-631-2011. FluidMaster
          • Verified Purchase
          Is ver y eaxy
          Is ver y eaxy
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          Installation was straight forward, and adjustment was quick and easy....
          Installation was straight forward, and adjustment was quick and easy. Sure it was a bit more effort than a standard fill kit, but in the end the reduced water consumption will far outweigh the minimal extra effort. I’m very happy with this purchase/upgrade.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          Very easy to install. Works great!...
          Very easy to install. Works great!
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          If you are a beginner (even though you have changed...
          If you are a beginner (even though you have changed other toilet and plumbing systems yourself successfully), this product is too hard. I suffered days of trying to install over and over and it still leaks. I have returned it and got another product, still leaks -- I do not recommend this product.
          by
          Response from FluidmasterSupportJul 21, 2020
          The installation of this system was designed to be as simple as a flapper, the canister clamps onto your original drain snapping in place. Leaks however can be difficult to find and sometimes are a result of a siphon or a worn out drain. Fluidmaster would like to provide help, to contact Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department, options include: Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support E-Mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com and Toll Free 800-631-2011. We are available Monday through Friday from 5:30 AM through 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. FluidMaster
          • Verified Purchase
          Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
          Rating provided by a verified purchaser
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          Did not fit my toilet right. Is difficult to install....
          Did not fit my toilet right. Is difficult to install.
          by
          Response from FluidmasterSupportJul 7, 2020
          Fluidmaster would like the opportunity to learn more and provide help. Please contact Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department, we are available Monday through Friday from 5:30 AM through 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. Contact options include: Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support E-Mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com and Toll Free 800-631-2011. FluidMaster
          • Verified Purchase
          Works perfectly
          The installation was pretty simple, and all the parts were provided. Perhaps I have a new toilet. The result is great water saving. I was able to set the half flush to 6, and the flush took only 2-3 seconds. I am going to change the other 3 toilets next as we are all staying home due to COVID-19 and use the toilet a lot.
          by
            • Recommended
            Not Satisfied
            Don’t waste your money or time on this product. Even on the highest setting of the full flush it still takes up to three flushes to get it all down.
            by
            Response from FluidmasterSupportJun 29, 2020
            Fluidmaster would like the opportunity to learn more and provide help. Please contact Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department, we are available Monday through Friday from 5:30 AM through 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. Contact options include: Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support E-Mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com and Toll Free 800-631-2011. FluidMaster
              Crap...
              Crap
              by
              Response from FluidmasterSupportJun 19, 2020
              Fluidmaster would like the opportunity to learn more and provide help. Please contact Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department, we are available Monday through Friday from 5:30 AM through 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. Contact options include: Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support E-Mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com and Toll Free 800-631-2011. FluidMaster
              • Verified Purchase
              Cheap Plastic
              I wish I had read the reviews before buying this and installing it. It's made of cheap plastic and I replaced it immediately because it didn't operate properly. Unfortunately, because I didn't want to take all of the parts out as well, I couldn't return it. I ended up replacing it with the traditional flapper. Home Depot should stop selling such a bad product.
              by
              Response from FluidmasterSupportJun 16, 2020
              Fluidmaster would like the opportunity to learn more and provide help. Please contact Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department, we are available Monday through Friday from 5:30 AM through 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. Contact options include: Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support E-Mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com and Toll Free 800-631-2011. FluidMaster
                Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
                Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
                Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                After about 2 weeks, the toilet was running again just...
                After about 2 weeks, the toilet was running again just like it was before this was installed.
                by
                Response from FluidmasterSupportJun 10, 2020
                Fluidmaster would like the opportunity to learn more and provide help. Please contact Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department, we are available Monday through Friday from 5:30 AM through 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. Contact options include: Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support E-Mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com and Toll Free 800-631-2011. FluidMaster
                • Verified Purchase
                Showing 1-30 of 688 reviews