#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Fluidmaster DuoFlush Complete Fill and Dual Flush Conversion System

Internet #204667552

Model #550DFRK-3

Store SKU #1000028233

  • Convert your toilet to a dual flush water-saving system
  • Easy install for 2 in. valves, without removing the flush valve
  • Fully adjustable, includes the high powered PerforMAX fill valve

Customer Reviews

  • 2.9
    out of 688 reviews
  • 43% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 688 reviews
This one was not defected as my first Fluid master...
This one was not defected as my first Fluid master
by
  • Verified Purchase
Missing Parts
If you have a brass flush valve you will be disappointed when you get this home and start to install it. After you have your old system removed and are installing the new system: You will find out your not able to install your kit because they didn't include the BRASS SEAT ADAPTER. You can call them at 800-631-2011 after you put your old system back together.
by
Response from FluidmasterSupportJun 10, 2020
If you have already contacted the Technical Service Department for help with this issue, then please disregard. If you have not, then please contact Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department for help with your product. We are available Monday through Friday from 5:30 AM through 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. Contact options include: Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support E-Mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com and Toll Free 800-631-2011. FluidMaster
    1 found this review helpful
    Totally useless. Doesn’t flush poop. You have to...
    Totally useless. Doesn’t flush poop. You have to hold the lever for a complete flush. Useless useless useless.
    by
    Response from FluidmasterSupportJun 4, 2020
    Fluidmaster would like the opportunity to learn more and provide help. Please contact Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department, we are available Monday through Friday from 5:30 AM through 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. Contact options include: Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support E-Mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com and Toll Free 800-631-2011. FluidMaster
    • Verified Purchase
    Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
    Rating provided by a verified purchaser
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
    Rating provided by a verified purchaser
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
    Rating provided by a verified purchaser
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Good instructions...easy install....
    Good instructions...easy install.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Greatly appreciated
    Greatly appreciated
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    Handle cracked second day...
    Handle cracked second day
    by
    Response from FluidmasterSupportJun 3, 2020
    Contact Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department for help with your product. We are available Monday through Friday from 5:30 AM through 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. Contact options include: Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support E-Mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com and Toll Free 800-631-2011. FluidMaster
    • Verified Purchase
    Adapter did not fit right leaking water...
    Adapter did not fit right leaking water
    by
    Response from FluidmasterSupportJun 3, 2020
    Fluidmaster would like the opportunity to learn more and provide help. Please contact Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department, we are available Monday through Friday from 5:30 AM through 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. Contact options include: Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support E-Mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com and Toll Free 800-631-2011 FluidMaster
    • Verified Purchase
    There was no indication what size drain hole this would...
    There was no indication what size drain hole this would fit, it did not fit mine.
    by
    Response from FluidmasterSupportJun 1, 2020
    Contact Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department for help with your product. We are available Monday through Friday from 5:30 AM through 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. Contact options include: Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support E-Mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com and Toll Free 800-631-2011. FluidMaster
    • Verified Purchase
    Easy to install.. works perfectly...
    Easy to install.. works perfectly
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Very easy to install....
    Very easy to install.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Simply Isn't Worth the Time and Effort
    Tried installing this product using the angled seat adapter since my flush valve was angled. The adapter installed pretty good and I heard a clicking noise from the two metal pieces. I pushed down to make sure it sealed well. Next, I tried installing the duo flush valve. I made several attempt before it finally seemed to seat correctly on the angled flush valve. Once I thought everything was fine, I turned the water supply back on. The water never shut off because the flapper piece would not seal against the flush valve. I called Fluidmaster tech support line and an agent answered telling me he can only give me 5 mins of help. Next, I went on Youtube and there were a few videos on there that showed how to install this product. I did everything correctly as far as the videos went. After 3 hours of tweaking and fussing with this I still could not get it to work. I returned it to Home Depot for a refund.
    by
    Response from FluidmasterSupportMay 28, 2020
    Thank you for posting this review. Fluidmaster would like the opportunity to learn more and provide help. Please contact Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department, we are available Monday through Friday from 5:30 AM through 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. Contact options include: Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support E-Mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com and Toll Free 800-631-2011. FluidMaster
      1 Star Review
      Rating provided by a verified purchaser
      by
      Response from FluidmasterSupportMay 21, 2020
      Fluidmaster would like the opportunity to learn why you gave the product a 1 star review and provide help with your product installation. Please contact Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department as we are available Monday through Friday from 5:30 AM through 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. Contact options include: Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support E-Mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com and Toll Free 800-631-2011. FluidMaster
      • Verified Purchase
      Easy
      Easy
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      This was super easy to install and works great. Really like the 1/2 flush although lifting up on ...
      This was super easy to install and works great. Really like the 1/2 flush although lifting up on the lever takes a little getting used to. Glad I bought it.
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      It is easy to snap the old unit out and...
      It is easy to snap the old unit out and snap a new one in. The flaw in this product is a cable that breaks aafter a few years. The new design moved the cable connection to the top but can't they just make a replacement cable?
      by
      Response from FluidmasterSupportMay 11, 2020
      Fluidmaster would like the opportunity to learn more and provide help. Please contact Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department, we are available Monday through Friday from 5:30 AM through 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. Contact options include: Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support E-Mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com and Toll Free 800-631-2011. FluidMaster
      • Verified Purchase
      Decent Product - This will make it a little better
      The Duo Flush conversion is a decent product with one major weak point. That being the square flush handle shaft gasket which crushes against and jams the handle when tightened in a round tank hole. I fixed mine, and made a much firmer connection by discarding the square gasket and replacing it with a 1 ¼” thin stainless steel washer. I drilled the washers hole out to 7/8ths inch and placed it between the handle and the outside of the tank. Once the plastic nut was tightened inside of the tank, the handle cinches up to a tight fit with full free movement of the handle in both directions. Drilling the thin washer gets a little chancy so I held it with a long nose vice grip along the circumference, placed it against some spare wood stock as a backing and drilled using a 7/8" step drill bit to increase the hole size. If you have handle installation issues, hopefully this fix will help.
      by
        • Recommended
        Does not work
        Installation is easy, as advertised. Worked fine for a short period of time but flush settings stopped working. Now system does a full flush whether you you pull up or push down.
        by
        Response from FluidmasterSupportMay 6, 2020
        Contact Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department for help with your product. We are available Monday through Friday from 5:30 AM through 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. Contact options include: Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support E-Mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com and Toll Free 800-631-2011 FluidMaster
          The bad thing about this equipment is that it fails...
          The bad thing about this equipment is that it fails to make an effective seal over the flush base. Everything is very plasticky and has a flimsy feel to it. Maybe I got a bad piece. It keeps cycling every few seconds, which means that it is slowly leaking water into the bowl. Ironic, because saving water was the whole reason I got it!
          by
          Response from FluidmasterSupportMay 1, 2020
          Fluidmaster would like the opportunity to learn more and provide help. Please contact Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department, we are available Monday through Friday from 5:30 AM through 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. Contact options include: Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support E-Mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com and Toll Free 800-631-2011. FluidMaster
          • Verified Purchase
          Unit does not last....
          Unit does not last.
          by
          Response from FluidmasterSupportMay 1, 2020
          Fluidmaster would like the opportunity to learn more and provide help. Please contact Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department, we are available Monday through Friday from 5:30 AM through 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. Contact options include: Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support E-Mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com and Toll Free 800-631-2011. FluidMaster
          • Verified Purchase
          Standby Their Products
          I purchased 3 of these. Like some of the other reviews I had problems with them. The first time there was an issue I just replaced the entire product thinking that maybe it just had a flaw. When the second one had the same issue I knew it was a manufacturer defect. I contacted Fluidmaster and explained my issue. They emailed me a YouTube video on how to fix it. That still didn't work. What they did next is sent me 3 new valves to replace all of them. To me this was going above and beyond. For this I will continue to be a Fluidmaster customer. For those wondering the problem was the float valve would get stuck and nor refill the bowl. Thanks Fluidmaster.
          by
            • Recommended
            Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
            Rating provided by a verified purchaser
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            Toilet periodically runs. So basically any water that you save...
            Toilet periodically runs. So basically any water that you save from using the water saver feature just leaks out anyway.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            Installed in a Toto. Design doesn’t lend itself well to...
            Installed in a Toto. Design doesn’t lend itself well to the design of the tank. The lever mechanism and float are too close. Had to modify the insulation in the tank to allow float to move. Leaver itself feels really cheap. Other than these issues, it appears to be working fine after a week of use.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            Quick and easy installation!u...
            Quick and easy installation!u
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            Great Retro-Fit Idea
            I bought this in the store and installed the next day. Easy to install. I have a Koehler toilet so had to use the supplied angle adapter for the seat. Worked like a charm. Looking at other reviews-we'll see if the acctuator cable is improved from previous years. The toilet I installed this unit on has the handle at a 45 degree angle to the front-(with the tank wall also wrapping around)-so rotating the fill valve so the float does not hit the actuator cable is needed. I also cut the bowl fill tube to fit the spacing in my toilet. Interesting "testing" the flush using TP per the instructions which makes sense, but in the middle of the COVID TP shortage I did not use this and am adjusting with use over a period of time. Very easy to adjust the flush amounts with the top mounted control knobs. One review pointed out the adjustment to the tank fill level is important, independent of the flush amounts, should be done first and this is all mentioned in the instructions. The supplied fill valve is the good one. Instructions are clear, follow the steps outlined. Be sure your toilet is not one of the excluded fits. As long as this loast-it will pay for itself within months
            by
              • Recommended
              Great Idea that doesn't work!
              Installed 2 of these in about 30 minutes. Easy to install. Concept seems great. They leak and the toilet runs, so any savings goes down the tube, so to speak. I have made every adjustment possible but the "plunger" doesn't seal well enough to prevent leakage. Guess I take all 4 back. Trouble shooting guide is useless.
              by
              Response from FluidmasterSupportApr 16, 2020
              Fluidmaster would like the opportunity to learn more about your installation and provide help. Here is a quick tip that may solve your problem; the tank lever may not be inserted all the way through the tank mounting hole. The handle comes with an optional spacer that if used may be keeping the handle from going all the way through the tank. Take a look at the handle on the outside of the tank if is more than 3/16 of an inch away from the tank wall then we suggest removing the handle checking if you are using the spacer and if so remove it. If you need help please contact Fluidmaster’s Technical Service Department, we are available Monday through Friday from 5:30 AM through 5:00 PM Pacific Standard Time. Contact options include: Chat www.fluidmaster.com/support E-Mail techsupport@fluidmaster.com and Toll Free 800-631-2011. FluidMaster
                1 found this review helpful
                Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
                Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                Showing 1-30 of 688 reviews