No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (2)
  • No problems
  • July 12, 2012
  • Recommended Product

I went with this brand because it was the only one available. I had never tried this type of product before so I did some research before using it. It's important to make sure the area you will be applying tape to is clean and dry! I think some reviewers who had trouble with the tape may have skipped this step. I followed directions online by mixing equal parts water and rubbing alcohol and wiped down my window frames with this and let it dry. The tape was sticky, but not so sticky that I couldn't lift it off to reposition it. I put tape around the entire window and let it set about 10 minutes to make sure it was stuck well. Then I took off the backing, pressed the plastic sheet on the tape - starting from the top middle of the window and stretching to fit. You can lift and adjust the plastic until you're happy with the placement. Then I took the hair dryer and began at the edges, working my way around the window and then inward to the middle to get out all the wrinkles. Don't keep the hair dryer on any one area for too long or you could melt a hole in the plastic, keep moving around until it's tight. That's it! I just recently purchased this product and I've only done 2 windows - a regular size window and a large picture window. The regular window was easier and the edges are much smoother. The picture window would have been easier with 2 people, but I made it work by myself. Overall, this product is pretty clear after it's applied. There are some crease lines in the plastic that just won't come out no matter how much heat I put on it, but it is not that noticeable. I'm hoping that I will notice some difference in our utility bills, but then I'll probably be kicking myself for not doing this much sooner since it was so simple!

Pros Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
  • DIY

MomOfTwo

Detroit, MI, USA
25 to 34, Female
41 out of 41 people found this helpful
more details...
By: MomOfTwo
  • Drafty windows - No Problem!
  • November 14, 2010
  • Recommended Product

I live in an apartment with old, drafty windows. It gets ridiculous during the winter. Cold air just pours in through these windows. After applying this film which was a snap, no more drafty windows! This kit makes it easy and Home Depot has kits in all sizes to cover all applications. Thanks Home Depot!

deanamal

Keller, TX
35 out of 35 people found this helpful
more details...
By: deanamal
  • Works GREAT!!!
  • December 13, 2010
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

This product works fantastically!!! The double sided tape didn't stick that well at first then I wiped down the widow frame with ammonia and presto it stuck like... tape... Keeps my bedroom warm no more plugging in the heater all I need now is a blanket and I am Good!

DNR900

Los Angeles CA
21 out of 21 people found this helpful
more details...
By: DNR900
  • NO MORE DRAFTS!
  • November 19, 2014
  • Recommended Product

This is NOT a labor intensive project. Actually its very easy if you allow yourself the time to do it right the fist time. In my case the windows took about 30 mins or less and the slider took about an hour. It goes pretty fast once you get the hang of it and you can keep the surfaces warm enough for the tape to stick. Take your time and the process is easy. * Remember to wash interior window prior to putting up film. You won't be able to until you take down the film. After reading all the reviews I recommend the following. Do whatever works for you. 1. Clean area where you are placing the tape with rubbing alcohol for best sticking of the tape. 2. Use the hairdryer to dry the area you just cleaned and this also warms the surface so the tape will stick better. 3. Apply tape (take your time) 4. Before removing cover on tape go over with the hairdryer and press it down again . (heat helps tape to stick) (It's cold outside and the windows are cold too.) 5. Apply film per instruction on box. (Take your time) 6. Follow instruction on box to shirk film. This process results in great clarity. Use that hair dryer to keep the surfaces warm. I noticed the tape sticks better to the window casings and to the film when it is warm. It is really worth taking the extra steps when applying this film. Then enjoy no more drafts from those windows for the winter. I might do it again to help with my cooling costs in the summer too. I covered my single pane windows and the slider window where the draft would move the vertical blinds. I notice an immediate difference after doing each window. I am very satisfied with this product.

Pros Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight

WarmToasty

Medford,Oregon
55 to 64, Female
10 out of 10 people found this helpful
more details...
By: WarmToasty
  • good product
  • December 17, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

trying this out for the 1st time this winter season and so far it's stopped the draft I was getting from the window

  • DIY

Lawnrepair

5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Lawnrepair
  • doesn't stick
  • November 19, 2011

I have never before seen plastic and tape that don't even stick to each other. Get the 3-m kit from somewhere else if you can. Duck is OK. Avoid Frost King. It's terrible.

  • DIY

deadshift

5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: deadshift
  • came off clean as well
  • April 24, 2016
  • Recommended Product

I wanted to wait untill i take them out after winter. they were good during winter and came out clean without hurting my trim.9\

Pros Easy to Install
  • DIY

Bhaskar

cranford, nj
25 to 34, Male
4 out of 4 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Bhaskar
  • works great!!
  • November 08, 2011
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Used this kit to seal my bedroom windows and a short kitchen window-instantly helped to keep rooms warmer. Before sealing I had to turn my heat to 80 degrees to keep rooms warm...now heat can stay around 65 degrees and rooms are comfortable.

gladmyhouseiswarm

3 out of 3 people found this helpful
more details...
By: gladmyhouseiswarm
  • Does not attach to window
  • October 31, 2015

I applied this film to 10+ windows. Each and every window had the film detach. I had to remove the film and the tape and replace it with 3M tape and film. The 3M stuff works beautifully. DON'T BUY THIS STUFF!!

Cons does not attach and falls off
  • DIY

JLB

Chanhassen, MN
55 to 64, Male
2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: JLB
  • Cheap defective junk
  • October 14, 2016

If you've ever done multiple windows, the procedure is tough. After completing five windows with the tape and film I then began to use the hair dryer to start the shrink. Then finding out that there was a split at the fold seam causing it to rupture a hole on every "completed" window. After inspecting the second film supply in the box the same split was evident. HD did refund but that doesn't make up for the time to tear off and redo with a better brand (from a different store). Do not buy this junk!!!

Mrbottle

2 out of 2 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Mrbottle