#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for GE 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White with Stain PreTreat, ENERGY STAR

Internet #328425556

Model #GTW538ASWWS

Store SKU #1010940816

  • Energy Star Washer
  • Pairs best with Electric GTD38EASWWS or Gas GTD38GASWWS Dryer(s)
  • Heavy-duty transmittion enhances durability for large loads

Customer Reviews

  • 4.1
    out of 149 reviews
  • 70% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 149 reviews
Nice features
I like the washer so much easier than the washer I had
by
    Nice machine
    Great washer! Plenty of features and a fair price.
    by
      • Recommended
      lots of cycles and great spin speed
      Good basic product . Lots of choices of various cycles. Spin is incredible; clothes very dry at end of wash cycle.
      by
        • Recommended
        Nice washing machine
        We always had an old washer and dryer. This one sounds a lot different, but it works excellent. We are very pleased with it.
        by
          • Recommended
          Nice washer Did you get that again?
          We’ve always had an older washer and this one runs a lot differently, but it really seems to work well we are happy with our purchase.!!!
          by
            Production does not show how long it takes for a load to wash.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            The Drain Spin Cycle is poorly engineered.
            On the "Drain Spin", one would expect it to...drain first? Instead, it starts filling with water to balance the load. So, eventually it starts to spin and the machine walks because it never gets balanced and the load stays soaked. I don't know how this product ever went to market. Clearly it was not tested nor was there a design review or maybe just idiot men . I think there should be a class action lawsuit unless GE will give half of our money back.
            by
            Response from GE AnswersJun 11, 2024
            Our washers do add water before draining and spinning to ensure that the load is balanced. If your unit is not staying balanced with this feature, please make sure that it is level, the legs are planted firmly into the ground, and that your loads are sorted properly. If the issue persists or gets worse, please schedule service by calling 833-426-3393. Our technicians would be happy to investigate this further! GE_Appliances
              1 found this review helpful
              The Perfect washer
              Love this washer. It does what it says it should do without any incidents at all. Love, Love, Love it !!!
              by
                Work! No bells or whistles, but it washes clothes!
                I had a front load washing machine over a decade and I finally got tired of fixing, cleaning, deodorizing the rubber gasket. Decided to go back to old school top loader. I've probably ran close to 100 loads.....The thing just works. Follow instructions, select the right load level, and clothes will come out clean!
                by
                  • Recommended
                  Washing machine
                  So far it’s been a good washing machine!! No complaints
                  by
                    • Recommended
                    everything is great
                    great machine at a great price. Works fantastic. great purchase
                    by
                      • Recommended
                      Great washer
                      Easy to install. Works great and super quiet! Love it!
                      by
                        • Recommended
                        Works great, haven't used all the extra features yet, but clothes are clean.
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        I despise this washer
                        Same thing others have said- will not spin clothes dry enough to take out, even when the extra spin is selected. Happens with towels, sheets, blankets mostly. Also, sometimes it randomly dumps extra water in when open the lid. The spin and drain cycle that I sometimes have to run when the above happens (doesn't spin clothes dry) doesn't work as it should- adds more water and the items are more soaked than the before. I've owned it maybe two years.
                        by
                        Response from GE AnswersJun 8, 2024
                        We understand the frustration caused by this issue. If your clothes are still wet after a cycle, we recommend you review the section titled: "Clothes Too Wet" on pg. 25 of the Owner's Manual for suggestions on what to do in this situation: https://images.thdstatic.com/catalog/pdfImages/94/94549696-b4cf-4a6d-a0a2-05df1f88ee5d.pdf. Thanks for sharing your feedback, and we hope you allow us to work hard to earn your trust again in the future. GE_Appliances
                          Leaks after second day
                          My excitement for this machine was high on the first day, but the second day the washer started leaking water first from a cracked hose then leaking under the washer, it was replaced but its replacement was worst than this one we couldn't even wash one load of clothes, my laundry room flooded , it was a disaster, after waiting a week for this as a replacement from the first one is unacceptable. Laundry builds up with a family of 5. Another replacement will take another week. Unexceptable
                          by
                          Response from GE AnswersJun 8, 2024
                          We're sorry to hear that you experienced this issue with multiple washer. We understand the disappointment and frustration caused by this situation. Please continue to work with a Home Depot for the best solution possible. We hope you allow us to work hard to earn your trust again in the future. GE_Appliances
                            Don’t buy - bad batch poor customer service
                            Delivery was delayed and rescheduled but worse by far is the quality of the washer itself. It worked for 3 loads but shook so bad it moved around the room despite legs being level. Looks like a demon was trying to escape the drum punching the sides. Less than 5 days and 3 attempts at laundry it won’t fill and makes electronic groans. Home depot won’t help after day 2 and GE customer service goes through 3rd parties that aren’t reliable or responsive. Incredibly frustrating experience.
                            by
                            Response from GE AnswersJun 8, 2024
                            We understand the disappointment and frustration caused by your washer not functioning properly. This is i not the experience we would want you to have with your appliances. Please PM/DM us on Facebook/Instagram/X with a copy of your review, any service confirmation/case numbers you may have, and the model/serial numbers of your washer so we can investigate further. GE_Appliances
                              Quite!!
                              Nice and quiet, plenty of cycle selections but not too many to be confusing
                              by
                                • Recommended
                                Terrible washer can't handle towels or sheets.
                                Can't handle any volume greater than 0 of towels or sheets. I've tried washing towels just individually one by one and still they come out soaking wet. I've used the bulky load setting, tried baby sitting etc but the spin cycle cannot spin towels or sheets. They come out completely soaking wet. The washer cannot be filled with clothing higher than halfway up the drum or the same issue occurs.
                                by
                                Response from GE_AppliancesJun 4, 2024
                                We want to help with your GE Appliances top-load washer. Please see the helpful article "Top load washer- wet clothes concerns" at the link below: https://products.geappliances.com/appliance/gea-support-search-content?contentId=000063110&_ga=2.88647323.1867984707.1717419692-1342374613.1688136512 If you continue to experience issues, please contact our warranty department for further assistance at 1-800-432-2737.
                                  Really loud and can't wash anything "bulky"
                                  This is the loudest washer I've ever had. It's sort of ok if I close the door but it's agressive. It also can't handle spinning towels or sheets, any amount above 0. I've tried just washing one towel or one sheet at a time and the spin cycle does not work. You can't fill the washed above halfway with clothes either or you'll end up with soaking wet clothing as the spin cycle can't handle it. Over all it like functions but I wouldn't recommend anyone else buy this.
                                  by
                                  Response from GE AnswersJun 8, 2024
                                  Your new washer may sound different from your prior unit because of the newer technology. Clicks, water flowing, gear sounds followed by pauses, and electric hum sounds are all part of the normal wash cycle. We understand your concern about your clothes still being wet a completed cycle, we recommend you review the "Clothes too wet" section on pg. 25 of the Owner's Manual: https://images.thdstatic.com/catalog/pdfImages/94/94549696-b4cf-4a6d-a0a2-05df1f88ee5d.pdf.

                                  If this information doesn't prove helpful, we recommend scheduling a service appointment for one of our qualified technicians to assess your unit. You can schedule an appointment by calling us at: 1-800-432-2737. GE_Appliances
                                    • Recommended
                                    Misleading Tub Size and Internal Parts are of Bad Quality
                                    My first issue with this washer is that the tub size is misleading. You cannot fill it up with clothing as the water is limited to about 6o% of the tub even on "Deep Fill" mode. This will obviously lead to clothing not being washed properly. Not all GE's fault as I think there are efficiency regulations. Either way, the internal clutch and gear switch that works with the motor is plastic!!! the tub shaft is half plastic and the other half is metal (though not very robust). Within two years, the Tub shaft wore out and makes a horrible noise while in use. GE is out of the $168 part needed to fix this defect. I will NEVER buy a GE washer again, I've switched to Speed Queen with all metal gears.
                                    by
                                    Response from GE AnswersJun 8, 2024
                                    The Department of Energy (DOE) sets standards for washer water usage. Over the years, the amount of allowable water usage has been reduced. With washers using less water and energy, you will no longer see a wash basket full of water. Most washers are now programmed with load sensing to adjust water levels based on the cycle and load size, so the amount of water used will vary.

                                    We understand the disappointment caused by your washer not functioning properly. Thanks for your feedback, and we hope you allow us to work hard to earn your trust again in the future. GE_Appliances
                                      Will not spin dry!!!
                                      This is the worst appliance I have ever purchased. First problem, clothes are continuously coming out dirty. Not stained, but still have crusty dirt on them! Like it didn't even get everything wet. Secondly, about a third of the time, when the wash stops the clothes/towels/blankets/Sheets are still SOAKING wet. It has a setting that I can just spin again (like my old washer), but this doesn't just spin, it fills the whole thing with water again before it spins and then still come out soaking.
                                      by
                                      Response from GE AnswersJun 8, 2024
                                      To improve wash performance, use the correct amount and type of detergent, load carefully, and select the right amount of water and settings for your load size. Keep the lid closed during the wash cycle. For help with the clothes still being wet after a completed cycle, we recommend you review the "Clothes too wet" section on pg. 25 of the Owner's Manual: https://images.thdstatic.com/catalog/pdfImages/94/94549696-b4cf-4a6d-a0a2-05df1f88ee5d.pdf.

                                      If this information doesn't prove helpful, we recommend scheduling a service appointment for one of our qualified technicians to assess your unit. You can schedule an appointment by calling us at: 1-800-432-2737. GE_Appliances
                                        1 found this review helpful
                                        Works great
                                        So far so good and it is quick. The machine is quite.
                                        by
                                          • Recommended
                                          Great product
                                          Great product, works well and am happy with the outcome. Would recommend to others.
                                          by
                                            • Recommended
                                            Good overall features
                                            Overall good, balancing load initially is sometimes problematic
                                            by
                                              by
                                              • Verified Purchase
                                              impella model, washes well, water efficient
                                              by
                                              • Verified Purchase
                                              Good but can't wash BATH MATS-BEWARE
                                              Washes clothes well enough but no matter what type of size bath mat the impeller. We tried all settings, one mat at a time. It was described as " can easily handle big loads and bulky items"-HOW?? Do I need to babysit it so I can redistribute the load? If we purchased an agitator, then we could balance with a towel or 2nd bath mat. Purchased in October 2023- hate using it everytime I need to wash a bath mat. I can't take my bath mat out soaking wet and throw it into my dryer...so its sort of disgusting knowing you have to hang it, watch it drip for days and feel that the mat isn't really clean. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT IF YOU LIKE USING BATH . GE if you are reading this I am happy to return for exchange with an agitator style.
                                              by
                                              Response from GE_AppliancesMay 30, 2024
                                              We're sorry to hear that your bath mat isn't cleaning well and we're happy to help. We recommend using a bulky cycle for better wash performance, please refer to owner's manual at this link here: https://products-salsify.geappliances.com/image/upload/s--9rsgy2-K--/lzojtfkclqdkxvdaa1oy.pdf?_ga=2.122083980.643274364.1716902983-1676878804.1700237661
                                                Great product. Very efficient. Love every feature. As long as it lasts for a while I will be extremely happy.
                                                by
                                                • Verified Purchase
                                                by
                                                • Verified Purchase
                                                Showing 1-30 of 149 reviews

                                                Complete Your Laundry Room

                                                This Washer
                                                4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White with Stain PreTreat, ENERGY STAR
                                                This Washer
                                                GE 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White with Stain PreTreat, ENERGY STAR
                                                (130)
                                                $578.00
                                                $799.00
                                                $578.00
                                                $799.00
                                                +
                                                GE
                                                Choose a matching DryerInformation icon for choose your option tooltip.
                                                Electric 
                                                Gas / +$100.00
                                                =
                                                Price for Bundle

                                                Compare Similar Items

                                                current item

                                                Capacity - Washer (cu. ft.)

                                                4.6

                                                4.3

                                                4.5

                                                4.7

                                                Washer Features

                                                Adaptive Fill, Automatic Temperature Control, End-Of-Cycle Signal

                                                Add Garment (pause), Adjustable Legs, Control Lock, Delay Start, End-Of-Cycle Signal, Remote Diagnostics, Soft Close Lid

                                                End-Of-Cycle Signal

                                                Adjustable Legs, Door Window, Front Control

                                                Steam Function

                                                No Steam

                                                No Steam

                                                No Steam

                                                No Steam

                                                Washer Tub/Drum Material

                                                Stainless Steel Aluminized Alloy Steel Drum

                                                Stainless Steel Drum

                                                Stainless Steel Drum

                                                Stainless Steel Drum

                                                Product Width (in.)

                                                27 in

                                                27 in

                                                27 in

                                                27.75 in