#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for GE 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White with Stain PreTreat, ENERGY STAR

Internet #328425556

Model #GTW538ASWWS

Store SKU #1010940816

  • Energy Star Washer
  • Pairs best with Electric GTD38EASWWS or Gas GTD38GASWWS Dryer(s)
  • Heavy-duty transmittion enhances durability for large loads

Customer Reviews

  • 4.1
    out of 149 reviews
  • 70% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 149 reviews
by
  • Verified Purchase
Perfect!! I have used every setting so far and it performs at the top!!!!! Stain section, tap cold, 2nd rinse.
by
  • Verified Purchase
This washer is large smart and very capable.
This washer is very impressive with it's very large load capacity and the huge number of wash options. In the past you could pretty much use common sense and get by without reading the operator's manual. But this washer has so many complex features that I don't see why anyone would want to try to wing it without consulting the manual. The washer is pretty smart and seems to run a lot of checks to ensure you don't do anything unsafe to hurt it or yourself but it is very powerful and quite impressive. I really love it.
by
    • Recommended
    Noisy
    If I had this washer in my house I would have returned it after the first use, but I have detached laundry room from the house so it doesn't matter. It does a great job on getting clothes and etc clean but it is really noisy compared to most washer these days.
    by
      • Recommended
      1 found this review helpful
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      GE Service is horrible
      After two service calls of their techs saying it's fine (Washer goes out of balance during spin cycle on 9 out of 10 loads ) they want to send another service tech. Never mind that I live 2000 miles from where washer is in our vacation home. I am going to dedicate my remaining life to telling people how bad GE Appliances are, and how their service is equally bad.
      by
      Response from GE AnswersJun 3, 2024
      We're sorry to hear you're having trouble getting the spin cycle to operate correctly. We can understand how this would be frustrating especially since this is a new washer. Usually if an out-of-balance condition is detected by the washer, the Spin light will blink during the remaining portion of the cycle and will stay illuminated for a short time after cycle completion. When the washer tries to redistribute the load, the Rinse light will be illuminated solid while the Spin light blinks. When this occurs, the washer is taking actions to correct the out-of-balance condition and complete the cycle normally. In some cases, the washer may not be able to balance the load and spin up to full speed. If you notice the load is more wet than normal at the end of the cycle, redistribute the load evenly in the wash basket and run a Drain & Spin cycle. If you continue to have issues, please reach out to us via a private message on GE Appliances social media and include this review, your model and serial number, address, email and phone number. GE_Appliances
        • Recommended
        3 found this review helpful
        Worst washer ever...but even worse service
        After two visits by GE Service in less than 6 months we still have a washer that doesn't work... GE Factory service tch twice has told us "You can only use this one cycle, and must use deep water" If you buy this washer plan on hand wringing your clothes prior to drying (Which doesn't work either!) I'm 60 years old and have never experienced this level of incompetency!
        by
        Response from GE AnswersJun 3, 2024
        This is not what we expect to hear and are sorry that you're having this experience with your washer. We'd like to help! If the clothes seem too wet after the wash cycle is complete, the following are possible reasons:
        ~ Cold water can make clothes feel more wet. If the ground water temperature is very low where you live or during a certain season of the year, this could make the clothes seem to be more wet. ~ Oversudsing from too much detergent may slow down the final spin cycle, causing a suds lock. ~ A lower than normal spin speed resulting in wet clothes can occur as a result of oversudsing. The use of HE (High Efficiency) detergent will decrease the chance of suds lock. Use HE detergent only and be sure to use the recommended measured amount. Run a drain/spin cycle if this has occurred to remove the excess water in the clothes. If this doesn't help, please reach out to us directly via a private message on GE Appliances social media, like Facebook or X and include a copy of this review, your model and serial number, address, email and phone number. GE_Appliances
          2 found this review helpful
          GREAT WASHER
          NICE WASHER FOR A SMALLER FAMILY OR EMPTY NESTERS. MULTIPLE WASH SELECTIONS. WHAT I NEEDED FOR THE RIGHT PRICE
          by
            • Recommended
            Cleans well and is water efficient by sensing weight of load. Works as it should.
            by
            Response from GE AnswersMay 23, 2024
            We appreciate you putting your trust in us and being a valued GE Appliances customer. This unit has some really great features and are happy to hear you are pleased with it. We think you will continue to be impressed with this amazing washer for many years! GE_Appliances
            • Verified Purchase
            It’s as basic as it gets
            It’s very noisy & there’s no place for fabric softener . It does get the clothes clean which is the purpose :)
            by
            Response from GE_AppliancesMay 22, 2024
            We are thrilled to hear that your washer is operating as designed despite the noise level. Since this washer model does not have a fabric softener dispenser, we recommend adding the fabric softener directly to the tub prior to loading the clothing. We hope that you are able to enjoy your new washer for many years to come!
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              Great Features
              easy to use and great features that I was looking for as well as additional features I didn't know I wanted.
              by
                • Recommended
                Works great.
                Works great and very efficient. Easy to set up! Really like it.
                by
                  • Recommended
                  Features
                  GE Washer. The unitbis complicated. Soil level sound read. Water level. Stop the literal tunes and rhythms.
                  by
                    No Water Level Selection
                    This machine has no water level selection. Because it is designed with a "fill sensor" which is designed to automatically fill the tub with water based the load size, the water it dispenses is insufficient for the load. The machine does not have a dispenser for the laundry detergent. When the liquid detergent is added on top of the load, it leaves a stain on the clothes where it is poured as there is not enough water dispensed to wash the detergent completely out. It is a time consuming process to the add water according to the instructions. I have found one setting, "Bulky", that dispenses more water, but fills the tub with far too much water. I have found no setting between too little and too much water.
                    by
                    Response from GE_AppliancesMay 17, 2024
                    We want to help with your GE Appliances top-load washer. This model is one that has "Deep Fill", which will add an additional 3 gallons to the wash cycle. Once the washer has stopped filling, you can press it again to add 3 more gallons. You can also select "extra rinse" to prevent detergent stains or residue. If you're using a detergent pod, this must be put into the wash basket prior to adding your clothes.
                      Great machine at a low purchase price
                      Washer works well and is quiet. Clothes are clean with the additional pretreatment cycle makes doing laundry simple.
                      by
                        • Recommended
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        Works great and enough capacity
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        The washer does not work properly. Doesn't even have enough water in it to cover all the clothes when the cycle starts. Does not have an agitator. You only have 48 hrs to return and Saturday and Sunday count as business days as well. 618.00 down the drain. Joe the manager was no help for the customer. Would not recommend this washer to anyone.
                        by
                        Response from GE AnswersMay 16, 2024
                        Thanks for taking the time to share your concerns. The Department of Energy (DOE) sets standards for washer water usage. Over the years, the amount of allowable water usage has been reduced. With washers using less water and energy, you will no longer see a wash basket full of water. Most washers are now programmed with load sensing to adjust water levels depending on the cycle and load size. The amount of water used will vary while still providing excellent wash performance. This model does offer the "'Deep Fill" option. When you feel more water is needed, press the Deep Fill button and additional water will be added to the tub. This model offers our "infusor" rather than the traditional pole style agitator. The Infusor system relies on the friction of the clothes to loosen and lift dirt particles. You have purchased a great washer and we're confident with time you'll be happy with your choice. GE_Appliances
                        • Verified Purchase
                        1 found this review helpful
                        This energy star washer does more than you would expect not only less water but spin cycle dries so less time in the dryer ,win win
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        1 found this review helpful
                        My washer works really well it cleans very well and get stains out easily. I'm really happy with my washer and dryer.
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        1 found this review helpful
                        I was looking for a simple to use washer and this model fit the bill. My clothes comes out very clean. I love that I can wash big blankets.
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        1 found this review helpful
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        1 found this review helpful
                        Work great and easy to use. Delivery was also great and men installing items very efficient and nice and quick and efficient.
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        1 found this review helpful
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        1 found this review helpful
                        So many options!
                        It’s so quiet & efficient! I love all of the options too.
                        by
                        Response from GE_AppliancesMay 14, 2024
                        Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We are happy to hear that you are happy with your purchase of your new washer. Nothing better than a quiet, efficient unit with lots of features to meet all your laundry needs. Thank you for choosing GE Appliances, we appreciate your business.
                          • Recommended
                          Just the right amount of bells and whistles
                          We picked this washer over all the others. Trust GE products. Also was simple to operate not all the bells and whistles that we don't use.
                          by
                          Response from GE_AppliancesMay 15, 2024
                          Thank you for trusting us for your appliance needs. We truly appreciate your business. This is a great washing machine that has great features and cycle options allowing you to choose your preference as needed. Thank you for choosing GE Appliances. We know this unit will provide you clean clothes for many years to come.
                            GE Washer
                            It is out of balance or something is wrong with it.
                            by
                            Response from GE_AppliancesMay 13, 2024
                            We'd like to help you with the unbalanced loads and we recommend referring to the troubleshooting steps at this link: https://products.geappliances.com/appliance/gea-support-search-content?contentId=000063110&_ga=2.22511614.4592134.1691422000-1505727536.1684334235 If the issue continues, we recommend scheduling an appointment with our factory service and repair team by calling 1-800-432-2737, or by visiting https://www.geappliances.com/ge/service-and-support/service.htm
                              Showing 1-30 of 149 reviews

                              Complete Your Laundry Room

                              This Washer
                              4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White with Stain PreTreat, ENERGY STAR
                              This Washer
                              GE 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White with Stain PreTreat, ENERGY STAR
                              (130)
                              $578.00
                              $799.00
                              $578.00
                              $799.00
                              +
                              GE
                              Choose a matching DryerInformation icon for choose your option tooltip.
                              Electric 
                              Gas / +$100.00
                              =
                              Price for Bundle

                              Compare Similar Items

                              current item

                              Capacity - Washer (cu. ft.)

                              4.6

                              4.3

                              4.5

                              4.7

                              Washer Features

                              Adaptive Fill, Automatic Temperature Control, End-Of-Cycle Signal

                              Add Garment (pause), Adjustable Legs, Control Lock, Delay Start, End-Of-Cycle Signal, Remote Diagnostics, Soft Close Lid

                              End-Of-Cycle Signal

                              Adjustable Legs, Door Window, Front Control

                              Steam Function

                              No Steam

                              No Steam

                              No Steam

                              No Steam

                              Washer Tub/Drum Material

                              Stainless Steel Aluminized Alloy Steel Drum

                              Stainless Steel Drum

                              Stainless Steel Drum

                              Stainless Steel Drum

                              Product Width (in.)

                              27 in

                              27 in

                              27 in

                              27.75 in