#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for GE 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White with Stain PreTreat, ENERGY STAR

Internet #328425556

Model #GTW538ASWWS

Store SKU #1010940816

  • Energy Star Washer
  • Pairs best with Electric GTD38EASWWS or Gas GTD38GASWWS Dryer(s)
  • Heavy-duty transmittion enhances durability for large loads

Customer Reviews

  • 4.1
    out of 149 reviews
  • 70% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 149 reviews
Washer is here, not hooked up though, said they could not
by
Response from GE AnswersMay 13, 2024
We regret any trouble you had with installation, and we know this may have been concerning. If you need to reach out to Home Depot regarding this concern, their customer service can be reached at 800-430-3376. GE_Appliances
  • Verified Purchase
1 found this review helpful
Although I didn't realize this machine was so large I am very satisfied with it's perform4
by
  • Verified Purchase
1 found this review helpful
Great features
So far I like it. The clothes come out clean and I like the ability to add water for extra soiled clothes.
by
Response from GE_AppliancesMay 16, 2024
We're so glad that you are enjoying this washer so far. You've made an amazing choice by going with this model. We love the wash performance and awesome features. Our favorite feature being the "Stain pretreat" which optimizes wash action and temperatures to help remove the most common stain types, eliminating the guesswork for great cleaning results.
    • Recommended
    Both Washer and Matching Dryer Lemons from DAY 1
    Bought12/2023. Dryer didn't work from start. Basically replaced the whole insides said it looked like it was dropped and put new shell on it - actual broken parts inside! Still squeaks! Washer worked except for loud squeak from metal on metal - added a rubber gasket. Three months in, drain/rinse cycle pours water in/out at same time. Replaced mother board and belt. Bad new mother board? because now none of the cycles work - just pour water in/out and machine won't shut off- unplugged & waiting!
    by
    Response from GE AnswersMay 7, 2024
    This isn't the experience we would want you to have with our appliances. We understand the disappointment caused by your units not functioning properly. Please PM/DM us on Facebook/Instagram/X with a copy of your review, any service confirmation/case numbers you may have, and the model/serial numbers of your washer so we can investigate further. GE_Appliances
      2 found this review helpful
      Love the washer. Love the water save feature. Holds large loads like quilts and blankets.clothes come out clean and smell clean. I’ve had the washer a little over a month.
      by
      Response from GE AnswersMay 15, 2024
      Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and for choosing us as your appliance purchase! We are happy to hear that your new washer is impressing you with its amazing wash features and you love using it. This is a great reliable washer that is sure to last you many years! GE_Appliances
      • Verified Purchase
      1 found this review helpful
      Very efficiency
      Product is excellent, very easy to use. I love it.
      by
      Response from GE_AppliancesMay 9, 2024
      We love hearing that your new washing machine is easy to use, and that you’ve been having such an excellent experience so far. The Stain Pretreat feature helps remove common stains for great cleaning results, and Deep Fill gives you more control over your water levels.
        • Recommended
        Made on a Friday before a Holiday Weekend
        We purchased this machine in late August 2023. The repairman has been out to our house 6 times! We’ve had the control board replaced twice, the motor replaced, water valves replaced and a power sensor replaced, etc. The repairman couldn’t get the necessary parts for the last issue because GE canceled the order. So, we had to call GE to get the parts! And then, call the repairman once we had the parts to come back to install the parts. This has been a nightmare!
        by
        Response from GE AnswersMay 6, 2024
        We're saddened to hear this has been your experience with your washer. We understand the disappointment and frustration caused by this situation. Please PM/DM us on Facebook/Instagram/X with a copy of your review, any service confirmation/case numbers you may have, and the model/serial numbers of your machine so we can investigate further. GE_Appliances
          More than I wanted, but it’s growing on me
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          1 found this review helpful
          Lacking an interior light
          Great dryer, but the omission of an interior light is a major deficit. Had I known this when ordering, I would have chosen another model.
          by
            more quiet, bigger better
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            1 found this review helpful
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            Good washing machine, decent price. Only drawback is no fabric softener dispenser
            by
            Response from GE AnswersMay 1, 2024
            We're happy you're enjoying the performance from your washing machine. Thanks for the feedback about the fabric softener, that we'll be sure to pass along to our product development team. GE_Appliances
            • Verified Purchase
            1 found this review helpful
            Washer was delivered it on the day it was promised. Delivery personnel were quick and courteous.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            1 found this review helpful
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            1 found this review helpful
            This washing machine is too noisy.
            by
            Response from GE AnswersApr 25, 2024
            There are normal sounds you will hear from your washer. The drive system will engage at the start of agitate and disengage when the agitation is complete. This occurs multiple times during the wash. We have a video on our website that will give you an idea of the sounds you will hear. If you feel what you are hearing isn't normal, please take advantage of your warranty and reach out to GE Consumer Service by calling 1-800-432-2737. GE_Appliances
            • Verified Purchase
            2 found this review helpful
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            Does the job its designed for
            Like others have mentioned, the motor on this machine is louder than other models. Almost to the point where you would think something is wrong - but its not. GE even has a QR code in the manual to take you to youtube videos to hear the noises. That being said, the unit would be best suited for a garage or something other than the middle of your house. It’s more on the budget side and doesn’t have a ton of special features .. but it’s a solid machine for the price - it does a far better (and faster) job than the (different brand) 10 year old high end machine that it replaced.
            by
              • Recommended
              2 found this review helpful
              Will not fill up with enough water.
              The repair man came and said I must have to select Deep Rinse and Deep Fill every time. Dis isn't what page 6 Using the washer is printed. This Washer doesn't work as printed instructions say. The clothes are still very wet at the end. GE won't repair or supply washer that works.
              by
              Response from GE AnswersApr 20, 2024
              Thank you for leaving your honest feedback with us about your washer. We regret that this model has not met your expectations. Please know that this is a high efficiency unit, and it is normal for the water level to be low. If your clothes are still extremely wet, we do recommend that you try the troubleshooting tips on page 25 of the use and care manual found here: https://images.thdstatic.com/catalog/pdfImages/94/94549696-b4cf-4a6d-a0a2-05df1f88ee5d.pdf. If these tips do not help, please schedule service once more by calling 1-800-432-2737. We look forward to helping you at your earliest convenience. GE_Appliances
                2 found this review helpful
                Nice washer
                Just purchased so far so good! I love the size and I have completed two loads so far and it works really well
                by
                  Great features
                  Great product, easy use buttons. Quiet wash. Large tub capacity
                  by
                    • Recommended
                    The machine does an excellent job, washing. A bit noisy at times and does not have a fabric softener or detergent dispenser, which I miss. I overlooked this at time of purchase. Still, truly is a good, quality machine.
                    by
                    Response from GE AnswersMay 1, 2024
                    We're glad to hear that your washer is doing an excellent job! Your new washer may sound different from your prior unit because of the newer technology. Clicks, water flowing, gear sounds followed by pauses, and electric hum sounds are all part of the normal wash cycle. Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback that we'll be sure to pass along to our design team. GE_Appliances
                    • Verified Purchase
                    3 found this review helpful
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    Nice washer, Like that I can wash bigger loads.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    Great washer. Wont disappoint
                    Finally gave up front load washer for top Load. Thank god I did this is the best washer makes me actually wanna do laundry. Gets clothes cleaner than my from Loader did.
                    by
                      • Recommended
                      Perfect. Delivery team was efficient, fast and friendly.
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      Great washing machine
                      Great washing machine! Clean clothes, and very efficient!
                      by
                        • Recommended
                        This replaced a 6.5 year old Samsung model
                        This GE exclusive model to Home Depot is...LOUD!! So loud, we thought something was wrong. The directions have a code to scan to listen to the normal washer sounds. I will likely not be using the Bulky (VERY LOUD) setting again either. However, clothes seem to come out of the wash softer than with our previous model, and the wash cycles are faster. There was also a scratch/dent (packing box had a tear) in the front bottom of the washer, but Home Depot gave us the option of returning it.
                        by
                        Response from GE AnswersMar 27, 2024
                        We're sorry to hear you're being inconvenienced by the noise level of your washer model. We will be sure to share your feedback with our design and engineering teams to see how we can improve on this in the future. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. GE_Appliances
                          • Recommended
                          2 found this review helpful
                          Showing 1-30 of 149 reviews

                          Complete Your Laundry Room

                          This Washer
                          4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White with Stain PreTreat, ENERGY STAR
                          This Washer
                          GE 4.6 cu. ft. High-Efficiency Top Load Washer in White with Stain PreTreat, ENERGY STAR
                          (130)
                          $578.00
                          $799.00
                          $578.00
                          $799.00
                          +
                          GE
                          Choose a matching DryerInformation icon for choose your option tooltip.
                          Electric 
                          Gas / +$100.00
                          =
                          Price for Bundle

                          Compare Similar Items

                          current item

                          Capacity - Washer (cu. ft.)

                          4.6

                          4.3

                          4.5

                          4.7

                          Washer Features

                          Adaptive Fill, Automatic Temperature Control, End-Of-Cycle Signal

                          Add Garment (pause), Adjustable Legs, Control Lock, Delay Start, End-Of-Cycle Signal, Remote Diagnostics, Soft Close Lid

                          End-Of-Cycle Signal

                          Adjustable Legs, Door Window, Front Control

                          Steam Function

                          No Steam

                          No Steam

                          No Steam

                          No Steam

                          Washer Tub/Drum Material

                          Stainless Steel Aluminized Alloy Steel Drum

                          Stainless Steel Drum

                          Stainless Steel Drum

                          Stainless Steel Drum

                          Product Width (in.)

                          27 in

                          27 in

                          27 in

                          27.75 in