No Results Found

Refine by Rating

  • Great value, easy installation, programing, and small footprint.
  • May 01, 2015
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I have installed two of these in the past three weeks. The first one was for an old friend of mine who had a softener made by a major brand (********). Count the stars, you can figure it out ! That one didn't work for years, even after having the local company that services that brand work on it, and charge over $400.00. I removed the old unit, and installed the 30,000 grain GE softener with no problems. The second one was for a neighbor that had considered getting a softener after moving into a house down the street from me. She had moved from New Mexico and was not impressed by our very hard water here in Meadville, Pa. and missed the soft water as her old house in New Mexico had. The two met at cookout at my place and the first told the second about the softener that I had installed and how pleased she was with it. Soon after I had to order the larger one for my new neighbor, and install it along with replacing 35 ft. of old 1/2" iron pipe with new 3/4" copper. She is even more pleased than my old friend as she not only has soft water again, but good water pressure. Her old pipes were down to less than 1/4" diameter (about the size of a large McDonalds straw). That's how hard our Meadville, Pa. water is. Both are very pleased with their GE softeners, and I am very happy with the ease of installation, programing, and the way that GE designed their softener units. Having been an Apartment Complex Maintenance Supervisor for two separate 100+ unit places for a collective 27 years in the Meadville area, I would say that these would be easily installed by anyone with decent soldering / plumbing skills, and just about anyone that would decide to use the shark bite fittings. Dan, Meadville, Pa.

Pros Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, very easy to install program and fill ! Cons none well designed and made.

Video & Photo

  • Pro

none

Meadville, Pa.
55 to 64, Male
15 out of 15 people found this helpful
more details...
By: none
  • I've had this installed for a bit over a week now and everything has been great so far. It broug...
  • March 15, 2017
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I've had this installed for a bit over a week now and everything has been great so far. It brought our hardness from ~30 gpg down to ~0 gpg from our testing with an off-the-shelf kit. The instructions to install were clear. I've never installed anything like this before and was able to figure it out without much of a problem. The few issues/point of confusion that I did have were cleared up easily with online resources. I had to make one call to their support line for a couple of questions and they took my call fast and knew what I was talking about right away to help. The only issue that I have with it is that routing the drain hoses has been a challenge. They don't include quite as much as I needed with it and it won't stop trying to coil in on itself.

Video & Photo

Cade

14 out of 14 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Cade
  • Great softener for the price, no problems with self install
  • November 14, 2013
  • Recommended Product

I am coming off using a Culligan rented, very basic water softener for 1 year, it worked ok but was very basic and took up a lot of floor space. After our lease was up, I did some research and decided on this GE unit. I liked how this GE unit took up less space and had some nice features that monitor usage and predict when the next recharge should be done based on average usage. Our Culligan system ran each week, which I’m sure was wasting a lot of salt and water. Installation of the GE unit was easy but took me a few hours as I was taking my time making sure I got it right. The instructions are a little vague in places but for the most part if you read and re-read you will get it right. For example, one of the previous reviewers was all bent out of shape about adding bleach on top of the salt. If they had read the instructions, it said to put the bleach in the brine well, not on top of the salt pile. The brine well is the long tube inside the salt reservoir with yellow numbers on it and a gray cap on top. Remove the gray cap, and the bleach goes into the brine well tube which will only have water in there as no salt goes into the brine well. One thing the instructions do not say is how much salt to add. I added three 40# bags, which filled it up to about the 4-5 mark on the tube (yellow numbers on the tube). In theory you could fill it up all the way to the top yellow number mark on the tube. You then only need to input the level of salt into the device’s menu as per the instructions. So, my suggestion to those who want to know how much salt to add when its new, add about five 40# bags and input the proper salt level in the menu. Unlike others I did not have a problem with the clips or o-rings, I did however use the entire tube of grease supplied on first installation of the 4 o-rings. I pre-greased the tube the o-rings slip over first (only where the rings sit on the collar), then greased the rings themselves, added some more grease, then slid them on the tubes. They all went in fine and did not leak. I only had a slight bit of weeping around one of my threaded connections on one of the adapters that I installed to neck it down from 1 inch to 3/4 inch. This was a connection where I used some teflon tape and I probably could have used some more. However, after a few days the weeping was gone, and I currently have zero leaks on the system. Be sure to get your water tested prior to install so you will know your hardness (which you need to input into the device). and if you have high levels of sediment/iron (which may require a pre-filter).

Pros Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
  • DIY

DasBoot

Idaho
45 to 54, Male
14 out of 14 people found this helpful
more details...
By: DasBoot
  • Very Satified
  • February 27, 2015
  • Recommended Product

Installed the unit in Palm Springs, Ca. With very hard water. Installing the unit was very easy. Our house has 1 1/4 copper pipes. I installed the 3 way valves then reduced down to the required 1" at the unit. I drained the hot water heater as recommended but was still amazed by the volume of materials cleaned out of the pipes. Be prepaired to clean out all the filters in your home. I wish I could post pictures of before and after glasses. The glasses looked like they were sand blasted before, yet after just 3 cycles through the dish washer, look like new. Back to installing, take your time, read, reread the instructions. It took me longer to remove the unit from the packing then installing. After I had replummbed the water supply, actual installation took about 10 minutes.programming about 5 minutes. Installed the unit November 14, so far works great.

Pros Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great

Video & Photo

  • DIY

Satisfied

Palm Springs ca
65 or over, Male
13 out of 13 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Satisfied
  • Outstanding Product!
  • March 22, 2013
  • Recommended Product

Great product. This product is well made and works like a charm. Also, I did a lot of research in regards to this product. It works as advertised and comes with great programming features. I've severe eczema and installed due to the high calcium, magnesium,and other chemicals in my local water (317 PPM). It took a while to install due to my limited space but I am extremely pleased! My PPM's dropped significantly (112 PPM) and just as the other reviews post, the water is cleaner (watch the salt content for consumption) , clothes are brighter, and more importantly, my skin is getting much much better! Highly recommended but before you spend the money, please have your water tested to ensure it's worth your while for the investment.

Pros Portable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Convenient, Looks Great, Takes Less Space, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Light Weight, works as advertised.
  • Pro
  • DIY

TJ16

Leesburg, VA, USA
45 to 54, Male
13 out of 13 people found this helpful
more details...
By: TJ16
  • Excellent softener, easy to install
  • January 20, 2015
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I purchased this product to replace a Kenmore water softener that was old and leaky. The GE softener was simple to install. I hard plumbed copper directly to the bypass valve assembly. After filling with salt, I ran the unit through a regeneration and sanitized it as instructed by the manual. I've been getting soft water since and am very happy with the performance. The unit is very simple to set up and program. One caution: the lid of the unit is hinged in such a way that you will need about 2 inches of clearance in front of the unit for the lid to swing open.

Pros Easy to Use, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Convenient, Nice Design
  • DIY

Bill9280

Sedona, AZ
55 to 64, Male
11 out of 11 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Bill9280
  • The water softener was easy to install, DIY installation with minimal skills and low cost of part...
  • November 08, 2016
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

The water softener was easy to install, DIY installation with minimal skills and low cost of parts needed for installation. The water softener was easy to program and set up after installation. Showers are much more comfortable, and dishes and clothes feel and look cleaner with the soft water now.

Video & Photo

SWG

10 out of 10 people found this helpful
more details...
By: SWG
  • Great Product and Easy Install
  • May 10, 2020
  • Recommended Product

Bought this softener this weekend and installation (not a novice) took a couple of hours, and that included removal of old pipes from previous softener. Couple of tips, when you perform the first regeneration after install (last step of install), make sure that you use a bathtub or exterior faucet after regeneration because using a faucet may create problems with any filter in the nozzle (our kitchen sink faucet lost pressure because it was clogged after regeneration). All other faucets where fine. All in all, a great buy and simple install.

Video & Photo

Rob

10 out of 10 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Rob
  • I had a less than perfect experience when I purchased mine. I purchased in-store, the last one in...
  • February 11, 2017
  • Recommended Product

I had a less than perfect experience when I purchased mine. I purchased in-store, the last one in stock. Got it home, got it installed with water/salt in it, when water appeared everywhere underneath. There was a hole right where the seam was on the bottom of the tank. Wet carpet, had to dig salt out of it, a complete mess. I called the store I bought it from and they had to refer me to another store for one that had in stock. I made the 50 minute drive to the Washington, PA store and asked to speak to the manager, Bud. I explained the situation and extreme inconvenience as it was my parents house I was installing it in and they were without water. Bud understood and was very accomodating in correcting this inconvenience. Thank you, Bud at the Washington, PA store! I can't comment on the softener just yet, but it seems to be functioning properly and is easy to program. I recommend checking the bottom of the brine tank where the seams meet in the center before leaving the store! Also, the clamps that come with the hose for the drain are cumbersome and hard to hold with pliers. I recommend picking up some worm gear clamps. I will also likely be getting a drain pan to put underneath just in case something should ever develop. I only wish HD offered an extended warranty to go with this. So far, water softener 4/5 stars due to the mishap. Home Depot Customer Service at the Washington, PA store 5/5!

Video & Photo

Brent

9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Brent
  • Water Softener super easy install 5 stars !
  • May 03, 2016
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

We installed this outside near intake water to house as we live in Florida. We attached a water filter 1st inexpensive $50 unit from Home Depot . Install in afternoon used all pvc fitting . After month of use , wow what a difference with our water. Shower soaps up quicker , no itchy skin after, hair is silky , hands and face feel better. Our 2 labs dogs also give this 2 paws up! Super value easy set up , we added 4 bags of salt and now we are good for 265 days before refill. Look no further this is a super unit for under $500 total installed far better than we found comps anywhere else.

Pros Looks Great, Convenient, Nice Design, Light Weight
  • DIY

redingtonbeach

Gulf side florida
55 to 64, Male
9 out of 9 people found this helpful
more details...
By: redingtonbeach